Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving shoes

• 16-05-2009 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭

Probably the nerdiest thread on Motors so far ... but ... what do you wear when you're out for a proper blast? I go for Converse Allstars - they're so flexible, you can manage heel & toe no bother at all in them, and you get full feedback.

Anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

wellies :D

(in case I get stuck)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

ned78 wrote: »
    I go for Converse Allstars - they're so flexible, you can manage heel & toe no bother at all in them, and you get full feedback.

Anyone else?

Although I was thinking of getting a pair of these, then I would be able to drive just like the master (McRae) himself ;);):D.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I bought a pair of shoes that look somethink like dubes in NY when I realized I hadn't packed properly, apart from being the most comfortable things i own they are the job for...ahem...pressing on, again because you can feel everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Nice pair of reebok retro driving trainers, the ones with the tyre tread on the sole. Excellent for everything else as well as driving..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

A Pair of these.
    Get the foot Well Down :D

800px-Aa_hobnailedboots_01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Puma driving shoes - they have no heal:

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

You might laugh but, I bought Dunnes Store's 9 euro sneakers recently and they are PERFECT for driving, I don't know wtf is the bottom made out of, it certainly sounds like plastic when walking, though it does not slide(it does slide a lot on linolium and wooden floor though) but for driving, it's perfect, you can actually feel a slightest touch of pedal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Something a bit like the sketchers you have above,a thin leather shoe with plenty of feedback. Going to try and pick up a pair of those puma dealies though, apparently they're the dogs b*llocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Driving shoes? What?

I have - work shoes - normal shoes - runners. I didn't know I needed driving shoes?

What are the advantages of said shoes? Will they make my car go faster?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Driving shoes? What?

I have - work shoes - normal shoes - runners. I didn't know I needed driving shoes?

I think they're shoes that keep on driving. Not sure though!

Just the right footed one...

Driving shoes? What?

Typically there's a small amount of lead in the right toe of said shoes. :D

Nah the OP has a point, there are shoes which are suited to driving and some not. First time I did the 'ring it wasn't as great as it could have been purely because of the footwear - second time, right footwear, made such a difference.

Jaysus, I'm actually being serious here (for once), I've never even taken notice of the difference shoes make to my driving. Only once, when I wore suit shoes after a wedding and drove home from Longford, twas painful. But other than that, I can't say shoes have made a different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

If I wear my etnies while driving the GF's car, no matter what pedal I go to press, I press the brake too! I always make sure to wear skinny runners when driving her car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Probably the nerdiest thread on Motors so far ... but ... what do you wear when you're out for a proper blast? I go for Converse Allstars - they're so flexible, you can manage heel & toe no bother at all in them, and you get full feedback.

Anyone else?

You need a pair of these.....complete with carbon fibre trim :D

shoes.jpg

Yeah wide soles or something with an air/sprung sole can remove the sense of feedback from the pedals or lead to you depressing the wrong ones. I hvae a pair of trainers somewhere that when I wore them I sometimes came off the clutch too early and stalled, or caught the accelerator when I broke. Obviously I avoid wearing these shoes when driving.
    Don't like wearing my steel toes either, so I keep that pair of reebok in the boot for the drive to/from work...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

I have a pair of those pumas, pity I don't have the car to go with them :(
    Left foot only ever used for parking brake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭rocknchef

I wear my Italian Leather loafers to match my italian leather gloves:cool:

only joking runners most the time except my jogging ones to wide hitting 2 pedals in one go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

+1 for the Pumas.

I wear anything really, don't like driving in work shoes (leather canoes) as the soles are a bit slick which sometimes really annoyingly makes me dump the clutch.

Jaysus, I'm actually being serious here (for once), I've never even taken notice of the difference shoes make to my driving. Only once, when I wore suit shoes after a wedding and drove home from Longford, twas painful. But other than that, I can't say shoes have made a different.
    I *always* wear very big slip-on boots which aren't great for driving in. The difference when I put on a pair of loafers or something with a lace is immense - surprised you haven't noticed, unless you're not one of the big-clunky boot wearing brigade... :confused:

You need a pair of these.....complete with carbon fibre trim :D

shoes.jpg
    That heel inscription alone.. I want them. What are they, where can I get them? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭NBar

Here's driving shoes www.piloti.com

cianclarke wrote: »
    I *always* wear very big slip-on boots which aren't great for driving in. The difference when I put on a pair of loafers or something with a lace is immense - surprised you haven't noticed, unless you're not one of the big-clunky boot wearing brigade... :confused:

That heel inscription alone.. I want them. What are they, where can I get them? :D
    So, a bit of googling revealed they are Puma Trionfo shoes. A bit of eBaying revealed an auction ending in ten minutes.
    I did NOT just compulsive purchase a pair of silly shoes.
    I did just compulsive purchase a pair of silly shoes...
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250419985313

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

I used to hate wearing thick soled shoes for driving - although am a bit more used to them now. Still prefer my battered, rain-porous, virtually-no-sole Hush Puppies.

