Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Docklands Run

• 18-05-2009 8:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭

anybody know the story about where and when we can collect our race numbers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

you mean they havn't sent them out to you in the post???
    Thats crazy cause last year the problem of overcrowding and late chaotic start was due to the large numbers who where getting numbers ont he night.
    last year you collected your number on a side street close to the start line.
    ps im 99% sure this race is not accurate.does anyone know if its easured by the aai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

From dublindocklands site:

We would like to thank all the people who registered and look forward to seeing you on the night. All registered participants will need to pick up their race number & timing chip (if applicable). The first 2000 registered will receive a Docklands Fun Run 09 limited edition t-shirt as well as a goody bag!

Race number collection at the following times and location:
    Monday the 18th of May 10am to 8pm
    Tuesday the 19th of May 10am to 2pm
    Dublin Docklands Development Authority Offices, 52-55 Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Docklands, Dublin 2

This year the Fun Run will start and finish at Grand Canal Square on the South side of the river Liffey. This year we have selected Irish Autism Action as the charity to benefit from the event. Last year, the event attracted it's largest ever attendance and exceeded all expectations - over 2,000 runners, joggers and walkers. This year, participants we asked to register online. Online registration closed on Wednesday 13th May . The event is officially approved by the Athletic Association of Ireland.

Entry this year included a chip option for times so I'd assume the course is measured.
    http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=2832448

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Entry this year included a chip option for times so I'd assume the course is measured.

How does a chip on your shoe make you assume that an official measurer went out and certified the course?

It's a gripe that I have that race permits seem to be given out without proving that the course has been officially measured. If you want a permit in the UK one of the criteria is that the course is measured by an approved course measurer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

I agree.aai permit doesn't mean the course has been measured.

How does a chip on your shoe make you assume that an official measurer went out and certified the course?

It's a gripe that I have that race permits seem to be given out without proving that the course has been officially measured. If you want a permit in the UK one of the criteria is that the course is measured by an approved course measurer.

Why offer accurate timing for a course of 4.7 miles when you advertise that the course will be 5m?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

I agree.aai permit doesn't mean the course has been measured.

What :eek: I'm aghast. What does the permit actually mean to the participants then? I guess the organisers get insurance cover, but I would have thought that an accurately-measured course was one basic criteria they had to satisfy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

It was definitely short last year but by how much I don't know as I didnt have a Garmin with me. Start was mayhem as well. Nice race and course once we got going though.

Why offer accurate timing for a course of 4.7 miles when you advertise that the course will be 5m?

Chip timing would be used to make it easier and quicker for the race organisers to produce the race results. With 2000+ entrants this is a big advantage for them. Saying this they still should be manually entering the bib numbers crossing the line incase the chip timing doesn't work (see Cupids Dash 2009 for an example of chip timing not working and no backup - that's my guess as to what happened anyway). Having chip timing does not automatically make a race better in my opinion and definitely doesn't mean that the course was officially measured.

I'm not saying this course has not been measured - I have no idea. No race in Ireland seems to provide a link to details on if the course was measured and if it was then who measured it. Again, going back to my obsession with UK races (they're properly organised in this regard). If you go onto any UK race site you'll get a link to the official certificate of measurement which will include who measured it, their measuring grade, when, course description, and in some cases even a map of the course measured. You can also go onto the official course measurement site and search their database for information on all races in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

Chip timing would be used to make it easier and quicker for the race organisers to produce the race results.

i agree, but the organisers have shot themselves in the foot by giving runners an option to run without a chip. i can't see how they can accurately ensure that all non-chipped runners will be added to the official results in the correct positions. this comes back to organisations who have no real experience running large scale races getting AAI permits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭jlang

I would assume that not getting a chip would mean you don't have an expectation of appearing on the results list. You'll finish with your goody bag/medal and sense of satisfaction but need to look at the clock yourself. Still the question of what to do in the event of a chip system failure, but there's probably just a disclaimer somewhere. Personally I'd have no problem with that or is it a requirement of AAI permission that all finishers are recorded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

