Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More vicious dogs

• 19-05-2009 9:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭

Cycling home tonight, between Monivea and Newcastle, out runs Shep with the snarling teeth, growling and going ape. I cant get off the bike to my right side (brain malfunctions) so in my panic I locked the steering and landed on the road like a bag of spuds.

I spent 5 minutes knocking at the owners door, no reply. Went back just now in the car to leave the owners a note and my phone number. Their neighbour drove up to see what I was up to and explained to me that she's an old dear living on her own. I feel bad now, I dont want to scare her or cause her hassle but I have tangled with her fcuking mongrel three times now. I left a note in her letterbox anyways exaplining the problem and asking her to ring me.

this aint over:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,232 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Since this is happening regularly, maybe a "commuting waterbottle" filled with weak vinegar solution would be a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭jautukas87

Drop some of this. It is easy to DIY.
    poison_meat.jpg
    Just don't get all start crying. I HATE dogs. There I said it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

report it to rspca or police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭cantalach

jautukas87 wrote: »
    Drop some of this. It is easy to DIY.
    Just don't get all start crying. I HATE dogs. There I said it.

That mightn't be such a good idea now that he's left a note with his phone number on it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

KStaford wrote: »
    out runs Shep with the snarling teeth, growling and going ape.

Just think of it from now on as 'sprint training'...:D

If shes an old dear living on her own it may be her security system and may not want to tie up the dog for that reason... try Lumans answer above, the dog will remember you!

When you fell off did he bite you? if not all he prob wont harm you when your cycling.live and let live???

3.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Lumen wrote: »
    Since this is happening regularly, maybe a "commuting waterbottle" filled with weak vinegar solution would be a good idea.

Or a mildly strong tobasco solution...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

chased by a dog = redneck intervals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭KStaford

Acoustic wrote: »
    report it to rspca or police

what fcukin country do you live in :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

what fcukin country do you live in :cool:

Is this an emergency or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Sean02

If you happened to kisten to the RTE Joe Duffy last weekand the poor lady talking about how her dog was savaged to death by 3 alsations. Response from Gardai and RSPCA was NIL. Rspca in fairness advised her how to handle this situation herself. I did't catch what area was invloved ,does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭stevie_b

Cycling home tonight, between Monivea and Newcastle, out runs Shep with the snarling teeth, growling and going ape. I cant get off the bike to my right side (brain malfunctions) so in my panic I locked the steering and landed on the road like a bag of spuds.

I spent 5 minutes knocking at the owners door, no reply. Went back just now in the car to leave the owners a note and my phone number. Their neighbour drove up to see what I was up to and explained to me that she's an old dear living on her own. I feel bad now, I dont want to scare her or cause her hassle but I have tangled with her fcuking mongrel three times now. I left a note in her letterbox anyways exaplining the problem and asking her to ring me.

this aint over:mad:

did the dog savage you when you fell off the bike? good to see your still alive anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

J
    If shes an old dear living on her own it may be her security system and may not want to tie up the dog for that reason

Well he did his job very well and kept that lunatic cyclist from attacking her!
    Chapeu to Shep.

Raam wrote: »
    Well he did his job very well and kept that lunatic cyclist from attacking her!
    Chapeu to Shep.

dogs will be dogs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭WicklowRacer

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Or a mildly strong tobasco solution...

Pepper spray. Works every time...

Isn't it illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

jautukas87 wrote: »
    Isn't it illegal?

says the man with poisoned meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Vicious dogs while cycling are a big fear for me. I got a big scare when very young when passing an old farmers place a few miles away (I wouldn't mind only my father reared the dog and I had played with him a year or so previously when he was a pup!) TBH it left it's mark:o

However I presume from description the dog in question is a collie? Quite often (not always) their bark is worse than their bite - they like chasing things - sheep, cars, cyclists... And usually they're quite small and light - bitches especially.
    el tonto wrote: »
    chased by a dog = redneck intervals

stevie_b wrote: »
    did the dog savage you when you fell off the bike?

I take it he did not? Hardly a bloody-thirsty rotweiller then. I'm scared ****less i'll be chased by an Alsatian or something some day because some dogs would savage you if you fell off.

