Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wow that was lucky...

• 18-05-2009 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭

Last night I accidentally put my Ipod through the washing machine in the pocket of a pair of jeans. Took it out after and it was grand. I consider that quite lucky!

Anyone else got any lucky moments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Last week I formatted my harddrive JUST before the gardaí got here... phew...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Are you having a laugh? It still worked? Wow, wish my ipods of the past had been that resilient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The Nokia 3210s were great for surviving the washing machine and various accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Are you having a laugh? It still worked? Wow, wish my ipods of the past had been that resilient.

Yep. I'm listening to it as we speak. I'm as surprised as you, I thought for sure it was a gonner! I'm gonna stick it in the hot press for a few days just to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Last week i ran over a baby..i didnt damage the steamroller..phew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭Dartz

MP3 players need to be pretty splashproof. People use them outside in the rain, and pockets aren't always the best at keeping water out. Chances are it was never actually submerged in water, just surrounded by moist fabric. With the fabric more eager to absorb the water than your iPod... it stayed relatively dry.

The fact that it was off at the time probably helped.

Drop it in a pond if you want to watch it fry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Ruu wrote: »
    The Nokia 3210s were great for surviving the washing machine and various accidents.

It is often said that in the event of a global thermonuclear war, the only survivors will be cockroaches and they'll all be communicating on Nokia 3210's and old Panasonic bricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I had once left my own iPod underneath the keyboard of a computer I was using in an internet café by mistake. When I got home, I discovered that it was missing and assumed that it was gone forever. Five days later, I returned to said internet café and sat at the same computer to discover that it was still there! Yayy! I was as happy as a pig in shíte.

It was also a restuarant, so I never ate there again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Last night I accidentally put my Ipod through the washing machine in the pocket of a pair of jeans.

Are you sure it was the washing machine and not the tumble dryer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Definitely, I dropped mine in the toilet at least twice :o Still got ages of use out of it and sold it on to some unlucky chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Are you sure it was the washing machine and not the tumble dryer?
    Very Sure. It looks shiney and new and smells lemony fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭smokingman

Forgot my car keys in the ignition a few weeks back in the car park of a church while I went in to a communion mass. They were still there with my car when I got back....very bloody lucky...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭meboloxitis

I've done similar before all right, threw jeans in the washing machine only to realise I left a €50 note in the pocket. Note was dripping wet when it came out, stuck it on the radiator for a while & hey presto...crisp note

Was gonna throw in a cheap pun bout laundering money.. bahhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

I love that phone. Thing was indestructable. Dropped it in the toilet and on the ground countless times, always worked afterwards.

And it had original snake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

Definitely, I dropped mine in the toilet at least twice :o Still got ages of use out of it and sold it on to some unlucky chap.

you like listening to Johnny Cash while dropping the kids to the pool?

Last portible music device i had was a walkman..played tapes.. I believe it got burnt when some one stuck rick astley in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

I was offered a job in the HSE 3 years ago. I dont think i could hold my head up high today if I had taken the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ki

snyper wrote: »
    Last week i ran over a baby..i didnt damage the steamroller..phew

That is good...
    Can I borrow the steamroller?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

So there I was yesterday right.. driving / dancing in my car. Love that song ya know "shake" by Metro Station.. anywho. Next thing *BAM* something hits the front of my car.. But this song is too good to miss, so just like, keep going k. Although I am a bit worried about the front of the car, I thought I'll just check it when I get home.

So the next thing is, as Im there scoping out the damage.. this crazy mother fcuker comes up and starts smashing up the glass on my motor! :eek:

So I'm like .. how did this crazy fcuker escape. So I ring the feds and tell them haul ass out to mine pretty fcukin lively. Turns out he has to pay for my windows now, I mean wtf was his deal? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Thats a great story Abi, now - where's that hot chick in your sig gone?

Naos wrote: »
    Thats a great story Abi, now - where's that hot chick in your sig gone?

She was taken into care for her own good :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I had a hair free sandwich today. Thats pretty lucky!

ki wrote: »
    That is good...
    Can I borrow the steamroller?

no can do. Ive been flooded with messages asking me if im interested in laying tarmac in mosney..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Abigayle wrote: »
    So there I was yesterday right.. driving / dancing in my car. Love that song ya know "shake" by Metro Station.. anywho. Next thing *BAM* something hits the front of my car.. But this song is too good to miss, so just like, keep going k. Although I am a bit worried about the front of the car, I thought I'll just check it when I get home.

So the next thing is, as Im there scoping out the damage.. this crazy mother fcuker comes up and starts smashing up the glass on my motor! :eek:

So I'm like .. how did this crazy fcuker escape. So I ring the feds and tell them haul ass out to mine pretty fcukin lively. Turns out he has to pay for my windows now, I mean wtf was his deal? :pac:

Poor pooch still aint right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 mr-aido

pissin myself laughin and my boss stareing at me like wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭MaxFlower

That sounds familiar.

MaxFlower wrote: »
    That sounds familiar.

Ya think ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

Ya think ;)

:pwas thinking the exact same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭MaxFlower

Ya think ;)

I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

MaxFlower wrote: »
    That sounds familiar.

