Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ISSF Meetings (2010 & 2011 World Cup/Championships locations)

• 15-05-2009 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭

While the Munich World Cup is going on, there are also administrative meetings of the ISSF being held:

ISSF Executive Committee and Administrative Council decisions:
    20090515_2010%20and%202011%20wc.jpg
    The ISSF Executive Committee and Administrative Council took place in Munich, under the guidance of the ISSF President Mr. Olegario Vàzquez Raña. The ISSF authorities were called to decide and to report about different topics related to the sport and to the forthcoming competitions.

Next to the decisions about the 2010 and 2011 World Cup stages locations, it was decided that there will be no changes in the Double Trap men event during this Olympic cycle. No doping-related problems emerged form the meetings, and the closer collaboration between ISSF and WADA (the World Anti Doping Association) was highlighted. Two member federations, Brunei and Uganda, have been suspended.

2010 Youth Olympic Games
    The first edition of the Youth Olympic Games will take place in Singapore form the 14 through the 26 of August 2010. ISSF shooting sport competitions (Air Rifle and Air Pistol Men and Women) will take place from the 21 to the 26th of August. Mr. Max Muenchel (GER) has been designated as ISSF Technical delegate for the competition, while Mr. Carlos Rene Silva Monterroso (GUA) will be the Chairman of the Jury of Appeal.

2010 ISSF General Assembly
    The 2010 ISSF General Assembly will take place in concomitance with the ISSF World Championship in all events. The Assembly will take place the 28th and the 29th of August at the Hilton Park Hotel of Munich.

2010 World Championships
    ISSF Administrative Council received a complete report about the preparation of the 2010 World Championships by the Secretary General of the German Shooting Federation, Mr. Jörg Brokamp. The opening ceremony of the World Championships will take place in Marien Platz, in front of the town all, and Germany’s Minister of Interiors will visit the competition. For the first time, World Championship spectators’ tickets will be sold by a professional ticketing company.
    The ISSF President Mr. Olegario Vàzquez Raña visited the 1972 Olympic Shooting range that has been renewed to host the World Championships and commented: “This is a beautiful sport venue, a leading shooting range in the world. The next World Championships is probably going to be one of the best we have ever had!”

2012 Olympic Games
    The 2012 Olympic shooting venue will be set at Woolwich Arsenal in London. The venue will be a temporary construction, which will be used only for the 2012 Olympic Games.

2010 and 2011 World Cups locations have been uncovered:
    20090515_2010%20and%202011.jpg

The ISSF Executive Committee and the ISSF Administrative Council met in Munich, taking decisions about the 2010 and 2011 ISSF World Cups stages and about the 2009 ISSF World Cup Finals.

The locations of the next ISSF World Cup stages were discovered today.

2009 World Cup Final in Shotgun and World Cup Final in Rifle and Pistol will take place in China, the venues will be decided in the next weeks.

2010 Shotgun World Cup stages:
    Beijing (CHN)
    Acapulco (MEX)
    Dorchester (GBR)
    Lonato (ITA)
    2010 ISSF World Cup Final in Shotgun events will take place in Italy

2010 Rifle and Pistol World Cup stages:
    New Deli (IND)
    Beijing (CHN)
    Belgrade (SRB)
    Rio De Janeiro (BRA)

2011 Shotgun World Cup stages:
    Concepcion (CIL)
    Beijing (CHN)
    Maribor (SLO)
    Sydney (AUS)
    2011 World Cup Final in Shotgun events will take place in Maribor (SLO)

2011 Rifle and Pistol World Cup stages:
    Beijing (CHN)
    Ft. Benning (USA)
    Sydney (AUS)
    Munich (GER)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭trapmando

A lot of travelling for the Irish boys, How come Beijing got 2, one each year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭FLOYDSTER

Would be great to get a few to even one per year over the next 2 years!!

Belgrade 2010 and Munich 2011 probably working out the cheapest and easiest to get to!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

There's also the World Championships in Munich in 2010, but the standards for all these matches is really quite high - and don't forget, these don't include the European Championships, or the smaller matches like RIAC, Intershoot, the Hell Open, or the various Grand Prix matches.

