Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LA policeman kicks man in head..!

• 15-05-2009 1:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/8049633.stm
    LA policeman 'kicks man in head'

A police officer is seen apparently kicking a suspect in the head - Footage courtesy of KTLA

A California police officer has been caught on camera apparently aiming a sharp kick at the head or neck of a suspect who has already surrendered.

The incident came at the end of a car chase through Los Angeles suburbs.

The footage shows the suspect, Richard Rodriguez, 23, trying to escape on foot, then lying down to surrender when he sees there is no escape.

One pursuing police officer kicks him, and another punches his side. The local police department is investigating.

The incident, in the suburb of Pico Rivera, was recorded by news helicopters and broadcast on local TV stations.

High-five

The footage shows Mr Rodriguez' car careering the wrong way down a street. It collides with a parked vehicle, and Mr Rodriguez races off, with the police in hot pursuit.

But he reaches a dead end, and - surrounded by high garden walls - decides to give himself up.

He lies down on the grass, arms and legs outstretched. A police officer races up and immediately kicks him in the head or neck. Another joins him in handcuffing Mr Rodriguez, and hits him in the side.

Another policeman arrives with a dog, and the officers exchange a "high-five" in celebration.

'Truly chilling'

Mr Rodriguez, a gang member, was detained for violating his parole and pending investigation into other charges.

But human rights group the American Civil Liberties Union called for the immediate suspension of the police officer who kicked him, and urged the Los Angeles County District Attorney to conduct a full and swift investigation.

Its southern California executive director, Ramona Ripson, said: "This video is truly chilling in the clarity with which it captures an egregious example of police abuse."

"Whatever the suspect may have done to justify his arrest, punishment in our system of justice is meted out by courts following fair trials, not by lone officers inflicting physical beatings as they see fit."

Pigs! PIGS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

a fool to be caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

He surrendered!

Was probably hoping to avoid getting kicked in the head.

HAHA, FOOL!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Robble gobble Americans etc

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 jskinny_de

If he was up to no good I think he got off lightly!!!

I see a lot of people nowadays having sympathy for criminals........remember these people rob your cars / houses and sell drugs / kill people whatever it takes and then when they get a kick in the mush they cry about it.

Criminals rights.......you're joking!!!!!! What about MY rights to keep MY stuff!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

As much as I've no sympathy for the scumbag involved, I've no sympathy for those dumb cops either. And they are dumb, what the hell did they expect to happen? They're meant to be police officers, they know the rules and they should damn well know that they shouldn't kick people in the head. Morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

See this is like Rodney King all over again. What had happened was, the guy lying on the ground had a mouth operated gun, but you couldn't see it from the angle we were looking. The cop was merely tapping it away gently with his foot, but the Hispanic male headbutted the Cop's Foot.

Honest mistake on the part of the cop.

I have to ask though, what is Boards obsession with American news stories about? Are ours not interesting enough?

There are 3 or 4 Gang wars being waged here.
    Traveller Family Fueds are uncountable.
    Mammy's raping their son's.
    Teachers and students screwing.

Yet there is still at least 3 news articles about American crimes posted here daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭Matt Holck

cell phone cameras make us more equal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Those crazy Calis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I'm sorry, but anyone who ends up in a car chase with piolice should be shot onsite.

The amount of damage caused by these POS is incredible, and they do it without any thought of the people that they put in harms way during the chase.

You Run = You Die

One less scumbag in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm sorry, but anyone who ends up in a car chase with piolice should be shot onsite.

True. They'd need a satellite gun or something to shoot the fugitive from a remote location?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

stovelid wrote: »
    True. They'd need a satellite gun or something to shoot the fugitive from a remote location?

Ion Cannon ! Sure it'll cause massive amounts of collateral damage but at least you get the criminal ! S'all that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭and2

slightly off topic, I picked up the Evening Herald yesterday to see an old school pal now a member of the Gardai has been charged with assault and forced entry.. This guy was very quiet in school. I dont know if joining the gardai turns a nice quiet chap into a thug or was he just doing his job and the drug dealing scum that got a slap deserved it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Anyone notice the high five at the end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

IIMII wrote: »

Yeah but it's not clear if that other cop the first guy kick him. He could have just been high-fiveing him in a kind of 'good job, we caught him' way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Yeah, the person who wrote the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,391 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

No sympathy although I do agree that the cop probably isn't the smartest bloke in the station (helicopter overhead????). People sympathizing with the scum is typical, does he have to mill through an innocent pedestrian or what? As for the pigs pigs comment I won't even bother commenting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Funkyspunkball

I saw this vid yesterday its a bleedin disgrace!!! tHE COP KICKS HIM WHILE RUNNING FULL SPEED, SQUARE IN THE FACE!!!! and the second cop isnt just punchin the guy, he's layin into his kidneys with his night stick!!! Yer man is probably still pissin blood

and to round it off... the fat cop who wass too lazy to keep up the chase arrives and gives a big friendly pat on the back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Wouldn't be surprised if they started chanting USA.

