Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Up and Down?

• 15-05-2009 5:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭

Why do people with modified cars drive up and down every single main street in the country non stop for hours on end?
    And with the music blaring so the people not driving behind you get annoyed as well?

Not trying to start anything here. Its a genuine question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Hush...not trying to start an arguement posting it in the Modded Motors Forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It attracts girls. Girls love Glanzas. simple.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,800 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

g-whizz wrote: »
    Why do people with modified cars drive up and down every single main street in the country non stop for hours on end?
    And with the music blaring so the people not driving behind you get annoyed as well?

why do people in BMW's not know where their indicators are?
    why do OAP's drive at 4mph?

its all part of life, some of them do and some of them dont.
    dont let it bother you and get on with life because we could be dead in the morning :D

kceire wrote: »
    why do people in BMW's not know where their indicators are?
    why do OAP's drive at 4mph?

its all part of life, some of them do and some of them dont.
    dont let it bother you and get on with life because we could be dead in the morning :D
    Bloody well said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭g-whizz

Grahamo999 wrote: »
    Bloody well said!
    you're really defending this practice aren't you!?
    just saying ye must have be little to be doing...

you're really defending this practice aren't you!?
    just saying ye must have be little to be doing...
    No not really, its a pointless thread about the people that this Forum is for?

no. you see i thought it was better to ask the people that do it, rather than ask the Arts & Crafts group.

No, here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1193

hahahaha you've been doing your research and i'm impressed, really, no lies!
    thats when i began to think maybe they have a reason and i'm wrong and i waddled on over here to ask, but all i get is nothing!

hahahaha you've been doing your research and i'm impressed, really, no lies!
    thats when i began to think maybe they have a reason and i'm wrong and i waddled on over here to ask, but all i get is nothing!
    I do know what you mean about the lil scumbags driving round though, not many of em on boards, well not that i've seen, people in this part are just people who like Modded cars, and to be honest this Forum should be called Performance Motors because barely anyone actually talks about modifying their car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It attracts girls. Girls love Glanzas. simple.

They don't really and they ones that do you try to avoid. Ever try explaining to a girl why your ''black bonnet that doesnt match the rest of the cars colour'' is actually carbon fibre and has a purpose?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

It's always ****ers with ****ty 1.6 Corollas with dust-bins for exhausts that do that. Annoys the **** out of me. If you want to mess around in your car - **** off somewhere with nobody around. Don't go speeding through the middle of the ****ing town. I often think about going out and parking my cars in the middle of the street like one of those traffic calming things so the ****ers have to slow, but they'd probably love that. They'd think it's a ****ing chicane.

If I was a Garda I'd have a field day with the little *****. Just walk up the town with your hair drier and I guarantee you could meet your quota with the first snot rag you pull over. Odds are the ****ers on a provisional license, speeding in a car with several illegal mods that are undeclared to their insurance company.

If you want to enjoy your car, a quiet (preferably emtpy) main road is the place to do it. If you really want to enjoy your car - go to a track day. Keep your miserable little **** - heap ex-pensioners car out of my ear-shot.

/rant

calm blue ocean, calm blue ocean, calm blue ocean......

That said, the exhaust on my daily driver is too loud. :o I think the muffler pipe is loose and rattling like the bejebus...

It's always ****ers with ****ty 1.6 Corollas with dust-bins for exhausts that do that. Annoys the **** out of me. If you want to mess around in your car - **** off somewhere with nobody around. Don't go speeding through the middle of the ****ing town. I often think about going out and parking my cars in the middle of the street like one of those traffic calming things so the ****ers have to slow, but they'd probably love that. They'd think it's a ****ing chicane.

If I was a Garda I'd have a field day with the little *****. Just walk up the town with your hair drier and I guarantee you could meet your quota with the first snot rag you pull over. Odds are the ****ers on a provisional license, speeding in a car with several illegal mods that are undeclared to their insurance company.

If you want to enjoy your car, a quiet (preferably emtpy) main road is the place to do it. If you really want to enjoy your car - go to a track day. Keep your miserable little **** - heap ex-pensioners car out of my ear-shot.
    Someone got outta the wrong side of the bed this morning eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Fallon2304

/rant

That said, the exhaust on my daily driver is too loud. :o I think the muffler pipe is loose and rattling like the bejebus...

Couldn't agree more. Either the main street or any branch of macdonalds that has a reasonable amount of carpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

People on boards dont do that and I hope not to attract people like that

You'd be better off stopping them in the street and asking them, all of them are young lads with low cc old cars with bits off airplanes stuck on them, the only interest they have is drawing as much attraction as they can from 15 year olds, there not the kind of people of have an interest in properly modding or owning a performance car which most "modifying" communities online are about.
    I do know what you mean about the lil scumbags driving round though, not many of em on boards, well not that i've seen, people in this part are just people who like Modded cars, and to be honest this Forum should be called Performance Motors because barely anyone actually talks about modifying their car!

Agreed, modifying suggests that its about sticking a bodykit and a big exhaust on when it is not! The press has tarred the entire community under the modifying name.

/rant

Calm down man, keep your posts a bit toned down in future please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

mad into the done up cars meself.
    (both modifyed performance wise and (tastefully) style wise aswell but when we're on lunch at school it annoys the b******s out of me when a few of the lads in my school spend an hour belting up one street and down another.
    love their cars but there are better uses for your petrol!!!!!
    thanks for the venting opportunity OP!!!!!