As I say I'm nervous of dogs myself but I think it's a bit rich 'city-boys' complaining because they get a bit of a chase off a relatively harmless mutt when they dare venture out into the sticks and end up hassling little old ladies. You say yourself you have a problem getting of a bike on the right side (?) - might I suggest that was more a cause of your fall than a common-or-garden hazard?

niceonetom wrote: »
    says the man with poisoned meat.
    Of course I would not mind having couple options. (Knifes, guns, some explosions .... ) But looking on legal side here I don't want to look like dog killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

pburns wrote: »
    However I presume from description the dog in question is a collie? Quite often (not always) their bark is worse than their bite - they like chasing things - sheep, cars, cyclists... And usually they're quite small and light - bitches especially.

QUOTE]

cant agree with this, having had a collie sink its teeth into my calf before. (and recently one of my work collegues). i wouldnt go near the owners, i know some guards so i mention it to them, invariably its not the first case of a bite.
    last time i was chased i just unclick my metal frame fit pump and aim for the head if their injured not my problem. funny the last time i did this the dog was tied up within a couple of days.
    luckily its lambs round here at the moment so all the dogs are tied up (in fact most of the decent owners in country areas do that anyway because of livestock). unfortunately there not a lot you can do.

and its not a joke i know someone who was attacked and ended up with major head injuries in hospital for a few weeks ( she doesnt wear a helmet btw )

BTW

where do you get pepper spray from

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

I suspect that the OP might find the label "city boy" somewhat offensive.

Fair enough. The 'redneck' comment of another poster annoyed me. Ya have to expect to run into a few rednecks if you go for a spin in the sticks;)

Even though I sympathise with the OP's problem however I do think the re-action is a little bit OTT if he could fall and get up and go to the old dears door without the dog harming him. Of course the dog should be locked in the owners yard but that's not gonna happen 100% of the time. As long as it is not a vicious breed it is one of the hazards cyclists have to be mindful of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I used to commute by bike to work near Navan, 12 miles each way. I was often threatened by dogs on the road, but mostly had to ignore it because there was never an owner around. Then one day I was caught and bitten on the thigh.

I went through the reporting to the Gardai, medical report and prosecution procedure to find, 18 months later that the Gardai had decided they couldn't proceed with the case - no reason given beyond they didn't think they could win.

As a "blow-in" I was pretty sure the old local community clique conspired to have the case dropped.

So I started carrying a long stick with a lump on the end. A club, if you will. I never got bitten again, and owners came out of the woodwork pretty quickly after their dog caught a lump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

When I lived in England I did a lot of mountain biking in the North Downs. One day flying down this hill back into the town, there was a house with a few dogs. There was one particularly viscious little terrier that would always come after you.
    Having had enough of the little fcuker, flying down the hill (probably going far too fast), I aimed a kick at the dog, and caught him beautifully, he went straight up into the air and came down on other side of the road. It was luck rather than design that the kick even suceeded.

I have no idea if he every came after me again, no memory. That one would work well for a terrier, mightn't work as well for a collie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭hynesie

cant agree with this, having had a collie sink its teeth into my calf before. (and recently one of my work collegues).
    Surely you ought to be able to sprint away from your colleague whatever about the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Cycling home tonight, between Monivea and Newcastle, out runs Shep with the snarling teeth, growling and going ape.
    Contact the Dog Warden in the local authority. In Fingal CoCo they've been good about responding to my calls.

Stall the ball , things are getting a little outa control.

Why should he contact the cops or the warden? Cos a dog barked at him???

I dont know how ye were brought up but I was certainly made aware of other people and animals. One cannot always shape the external world to fit their whims, ie get a dog put down because he barks!!!
    Do ye really believe this old lady deserves the hassle cos her dog barked at someone???

A biting dog is one thing but I have no reason to believe this dog is in any way dangrous. Sorry now but if you decide to leave the comfort of your own home your gonna have to be prepared for the world

grow a pair for f*** sake

OP my advise, you know where the dog is, so take action, speed up before passing, change route, go slow so he has nothing to chase but you know falling off ur bike isnt gonna help the situation so stop doing that :D

To all the dog killers:
    Chances are if he aint bitten anyone up to now hes not going to and sorry but the lady and the dog were there first, change route if ye cant handle dogs!!

