Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running Around Faithlegg House ?

• 19-05-2009 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭

Folks,
    Am thinking of booking my holliers around Faithlegg House this summer. Does anyone know what the roads/off-roads are like for training? The grounds of Faithlegg House Hotel look lovely but sometimes it's hard to tell from the pics on the web,

Cheers,

Mick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

You might wanna check with the management first. The place is full of golfers who looked down there nose at me when I stayed there and ran passed them out the main gate last year. They objected to me walking through reception in my running attire dressed in there pringle jumpers smoking cigars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Mick Rice

Ger - Thanks for that. I actually don't mind the funny looks at all. I'm getting used to them at this stage. I got a few good ones a few years ago when I stayed overnight in Ashford Castle for a wedding anniversary treat. I breezed through reception at around 08:00am in shorts and grotty t-shirt to the amusment of some and the bafflement of others. I did loops around the estate and was spoken to after a while by a member of staff who told me politely that access to the grounds was for residents of the hotel only. Of course I was chuffed to be able to tell them that I was a resident. One other time reception staff tried to stop me walking through the reception of the Conrad Hotel in Earslford Tce. in Dublin. It took five minutes of answering questions about my booking before they believed I was a resident.

We were thinking of booking one of the houses on the grounds of the Faithlegg House Hotel and that would mean we wouldn't need to pass by too many of the pringle wearers in their natual habitat but if I couldn't find any trails or roads around the place that I could run on I'd be a bit snookered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

I always bring my running gear when away on business and never get grief from the hotel staff/guests. When I get back from a run I try cool off outside before traipsing through the lobby in a sweaty mess, but I do feel a bit self conscience if I have to share the lift with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Hey, down with this pringle bashing people... that stuff is quite fashionable these days amongst non-golfers I'll have you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Mick Rice

jumper.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Matching pringle knee high compression socks would set that off nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Don't be giving Woddle ideas for the next round of Boards AC kit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

asimonov wrote: »
    Matching pringle knee high compression socks would set that off nicely.

lol! Add the big nose plus the snooty attitude too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

Mick Rice wrote: »
    I got a few good ones a few years ago when I stayed overnight in Ashford Castle I did loops around the estate and was spoken to after a while by a member of staff who told me politely that access to the grounds was for residents of the hotel only.

ah, thats standard response to Galway lads when they try and infiltrate MAYO.........;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Milesandmiles

we stayed Faithlegg about two years ago and I don't remember any funny looks and I'm not the most attractive after an hour of sweating. You must have been unlucky Ger!

I was on the road. From what I remember it took about 15mins and I would have been doing about 8 min miles. I can check the old diaries if you want. I went out the main gate and kept turning left. It was grand as I don't mind covering old ground again.

We stayed in the hotel as we just had one smallie. You can certainly get great deals there if you hunt around online.

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Mick Rice wrote: »
    jumper.jpg

Hey Mick. That's almost like a Bohs jersey ;)
    Don't be bringing down the tone of the place.
    KOH.