Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

i want red hair...ALL OVER!!

• 22-05-2009 7:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

hey everyone need some advice..... ok....used 2 have bleach blonde hair up untill a yr ago... dyed it dark brown. now i want red hair....i dyed it couple of months ago n basically only d roots came out red (schwartkoff red dye) ive done it a few times since n it does come up red but fades very fast n d ends??? anyone no a red colour that mite last longer.. r any suggestions.........(prob shud just go to a hairdressers but no mula :()
    thanks..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

i think you need to see a phyciatrist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

The carpet to match the curtains? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 lil'bluestar

Hey,
    Not sure this will be the most professional way of doing things but like you mula is short so I do it myself. My hair is bright pink at the moment (special effects atomic pink rocks!) I usually just bleach my hair up to a yellowy blonde (usually a powder bleach with vol 20 peroxide on it for maybe half an hour depending on how dark your hair is) wash the bleach out and then and then put the pink over it works out grand for me.
    When I had my hair red I used Jean's colour chilli red which gave a nice deep red, that's available in Ireland and lasts pretty well. I used to get mine in Terrisales on Abbey street, Dublin.
    If you could order online I would definitely go with any of the special effects colours from this site www.beeunique.co.uk they are so long lasting and offer great colour, now I wouldn't use anything else.
    Hope that helps! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 ladybee

thanks a mill for a proper reply 2 d question!!!!! unlike d other ans!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

b12mearse wrote: »
    i think you need to see a phyciatrist
    It saddens me to see us adopt this english ideal (and as such majoritively occuring in dublin) of red hair being villified by popular culture. Even ironic since a factor fuelling this attitude was racism against Irish immigrants.

It's a shame we've not adopted a pride about it, like we do with everything else americans praise us about (red hair being rather coveted on that side of the pond). Oh we know well and congratulate ourselves how friendly we are, how we love the craic and the banter and the guinness, but not our red hair. It's funny really, and kinda sad that we can be so influenced by british rag culture.

OP go for it, even dyed red I've seen look great on many girls. Apologies for lacking details on specific products... just wanted to add my 2c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Tastic82

ApeXaviour wrote: »
    It saddens me to see us adopt this english ideal (and as such majoritively occuring in dublin) of red hair being villified by popular culture. Even ironic since a factor fuelling this attitude was racism against Irish immigrants.

It's a shame we've not adopted a pride about it, like we do with everything else americans praise us about (red hair being rather coveted on that side of the pond). Oh we know well and congratulate ourselves how friendly we are, how we love the craic and the banter and the guinness, but not our red hair. It's funny really, and kinda sad that we can be so influenced by british rag culture.

OP go for it, even dyed red I've seen look great on many girls. Apologies for lacking details on specific products... just wanted to add my 2c

here here. im a redhead my self and I never got any stick for it until people started adopting the 'ginger minger' attitude a few years ago. its just people parroting what they see in british tabloids/mags. ironic that is has caught on here, seeing as it is a throw back to british anti- celtic sentiments of yore.

but anyway back on topic, op you should definately find out more from a hair colourist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Ladybee, your posts are very difficult to read. Please use your entire keyboard and try not to use text speak.

Everyone else, please read the OP and answer the question that the OP asked. Off-topic posting will result in infractions. Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Special K

I use the Schwarkopf LIve Red and like it as it's vibrant but it does fade quite quickly. Trying not do damage my hair TOO much though by dying it all time but isn't working!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

hey just to stick up for ppl being accused of going off topic/being mean! I think some posters thought the OP made dying their hair red all over! as in not only the hair on top of their head?
    I thought that too until I read her query (maybe I am wrong though)
    and in reply to the ginger minger comment - i think red hair is seen as being very fashionable now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I have red hair but I got a lot of blonde highlights and got it 'professionally' dyed back to red in a salon. It faded quite quickly and it was expensive. My hair went back to blonde so I bought a Clairol Nice and Easy in Golden Auburn and dyed my hair red again yesterday and it's as good as what the hairdresser did and so, so much cheaper.

Moral of the story is, red just fades really quickly so you might as well just do it yourself! (If you're getting highlights or blonde or something else, I would recommend a hairdresser does it though).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Do you mean a natural red or a real bright red?

My hair is real bright red at the moment, and its quite hard to keep. The best brand for longevity is stargazer imo, i use Rouge and it lasts quite a while. I use the lightest Schwarkoph blonde to lift it (my hair is naturally strawberry blonde) and then put the red over it. Works a treat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

Not sure what the big real is about dying the hair red! its not un common these days :rolleyes:

A friend of mine went for the fiery red colour a few months ago, went to the hairdressers and bleached and then the red over that. looked class! doesnt last long tho, was putting in reds every two weeks to keep the colour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Guitarist-JEM

i have blonde hair at the moment and i want my hair to be really red! like jane goldmans hair colour!!

has anyone any tips on which hair dye is the best to get this colour?

i've coloured my hair plenty of times so i dont need to get a hairdresser to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 lil'bluestar

Hey Guitarist-JEM

http://www.beeunique.co.uk/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=72&products_id=23

This looks pretty close and those colours last ages, best I've ever used :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Guitarist-JEM

Hey Guitarist-JEM

http://www.beeunique.co.uk/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=72&products_id=23

This looks pretty close and those colours last ages, best I've ever used :)

that the exact colour i want!!:)

do you have to order it online or is it anywhere in the shops?

thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

ApeXaviour wrote: »

I think it may well be the way the question was asked. The English language has a vast amount of words, all of which are free to use. OP used very few.

Red hair? Great, fair play to you.