It's a rquirement of the Dublin Athletic Board that the course be measured before a permit is granted.
    The chip system doesn't fail ( or at least I've never heard of it failing ), unless due to human error. Normally, race organisers will manually time the first 100 finishers at least as a back up and also as an official IAAF requirement. Chip times wouldn't be recognised officially. They are only an aid to getting the results published quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

Went down and registered today, Goody bag is the worst I have ever seen
    Thats just downright lazy

It's a rquirement of the Dublin Athletic Board that the course be measured before a permit is granted.

:confused: I'm confused now - I thought the permit was issued by AAI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

RoyMcC wrote: »
    :confused: I'm confused now - I thought the permit was issued by AAI?

Each county board looks after the permit applications in their own county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭dtf

This race was a shambles last year. The organisation at the start left a lot to be desired and to be honest, I considered it to be bordering on unsafe.
    Course was short too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Rusty Cogs 08

Just picked up my goody bag for tonights run. Contents as follows

1 (fruit of the loom) cotton T-shirt with brutal BFG running man logo
    1 polyester satchal thing for putting your clothes into
    1 Yorkie (Raisin & Biscuit)
    1 sachet of coffee
    1 Compeed heel plaster
    assorted advertising (bumpf)

and all for just €20 (plus €2- for your timing chip).

Numbers expected this year 2,500 = €45,000* less €12,500 for charity leaves €32,500 for organisation.

Now hopefully they'll put that €32,5K towards a more organised start, a properly measured course with correctly placed km markers. We'll see.

There's currently a countdown clock on their website

http://www.ddda.ie/funrun/

which has the race starting at 8.45pm, it actually starts at 7.45pm.

Ah but why am I cribbing, it's only a 'fun run' and thus doesn't necessarily require proper organisation or value.

*I'm factoring 500 students/seniors

doh - collected mine yesterday but missed out on the

1 polyester satchal thing for putting your clothes into
    1 sachet of coffee

i'm counting the white paper bag as a major plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

At least you got a goody bag!! All I got was my race number and timing chip...

xebec wrote: »
    At least you got a goody bag!! All I got was my race number and timing chip...

Drove down that narrow road where the race starts this evening, not very wide.
    Can see the same bother at the start again.

So the race will be streamed online from 7 (or eight) - since i'm running it would be interesting to hear what it looks like from the other end. http://www.dublindocklands.ie/funrun/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

All this goody bag talk is a bit over the top. If you run races regularly do you really care about the goody bag? A technical t-shirt would be a plus but the they are prohibitivley expensive without a sponsor.

My advice from last year would be to stand around the start area but expect to have people who dont know any better stand in your way. It a race where you really need to get up the front or else your finished. If you get up the front you have a good chance of a PB.

Last year 95%+ of the people were fun runners. I would expect it to be a bit more competitive this year.

The DDA seem to have taken feedabck from last year onboard.Good luck to those running. Injury is preventing me going out.

Well at least the rain held off. A bit of a cramped start, I was near the front to avoid the crush. I'd say the serious runners were few enough. Definitely wasn't too short this year, a tad over the 8k possibly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

It looked like a good race, I was there with the camera just as you came back over the bridge to make your way to the finish. I reckon there was more women than men and there was a huge distance between leading man and second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Woddle wrote: »
    It looked like a good race, I was there with the camera just as you came back over the bridge to make your way to the finish. I reckon there was more women than men and there was a huge distance between leading man and second.

Yer some man for the camera Wod! Fair play, I hope you got some a decent shot of me :pac: Enjoyable race, I came in at 33:19 for 5.03 miles, deliberately didn't cut any corners as I thought it might be short too. Nice race, tight start but delighted the rain held off.

christeb wrote: »
    Yer some man for the camera Wod! Fair play, I hope you got some a decent shot of me :pac: Enjoyable race, I came in at 33:19 for 5.03 miles, deliberately didn't cut any corners as I thought it might be short too. Nice race, tight start but delighted the rain held off.

