Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer plans?

• 19-05-2009 10:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭

So what are everyones plans once the exams are over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Glug glug...

I'm away to London on the 8th for a few days, going to be working here and doing whatever. Probably a sun holiday in September before college. And possibly a repeat exam if today doesn't go well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Working in DCU from end of June til August. Then off to Sziget in Budapest. Then a month inter-railing and funding depending I'll be back as a research postgrad here next year. Cause you can never have enough masters. As the saying I just made up goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Sharlovesjohn

Holidays - Turkey with the bf :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭BuroniKiisu

Work, drink, sleep, work, drink, sleep, etc.

And outside of that:

- Write the script for a short film I plan to making during second year
    - Improve my French
    - Return to gigging with my band

There's loads more, but I should probably get back to analysing August Strindberg's 'Miss Julie' for the billionth time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Practice piano and drums all day, with the occasional snack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

21st in Derry after the bank holiday, proceed to laze around for most of the month of june... Work the middle two weeks in July, enjoy an empty house for one of those weeks, week off for my birthday, work the first 3 weeks in august and hopefully a lil holiday with the bf or mates before we go back to college... and then final year... dum dum duuuum.... also incorporating doing lots and lots of reading into the summer aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Study for repeats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭redenemyjoe

Be on the dole. Play bass, play bass in England. Glug glug.

Assorted general tomfoolery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Off to Wales this Thursday for a few days, few days in Londonderry, Leonard Cohen gig, Liam Clancy gig, trip to Wexford with a bunch of lads, a few mad nights in town undoubtably and a fishing trip to the West.

....and sleep. Lots of sleep.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

MA Dissertation :(

Going to Cardiff on a Dr. Who trip in 2 weeks and a 2 week hollday to Spain in about a month. Want to try and make another submission to the Irish Film Board again this year as well ^_^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

Practice piano and drums all day, with the occasional snack.

Haven't play drums all year hardly, they're so far away :(

It'll be an emotional experience being reunited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Hopefully work. Fingerscrossed Saturday goes well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

Holsten wrote: »
    Study for repeats.

I feel your pain. *shakes fist at physics department*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Nationalist

Buy that.
    Mix this.
    Get these.

Also,

Go here.
    Bring this.
    Kill these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Buy that.
    Mix this.
    Get these.

Also,

Go here.
    Bring this.
    Kill these.

You win the thread.

Reminds me to do some shooting! The grandda used to hunt and when he died the dad kept the licences up, two single barrels a double and a riffle. Never shot anything (Wouldn't be my cup of tea) but love target shooting, you can't beat it for a weekend away.

I'll never forget the coppers pulling over the car once for a routine check, seeing the three (MOSTLY covered obviously) guns in the back and thinking they'd caught the RIRA or something :rolleyes: Always carry yo licence.

Fine summer hobby, thats my Roscommon blood I suppose.

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Reminds me to do some shooting! The grandda used to hunt and when he died the dad kept the licences up, two single barrels a double and a riffle.

I'd say single barrels would be a pest to use. The second shot is great when a pair of woodcock spring from the woods, they're fairly rare so it could be your only opportunity to shoot them. Shooting pigeons never gets tiring though, can be a waste of cartridges though.
    Never shot anything (Wouldn't be my cup of tea) but love target shooting, you can't beat it for a weekend away.

I like the clay pigeons too put its a lot of pressure on you, everyone is looking, and its usually in a competition. I love the game shooting, you only know you hit your target when the bird starts spiraling to the ground, then *CLUNK*. Success.
    I'll never forget the coppers pulling over the car once for a routine check, seeing the three (MOSTLY covered obviously) guns in the back and thinking they'd caught the RIRA or something Always carry yo licence.

lol, imbecile gardai, or was it the PSNI? Hunting shotguns, worst 21st century combat weapons ever.

GUN RAWK.

