Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My(and mle124's) thread on our worst experience of road rage

• 21-05-2009 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭

So there I was(today) driving along the Dublin Rd in Limerick. For those of you who know it I was coming past Chawkes S/S onto the Kilmurry Roundabout.

There was a mini bus in the right hand lane waiting to access the roundabout and a Suzuki Liani behind it.

I waited in the left lane and when all was clear we all moved off. The bus moved off first so I knew it was clear. I went around the outer orbital lane and indicated to take the 2nd exit(into the City). The Suzuki Liani then flew up beside me and started to come in towards my drivers door. I blew the horn to "alert" him but he kept on swinging his car towards me trying to force his way in to the 2nd exit. I was too far forward(as his wing was at my drivers door) so I held my course.

So begins a bus lane. We cruised along and towards the end of the bus lane he flys up the bus lane and flys past me. I pulled in after the bus lane ended into the lane for the city with him in front of me.

I let him have his Alpha male moment and refused to stoop to his level because I met so many clots during my day.

We got to the next roundabout, 2 lanes on and 2 lanes off. He moved into the left lane which was 6 cars deep from the roundabout. The right lane was clear. This is the lane I wanted anyway. I headed down and around the rounadbout and after clearing the roundabout I saw him tear up after me(amazed by the accelaration of a Liani). I indicated right to Rhebogue, so did he. We went up this hill and I indicated right again into Rhebogue itself(heading towards Corbally - shortcut). I was concerned he was following me so I decided further up I would take a quiet road down the back of Musgraves and knew that If he took it he must be following me(hunch). He took the turn so down at the end by some cul de sacs I pulled over hopped out and went back to ask him why he was following me.

I got a finger wagged as though "come here". He opened his door and started to screech at me(old man) that I tried to run him off the road and should not be blowing the horn at him as I was wrong.

I pointed out following somebody around the streets in your car and shouting at them is road rage and driving in a bus lane is illegal. He says "you messed with the wrong guy". I said "we'll see what the Gardai have to say about it and I proceeded to my car".(to call the Gardai)

He said "no point, Im a Garda" and started fishing around his pockets. He pulls out an AIB(or similar little plastic thing) wallet and fishes through some cards for this Garda badge. At this stage I was in my car with the window up and the door locked because he was getting very confrontational and seemed quite aggressive.

He just kept saying "I have your reg and Im going to get you done". I just ignored him and took his reg and waited for Limerick Gardai to answer the phone.

He got into his car and I left the "scene".

I met them 10 minutes later in Corbally and gave them my details. I described the man in the mid to late 60's so we all presume he is retired and by the description of the wallet he had(non Garda issue for badges), the age description(could be wrong) and the missing Garda badge which should be opposite this badge. The badge also looks very old. He didnt really hold it still just kept waving it and shoving it in my face so its hard to get a good description of it.

They offered me the opportunity to make a statement or let them give him a caution. I took the caution option because Im sure it was just a hot headed moment.

Now of course lets be realistic. If he is still a Garda and just looking very old this will just slip away into oblivion(what little faith I have in the system) or he will ring up his buddies, or find out when on duty, find out my address and harrass me when off duty.

If he is a retired Garda he will just get told to stop waving his old badge at people as it will only get him in trouble eventually and I will get told he got a caution.

I am glad I reported him, Garda or retired Garda, to the Gardai because I was nevertheless a victim of roadrage. I have been victim of shouting and fist waving but never followed. I even considered driving to a Garda station but figured the first set of traffic lights I met he would get out so didnt entertain that idea.

I now patiently wait on the phone call from the Garda to see if they do anything with this old man.

I despair sometimes.

*apologies for stealing some of your precious time for this rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Mad grandad's lolz

i want them 2 minutes back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭bladespin

Certainly doesn't sound like the actions of a Garda (retired ot otherwise).
    You were definately right to report it, in fact you should have dialed 999 at the scene.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

ntlbell wrote: »
    Mad grandad's lolz

i want them 2 minutes back.

I will paypal you €.50c
    bladespin wrote: »
    You were definately right to report it, in fact you should have dialed 999 at the scene.

It was not quite an emergency but as I know the Limerick City number by memory it was little easier because the person on 999 will only put you through to that number anyway.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Should have kicked away his zimmer frame and taken his werther's originals - that'll learn him:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

If he is a Garda you are in for some fun I reckon.

Ye of little fate(including me).

Garda from Limericks Henry St Garda station called me to inform me after some further investigation into the car and driver he can report:

The driver is not a Garda
    The driver was never a Garda
    The driver lives in XXX which is another jurisdiction
    The driver...........wait for it.......... has 15 convictions for numerous items including drink driving, drunk and disorderly, ABH(phew i locked doors and put up window) amongst other things.

The Garda from the other station/county will call me about this.

My GF seemed unimpressed and said I hope you wont have to do anything. I said the opposite.

I hope I have to give a statement and I hope that he goes to court and I will gladly turn up in court and make my statement against him.

The Garda in Limerick said whilst cursing(so passionate these boys):

"He will get the book thrown at him, impersonating a Garda is a serious offence and more so in the eyes of an actual Garda, let alone the other charges of driving in a bus lane out of hours, dangerous driving and open harassment of another driver(following).

