Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4 marathons in 6months?????

• 23-05-2009 11:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭

Hi lads, just wanted to know what people thought about doing 4 marathons in 6months? Belfast, Cork, Longford and Dublin. I have done Belfast, Cork is next.
    A bit of my history. Im 24, Ive done 7 marathons including Belfast 2009, my first marathon was Dublin 2004. I was 19.
    My times are
    2004 dublin 4.37
    2005 dublin 4.29
    2006 dublin 4.18
    2007 dublin 4.11
    2008 belast 3.52
    2008 cork 3.58
    2009 belfast 3.41

I’ve been having this argument with my cousin, my uncle, and my dad. All are experienced runners. All are against me. They say too much, and I could do much better if I just stuck to one or two in a year e.g. do Belfast and Dublin!
    I have been improving throughout the years obviously, i really enjoy doing marathons. I just want to do what i can. Im not trying to get over a certain number of marathons or anything like that, i just enjoy them so ill keep doing them if im able. The argument my family were saying is, if you do less, they will be alot faster, which probably is true. my cork time may again be worse than my Belfast time. But as i said i just enjoy doing marathons. And i don’t really see myself getting under 3.30. im NOT fast, my times at shorter distances are very poor considering i can run a marathon in 3.41.but i also don’t do many races, my best 5km is 19.45, 5mile 36.05, 10km is 49min(years ago), 10mile 83min, 13.1 110min.
    I haven’t entered Longford or Dublin yet, but i will start to organise Longford after cork, i do take one at a time, i may get injured, or something may come up, i dont just think "ah yeah ill do it, nothing else to do" i do respect them and know how hard it is. i don’t think marathons are easy, i do train hard. Also i don’t have commitments, i can get out training as much as i want, no kids or wife, don’t live with mammy so no one to listen to. I don’t drink too much, im not a party animal, i have a job where im lucky, im finished at 3 or 4everyday, so have the evening to myself. I always rest alot, and i think i eat very well.
    I just want to know what people think, and am i stupid? Maybe ill pay for it in years to come with my knees, hips and so on. But then again i am young and stupid. So go on im ready to get abused. I was warned that many on boards especially the experienced runners are gonna go mad at me haha... so i look forward to your responses, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

keep on trucking pal

do these 4 and see how you get on, if you feel you cant take it its just the simple fact of dropping out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I’ve been having this argument with my cousin, my uncle, and my dad. All are experienced runners. All are against me. They say too much, and I could do much better if I just stuck to one or two in a year e.g. do Belfast and Dublin!

I know I said I wouldn't say anything on this thread as I'm his cousin but I feel the need to say a couple of things, if your were to race 5 mile, 10k and half marathon now, you would smash all those pbs as prooved by your recent 5k time(still didn't beat mine :D)

I think it comes down to quantity or quality. You ran great in Belfast and I would love to see you skip Longford and concentrate on Dublin and if you do I could see you going quicker than your 3:41 in Belfast. Talking from my marathon experience of last year, they do catch up with you(Paris)
    You will still have done 3 in a year and you will more than likely pb in Dublin but if you run Longford I think it will impede your Dublin performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Depends what your motivation is.

If you want to run as many marathons as you can for the experience then do the four.

If you want to improve your times as much as possible I wouldnt be doing more than 2 in a year.

Thats just me personally now, people have different views but for me (and Im relatively new to running) 2 is the absolute maximum if your serious about improving your times and if I was doing it I wouldnt do more than 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Alicano

Do them..6 months man!!!..half a year!!!..piece of quality cake.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

go 4 it......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

If you are just running them for enjoyment and times don't matter to you then go for it. If you are interested in running faster and staying relatively injury free restrict the number to 2 at most. I bet you could run way below 3.30 if you put your mind to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

It shouldn't be a problem, My first marathon was Dublin in 2007 and in 2008, I did 6 marathons in 6 months, starting with Belfast and ending with Dublin. I think once the body is used to the long distances, its not difficult, each run race is a practve run for the next. :). Just dont expect to break records for every consecutive run, because the muscles will still have a bit of fatigue.

