Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Question regarding a new car purchase (second hand) Motor Tax

• 15-05-2009 12:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭

I purchased a 07 Mondeo 2 weeks ago from a Dealer, the car didn't have any road tax or road tax disc. The road tax was out on it. I have been talking to the dealer and he said he sent of the log book. I cant tax the car untill I get this back is this correct. He gave me a slip of paper to give to guards incase I'm stopped.

Will this cover me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Technically no, but in practise you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Qprmeath

Yes it will cover you. You cant do anything until you get the vehicle licensing certificate. You will still have to get it taxed form the date of purchase though unless you can get a guard to sign the form saying it hasnt been on the road since you bought it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Speedy007

Go to motortax.ie and click on the left hand side at vehicle transaction enquiry, simply put in you reg and it will tell you if the change of ownership has been done. If it has then you don't need the VLC to tax your car the car just needs to be in your name. You can use an RF100A which you will also find on motortax.ie, fill in your details and either post it or go to your local motor tax office. I recommend you go as then you will get the disc straight away.

The guards may still fine you €60 for non-display of tax disc (regardless of the slip of paper that the dealer gave you) although you could be lucky and just get a warning if they believe that you have just collected your new car but 2 weeks is pushing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Psygnosis

just checked on motortax.ie and got
    EHICLE
    Vehicle Registration Number 07KEXXXX Vehicle Details FORD / MONDEO Change Of Vehicle Ownership
    No Changes notified in the last 3 months Vehicle Registration Certificate
    No Vehicle Registration Certificate issued in the last 3 months

I'd get on to the garage straight away.

ANAN1 Thanks for that just spoke to the Garage and they said they would get it sorted ASAP.

I need to use the car later today do you think it will be ok. If I get stopped at a checkpoint will the guard be ok about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

If they don't pull you over you'll be grand :pac:.

Psygnosis wrote: »
    ANAN1 Thanks for that just spoke to the Garage and they said they would get it sorted ASAP.

I need to use the car later today do you think it will be ok. If I get stopped at a checkpoint will the guard be ok about it?
    Unless you're very unlucky, you should be fine. If you do get stopped, take a conciliatory & apologetic tone - legally, you shouldn't be driving the car without a valid tax disc on display.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Unless you're very unlucky, you should be fine. If you do get stopped, take a conciliatory & apologetic tone - legally, you shouldn't be driving the car without a valid tax disc on display.

Since the introduction of the e-toll most garages can do change of ownership online, its immediate so when a car is driven off the forecourt they are no longer responisble for paying for any trips over the M50 or for fines etc. It still may take a week or so for the new owner to receive the VLC though. Keep checking on motortax.ie and follow up with your dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Speedy007 wrote: »
    Go to motortax.ie and click on the left hand side at vehicle transaction enquiry, simply put in you reg and it will tell you if the change of ownership has been done. If it has then you don't need the VLC to tax your car the car just needs to be in your name. You can use an RF100A which you will also find on motortax.ie, fill in your details and either post it or go to your local motor tax office. I recommend you go as then you will get the disc straight away.

The guards may still fine you €60 for non-display of tax disc (regardless of the slip of paper that the dealer gave you) although you could be lucky and just get a warning if they believe that you have just collected your new car but 2 weeks is pushing it.

+1 m8. really good answer. I will actually will use it from now on aswell.

cheers again!

Still no bloody Veichle reg cert so no Motor Tax is there anything else I can do to get this sorted. I have been onto the garage again. He said he'd get it sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Drive over & back across the M50 toll & through the tunnel toll. When the previous owner gets the bill then it will be sorted quick-sharp!

In reality: I think you just have to hassle the garage into submission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Kinda weird its taking them so long. Speeding ticket etc wise its them that will lose out.
    I got a new bike about 3 or 4 weeks ago. Only got the ownership thing last week. Went down to guards and got form signed and stamped saying it was off the road. Straight down to tax office and me bike is taxed now and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

i also purchased a new car two weeks ago and received the registration cert in the post yesterday. do i need to post this off with the rf100a to get the car taxed? on the bottom of the form it says you do but i've seen other advice on this board that says i dont. can anybody give me a definitive answer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Still no bloody Veichle reg cert so no Motor Tax is there anything else I can do to get this sorted. I have been onto the garage again. He said he'd get it sorted

Do you live near the dealer?

Walk in and ask them to do the change of ownership online while you watch.

Sounds like they're messing you around, changing ownership isn't a big deal.

I'm in Dublin they are in Laois
    What is the web page you change it on. I'll mail it to him

Beano wrote: »
    i also purchased a new car two weeks ago and received the registration cert in the post yesterday. do i need to post this off with the rf100a to get the car taxed? on the bottom of the form it says you do but i've seen other advice on this board that says i dont. can anybody give me a definitive answer?

Anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Anybody?

You need to sent the RF100, the VLC, Your insurance cert (Not Disc), NCT (If applicable) and payment.

There is no mention of Insurance cert or NCT cert on the RF100a form.

Anybody else?

Ok, Don't believe me, I only sort tax for a fleet of over 60 vechiles inc commerical and private cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Anybody else?

To tax a private vehicle all you need is payment and the RF100A form. Nothing else, you fill in the insurance details on the form, no NCT required.

See section D of the updated RF100A

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Buffman wrote: »
    To tax a private vehicle all you need is payment and the RF100A form. Nothing else, you fill in the insurance details on the form, no NCT required.