I am exceptionally glad I followed through with reporting him. :D

My that was fast. The incident only occured at around 2:30pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

That was a quick turn around. Ye can rest easy now and not worry about angry oldlads coming to your door flashing pretend gardai ID. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

When traveling in a car coming of the M50 going onto the M1 a few months ago.
    We were in the slow lane on the M50 heading onto to the M1 when a black man in a red Nissan cuts straight from the fast lane all the way over to the M1 lane and missed the front of our car buy about 0.75-1.00 Meters which then caused our car to break hard and then the driver behind nearly going into the back of us (more less a pileup) and then when the driver of the car I was in beeped his horn and then we get the middle finger from the man in the Nissan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭MarkN

Road rage is a very grey area and you'll often be the one (who acted AFTER some to55er nearly hit you etc) that gets in trouble with the law.

I had an incident recently where a pig ignorant woman forced her way into a lane of traffic that I was fully committed to and I had the right of way anyway (the two lanes merged into one) I had to go to the opposite side of the road to avoid her or else she was going to be mounting a footpath and when I asked her what her problem was - I WAS THE ONE that got a telling off as she went and rang the guards.

I politely told the guard that if that woman tried to pursue me for "road rage" I would be making a statement for driving without due care and attention and or dangerous driving against her and that I had a passenger witness. OP if it gets any further, that's the route I'd take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Nice (interim) result. :cool:

At this stage the road rage & driving offences don't really matter as I am sure the Gardai will be keen to pursue the impersonation charge with ot without your assistance.

Even if you were in the wrong for the driving issues following someone is insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Fair play. This guy is a cnut. Imagine if he did this to an auld one (assuming you're not an auld one), they'd feel really threatened. If he has so many convicitions he's obviously a prick.

mle1324 wrote: »
    When traveling in a car coming of the M50 going onto the M1 a few months ago.
    We were in the slow lane on the M50 heading onto to the M1 when a black man in a red Nissan cuts straight from the fast lane all the way over to the M1 lane and missed the front of our car buy about 0.75-1.00 Meters which then caused our car to break hard and then the driver behind nearly going into the back of us (more less a pileup) and then when the driver of the car I was in beeped his horn and then we get the middle finger from the man in the Nissan.

There is a hosted room mod'd by a frequent visitor to motors where a suitable response would be acceptable but herethat -Chris- fellow would ban me instantly. Perma ban most likely. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭schoolbag2

id like to hear the other side of the story.

Berty wrote: »
    There is a hosted room mod'd by a frequent visitor to motors where a suitable response would be acceptable but herethat -Chris- fellow would ban me instantly. Perma ban most likely. ;)

what do you mean.the thread is 'My worst experiences of road rage' i am just giving my story:)

Quint wrote: »
    Fair play. This guy is a cnut. Imagine if he did this to an auld one (assuming you're not an auld one), they'd feel really threatened. If he has so many convicitions he's obviously a prick.

*Check faculties and bodily functions are still intact :eek:
    schoolbag2 wrote: »
    id like to hear the other side of the story.

Should be identical to mine except his observations of his judgement on the rules of a roundabout, use of buslane, although correct in his mind will be flawed in reality. Also his reasons for following me would not hold water.

I doubt the Gardai/Investigating Detective will be too keen to hear about this and will most likely just flog him for impersonating a Garda.

what do you mean.the thread is 'My worst experiences of road rage' i am just giving my story:)

"My" being the operative word.

Find your own thread, thread stealing monkey boy. :P

"My" being the operative word.

Find your own thread, thread stealing monkey boy. :P

oh,well the only reason why i posted that post is because the mods like to lock therads which already exsist so i have never seen a thread like the one you made before so thats why i posted that post:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭schoolbag2

I read about that before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I'm just waiting for an excuse Berty, watching and waiting... :mad::mad::mad::D

oh,well the only reason why i posted that post is because the mods like to lock therads which already exsist so i have never seen a thread like the one you made before so thats why i posted that post:)

Check the thread title.

* gives you a big hug :D
    -Chris- wrote: »
    I'm just waiting for an excuse Berty, watching and waiting... :mad::mad::mad::D

I'll get you yet Chris. I will post something, you will read it and in a instant I will have edited my post, you will ban me and then wonder

"what happened, maybe he didnt say anything wrong"

Oh, I will mess with your head.

Ok back on topic. Lets hoping I get an update soon and I will update the thread with those details. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

Hehe that was an amusing read I have to say.

Though I would probably have reacted badly and punched the guy.
    Kudos for using your brain in a moment of pressure :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I'll get you yet Chris. I will post something, you will read it and in a instant I will have edited my post, you will ban me and then wonder

"what happened, maybe he didnt say anything wrong"
    "why didn't Peasant do that ages ago?"

Oh, I will mess with your head never be allowed near boards.ie again.

Fixed that for you

Ok back on topic. Lets hoping I get an update soon and I will update the thread with those details. ;)

Please, fair play to you for following through. People like that need to be pulled up on their actions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

In my experience generally in Limerick a lot of people dont know how to use these roundabouts, they treat a roundabout with 2 lanes and one lane in the exit like it has 2 lanes on the exit and concequently end up tying to force their way in on top of you or in front of you.

The same way people in Tipp town will wave you on at a roundabout even if they have right of way, just redicilous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

FearDark wrote: »
    In my experience generally in Ireland, a lot of people dont know how to use these roundabouts, they treat a roundabout with 2 lanes and one lane in the exit like it has 2 lanes on the exit and concequently end up tying to force their way in on top of you or in front of you.
    Fixed that for you:D