Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do gaa stars do college exams?

• 21-05-2009 7:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭

hey just a quick question.im in lit some of us were debating this.for example the galway hurler joe canning is a huge star in l.i.t and is supposely in my year and i have never seen he about(wouldnt know him bar the pics)and people were telling me all the good gaa players get passed through.can anyone confirm/deny this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

It could vary from college to college. I'm in UCD and that sort of stuff doesn't happen (to the best of my knowledge). It's so big the GAA wouldn't have sway over the various departments.

It could be prevalent in other colleges, I know that there was a bit of controversy about some colleges (***DCU, UUJ***) giving out scholarships to anyone who could kick snow off a rope no matter how they did in their leaving, so exam passing could well happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

hey just a quick question.im in lit some of us were debating this.for example the galway hurler joe canning is a huge star in l.i.t and is supposely in my year and i have never seen he about(wouldnt know him bar the pics)and people were telling me all the good gaa players get passed through.can anyone confirm/deny this?

Not true I presume but in some colleges (and from my own experience) some of them get "hints" before examinations.

All students on scholorships in my time worked hard and true - the college would try its best to "help" out but the exams and work still had to be done!

Some of the scholorships students would also bypass the standard entry methods (leaving cert points - CAO) and enter courses which they would have fell short of: eg PE, Sports Science etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I would very much doubt that anybody would be allowed a free pass on exams. If it did happen it would be very difficult for it to happen without anybody noticing.

With my mod hat on, be very careful in what is posted here. Unsubstantiated rumours etc. will result in this thread being closed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I went to the same college as Eoin Kelly - Tipp corner forward - and I remember he playing for Tipp on the Sunday in the championship and seeing him in on the following Tuesday for an exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Used to see Mark Vaughan,Cian Ward etc in DIT in the library.Very much did their work for their degrees.Vaughan must have been under a lot of pressure last year playing for Dublin while studying for his degree.Their course thesis was due in March as well.

I hear Vaughan is studying for his masters.Must be another tough year given that he had the club championships too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I lived in the same apartment as one last year, and he certainly worked/did his exams. Unbeleivably hectic life he had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

I would very much doubt that anybody would be allowed a free pass on exams. If it did happen it would be very difficult for it to happen without anybody noticing.

With my mod hat on, be very careful in what is posted here. Unsubstantiated rumours etc. will result in this thread being closed.

Put it this way I know for a fact that some scholorship students in a certain college were giving a very clear insight to what was coming up on a certain exam...

The GAA comes in handy eh??

Also look at the amount of players working in banks these days - surely there is a discrimination case there somewhere :P

thewools wrote: »
    Put it this way I know for a fact that some scholorship students in a certain college were giving a very clear insight to what was coming up on a certain exam...

The GAA comes in handy eh??

Also look at the amount of players working in banks these days - surely there is a discrimination case there somewhere :P

Okay last warning, before bans are handed out and the thread is locked. Please read the forum charter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

How to do well on the pitch: sleep well, keep healthy.

How to do well in class: exercise, sleep well.

Most of them will study hard, as their scholarship depends on it. As there is a mindset amongst some people that studying is for nerds, some GAA heads will most likely study, but also come out for a pint. You'll notice them whe your're out, and thus think they are "living the life", etc, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭irishvamp90

ok well sorry to mention names.hes a great player no doubt.but any gaa player could turn up to the exam and do crap and still be passed through.depends on the course i suppose.something like business it could easliy be done but i know some of the q.s lads and see them in the study room alot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

Gingy wrote: »
    It could vary from college to college. I'm in UCD and that sort of stuff doesn't happen (to the best of my knowledge). It's so big the GAA wouldn't have sway over the various departments.

It could be prevalent in other colleges, I know that there was a bit of controversy about some colleges (***DCU, UUJ***) giving out scholarships to anyone who could kick snow off a rope no matter how they did in their leaving, so exam passing could well happen.

That would be the idea of a sports scholarship, I'm sure the colleges you mention subscribe to the same entry requirements for a sports scholarship as UCD!! Excellence in sport!! Once in they must meet their course requirements same as any other student!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Whats the problem here. They are amateur sportsmen who train 4/5 nights a week and play one weekend day . Why the fcuk would they need any help to pass an exam. If college is anything like my day you have between 10 and 20 hours a week.