See section D of the updated RF100A

Thank you very much Buffman. I took the rf100a from the motortax.ie site and it still has the line about including the registration certificate. The mystery is solved.

Ok, Don't believe me, I only sort tax for a fleet of over 60 vechiles inc commerical and private cars.

Why should i believe somebody who is patently wrong? YOU may send those documents off with the RF100A but they are not required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I wonder if your local council are a bit anal about the details. For Dublin and Cork we just send off the completed RF100a and payment - no need for VLC's. Unless it's a commercial and the DOE cert needs to go.

Why should i believe somebody who is patently wrong? YOU may send those documents off with the RF100A but they are not required.

Well thats me told then....I was wrong, probably from just sending the Tax book / VLC with the insurance forms for the last x amount of years...

I stand corrected.

The motor tax people have just confirmed by email that as long as i am the registered owner of the vehicle then all i need to send them is the RF100A and the payment. Thanks again BuffMan for the link.

Of course they wouldnt admit that the form on their site was out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Irishrossoblu

I just bought a new car two days ago. The dealer gave me the logbook and told me that I only had 3 days grace with a new car, and then I could be fined for not having a correct Tax Disc. So I headed to the Motortax office and had the logbook changed and car taxed in 5 minutes. The Motortax office will mail me the new logbook, but my car is taxed. I think its the best way of doing it.

The dealer isnt meant to do that is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Irishrossoblu

The dealer isnt meant to do that is he?

I dont know. Its never happened to me before. But it seems to have worked. Why should they not do it?

The rule of thumb when selling a car (privately or as a dealer) is that you hang onto the logbook and send it off yourself.

Still nothing should I go to the guards?

What did the dealer say most recently? When were you last in contact with them?

I'm not sure what the Gardai can do for you.

When I bought the car he said he would get it done straight away a week later heard nothing dropped him a text and he phoned again saying that it was sent. Still nothing gave it a week and texted again got a phone call back saying he would get it done ASAP.

I now have a car I cant drive sitting out front I'm mad can I name and shame?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Bloody hell. Call him and tell him that you'll be dropping back the car. He hasn't kept up his side of the sale agreement after all. That'll get his arse in gear ;)

Frankly though, i'd be thinking about following through on the threat. You don't even (legally) own the car yet, and the after-sales is allready gone to s**t.

can I name and shame?

I'd rather if you didn't, I don't see how it would help you get this sorted.

If you have a paper/text trail, then maybe bring it to your local station and maybe a call from the Gardai will get the salesman back on his toes.

I'd say the VLC has been mislaid and he's had to apply for a new one - thats probably the hold up but he should have been upfront about it in the first place.

VEHICLE STATUS ENQUIRY DETAILS
    VEHICLE
    Vehicle Registration Number 07KEXXXX Vehicle Details FORD / MONDEO Change Of Vehicle Ownership
    Purchased by a Dealer on : 10/05/2009

Notified on : 20/05/2009 Vehicle Registration Certificate
    Vehicle Registration Certificate awaiting issue

Just got the following from the motortax site can I now tax the car
    What do I have to do next to get car tax'd

Fill in the RF100A and send it off with payment to your local tax office or physically go there and get the tax disc straight away.

What do I need to bring with me to the tax office?
    VIN Number of Car?
    Insurance info
    Do I have to wait for the cert in the post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

What do I need to bring with me to the tax office?
    VIN Number of Car?
    Insurance info
    Do I have to wait for the cert in the post?

No need to wait for the cert to be issued. If you ring the VRO in Ennis => http://findaddress.citizensinformation.ie/service_finder/bycounty/Clare/Ennis/Tax%20Offices they will inform you if the car is now in your name or not.

Go down to the tax office with your insurance details and payment, and they will tax it for you straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

The motor tax people have just confirmed by email that as long as i am the registered owner of the vehicle then all i need to send them is the RF100A and the payment. Thanks again BuffMan for the link.

Of course they wouldnt admit that the form on their site was out of date.

No problem. A lot of county/city councils still have the old form (asking for NCT & insurance cert) on their sites, as do citizens information (I think) and motortax.ie.
    So it is easy to see where the confusion is coming from.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Just off the phone with the VRO office. Get this they have just sent out replacement docs/transfer to the garage. It is not in my name yet. This is a crazy situation how long more will I have to wait.

Sounds like the dealer had lost the VLC and applied for a new one. They can transfer ownership to you online as soon as they receive the VLC.

If I was you I'd kindly request that the dealer pay your 12 months road tax for all the messing around. The car is still in their name so ask that the salesman go immediately to the local tax office, cheque in hand, fill in an RF100A and get you your tax disc. This is a small piece of paperwork that should have been sorted if not before you collected the car then at least within a day of two. IMO it has gone on too long...

Just got a reply saying they got lost in the post going to VRO I'm going to give him the benifit of the doubt.
    ?No hope of getteing Road tax paid for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Just got a reply saying they got lost in the post going to VRO I'm going to give him the benifit of the doubt.
    ?No hope of getteing Road tax paid for.

This is not an issue. Go to the road tax office, and fill out the form with the garage's details (as the registered owner) and your insurance details etc.. Pay for the tax, and you'll walk away with the tax disk.

Can I do this, is it legal?
    He said he would do it online tommorow. So I'll have to wait till then.
    Can you explain how this works Hobart I want to get it sorted out tomorrow.

I'd say you probably can do as Hobart suggests. I'd still ask the dealer for a contribution as a gesture of goodwill considering how long you have been waiting to have it sorted though.