What next, shooting cats for frightning ye when running across the road, as said above if ye are gonna venture out into public grow a pair...

grow a pair...
    I wish some dog to bite whatever your growing there... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭adodsk

hmm i'm not so much worried about loose dogs (or any other animal) biting me but much more worried about one of them running out in front of me as i'm going downhill at speed.

I suppose there is nothing to do but be careful of sheep which will always find a way to stray onto a rural road but dogs should be trained and/or restrained. Our fella doesn't get a sniff outside the gate unless he's on a lead.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

My neighbour has a rotweiller. According to the owner it "doesn't like cyclists or prams" and its chased me into my own driveway last year as I cycled home from work. She followed up after it and proceeded to ask if I live here (she's a blow in) although having been away at university I'm haven't been around as much but I was pretty indignant about the whole matter.

Last week the rotweiller chased another cyclist (female, non roadie, town bike, basket on front type of thing) who gave out to the owner saying that the dog should be under control. The owner retorted that the cyclists continued movement was agitating the dog who had just been let out and when the cyclist proceeded to give out a again and cycle off she said words to the effect of "I hope she (the rotweiller) bites you in the ass" or something like that with a few expletives.

I have been stopped by family members from reporting this creature to the relevant authorities but if it happens one more time thats it, county dog warden it is.

I'd consider using pepper spray only the owner is a copper.....

And perhaps the greatest irony of all is that the dogs name is "missy".

neilled wrote: »
    The owner retorted that the cyclists continued movement was agitating the dog who had just been let out and when the cyclist proceeded to give out a again and cycle off she said words to the effect of "I hope she (the rotweiller) bites you in the ass" or something like that with a few expletives.

I have been stopped by family members from reporting this creature to the relevant authorities but if it happens one more time thats it, county dog warden it is.

Barely acceptable from the owner of a jack russell, completely unacceptable with a Rottweiler. Those things can really do some damage.

I'd report it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭KStaford

First of all, the dog in question is a sheep dog (ish), bit narky, but as soon as I walked into the drive of the house, he shut up and looked at me shaking - nervous. As soon as you get back on the bike he goes ape.

2. I am acountry lad, all my life.

3. re - getting a pair has nothing to do with it! The problem with dogs running out after you is that it gets very VERY dangerous if you hpen to meet a car at the same time. This happened to me twice already with this particular dog. One of these days either I or the dog will end up under a car and then it gets serious. This is the issue with all dogs chasing cyclists.

4. We are all responsible for our dogs and have a legal duty to have them under control (and licenced for that matter)

5. People have a right to cycle the road without being hassled, attacked, knocked down or threatened.

6. I will not make any trouble for this old lady (if I ever get to meet her). I have a feeling it might be a relative of the neighbour I spoke to and he is covering for her. I just want to discuss with her how we can secure the animal from getting out on the road, might be as simple as closing the gate, radio collar, bit of fencing etc - sure beats dealing with potentially far worse consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

My neighbour has a rotweiller. .......
    Last week the rotweiller chased another cyclist (female, non roadie, town bike, basket on front type of thing) who gave out to the owner saying that the dog should be under control. The owner retorted that the cyclists continued movement was agitating the dog who had just been let out and when the cyclist proceeded to give out a again and cycle off she said words to the effect of "I hope she (the rotweiller) bites you in the ass" or something like that with a few expletives.
    Report this animal before he kills somebody. If a kid or elderly person ends up in front of a car while trying to avoid this creature................
    I live in the sticks and a routine part of my training is "Redneck interval training" (good one tonto) But most of the muts are harmeless and I know when they are coming. What I do have a problem with is larger dogs that come unexpectadly at you. Your natural response is to swerve into the road and :eek:. I hate those sneeky fcukers as they frighten the bejasus out of me. I have witnessed on 3 different occasions, dogs being hit by cars or vans as they crossed from the opposite side to have a go at me. Yes I felt sorry for them but rather them than me. Ultimately it was the owners fault, they obviously loved their pets but I'm pretty sure it wasn't the first time that they allowed those dogs run loose on a road. In one case which was quite disturbing the dog was hit by a people carrier which was full of young children. A lot of damage to the vehicle and a major fright for the driver and its occupants. (and me)
    Owners of these dogs don't realise the potential seriousness of these "minor" incidences

3. re - getting a pair has nothing to do with it! .

Sorry KStaford, that point wasnt aimed at you.