So, a bit of googling revealed they are Puma Trionfo shoes. A bit of eBaying revealed an auction ending in ten minutes.

lol and I definitely wasn't one of the last minute bidders either ¬¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mumblin deaf ro

I bought a nice pair of slip-on casual shoes in new york last year and it was only afterwards that i read the receipt and they're called 'driving loafers' - brilliant for feeling the pedals they are. Converse are great too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Bluefoam wrote: »
    Puma driving shoes - they have no heal:

Link

Love these, expensive though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Grahamo999 wrote: »
    If I wear my etnies while driving the GF's car, no matter what pedal I go to press, I press the brake too! I always make sure to wear skinny runners when driving her car!

Make her get a car with a proper sized pedal box then (or find a woman who has one :p)

I usually wear skate shoes of some description; they've got fairly thin soles for feedback/control on skateboards and that seems to do the job in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Holsten wrote: »
    Love these, expensive though!

there outlet store in newry for the win :pac:

ill only wear puma shoes while driving... i also have a couple pairs of proper racing boots that are the most comfy shoes i own but they only come out for the special days ;)

i also have two pairs of driving gloves... :o

im such a tool..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

:o:o

Erm I have two pairs of driving shoes. The first one are Rockport, they're very comfortable.
    41EJtno7gzL._AA280_.jpg
    41eQomOp9-L._AA280_.jpg

The ones I have are light brown though.

The next pair are puma, they're the same as these, on my second pair.
    9598_1.JPG

BTW I don't change my shoes for driving, I wear these on a daily basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

A couple of years ago I bought a new pair of shoes, they were a sort of deck shoe style. Anyway, I put them on and got into to car and as I was driving along I was thinking to myself "wow, these shoes feel lovely to drive in, they really glide off the pedals beautifully".

A couple of miles later I started getting this awful smell. I closed the window thinking the smell was coming from outside but it just got worse, it was then that I realised I had a big load of dog sh*te caked on to my right foot. This was providing a lubricating action between my foot and the accelerator and clutch pedal. Well, I nearly puked, especially when I had to clean it out of the grooves on the pedals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Par72 wrote: »
    A couple of years ago I bought a new pair of shoes, they were a sort of deck shoe style. Anyway, I put them on and got into to car and as I was driving along I was thinking to myself "wow, these shoes feel lovely to drive in, they really glide off the pedals beautifully".

A couple of miles later I started getting this awful smell. I closed the window thinking the smell was coming from outside but it just got worse, it was then that I realised I had a big load of dog sh*te caked on to my right foot. This was providing a lubricating action between my foot and the accelerator and clutch pedal. Well, I nearly puked, especially when I had to clean it out of the grooves on the pedals.
    Haha, bloody brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bookerboy

MBT'S. And they are good for you're posture while driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Big ass Timbo boots. No clutch, no driving shoes required. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭rocknchef

Par72 wrote: »

hate when **** like that happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Don't stop there buddy. You need an official Ferrari tracksuit and baseball cap to complete the ensemble!

03194a?wid=400&resmode=sharp&op_usm=1.1,0.5,0,0

filacap.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Funxy

I always wear driving shoes ;) These ones:

271018_black_fluo_yellow_l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Don't stop there buddy. You need an official Ferrari tracksuit and baseball cap to complete the ensemble!

03194a?wid=400&resmode=sharp&op_usm=1.1,0.5,0,0

filacap.gif

yup youd look a bit of a tool tho.. especially stepping into your Peugeot..

No, y'see mine are a nice brown rather than tacky red, and I'm one of the few who *hates* all things Ferrari. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

When I had my 206 I had problems with caterpillar type boots, because there isn't much space down there. Also, you don't get quite as much feedback, so those in cars with a small biting point in the clutch can mean stalling.

It makes much less difference with an auto - the only real exception being shoes with leather soles as they can be slippy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Three pages.. hmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Three pages.. hmm

It's OK. There's only just over 1 page if you change your display settings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Anyone else?

Cons are ok but the sole is quite thick. Same with my DCs and Vans. I have some retro Adidas ones which are nice and some of the really thin soled Ferrari Puma ones which are great! :)

eoin wrote: »
    When I had my 206 I had problems with caterpillar type boots, because there isn't much space down there. Also, you don't get quite as much feedback, so those in cars with a small biting point in the clutch can mean stalling.

It makes much less difference with an auto - the only real exception being shoes with leather soles as they can be slippy.

I think the problem with the Peugeot is the teeny tiny pedals, not the driver nor his shoes! It's one of few cars I actually hate driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I have a nice pair of slippers in the backseat for long trips. Snug and comfy.