The most important thing about doing a series of marathons in a short space (IMO) is a speedy recovery from the last one. The likes of race recovery drinks straight after the marathon helped me get over the tired legs. But just watch out for any niggling injuries.

Dont be worrying about what people are saying about fast times, its really the participating thats the fun. You've broken the 4 hour time already, thats what most people are happy with (those of us that dont have the muscle structure of Haile Gebrselassie, lol):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Aimman wrote: »
    It shouldn't be a problem, My first marathon was Dublin in 2007 and in 2008, I did 6 marathons in 6 months, starting with Belfast and ending with Dublin. I think once the body is used to the long distances, its not difficult, each run race is a practve run for the next. :). Just dont expect to break records for every consecutive run, because the muscles will still have a bit of fatigue.

The most important thing about doing a series of marathons in a short space (IMO) is a speedy recovery from the last one. The likes of race recovery drinks straight after the marathon helped me get over the tired legs. But just watch out for any niggling injuries.

Dont be worrying about what people are saying about fast times, its really the participating thats the fun. You've broken the 4 hour time already, thats what most people are happy with (those of us that dont have the muscle structure of Haile Gebrselassie, lol):D

If you enjoy running marathon and happy with it then go for it. If you want to run a really good marathon maybe focus on one or two a year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Aimman wrote: »

Different strokes I suppose.

I certainly dont have the muscle structure of Haile but I wouldnt be content to just break 4 (and Im not content with my current marathon pb of 4:15).

I think anybody can finish a marathon...the really special thing about the race for me is pushing yourself to the limit and achieving the best time you possibly can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭kevinkilbane

thanks everyone for the advise above, i noticed i didnt get it as i thought i would. i really thought id get slagged and told to cop on.
    it is possible, but obviously the times are more than likely to be worse. but i fully understand what is said "if you want to do an excellent time, a pb, then only one or two within 12months". thanks lads.

and WODDLE, i liked the way you slipped that in. im not far off your 5km time. looks like after the marathons, i have another goal haha

I was hoping you would be hammered in this thread as I would like to see you just concentrating on Dublin and trying for sub 3:30. Hope the legs are ok after yesterday,what you think of the route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Woddle wrote: »
    I was hoping you would be hammered in this thread as I would like to see you just concentrating on Dublin and trying for sub 3:30. Hope the legs are ok after yesterday,what you think of the route.
    A bit like your Belfast marathon idea thread ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭kevinkilbane

im grand after yesterday, not a bother, but still having a rest day. the route is great, im defo gonna do that again, the hills are tough but perfect for training. i have to admit, on the way home, i was struggling, id say two of em were over 9min miles.

i cant see 3.30. im not that fast. more training,more experience, more speed,more races. alot to do before i can see the 3.30 mark.

o and by the way, not happy that you didnt do a warm up, you didnt have any vasaline on, and i doubt you did a cool down, and you did a half marathon yesterday. youre the one that deserves a hammering.

:D sshh don't tell anyone.

Ah no seriously on the lsrs I normally ease in and out of the run with a quicker middle, for speed sessions I would always warm up and cool down properly.

Re vaseline, I remembered my HR strap so didn't need any :D

Glad you enjoyed the route, here is the one I'm planning on Saturday and on the way home I'll pop into marlay park for a lap.
    http://www.mapmyrun.com/route/ie/ballyboden/618124327463097749

Up to Jonny Fox pub and back by Ticknock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Up to Jonny Fox pub and back by Ticknock
    Nice run Woddle. It's a nice climb up to Foxes, but at least you have the long descent afterwards to reward you for your efforts. Would you not finish at Foxes, so you can enjoy a pint and a round of pitch and putt? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 jimbojambo

Wow huge schedule.. !!