My neighbour has a rotweiller. According to the owner it "doesn't like cyclists or prams"

"I hope she (the rotweiller) bites you in the ass" or something like that with a few expletives.

Being attacked and barked at are very different, are they not identified as special catagory dogs? Sounds dodge to me, Report that (if not for the comment made than for the poor dogs name:()

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

You don't need to get bitten by a dog for a dangerous situation to occur.

Sorry KStaford, that point wasnt aimed at you.

Being attacked and barked at are very different, are they not identified as special catagory dogs? Sounds dodge to me, Report that (if not for the comment made than for the poor dogs name:()

I think under the relevant law in N.I attacked means making the person in question think they are under attack. Barking behind a fence is onething, chasing you into your own house is another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

Hey Neiled,

That neighbour with the Rottweiler is actually breaking the law, regardless of the owner being a Guard. I own a Doberman, and although its a complete cluless pet thats scared of sheep ( I kid you not !! ), I know the law when the dog is in a public place, ie. must wear a muzzle, has to be on a lead ( not those extendable ones either ) and only with a person over 16 strong enough to control the dog. A Rottweiler with free access to a public area is illegal, its clear as daylight, no grey areas, tell your tosser of a neighbour to cop fcuking on.

Murph

From Dept of Environment :

The Control of Dogs Regulations 1998 place controls on 10 breeds of dogs namely the American Pit Bull Terrier; English Bull Terrier; Staffordshire Bull Terrier; Bull Mastiff; Doberman Pinscher; German Shepherd (Alsatian); Rhodesian Ridgeback; Rottweiler; Japanese Akita; Japanese Tosa and to every dog of the type commonly known as a Ban Dog (or Bandog).
    The controls, which must be observed when the dog is in a public place, require that these dogs, or strains and crosses thereof, must be kept on a strong short lead [only up to 2 metres long] by a person over 16 years of age who is capable of controlling them. The dog/s must be securely muzzled too. Furthermore, the Control of Dogs Act 1986 gives specific powers to the courts to order that a dog, which the court considers dangerous, must be kept under proper control or be destroyed.

You don't need to get bitten by a dog for a dangerous situation to occur.

Agreed, but if some one stepped out in front of you would you get them arrested for J walking??

Wait, most people here would:D:D:D

Agreed, but if some one stepped out in front of you would you get them arrested for J walking??

If the pedestrian ran after me shouting and coming close to knocking me off the bike, I would.

Based on your cowardly avoidance of confrontation with the plank-wielding five year old, I have my doubts.

Keyboard warrior.

Based on your cowardly avoidance of confrontation with the plank-wielding five year old, I have my doubts.

Oh I reported that alright. The five year old was put down.

Murph100 wrote: »
    Hey Neiled,

That neighbour with the Rottweiler is actually breaking the law, regardless of the owner being a Guard. I own a Doberman, and although its a complete cluless pet thats scared of sheep ( I kid you not !! ), I know the law when the dog is in a public place, ie. must wear a muzzle, has to be on a lead ( not those extendable ones either ) and only with a person over 16 strong enough to control the dog. A Rottweiler with free access to a public area is illegal, its clear as daylight, no grey areas, tell your tosser of a neighbour to cop fcuking on.

Murph

From Dept of Environment :

The Control of Dogs Regulations 1998 place controls on 10 breeds of dogs namely the American Pit Bull Terrier; English Bull Terrier; Staffordshire Bull Terrier; Bull Mastiff; Doberman Pinscher; German Shepherd (Alsatian); Rhodesian Ridgeback; Rottweiler; Japanese Akita; Japanese Tosa and to every dog of the type commonly known as a Ban Dog (or Bandog).
    The controls, which must be observed when the dog is in a public place, require that these dogs, or strains and crosses thereof, must be kept on a strong short lead [only up to 2 metres long] by a person over 16 years of age who is capable of controlling them. The dog/s must be securely muzzled too. Furthermore, the Control of Dogs Act 1986 gives specific powers to the courts to order that a dog, which the court considers dangerous, must be kept under proper control or be destroyed.

Neighbour is a Member of the PSNI! The legislation is different but a neighbour and I who have had experiences have reported it to the relevant authorities who are erm saying they're powerless unless said beastie is out on the road and they catch them in the act.

So get them to cycle past a see what happens?
    Even better get them to wheel their kids past in a pram to witness it...