Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jeep towing a baler on M8

• 22-05-2009 8:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭

Last night I was driving down the M8 motorway towards the Mitchellstown exit when I came across a guy driving an old Isuzu Trooper towing a hay baling machine. He was easily doing 100kmph. Now I'm no agricultural machinery specialist but this didn't look like it was suitable for a motorway at all. Firstly the wheels were tiny, maybe 4 or 5 inches wide and definitely not for motorway speeds. Secondly the hitch on this baler was off centre so the unit was sticking out into the fast lane.
    I couldn't believe this was on a motorway and it seemed very dangerous. I reported it to the Gardai.
    What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Theres an election on next month, the farmers vote in large numbers, the old blinding eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Donie75 wrote: »
    I reported it to the Gardai.
    What do you think?

Unless the jeep was on English plates or you were lucky enough to have some guards parked close by behind a bus shelter I'd say fcuk all would have come of it....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    Theres an election on next month, the farmers vote in large numbers, the old blinding eye.
    You'll have to explain that one a bit better?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭fastrac

The hubs on the baler were certainly not built for that speed and could easily fall apart.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Were there any brake lights on that baler :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

There is probably a speed limit for towing a baler (most likely not motorway speeds), though it might be allowed to be towed fast enough to be allowed on the motorway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Generally speaking, most of the contraptions that pass as "trailers" in this country give me heart failure by just looking at them.

Never mind minor details like working lights or number plates ...any random collection of rusty metal, rotten wood, worn tyres on wobbly rims and shoddy axles ...as long as you can connect it to the oul' daysel Jetta in some shape or form, it's a trailer. Throw a prize bull into it or three tons of cement and off you go.

It is a miracle that there aren't more accidents.
    But as usual it will probably take some major tragedy before anybody could be arsed to enforce the law on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 phonebox

peasant wrote: »

It is a miracle that there aren't more accidents.
    But as usual it will probably take some major tragedy before anybody could be arsed to enforce the law on this.

Well said.

And then for 2 weeks after the major tragedy gardai go mad. Then its back to normal.
    Seriously WTF is wrong with people here.

I don't think anyone who drives with a trailer on a motorway has any clue of speed limits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭ji

Iirc floation tyres are only supposed to do 15mph:eek: lucky the tyres didnt explode stupid farmers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

ji wrote: »
    Iirc floation tyres are only supposed to do 15mph:eek: lucky the tyres didnt explode stupid farmers..

Fair enough the guy shouldn't have been drawing the baler at that speed on a motorway, if it should have been there at all in the first place but come off the abuse and generalisations will ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

So what? Let these guys tow their own balers around the place, if you're that worried just keep your freaking distance. Of course most Dubs are in too much of a rush to get to their posh Dinner party to keep their distance, especially when such lowly lifeforms as "farmers" are in the way.

These lads have been towing trailers since before you were left outside the house. they know what they're doing. So get back to Facebook, your overpriced coffee and cock tails and let the "stupid farmers" get on with their lives.

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Fair enough the guy shouldn't have been drawing the baler at that speed on a motorway, if it should have been there at all in the first place but come off the abuse and generalisations will ya?

I live in the country and on a farm and the stuff i see from day to day gives me the right to call them stupid...

And if any one else disagree with this i'll start a new thread and list all the stupid **** i've seen farmers do..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

I live in the country to and see the dangers caused by farm machinery all the time. From leaving mud all over the road to having no working lights on trailers.
    Dont get me started on the use of children as cheap labour - I have seen what a collective does to a childs arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I live in the country and on a farm and the stuff i see from day to day gives me the right to call them stupid...

Eh, no it doesn't.
    And if any one else disagree with this i'll start a new thread and list all the stupid **** i've seen farmers do..

Go for it, see how long you last in Motors.

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Eh, no it doesn't.

Go for it, see how long you last in Motors.

A joke..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

towel401 wrote: »
    So what? Let these guys tow their own balers around the place, if you're that worried just keep your freaking distance. Of course most Dubs are in too much of a rush to get to their posh Dinner party to keep their distance, especially when such lowly lifeforms as "farmers" are in the way.

These lads have been towing trailers since before you were left outside the house. they know what they're doing. So get back to Facebook, your overpriced coffee and cock tails and let the "stupid farmers" get on with their lives.

So what? :eek:

Just for the benefit of "the Jackeens" who mightn't know what a baler looks like ...this is an example:
    baler.jpg

Now picture that being towed at a 100 km/h on a motorway and make up your own mind about "so what"