Well done Christeb, you were well up the field anyway. I got one good shot of you, didn't recognise you till I got a shout. I might have to get myself a hi-vis vest to stand out more. I was getting some nice shots of the runners on the road but then everyone got up on the path and I was blocked by trees, bollards and Mary Lou signs :D

A few pics coming on board now http://www.flickr.com/photos/25938822@N07/
    I won't get them all up tonight but by lunch time tomorrow they should all be up.

Ah was, that you Woddle, did you have something like a Nikon Coolpix ? standing against the back of a jeep near the pedestrian bridge ?

Took 32'40", also registered 5.03 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

Was very well ran this year. The crowd may been a bit down because of the weather but it looked like good fun.

Congrats to mens and womens winners. They were both clear winners. Very clear.:D

Took some pictures myself at the start and end will post later.

Ah was, that you Woddle, did you have something like a Nikon Coolpix ? standing against the back of a jeep near the pedestrian bridge ?

Took 32'40", also registered 5.03 miles.

I think that may have been stupid private, I was across the road close to the pedestrian bridge. Great time and good to see you back running about.

Thanks, my forced six week hiatus expired last Friday so glad to be back out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭wizwill

woddle, you got a pic of me, thanks for that, always nice to see yourself in full flow, i look as bad as i felt! i thought the race was well organised, i was at the front for the start, i have got less in goody bags and paid more for entrys in other races. The road closures were first class. well done to all!

Happened to be walking through the finishing area about 8.40 last night and I have to say there was a real good vibe, plenty of laughter, no obvious grumblings. And there appeared to be plenty of 'social' runners who probably don't normally race, which is great.

Hats off to the organisers if they improved the run this year.

It definitely wasn't a jeep I was behind, but the area's about right...

I've got my pictures up on racepix365 now. Woddle's got some of his there as well - just incase you mistake any of the good pictures for mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

It definitely wasn't a jeep I was behind, but the area's about right...

I've got my pictures up on racepix365 now. Woddle's got some of his there as well - just incase you mistake any of the good pictures for mine!

Thanks for these SP - I was looking at Woddle, I think you got me at exactly the same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭OldBloke

I ran it last night but my knee gave out at 3km so I had to jog / walk the rest.

Fair play to the people at the boat near the 7km mark - I could hear them from way up the quays.

Stupid Private - im number 178 in the first pic of yours - good shot as I actually look like im moving :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Was down around the start area early last night - my head office is down there so was able to do some stuff beforehand. Ended up deciding not to run though, had been off sick from work on Monday and was only starting to feel better yesterday evening, so I think it was the right decision... Pity though as I really enjoyed this course last year, time to find another race to aim for now I guess...

Results are up for the top three finishers

Paul O'Connell - 25'51"
    Peter Mooney - 27'50"
    Brian Coleman - 27'54"

Caitriona Jennings - 30'02"
    Florence Curley - 32'02"
    Fionnuala Keane - 32'34"

Full list of times to follow shortly (on www.ddda.ie)

OldBloke wrote: »
    Stupid Private - im number 178 in the first pic of yours - good shot as I actually look like im moving :)

Good to know. I've appeared in far too many pictures where it looks like I'm either shuffling or standing still!

cheers to woddle, stupid private and gmurran for the photo's - there is no hiding place from the camera's anymore. had to laugh at all the local kid's getting involved and causing a nuisance at the end of the race. roll the DCC BHAA race when they'll be out in force again.

And the results are up, for those who used a chip, which is about half the field seemingly, so half the results are up. Might make more sense to make the chip compulsory next year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Ha ha, I reckon im just out of shot to the right with these guys if any of them on here. Ran with Mr 1220 & 2176 most of the way.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/25938822@N07/3547142010/sizes/l/

32:03, Got my 2nd wind at the last right hand corner, sprinting past 2 guys with metres to go. :)