Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is a BB powerfull enough to break a tooth?

• 15-05-2009 9:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭

I know there has been some strange questions asked on this fourm and this will almost be one of the strangest ones.

The thing is I am thinking of wearing shooting glasses insted of the regular full face mask that I normaly wear, reason being that I just cant stand the heat while wearing the mask. The only thing stoping me changing over to the glass is the horror storys I have heard hear-say about airsofters geting their teeth smashed with BBs.

So whats the story, has this ever happend to you or is it just an urban myth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

it is no myth i have even seen it happen myself, under 18s should always where full face and anyone just wearing shooting glasses or goggles need to be aware of the risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Yes, they can chip teeth. It's pretty much the most serious injury physically possible in airsoft, and it's extremely rare.

At short range, and if it hits at the right angle, then it can chip a tooth. Of course, it also depends on how well you've taken care of your teeth :D

If you are going to play with just goggles, then remember...keep your mouth shut!!

You can wear wear mesh masks which won't heat you up too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Bernie Mac

only if you are up close and personal with real rotten teeth and have a big cheeky grin on your face!:D

no offence to my mate whose tooth i chipped, but his teeth where in really bad shape and i pulled off one round on instinct from about 7yards away when he stuck his big smile around the corner and i chipped half it off. past that havnt heard of any :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭tonky

I too wear glasses only due to the heat buildup. One of the biggest dangers is guys using full auto at close range in cqb encounters imo. Hopefully some of the sites will make semi auto a requirement for this at some stage. All you can do really is keep moving and turn if possible when/if you come under fire. Personally I play with glasses only with maybe a neck wrap if it's not too hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Like 5 people have lost teeth in The Warehouse to date (and that number is sure to climb), when your at most sites your ok but when playing CQB you should always wear full face protection!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

it can happen, it does depend on how healthy your teeth are though. ive been shot in the mouth with a 1J gun (my own gun no less. lol) and although i got a slight split on my gum, the teeth were fine. luck of the draw. id rather take the risk than loose my peripheral vision with a big full face mask on. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

just wear a mask , the neoprene face mask, pretty much anything will slow it down enough that it does no damage...this is like anything, if you stand up in a moving bus you can get hurt but thousands still do it. its a risk, if you are worried, put a shemagh or neoprene or plastic mask on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

be aware that you should wear a full mask or at the very least a gum shield

but all sports loose teeth so its no biggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Brabazone

Tigger wrote: »
    be aware that you should wear a full mask or at the very least a gum shield

but all sports loose teeth so its no biggy

Was wondering about a gum shield alright, need did wear one but I think it might be an idea because one of my front teeth while not rotten is not in great shape and even a small impact could make pieces of it.

Do any of you wear gumsheilds and if so how do you find them while playing?

By the way thanks for all the replies lads, ye are a helpfull bunch to say the least.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

got shot directly in the tooth at predator once at very close range, hurt pretty bad for a couple of days but didn't break. I was lucky though ( and I've strong teeth)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

It happens yeah. But it has alot to do with the strength of the individuals teeth.

As Tonky can second, recently in red barn I took a burst of rounds in the mouth ( thanks fay) shattered of my teeth, spat the bb's out and my teeth were fine.

I've been shot numerous times. I know conor might remember the time someone in HRTa shot me pretty close full auto with a p90 when i was talking to him out of game, again fine.

However I saw one guy get a hit on the tooth from atleast 60 feet and it chipped his tooth.

I'll never wear full face unless the site instructs me too. I'll take the very rare risk of me losing a tooth or chipping it. Thats just me personally because I've got strong teeth, I've been punched, bottled shot with BB's. kicked, kneed all from football or intoxicated affairs and my choppers still glisten :)

Just dread the day it goes OTT and mouth protection is required on most of the sites...its the day i stop playing : /

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i have good teeth as well doc but it pissed me off when i lost the top of one (nothing airsoft related) i wish i still had it

yeah its really up to the individual! i wear full face for two reasons, one my home site requires it (rathbeggan), the second i had to wear braces for 4 feckin years so i'm not going to risk all that bullsh*t for a lucky shot to the tooth :p

however it is very tempting i would just advise wearing a light bally or scarf just to pull up if the situation calls for it :rolleyes:

funny story actually, i was shot in the mouth in hrta once and not a bother to my teeth, then later on when we were on a break for lunch, i chipped a tooth on a water bottle nozzle.lol it was a repaired tooth from a previous biking injury though, it cost 600 quid to fix only about 3 months prior to breaking it again, so feck that if im getting it fixed again. :D