Sparks wrote: »
    There's also the World Championships in Munich in 2010, but the standards for all these matches is really quite high - and don't forget, these don't include the European Championships, or the smaller matches like RIAC, Intershoot, the Hell Open, or the various Grand Prix matches.

True, and although some great events really worth travelling to, they wont get us close to a Olympic wildcard or quota place!;)

They won't get you any closer ye mean, ye big 590-shooting jessie :D
    For the mere mortals down here who need to build up to that level, those smaller matches are the stepping stones.

There are deffo more than me capable of 590+!!;), and if you were thinking of an away event Plzen would be high on the list for next year!!;)

Offhand Floydster, I can't think of more than two shooters down here who could get down and put in a 590 on a good day - apart from yourself, how many are up there?

And yeah, I'd like (and so would a lot of others) to see more matches being shot at (though the idea of them being a 'trip' is something we've been fighting against for years now). And I'd rather see the folks we have aiming at something more managable than going to a World Championships that they just aren't ready for (and that's not necessarily their fault), having a bad days shoot, and feeling gutshot for the next few months. That's why the new procedure for qualifying to shoot on the Irish Team (or at least, it's one major reason for it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

Sparks wrote: »
    Offhand Floydster, I can't think of more than two shooters down here who could get down and put in a 590 on a good day - apart from yourself, how many are up there?
    There would be a good half dozen, I've seen 596 (with an 8) in the recent past, training admittedly and not timed but a 596 none the less. The 8 was scored on the first shot after a 20 min break so was due to a cold barrel.

There's one junior who is also at the 590+ level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭G17

I know our shotgun shooters done good in the past but have we had any Irish Olympic rifle or pistol shooters in the recent past? I'm guessing pistol, no, strangely enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

G17 wrote: »
    I know our shotgun shooters done good in the past but have we had any Irish Olympic rifle or pistol shooters in the recent past? I'm guessing pistol, no, strangely enough!

FLOYDSTER went to Atlanta in 1996, and we had a shooter in Sidney as well, so I dunno whether that's as recent as you mean?

Yep recent enough thanks :), I'm reckoning with London coming up there's a real buzz with people trying/hoping to qualify? I've seen the process regarding submitting EoI and the like; I've printed out a few 10M Air Pistol Targets while waiting for my IZH, I'm just having a little trouble holding 10.9s with the G17.:D

Also I was shooting Air Pistol recently for around an hour and then picked up the G17, I had to rack it and dry fire it when I went to take a shot as I thought the trigger was stuck!! Muscle memory bank was completely wiped, it was kinda trippy!

We've had a few other folks make the cut for matches apart from Atlanta and Sydney, mind you (and IWM forgot Rhona, who went to Atlanta in air rifle). But the Shotgun lads have definitely done better since Sydney, no question.

G17, don't worry, shoot the air pistol long enough and the control over the trigger comes back faster if you go to something with more recoil or trigger weight :D

Yeah I attended Atlanta in 96 and although selected in 2000 for Sydney was unable to attend as work(my then company) said if I took the 5 weeks off I had no job to come back to!!:( nice company!!

FLOYDSTER wrote: »
    Yeah I attended Atlanta in 96 and although selected in 2000 for Sydney was unable to attend as work(my then company) said if I took the 5 weeks off I had no job to come back to!!:( nice company!!

That completely sucks, the company I work with LOVES winners and look at sporting champions as potential business champions too. Our MD thought that shooting was a terrific discipline, needing a lot of qualities to succeed in business; remain calm under pressure, focused approach, consistency...

I hope your current company is proud to have an Olympian on board, what an honour! The marketing dept. where I am would have a field day! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

My current boss thinks it's awesome when I win some crystal at the weekends, so I'm pretty sure she'd pay my ticket to go to an Olympics. :p Unfortunately, as FLOYDSTER says, not everybody is as good.

There are several hopefuls for London of course, plenty of them, and hopefully some will make it there, but the time to get there requires huge dedication across the board. With the incoming squad training, we're on the way there, but the personal dedication needed is still enormous.

I've got my own misguided eye on an Olympic MQS for this year. (Still a junior, so if I get the MQS, good things happen for me. First step is to get to national squad training level and get directed from there)