Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gamsat Results

• 18-05-2009 8:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

hey everybody...congrats to anyone who got Gamsat results today :D
    Just wondering if anyone knows what the standard was like for graduate entry to veterinary in ucd last year??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

Yeah, congrats and best of luck to all who completed that monster :)

Siobhanc i think here are the points requirements for last year for all courses. Seach for graduate to find gamsat related courses.
    Vet in ucd was not printed i think...

http://www2.cao.ie/points/lvl8_08_2.htm

Here are the med cutoffs for 2008
    UL: 56 : LM101
    UCC: 56 : CK791
    UCD: 57 : DN102
    RCSI: 58 : RC101
    Vet UCD: NA : DN105

UL: 60/59
    RCSI: 61
    UCD: Not started?
    UCC: Not started?
    Vet UCD: NA

No graduate course on offer?

Im happy enough with my score. Dont want to go posting scores incase people think its rude
    I thought id totally failed it. So to get a few points clear of the cutoffs from 2008 was a very nice surprise.

Hopefully the points wont rise much this year and fingers crossed we might sneak in :)

Good luck again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 siobhanc

thanks a mill slemons...I've my fingers crossed too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

Im happy enough with my score. Dont want to go posting scores incase people think its rude

Ah go on tell us :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭haemfire

S1 76
    S2 72

S1 76
    S2 72
    S3 69

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭ivorygal

haemfire wrote: »
    S1 76
    S2 72
    S3 69

Wow, that's brilliant - well done!

Did you use any particular texts or strategy?

i have a 2.1 in business from sligo IT, i cant believe it, this time 6 years ago I got 225 points in my LC, just worked like a dog for the last year.
    RCSI here i come

haemfire wrote: »
    i have a 2.1 in business from sligo IT, i cant believe it, this time 6 years ago I got 325 points in my LC, just worked like a dog for the last year.
    RCSI here i come

Fair play to you!

I decided to do Gamsat very last minute - five weeks of studying ! I ended up getting 64, 67 and 38 (ouch) - 52 overall. I blamed my lack of a science background - but your story gives me no excuses now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Deucemc

ivorygal wrote: »
    Fair play to you!

I decided to do Gamsat very last minute - five weeks of studying ! I ended up getting 64, 67 and 38 (ouch) - 52 overall. I blamed my lack of a science background - but your story gives me no excuses now ;)

ya , me too except it was more like the night before.....in the middle of final year and sooo busy, ended up with a 50, not bad considering the joke i made of it i suppose, still looks like the dole for me come september tho!!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

Well done haemfire, great scores.

Mine were nothing to write home about at all...

Section I: 64
    Section II: 70
    Section III: 57
    Overall: 62

Delighted still though overall, but very disappointed with S3. Cant believe i got my best scores in what i thought were my 2 worst sections...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 pharmer11

just wondering does any one know anything about UCD gep program? I did the GAMSAT just kinda for the craic really this year because was going to finish my last year of my degree and study for it next year popely but by some divine inspiration I managed to do well enough to get in, well I think :/ but have no idea about the course! any info would be helpful!!! :)

the guys on newmediamedicine arent gone on UCD.
    http://www.newmediamedicine.com/forum/irish-medical-schools/
    Apparently RCSI and UL are streets ahead...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Radio-M

My house mate and i were always going on about how we wanted to do med and she actually had the get up and go to buy all the GAMSAT and UCAS books. She got into Glasgow so i inherited all the books, and applied just before the deadline this year.... got 59 and praying I've scraped through

Did i mention i got a D+ in one of my finals on result day...prayers? I think I might need devine intervention!!:eek:

anyone comtemplating this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Radio-M

I looked into it when i was doing my leaving cert (But dismissed it at the time for being too expensive..hah!!!) You can use any cao points above 500 to get the entrance interview and exam which they hold in dublin. (Costs about 13,000 for fees)

Also I was on erasmus and met some Irish lads doing post grad med in prague, their class was really cool and international with grads from norway, spain the us and india... also from my clinical placement in prague their standard of hospitals is outstanding!! 128 slice CT scanners and 1 hour country wide cardiac intervention plan!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 cill5

ivorygal wrote: »
    Fair play to you!

52 is very good!! Are you thinking about doing it again this Sept in London?!

I had about the same amount of prep time but being in final year, not having a science background and having a rigorous final year project to complete just around the same time as the GAMSAT, I didn't spend as much I time as I would have liked preparing! I ended up with 54; S1 56, S2 61, S3 50.

With the lowest result last year being 55 in the 2nd round i'm hoping for some divine intervention!! Im still going to apply for the GAMSAT in June to sit in Sept in London as I think it's pretty doubtful that'll they'll drop....here's hoping though! At least next time I know the deal and will have much more time to study and i'll have relatively no distractions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 ebbinghaus

Hey
    What do people think the cut off wil be this year ? I was on to CAO and there are 100 more applicants this year.. so it's likely that the necessary mark will be 60/61??
    I got 57..in the 75th percentile.. and the exact mark needed for last year!

Looks like London in September!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 cill5

ebbinghaus wrote: »
    Hey
    What do people think the cut off wil be this year ? I was on to CAO and there are 100 more applicants this year.. so it's likely that the necessary mark will be 60/61??
    I got 57..in the 75th percentile.. and the exact mark needed for last year!

Looks like London in September!!
    Yeah I was on to the CAO aswell. I recon you'll be fine with 57 though. I don't think it will go up that far... You'll get it on the second round either way!

Best of luck anyway! And if not I might see you in London in September! :)

cill5 wrote: »
    52 is very good!! Are you thinking about doing it again this Sept in London?!

I had about the same amount of prep time but being in final year, not having a science background and having a rigorous final year project to complete just around the same time as the GAMSAT, I didn't spend as much I time as I would have liked preparing! I ended up with 54; S1 56, S2 61, S3 50.

With the lowest result last year being 55 in the 2nd round i'm hoping for some divine intervention!! Im still going to apply for the GAMSAT in June to sit in Sept in London as I think it's pretty doubtful that'll they'll drop....here's hoping though! At least next time I know the deal and will have much more time to study and i'll have relatively no distractions!

Thanks for the encouragement :o

Yup, gonna sign up for the London GAMSAT when registration opens. We're lucky that we're so near the UK that we can hop on a plane and do it twice before CAO next year - so might as well!

Here's hoping for divine intervention for you!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Echani

Well done all, looking forward to seeing a few of you in RCSI next semester :)