Masada wrote: »
    funny story actually, i was shot in the mouth in hrta once and not a bother to my teeth, then later on when we were on a break for lunch, i chipped a tooth on a water bottle nozzle.lol it was a repaired tooth from a previous biking injury though, it cost 600 quid to fix only about 3 months prior to breaking it again, so feck that if im getting it fixed again. :D

funny how a 6mm piece of plastic flyin at (roughly) 320fps does no damage to your tooth however a water bottle moving at a much slower rate manages to chip it....you have to love hydration bladers!lol :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Bernie Mac wrote: »
    funny how a 6mm piece of plastic flyin at (roughly) 320fps does no damage to your tooth however a water bottle moving at a much slower rate manages to chip it....you have to love hydration bladers!lol :p

I find it funny that most of the damaged tooth stories seem to involve "drinking".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭ps3man

ive had a loose baby tooth for about 3weeks now, pellet seems like a good way to get it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

ps3man wrote: »
    ive had a loose baby tooth for about 3weeks now, pellet seems like a good way to get it out

If you still have baby teeth you shouldn't be playing airsoft should ya?:pac:

Blay wrote: »
    If you still have baby teeth you shouldn't be playing airsoft should ya?:pac:

... he didnt say they were his own. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Polish them up and sell them as bbs, ivory bbs are for plebs, human based bbs are where the prestige is at, ahem, quite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭ps3man

i still have 6 baby teeth, and im 18 pretty messed up,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭desertstorm

with regard using a gumshield, itd work but its not gna be the most comfortable option by far.

I have to wear one regularly for martial arts and at first alot of people gag on them but thats just a case of getting used to them, you might also find it hard to breathe without having your mouth wide open especially if your gna be running around alot, not so much a problem when your playing rugby or doing martial arts but with bb's flying around that kinda cancels out the point?

also an important thing is that its pretty much an art form learnin how to be understood when talking with one in!

mesh goggle masks i find give better air circulation while giving full face protection if needs be and you could always improve that by drilling a few more small holes at points around the actual mask!

with regard using a gumshield, itd work but its not gna be the most comfortable option by far.

also an important thing is that its pretty much an art form learnin how to be understood when talking with one in!

I can confirm both these points.

Like a lot of things, the choice to protect your teeth is down to you (unlike eye protection which is mandatory, with good reason). In most cases I have seen where people have chipped or broken teeth it has been because they were doing something idiotic (like leaning around a corner grinning at the barrel of a machine gun) or just piss-poor luck (running into a hail of BB's while shouting at someone to duck & cover).

In most cases BB's wont do your pearly-whites any harm, that said should you have micro-fissures (those with sensitive teeth will know what I mean), tiny fractures or suffer anyone of a dozen ailments the chances of you needing dentures increases dramatically.

so, I suppose its a lesson for a lot of us - regular brushing, flossing and mouthwash should be part of the training reigiment of any serious airsofter.

(Can I have some money now Mr. Colgate?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

I find it funny that most of the damaged tooth stories seem to involve "drinking".

And/or sovren rings, but i won so its ok.

That rules out gumsheilds so. I already wear a mesh mask with plastic lower half but I still find it too hot and difficult to breath. I suppose it dosent help that I am an Asthamatic but I never realy have any problems with it when doing other activities, "and no dirty comments please":rolleyes:.

I was thinking if I could get a full face mask made from mesh it would be perfect but I dont know where to get one or if they are even been made. Does anyone if they are been made and if so where can I get my hands on one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Rencing mask, but they are expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Theres only one way to make sure. I'm not trying to tell you to shot yourself in the mouth or any thing. That would be crazy, Shot some one else in the mouth. :pac:

full face mesh?... you could try duck taping one of those mesh style paper bins to your head! after extensive, scientifically conducted testing of course :pac:

not really though...

well maybe just once.... :p

full face mesh?... you could try duck taping one of those mesh style paper bins to your head! after extensive, scientifically conducted testing of course :pac:

not really though...

well maybe just once.... :p

I think you have stumbled on the next big thing in airsoft, you will be a millionare in 12 months:D:eek::D:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭mechwarrior

hi dude

try this website: http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/

they have some ventilated masques - i never tried any but might solve the problem with fogging glasses or unprotected teeth

i never had a problem ordering from them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Brabazone wrote: »
    I think you have stumbled on the next big thing in airsoft, you will be a millionare in 12 months:D:eek::D:eek:
    No, he because he just gave his brilliant idea away. :(

Back away vultures! i'm already waiting out in the cold at the patent office!

IMBU's coming your way this summer to save your teeth!
    Integrated mesh bucket units

IMBU MK II's will also feature a HUD & more acronyms you can shake a twig at!