I work five days a week - train six days a week - and still pass my professional level accountancy exams

Some people really overemphasise/hype up the commitment involved in senior level football (And I say this as a good friend of one of this country's top midfielders)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

John Lee is a good example. He wanted to skip this season to study for a Biology course. He's back though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

blackbelt wrote: »
    Used to see Mark Vaughan,Cian Ward etc in DIT in the library.Very much did their work for their degrees.Vaughan must have been under a lot of pressure last year playing for Dublin while studying for his degree.Their course thesis was due in March as well.

I hear Vaughan is studying for his masters.Must be another tough year given that he had the club championships too.
    Cian Ward working in the library... more then he did on the football pitch i can tell you :P
    What connection do you have with DIT, if you don't mind me asking.

On Topic, AS far as i know there is no Free Passes, but Colleges will help them with easier Marking etc. I know a good few guys who were on GAA scholerships, not big stars mind you, but they failed exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Marse wrote: »
    That would be the idea of a sports scholarship, I'm sure the colleges you mention subscribe to the same entry requirements for a sports scholarship as UCD!! Excellence in sport!! Once in they must meet their course requirements same as any other student!!

UCD only give out sports scholarships to applicants who have obtained the necessary points in the Leaving Cert for their desired course. No sports 'stars' get a scholarship on sport alone. Other colleges (which I have already mentioned) give out scholarships to students even if they don't meet the requirements, just to bulk up their teams. UCD gave 2 football scholarships this year, DCU gave in the region of 14/15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

I lived with Dessie Dolan in NUIG and he definitely studied for exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

A few of my mates are on scholarships and to be honest they work their ass's off. They have a hectic schedule between training and some of them with promotional work. The way they look at it is they are lucky to have been given the opportunity to do it and aren't going to throw it all away.

They very much study for exams!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

Gingy wrote: »
    UCD only give out sports scholarships to applicants who have obtained the necessary points in the Leaving Cert for their desired course. No sports 'stars' get a scholarship on sport alone. Other colleges (which I have already mentioned) give out scholarships to students even if they don't meet the requirements, just to bulk up their teams. UCD gave 2 football scholarships this year, DCU gave in the region of 14/15.

UCD Academic requirements:
    There are several important criteria which must be met - academic qualification for a course must be achieved

DCU Academic requirements:
    Applications will be considered from current students and also from prospective students. In order to be considered for a sport scholarship prospective students must meet the DCU admission requirements through the CAO system and must enrol on a programme of academic study at DCU

From the respective schools websites, seem pretty similar to, me if anything DCU adds a little more meat to their requirements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

I'll keep this short as ive logged on in my mates account!

I was intercounty, failed exams miserably, never got a hint at all. And thats the way it should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I was friends/acquaintances with several inter-county GAA players from various courses and colleges during my own time in in college, some of them household names and they had to work every bit as hard as anyone else to pass their exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i detect a taste of bittness from one or 2 posts. the original post and one or 2 more are crazy. they may get grants/scholarships, but to suggest they are given free degrees is insluting the lads who study hard and train hard.

as regards working in good jobs, its free advertising for companies, banks etc. people will come into their business and maybe buy things, if the local gaa star is working there. its a no brainer.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Homerjay posted what I was gonna say about the stars getting jobs - its great PR for the company involved!

I know a couple of intercounty players and they all worked for their degress, there is always this thing about GAA players getting a good deal, but it is untrue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Benhonan

The vast majority of inter-county players who are in third level education have to study very hard for their degrees and don't get any special treatment - Stephen Lucey was not handed a medicine degree and nor will John Lee be.

HOWEVER, it's fairly common knowledge that Joe Canning doesn't do a tap in LIT and manages to pass, and he's definitely not the only one in the country. Also UUJ and DCU hand out scholarships for masters courses for big money that don't require and college attendence or prior academic achievement. There is an elite athlete scheme in DCU where you basically pass your leaving cert and they will allow you to study whatever you want. When you're in there you probably have to work if it's one of the proper courses though.

Benhonan wrote: »
    HOWEVER, it's fairly common knowledge that Joe Canning doesn't do a tap in LIT and manages to pass, and he's definitely not the only one in the country. Also UUJ and DCU hand out scholarships for masters courses for big money that don't require and college attendence or prior academic achievement. There is an elite athlete scheme in DCU where you basically pass your leaving cert and they will allow you to study whatever you want. When you're in there you probably have to work if it's one of the proper courses though.

