Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GRRRR Isnt it typical

• 21-05-2009 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭

I finally buy a car on my own, 2009 Honda Accord. 2.4L 4 cylinder, Metallic grey. Lovely looking car. wanted the V6 but they only had it in white

AND SOME FOOL GOES AND SCRATCHES UP MY BUMPER IN A SUPERMARKET PARKING LOT!!!

I'm so pissed! They drove off, didn't leave a note or anything!! :mad:

This ever happen to anyone else? Just get a car and its scratched or damaged in the first week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Happens nearly every day. Not getting a new car every day mind you but I barely had this Audi and this happened.

What about this?

PICT0574.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ouch, tough break. at least it was only the bumper and not part of the body. bumper scuffs are fixed very cheaply.

At least the first scratch is out of the way now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yeah. The missus bought an 05 Grand Scenic last year. Within a couple of weeks some cnut had crashed into the rear quarter panel and mashed it. It's crumpled. Of course no trace of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Bad alright and leaves the car with a tainted feeling for some time after it. Had mine hit by someone that I was 99.9% sure who it was, paint seemed to match etc... but had no witnesses and couldn't really do much, was fuming for weeks after it. Have her fixed and turn the other cheek, best get on with things and don't let it get you down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

It happened me about two months ago when i was delivering a 09 2.0CDTi 160bhp SRi Insignia.
    Stopped in to drop stuff off in the post office, and when i came out, there was an oul lad standing sheepishly beside it, with the hazards in his Nissan Note on.
    The first thought that went through my mind was an image of my gaffer, and the words "ooohhhh sh*t".
    Got it all sorted, wasnt a whole lot of damage in the end. He said the only reason he stayed was because he saw the trade plate in the window, and thought it was some kind of un-marked Garda car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

The Supermarket manager is helping us out with the security video feed of the parking area so that good. I think the damage is superficial, paint but its still the principle of it!

I would never leave without putting a note on the car to say sorry here is my details and insurance info! Some people have no respect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

I have the exact same srath mark on my passenger door! I was inconsolable the day it was discovered! now im a 2 spaces at the far end of the car park man! (yeah yeah get on your high horses and slag me but it's really to protect the unfortunate driver I could catch if it happened again!)
    Berty wrote: »
    Happens nearly every day. Not getting a new car every day mind you but I barely had this Audi and this happened.

What about this?

PICT0574.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I have the exact same srath mark on my passenger door! I was inconsolable the day it was discovered! now im a 2 spaces at the far end of the car park man! (yeah yeah get on your high horses and slag me but it's really to protect the unfortunate driver I could catch if it happened again!)

Mine was a dent. See the bottom of the door. It has been pushed in just above the sill. At cruising speed you could hear the whistle and during winter the moisture was getting into the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Id crack up if my car got marked. As sad as it sounds, I circle car parks to get a good space, I wont park next to mircas or any car with a baby seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Remember the old days when bumpers actually worked? My last car had aproper bumper with inserts and after 15 years they were unmarked. Feckin painted bumpers! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Sorry to hear.

I still park on the far side of a carpark in most situations. You'll see the carpark full towards the building, and then at the back you'll see mine sitting by itself. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭lau1247

last week on friday night my side mirror completely fell off..
    Some b*st*rd must have thought it is fun to do so..
    I'm sure of it because it is closest to the footpath..
    So that can't be an accidental thing..

I was so pissed!!
    Next time I see someone doing that to my car, I'm gonna break their fingers!

Why is there a need to destroy other's property for no apparant reason??
    Sometimes I think alcohol is to blame..

two christmas ago some guy also decide to take a stone and smash it into my windscreen.. but luckily he was actually caught in the act

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

This may sound incredibly naive, but aren't bumpers *intended* to take damage? Surely getting a scratch on one isn't the end of the world, regardless of the age/condition of the car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

It happened me about two months ago when i was delivering a 09 2.0CDTi 160bhp SRi Insignia.
    Stopped in to drop stuff off in the post office, and when i came out, there was an oul lad standing sheepishly beside it, with the hazards in his Nissan Note on.
    The first thought that went through my mind was an image of my gaffer, and the words "ooohhhh sh*t".
    Got it all sorted, wasnt a whole lot of damage in the end. He said the only reason he stayed was because he saw the trade plate in the window, and thought it was some kind of un-marked Garda car!