Was actually thinkin about this earlier tho & you could probably get a sheet of decent stamped steel& form it to fit in whatever shape u want into whatever frame u wanted with a few basic tools!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

ps3man wrote: »
    i still have 6 baby teeth, and im 18 pretty messed up,

Test Subject Acquired!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭+*EliteSniper*+

GrumPy wrote: »
    Test Subject Acquired!!!
    lol :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Toherinator

Bernie Mac wrote: »
    only if you are up close and personal with real rotten teeth and have a big cheeky grin on your face!:D

no offence to my mate whose tooth i chipped, but his teeth where in really bad shape and i pulled off one round on instinct from about 7yards away when he stuck his big smile around the corner and i chipped half it off. past that havnt heard of any :rolleyes:

LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 jinxleprechaun

To answer the question ...YES! My teeth are healthy and strong but when I took a close range hit to the mouth recently, one of my front teeth got completely fractured just above the gum and had to be extracted. BTW, I was wearing a neoprene face mask at the time.

It was a shot in a million I guess but just so as you know it can and does happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭mechwarrior

To answer the question ...YES! My teeth are healthy and strong but when I took a close range hit to the mouth recently, one of my front teeth got completely fractured just above the gum and had to be extracted. BTW, I was wearing a neoprene face mask at the time.

It was a shot in a million I guess but just so as you know it can and does happen.

post us a picture or link to the mask you were wearing - from paintball i always got used to full face helmet but recently i got goggles and mask - might not use them as often if the mask is the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 jinxleprechaun

The mask I was wearing was a Viper neoprene comforter - its on their website or <snip> It covers the nose, mouth & neck and I was wearing goggles.

I now have bought a KOEI man face mask from ebaybanned which I will wear with the goggles over the eye holes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭andros

I'll tell you that much: If you are not wearing full face protection, you will sunnner or later, loose tooth or two, maybe have it chipped.

My advice is:

1. For CQB ALWAYS wear a full face protection.

2. You don't really need a full face protection on long range fire exchange, but two things can happen:

a) You get shot right in your mouth or nose (which is very un-cool experience, whith all the un-coolness possible)
    b) You never know when you get involved in CQB (ref. to point no. 1)

Risk of loosing your teeth is higher than most people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

to me there is a massive differance between a neoprene mask and full face protection if your looking to protect your teeth, they are not in the same boat for me, neoprene by its nature is tight to your face and can take the sting out of hit, but people can still easly be hit in the teeth with them on, i was suprised to hear so many had had a cracked tooth at the warehouse the face protection rules seem very complete and i was under the impression that solid e.g paintball style masks where the order of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Masada wrote: »
    it can happen, it does depend on how healthy your teeth are though. ive been shot in the mouth with a 1J gun (my own gun no less. lol) and although i got a slight split on my gum, the teeth were fine. luck of the draw. id rather take the risk than loose my peripheral vision with a big full face mask on. :)

Sorry Riche...... :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Puding wrote: »
    to me there is a massive differance between a neoprene mask and full face protection if your looking to protect your teeth, they are not in the same boat for me, neoprene by its nature is tight to your face and can take the sting out of hit, but people can still easly be hit in the teeth with them on, i was suprised to hear so many had had a cracked tooth at the warehouse the face protection rules seem very complete and i was under the impression that solid e.g paintball style masks where the order of the day

They are, but a few people have refused them. The lads have even been known to offer a free rental mask to refusers. These same refusers are then often seen 5 minutes later running bawling home to mammy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

TheDoc wrote: »
    As Tonky can second, recently in red barn I took a burst.....in the mouth ( thanks fay)

sorry, just too funny, makes 'red barn' sound like a seedy gay bar..

Reminds me of the sceen in American Pie Beta House where there playing russian roulette shooting shells full of horses "whatever", those of you that have seen it will know what Im talking about. Very disturbing, cant get the picture out of my head, brings a whole new meaning to Shellshock.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Dermster

Sorry to hear that man:( Which site did this happen at and wot game were you playing at the time?. Was it CQB?
    I know you prob signed the wavier, but did the site offer you any help with doc/dentist fee's :rolleyes:
    Feck this for a game of soldiers

Are you a die hard player :cool:or will you call it a day with the sport?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Dermster wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that man:( Which site did this happen at and wot game were you playing at the time?. Was it CQB?
    I know you prob signed the wavier, but did the site offer you any help with doc/dentist fee's :rolleyes:
    Feck this for a game of soldiers

Are you a die hard player :cool:or will you call it a day with the sport?

Your not so subtle digs at the site are very transparent and pretty pathetic. Boards.ie is not somewhere for you to come and air your grievances. Sort them out in the real world. Any more messing around like this and you will get a swift ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Dermster

Rew wrote: »
    Your not so subtle digs at the site are very transparent and pretty pathetic. Boards.ie is not somewhere for you to come and air your grievances. Sort them out in the real world. Any more messing around like this and you will get a swift ban.

Sorry Rew.... it wasn't meant as a dig towards any site. :(

To all ..... the only way to go is a full face mask at 11.99 euro in <Banned Retailer>

KEEP SMILING:D

liamo333 wrote: »
    Sorry Riche...... :-(

Bwhahaha! no bother man,

didn't think you were still around boards, the sooner we get ya back out on the field the better. ;):D