Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A training session looking at speedwork and other bits and bobs.

• 22-05-2009 9:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭

Tingle has generously offered up his free time to put on the following.

I was thinking of the following as a rough schedule -

20 mins - dynamic warmup for speed session (may take 30-35 mins to go through everything but when all up to speed it should take you 20 mins. This will include core and stability work as part of your warmup so you are getting this done without even knowing it.

20 mins - speed drills you found on YouTube - again may take 25-30mins for us to master them

20 mins - conditioning work. I can show you some of the conditioning work we do which i think is beneficial to all runners. Its great for aerobic work, dynamism and also great for improving body composition.

20 mins - plyos. We can do some plyometrics if you want. Mainly look at what you shouldn't do. I can give a very good 5 step guide on how to build up to be able to do plyos.

20 mins - speed. We can do a 'top end' speed session which helps you to understand to run at your top speed while relaxed and the importance of being relaxed.

20 mins - circuits. We can do a leg circuit session that focuses on the lower body and core and should help to make you strong. Would be all bodyweight stuff and no need for gym weights. Would have cross-over to the conditioning work.

I'll try think of more stuff but that would be 2 hours so we should maybe look at 2-3 hours so as to get a fair bit done

It will take place on Saturday the 27th of June in the afternoon, more than likely in Santry. Places have been limited and there are now only 3 spots left. If interested let me know by pm, if we fill the remaining places, there will be a reserve list on the off chance that someone pulls out you can take their place.

Thanks again Tingle, this is much appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Only 1 spot left.

All gone.
    If anyone is still interested I can put your name down in case someone pulls out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Is anyone handy with a camcorder?

I would love top have gone along but Dublins too far, if it was taped and YouTubed (BAC TV :)) then all us culchies could take advantage too

Coach for the day-Tingle
    Asssisting-Roymcc

where-santry
    when-27/6/09

Class for the day
    woddle
    running bing
    Jlang
    sean500
    shels4ever
    christeb
    figs
    RacoonQueen
    kevinkilbane
    gohardorgohome

Kennyb has had to pull out through injury, so I'm waiting to hear back from someone else.
    If for some reason you can't attend, try and let me know as early as possible, so we can give your place to someone else(who will then in return beat you in the next race because of what he learned from Tingle :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

Glad I'm doing my rest day on Friday! Have a feeling I'll need it!

Has a time been set for this yet?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Aww I never saw this thread in the first place :(

That being said, I don't think my knee is healed enough at the moment to handle a workout like that but would be great to give it a go if it's offered again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Cant wait for this. Will be nice to meet a few more fellow boardsies as well:D

Aww I never saw this thread in the first place :(

That being said, I don't think my knee is healed enough at the moment to handle a workout like that but would be great to give it a go if it's offered again.

ecoli has pulled out, so if you want it, its yours, there will be alot of observing aswell and anything your not comfortable doing, don't.
    Let me know.

Thanks Racoonqueen for getting back to me so quickly. Look forward to seeing you there.
    One more place available, let me know if you want it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

What time's kick-off please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

great idea lads. if it is being recorded I'd love to see it! enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

RoyMcC wrote: »
    What time's kick-off please?

What time suits all, I think we were thinking 2pm originally?

Tingle wrote: »
    What time suits all, I think we were thinking 2pm originally?

Good for me.

2pm good for me too. Looking forward to it.

Woddle wrote: »
    Thanks Racoonqueen for getting back to me so quickly. Look forward to seeing you there.
    One more place available, let me know if you want it.

No places left. I'll keep you informed if another comes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

2pm sounds good

A single spot has come up, if anyone wants it let me know.

Coach for the day-Tingle
    Asssisting-Roymcc

where-send me a pm
    when-27/6/09
    Time-2pm

Class for the day
    woddle
    running bing
    Jlang
    sean500
    christeb
    figs?
    kevinkilbane
    gohardorgohome

Class of 8 a few late pull outs, so if anyone fancies it send me a pm. I reckon this class size will be ideal though and should help with the flow of things.

An excellent and instructive afternoon. Coach Tingle took the group through dynamic warm up, drills, speed with relaxation, a sample circuit session and basic plyometrics all finished off with an intervals session using continuous relay.

It was interesting to see the group - fairly hesitant at first in an unusual environment, grow into the session and improve quickly once they picked up on the ideas. If there was a common thread throughout the session it was that of being more aware of the mechanics of the body and how much scope there can be for improvement for the average runner.

Well done Tingle and also Woddle for putting it all together.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Sounds like it was great, disappointed to have missed out in the end. Life and all that. :rolleyes: Hope you all enjoyed it. :)

Only in now from the Dunshaughlan 10k, myself and kevinkilbane headed out after Tingles session.
    Todays session was fantastic, I def activated muscle groups that I've never used before. We now have a boards 8k 200m relay record of 22'36. Myself,christeb and roymcc sat this out and left it to the other 5 (jlang,kevinkilbane,seanie500,running bing and gohardorgohome). Three of them started on the start line and the other two went over to the other side of the track at the 200m mark. Then one of the guys from the group of 3 started it off and would high5 his team mate after 200m and so on, some fantastic running and it again shows how quickly the top lads run.

Thanks to everyone who turned up and a big thanks to Tingle who has offered to do a follow on in a few months time, obviously those that did today will get first offer.
    Great mix of guys today and a nice bit of humour, we even had some flashing going on, sorry about that, I wore very old shorts and on one of my sprints gave a few of them a bit of a Peter Beardsley moment :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭kevinkilbane

it was a great session. it really was. i learned so much. tingle was an excellent coach today, thanks a million.
    it was also good craic, nice to meet more of the guys, alot of good runners. we did a good 8000m aswell, sorry to let the side down though lads ha, i gave it my all, but i was dying in my last 4x200m. i blame it on woodle ;), i think it was my third one he told me "go bananas", i did, legs were in bits afterwards ha.
    after the training, woodle and i went to dunshaughlin for the 10km. did ok, enjoyed it. i got 46.22, i was happy enough with that.
    good training day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Woddle wrote: »

Thanks to everyone who turned up and a big thanks to Tingle who has offered to do a follow on in a few months time, obviously those that did today will get first offer.
    Great mix of guys today and a nice bit of humour, we even had some flashing going on, sorry about that, I wore very old shorts and on one of my sprints gave a few of them a bit of a Peter Beardsley moment :eek:

Woddle the baby making machine.

You should know that beast does'nt want to be caged:D

Sounds like it was a great session. I'm sorry to have missed it.

I spent a few days in bed sick during the week, and just hadn't recovered enough to make it.

Not sorry to have missed the Beardsley moment! Someone buy that man a new pair of shorts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

Thanks Tingle!

Session introduced me to a whole load of new stuff. Running before seemed so simple : 1. apply runners to feet, 2. run (sometimes run fast). Now I have to consider dorsiflexing, conditioning, dynamic stretching, what my knees and shoulders are doing etc. Worth missing the rugby for.

To my list of absent skills I can now add coordination. Some of the stepping/leg lifting exercises seemed designed to make me fall over. I can also see the benefits of doing sessions like this in a group.

Not mad enough to race last night myself, but half way up Lug this afternoon I was strongly regretting being so enthusiastic about that 5x8x200 relay at the end of the session.