Lets celebrate REAL diversity!!!!

celebrate_diversity_guns.gif

Rural Gardai - "why are two Dublin fellas like yerselves driving through Frenchpark with a feckin' army in the backseat"
    some army.

Single barrells are a nightmare alright! I'd never be able to hunt, the dad was some man for killing pheasants in the day but its not in my Dublin self. It'll always be the three litre culchie fizzy-drink bottles in the distance full of water for me. Hit that with a shotgun, and its beautiful.

Should be plenty of good shooting on down the country this summer actually, worth a look. Not been to any of the target ranges going yet either.

Single barrells are a nightmare alright! I'd never be able to hunt, the dad was some man for killing pheasants in the day but its not in my Dublin self.
    Sure i'm a first generation Dub as well considering one side of the family is from southern rebel country. Pheasants were brought to this country to hunt, one of the few good things the aristocracy actually did, so try to do it at least once, before its banned completely, just like what PETA bstards did to fox hunting over in Britain.

It'll always be the three litre culchie fizzy-drink bottles in the distance full of water for me. Hit that with a shotgun, and its beautiful.

lol, that sounds fun.

Should be plenty of good shooting on down the country this summer actually, worth a look. Not been to any of the target ranges going yet either.

A range? Iv never shot a rifle, unless an air rifle counts! I should get some practice in for when the EU comes knocking for our Irish sovereignty.

Where the hell is Ireland's Jefferson!?

1132007infringers.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Make it to the Donegal International for once, go to as many rallies as I can possibly fit into the few months. Hopefully Eugene will take Donegal 'cos that'd be the icing on the cake :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I want to go camping, my tent has never been opened because it's rained every summer since I bought it.

cian1500ww wrote: »
    Make it to the Donegal International for once, go to as many rallies as I can possibly fit into the few months. Hopefully Eugene will take Donegal 'cos that'd be the icing on the cake :D

I dont think i'd like to be at a rally. Sitting at a hairpin turn for hours just so i can see 1 high speed car for a half second once every twenty minutes would bore me.

The Liffey Descent is fun to watch though. When I was a youngfella me and my dad used to go to the Palmerstown wier to watch racers fall and tumble. Then back to grans in Kennelsfort for some ham and cabbage. Lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

I dont think i'd like to be at a rally. Sitting at a hairpin turn for hours just so i can see 1 high speed car for a half second once every twenty minutes would bore me.

The Liffey Descent is fun to watch though. When I was a youngfella me and my dad used to go to the Palmerstown wier to watch racers fall and tumble. Then back to grans in Kennelsfort for some ham and cabbage. Lovely.
    Yeah, it isn't everyones cup of tea but I've been going since I was 12 so I'm well used to it at this stage :eek: BTW the standard time between cars is 30 seconds, and rallies like donegal will have close to 200 entries :D

cian1500ww wrote: »
    Yeah, it isn't everyones cup of tea but I've been going since I was 12 so I'm well used to it at this stage :eek: BTW the standard time between cars is 30 seconds, and rallies like donegal will have close to 200 entries :D

AH! My mistake. May be more interesting than i thought! A couple of cans by the roadside and you're laughin.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Going to Cardiff on a Dr. Who trip in 2 weeks and a 2 week hollday to Spain in about a month. Want to try and make another submission to the Irish Film Board again this year as well ^_^
    Heard a few people say the Doctor Who exhibition is pretty cool. Drop me a PM if you need any advice bout where to go out etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭masherella88

going to sziget! anyone else going???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

Ohhh, I wanted to go but repeats take precedence :(
    Anyone fancy doing them for me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭masherella88

silly repeats getting the way...exam organisers really should know better! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Have to finish a Youth Orchestra piece for September, also working on several other projects including 2 choral works,
    a Symphony for Large Orchestra with Synthesizer and a bleedin' Cello sonata.
    Not to mention working on a DVD for NOISE South Dublin! Is there no end to this madness? O.o