Ah MaxFlower ye werent meant to reply if ye knew what she was on about...reverse humour and all that???!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Last summer Pighead was lying in bed minding his own business whilst listening to Larry Gogan when out of nowhere a hideous black and amber beast flew into the room and attacked him. A totally unprovoked attack as well. He headed straight for the nose and before you could say "don't you dare wound the nose area where everybody will see the swelling and laugh" the little monster had wounded Pighead's nose, leaving a swelling like effect that would in all likeliness cause people to point and laugh at him the next time he left his bedroom..

The unprovoked attack had been fearsome and frenzied and Pighead realised that this could well be the end of him. The enemy had defeated Pighead and death was surely just moments away. But then out of nowhere the wasp crumbled and fell into a heap onto the windowsill. Some say Pighead's strong nose had killed the wasp, others put it down to Larry Gogan's powerful voice but for the purpose of this thread Pighead puts it down to luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Pighead wrote: »
    Last summer Pighead was lying in bed minding his own business whilst listening to Larry Gogan when out of nowhere a hideous black and amber beast flew into the room and attacked him. A totally unprovoked attack as well. He headed straight for the nose and before you could say "don't you dare wound the nose area where everybody will see the swelling and laugh" the little monster had wounded Pighead's nose, leaving a swelling like effect that would in all likeliness cause people to point and laugh at him the next time he left his bedroom..

The unprovoked attack had been fearsome and frenzied and Pighead realised that this could well be the end of him. The enemy had defeated Pighead and death was surely just moments away. But then out of nowhere the wasp crumbled and fell into a heap onto the windowsill. Some say Pighead's strong nose had killed the wasp, others put it down to Larry Gogan's powerful voice but for the purpose of this thread Pighead puts it down to luck.

I thought you were getting attacked by a crow until I read till the end:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I thought it was bees that died from stinging people?

I thought you were getting attacked by a crow until I read till the end:o

They have black and amber Crow's now!?

It is, wasps can sting you as often as they like. :(

It was a confused bee,dident know what he was.Poor thing dident stand a chance:(

@Zadkiel,black body and amber yellowy beak:o

It is. The fact that this wasp died just as he was about to extinguish Pighead was all down to luck, not nature. It's one of those unexplainable mysteries that happen for no reason. Like girl moustaches.

It was a confused bee,dident know what he was.Poor thing dident stand a chance:(

@Zadkiel,black body and amber yellowy beak:o

Oh I was picturing some zebra striped massive crow with a stinger like something from chernobyl and kilkenny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭evogirl

Like girl moustaches.
    and mens nipples??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I was once cutting into some thick wood with a chainsaw when the chain bounced back up , hit the rim of my hardhat and dropped to ground .Big cut gap in the rim but it saved me from losing my nose .

That was lucky

Latchy wrote: »
    I was once cutting into some thick wood with a chainsaw when the chain bounced back up , hit the rim of my hardhat and dropped to ground .Big cut gap in the rim but it saved me from losing my nose .

That was lucky
    Not really. Pighead guesses that the hardhat was rendered useless after been attacked by the chainsaw. The chain saw had turned something very useful into something very useless. That's kinda unlucky. If it had of missed the hard hat and chopped off your todger it could have been deemed lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Not really. Pighead guesses that the hardhat was rendered useless after been attacked by the chainsaw. The chain saw had turned something very useful into something very useless. That's kinda unlucky. If it had of missed the hard hat and chopped off your todger it could have been deemed lucky.
    Unless you need castration , I dont think having my todger or anybodys todger chopped of by a chainsaw could be deemed as lucky .

Zadkiel wrote: »
    Oh I was picturing some zebra striped massive crow with a stinger like something from chernobyl and kilkenny

We can all dream every now and then........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

javaboy wrote: »
    It is often said that in the event of a global thermonuclear war, the only survivors will be cockroaches and they'll all be communicating on Nokia 3210's and old Panasonic bricks.

There are other bugs that would survive higher radiation exposures than cockraoches. If anything they would die also :P Just for your attention :)

There are other bugs that would survive higher radiation exposures than cockraoches.

Like TDs?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Waterbears are able to survive in extreme environments that would kill almost any other animal. Some can survive temperatures close to absolute zero, temperatures as high as 151 °C , 1,000 times more radiation than other animals such as humans, nearly a decade without water, and even the vacuum of space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Waterbears are able to survive in extreme environments that would kill almost any other animal. Some can survive temperatures close to absolute zero, temperatures as high as 151 °C , 1,000 times more radiation than other animals such as humans, nearly a decade without water, and even the vacuum of space.

i didnt believe you. then i googled it. thats actually really interesting. thank you.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Went into Centra on Manor Street to get me some brekki last week, got to the counter, having qued up for about 10 minutes, no purse in my bag, had it when I left my house, went back to look in my car and there my purse was sitting in a puddle beside my car, must have dropped it getting out.. Miracle that it wasn't lifted, lots of people around too.. and it was Friday, I got paid on Saturday so I would have been without my card and therefore broke for the whole weekend had it gone walkies.. Thank ya Jesus :D