WORST NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!!

I had someone scheduled to collect a brand new car around 10.30 this morning. Got a call from the dealer last night at about 17.15 to say the valeter reversed in to something bringing it out of the valeting bay and has damaged the boot lid :eek:

Luckily, all is not lost as they have another car on site in the same colour so this morning they are going to swap the boot lids over, I've just got to figure out what to tell the driver to delay him without letting him know that someone has already pranged his pride an joy :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Grrrr......I feel your pain OP. Some prick put a nice set of scratches into my 6-month-old passenger door with their bumper in the work car park. It's not the fact that it happens taht's a problem - it's them ****ing off without a word that drives me mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

R.O.R wrote: »
    WORST NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!!

I had someone scheduled to collect a brand new car around 10.30 this morning. Got a call from the dealer last night at about 17.15 to say the valeter reversed in to something bringing it out of the valeting bay and has damaged the boot lid :eek:

Luckily, all is not lost as they have another car on site in the same colour so this morning they are going to swap the boot lids over, I've just got to figure out what to tell the driver to delay him without letting him know that someone has already pranged his pride an joy :confused:

Tell him there's a problem with the finance and you cant deliver the car until this afternoon, or possibly monday.. Always works...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I was sitting in my car in Dublin one day (in a parking spot outside a little shop) and an old geezer in a big Jag parked beside me and then hopped is door off my passenger door. I jumped out and gave out stink (no damage done really - just annoying) and he said "sure ya any have a cheap car, if my door was damaged it would cost thousands to fix" (my car was a Leon, about a year old at the time). I seen red and abused him to the hilt - his poncy ways, rich-boy attitude, how the bank probably owned his car, etc. He went off about his business then.

I calmed down a few hours later. I really wanted to get out and kick the mirrors or something off his car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

zoro wrote: »
    This may sound incredibly naive, but aren't bumpers *intended* to take damage? Surely getting a scratch on one isn't the end of the world, regardless of the age/condition of the car...

:eek: Its a one week old car!!!!!!!! I nearly cried!! first scratch is an emotional thing! :(

But ya, its not going to cost that much to repair, its the way it was damaged and the culprit didnt give a shlte and drove off.

Supposedly it was a elderly lady driving a large cadilac type vehicle, struggling to manouvour it and she caught my back end as she pulled away.

murfie wrote: »
    :eek: Its a one week old car!!!!!!!! I nearly cried!! first scratch is an emotional thing! :(

But ya, its not going to cost that much to repair, its the way it was damaged and the culprit didnt give a shlte and drove off.

Supposedly it was a elderly lady driving a large cadilac type vehicle, struggling to manouvour it and she caught my back end as she pulled away.

I understand what you're saying, but my point is that you had a very large, expensive hunk of metal parked near other, large expensive hunks of metal. You *HAVE* to expect that there'll be bumps and scratches.
    Also, it was the bumper that got hit. The very part of the car that is supposed to absorb the impact/small hits.

I've had my wing mirrors kicked off my car, windscreen kicked in and driver's door nearly ripped off (not a nice place to live :(), and I've only recently replaced that unlucky little Punto with a nice and comfy Qashqai. I had it no more than a week when I noticed that someone had scraped along the front right bumper and headlight.
    As you can expect, I wasn't over the moon, but it's a car. On a road. These things can, and will happen.

Unless it actually affects the aerodynamics and functionality of the car, or will cause future damage (ie: rust) then there's just no point in stressing out about little things like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Tell him there's a problem with the finance and you cant deliver the car until this afternoon, or possibly monday.. Always works...

Are you advocating lying to a customer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Are you advocating lying to a customer?

They were just a bit slow cleaning the car, but he left around 12.30 happy as Larry.

Now we just have to wait a few weeks before he rings in to say the boot isn't opening properly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

They were just a bit slow cleaning the car, but he left around 12.30 happy as Larry.

Now we just have to wait a few weeks before he rings in to say the boot isn't opening properly :rolleyes:

Why not just tell him you are replacing a faulty boot lid. Tis the truth and don't need to explain why it's faulty;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

In blanch last week and some goon parked at nearly a 45 degree angle in the space beside me resulting in the passenger leaving a nasty scratch on my door, seriously pissed off so i took my ignition key and left a deep gash all the way down the passenger side door.....in retrospect i stooped to a level i normally dont (so satisfying) but he had obviously no respect for anybodies car and couldnt even be bothered to take the 10 secionds needed to straighten up so his passenger woiuldnt be forced to hit my car.