Banned for 3 days. Anymore messing and this thread will be locked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

i detect a taste of bittness from one or 2 posts. the original post and one or 2 more are crazy. they may get grants/scholarships, but to suggest they are given free degrees is insluting the lads who study hard and train hard.

as regards working in good jobs, its free advertising for companies, banks etc. people will come into their business and maybe buy things, if the local gaa star is working there. its a no brainer.

Fully agree, My mother God rest her used to say "Begrudgery is the biggest killer of people in Ireland".

I dont believe anyone is given a degree. But extra tuition yes and sometimes help from their county board. These lads are so committed they deserve a little break. One guy I know used to leave his clollage at 3 to get to training at 7.30 and then head back and not in by midnight he got some help with a little cooperation from a lecturer and his county board.
    On the scholarships some lads get into collage who dont meet the required points and there is nothing wrong with this when you look at it closely. They have all sat the leaving cert and EXAM points dont make people and the style of collage and course they pick can sometimes see a lad flourish and prosper.Some for various reasons just struggled in secondary school or didnt have a rich dad to pay for grinds.

In U.C.D it helps if you went to some private secondary school and played rugger. Was it on liveline a few weeks ago about the snobbery in U.C.D. towards people from certain areas and the cloths they wore. No wonder the country is such a mess. Thank god for the G.A.A
    As for the jobs these lads are walking advertising for whoever they work for, they get time off to go training and some play golf classics. Its like the way Rugby used to be with all "the guys" getting into the bank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Benhonan

Right bans finished. I see where you're coming from and that's true, however I do think that the practices some colleges go to of paying huge scholarships to players to do mickey mouse courses which require no work on their part is a bad one. Someone has already mentioned this practice, and it has nothing to do with making up for disadvantages. It's about colleges investing in sport in a very cynical way and it goes against the academic ethos of Irish colleges. this is totally different from extra grinds given to students who have to train hard and can't attend all lectures.

LeoB wrote: »
    In U.C.D it helps if you went to some private secondary school and played rugger. Was it on liveline a few weeks ago about the snobbery in U.C.D. towards people from certain areas and the cloths they wore.

Ah Liveline, how exactly would going to a private school or playing rugby help you with? I did not go to a private school or a rugby playing school, but had not problems getting a BSc or PhD from there. As for snobbery it is no better or worse than anywhere else, there are idiots everywhere.

Anyway back on topic, I don't envy some of the GAA players trying to balance playing and committments. A GAA player at that age is probably playing club senior, club U-21, county U-21, county senior and colleges, while at the same time trying to get their qualifications. No wonder people do not see them and wonder if they are around. I cannot imagine how difficult it might have been for someone like Stephen Lucey, studying medicine and playing football and hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Anyway back on topic, I don't envy some of the GAA players trying to balance playing and committments. A GAA player at that age is probably playing club senior, club U-21, county U-21, county senior and colleges, while at the same time trying to get their qualifications. No wonder people do not see them and wonder if they are around. I cannot imagine how difficult it might have been for someone like Stephen Lucey, studying medicine and playing football and hurling

I don't think anyone will argue the point of it being difficult, but certainly I can see the issue people would have with favouritism if it was going on.

A guy like Stephen Lucey decides what course he wants to do, he also decides what sports he wants to play and to what level. If it turns out he's not capable of it then to be fair that's his own lookout.

Same goes for any other GAA players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Well i know that a few hurling and football lads in cit are pointed in the right direction when its coming up to exams but they still have to put a good amount of work in

keane2097 wrote: »
    I don't think anyone will argue the point of it being difficult, but certainly I can see the issue people would have with favouritism if it was going on.

A guy like Stephen Lucey decides what course he wants to do, he also decides what sports he wants to play and to what level. If it turns out he's not capable of it then to be fair that's his own lookout.

Same goes for any other GAA players.

If it is going on. A lot of people here are perhaps over estimating the degree to which this can go on. CAO handles applications centrally and without bias for degree courses. Exams in universities are have external examiners that assess the exams and there fairness etc.

Yes it is the choice of the players, but fair play to them if they want to maximise their potential, it should be encouraged instead of people having a pop saying they have an easy ride.
    Well i know that a few hurling and football lads in cit are pointed in the right direction when its coming up to exams but they still have to put a good amount of work in

Sigh, I am locking this thread, I have posted warnings about this sort of stuff and banned people. I can only see this getting worse, some people are already having a go at individual universities totally off topic