Twat..

Jaysoose wrote: »
    ...seriously pissed off so i took my ignition key and left a deep gash all the way down the passenger side door.....Twat..

What the hell gives you the right to intentionally damage someone else's car like that?
    Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

OP, I really feel for you. It's an awful annoying thing to happen to you. Now I don't drive an expensive car but I look after it. The only marks on it are ones other people have kindly put on it for me.

It really irritates me to see people carelessly fling their door open or blindly swing out of a space. Just because they don't care for their cars doesn't mean the rest of us don't either!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

attachment.php?attachmentid=80645&stc=1&d=1243008841

lolz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

murfie wrote: »
    I finally buy a car on my own, 2009 Honda Accord. 2.4L 4 cylinder, Metallic grey. Lovely looking car.

Sorry to hear that OP. Happened to my back bumper before too.

Incidentally, best wishes with the car. The new Accord is a really beautiful car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

its gods idea of a joke. he knows you were happy when you bought the car but got jealous so had somebody scratch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

A few years ago i was parked in Blanchardstown shopping center, i was just putting a couple of bags in the boot when an idiot driving a Nissan came along parked so close to the passenger side he cliped the wing mirror pulling it back and it bounced back breaking the glass and knocked a big dent in it, i was fumming and he got out of his car still parked one inch from passenger door and i just started calling him all sorts and asked for his insurance details and his responsive was its only a mirror and with that i said your right and remembering walking around and kicked his side mirror clean off shouted some other abuse and got into my car and drove off. I remember at the time i had the shakes while driving home and also worried the guards would be along any minute, but i never heard anything after that.

I saw some other guy hit a car before with his jeep and drove off. I happily left a note informing him of the make, model and reg, some people just dont have any respect.

What the hell gives you the right to intentionally damage someone else's car like that?
    Ugh.

I took the same attitude as him as he obviously couldnt give a **** about my car which was parked with consideration for the people around me. So if he hit my car because he didnt want to take a couple of seconds to sort his parking out and prevent hitting my car door thats what gives me the right and i would do it again.

Jaysoose wrote: »
    I took the same attitude as him as he obviously couldnt give a **** about my car which was parked with consideration for the people around me. So if he hit my car because he didnt want to take a couple of seconds to sort his parking out and prevent hitting my car door thats what gives me the right and i would do it again.

Seriously, you're making no sense at all.

Are you honestly telling me that that guy intentionally went out to damage your car? The fact that he showed no remorse afterwards is annoying, and says alot about him, but it does *not* give you any right to damage his car at all.

An-eye-for-an-eye doesn't stand up in court, so why should it stand up for you now?

What you did was disgraceful, and nothing you say can justify it. You may be able to justify it to yourself, but that's a whole different ball game. Hitler was well able to justify what he did, so was Bush.

Seriously, you're making no sense at all.

Are you honestly telling me that that guy intentionally went out to damage your car? The fact that he showed no remorse afterwards is annoying, and says alot about him, but it does *not* give you any right to damage his car at all.

An-eye-for-an-eye doesn't stand up in court, so why should it stand up for you now?

What you did was disgraceful, and nothing you say can justify it. You may be able to justify it to yourself, but that's a whole different ball game. Hitler was well able to justify what he did, so was Bush.

He parked in such a way (in a half empty carpark) that his passenger had to hit my car to open their door so yes he went out of his way to damage my car.

Im not trying to justify anything but i'll be damned if i let people treat me and my property with zero respect and do nothing about it.

Hitler.....Bush......seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

WORST NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!!

Personally, as the customer, I'd have wanted the other car (assuming same spec level), or at the very least told what happened and a few quid knocked off as compensation.

You might think it's not a big deal for him to bring it back in if the boot lid does indeed start acting up as a result, but there's the time of work, rental hire (presumably), and general inconvenience (for your valeters mistake) for him to take into account while you sort it out.

Not having a go at you specifically, but that's how I'd see it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Too bad when it's a brand new car but **** happens unfortunately.