The stupid bastard could have killed lots of people trying to outrun the cops.
    F*** him,

Another Rodney King.

And also, he was a gang member who voilated his parole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Pretty savage looking kick alright. Thats a bit much after surrender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

That felt like I was playing the original GTA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

LAPD.
    They treat all blacks and hispanic people like a 'king'

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

I dont see too much of a problem with the amount of force used.

I presume the cop was trying to disable him or stun him before he went in to tackle and cuff him using his hands.

He should really approached the person on the ground from the side or rear and kneeled into the square of his back, maybe striking him once with his baton, then cuffing him.

The public dont like to see fists or feet used by police but batons are there to be used and are there to effect lawful arrests.

Anyway the "perp" will probably get some money out of it as it has made the media and civil liberty groups will jump all over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Chief--- wrote: »
    I dont see too much of a problem with the amount of force used.

I presume the cop was trying to disable him or stun him before he went in to tackle and cuff him using his hands.

He should really approached the person on the ground from the side or rear and kneeled into the square of his back, maybe striking him once with his baton, then cuffing him.

I'm sorry, but that's just nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

*officer sprints up and kicks the suspects head pretty hard.*

*suspects head snaps back due to force of the kick...clearly enough*

Commentator- "Wow....eh uh he ehm kicked him in the eh shoulder...":rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dunder Mifflin

The guy was driving the wrong way down a road. He could have killed people. All he got was a kick in the head?

So what

tallaght01 wrote: »
    I'm sorry, but that's just nonsense.

Hey its only my opinion.

I know what some criminals are capable of, even when you think they are surrendering.

Have you ever seen the video of the prisoner in the police station in the UK pulling out a large knife and trying to stab officers while he is being booked in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

^ I'm sure he got arrested and served time in prison too. If you saw the video then you must have seen that bit where they DIDN'T just let him go after the kick.

Hey its only my opinion.

I know what some criminals are capable of, even when you think they are surrendering.

Have you ever seen the video of the prisoner in the police station in the UK pulling out a large knife and trying to stab officers while he is being booked in?

None of that matters. Policemen just don't have the right to kick people in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

This is the typical PC bullsh¦t that causes so much of today's problems.

I think its perfectly reasonable for the police to give this guy a kick/punch. He drove his car down the wrong side of the road and could have easily killed someone.
    Why are people so defensive of criminals these days!?! If he ran over your child would you be so forgiving?

The bleeding hearts brigade need a reality check. And comparing this to Rodney King is utter horse-sh¦t! Two completely different situations.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

None of that matters. Policemen just don't have the right to kick people in the head.
    Not on camera anyway..

In fairness I think society in general is far to soft on people. He hit a car.. what if he had killed a person..

I'm all for a sever crackdown on this stuff...

I think its perfectly reasonable for the police to give this guy a kick/punch. He drove his car down the wrong side of the road and could have easily killed someone.
    Why are people so defensive of criminals these days!?! If he ran over your child would you be so forgiving?

The bleeding hearts brigade need a reality check. And comparing this to Rodney King is utter horse-sh¦t! Two completely different situations.

Well, that's what we have prison for. BUt, sure, let the cops do what they like. And the rest of us too. If I see someone doing something wrong I'll just batter him. And me mates can join in, too. It'll make it so much ore satisfying when we don't have to worry about courts and all that stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭LaMer

Thing is he was a known gang member, he could have had a gun. Originally I thought the cop was going to kick his hand, maybe thinking there was a gun or knife in it, and he missed (heat of the moment, adrenaline, etc.) and got his face. As for the other guy punching him, I thought he was trying to get his hands into cuffs. But then again it's the LAPD, so chances are they we pretty brutal.

I think the high 5 was probably "well done on an arrest of a gangbanger, without a shootout and without anybody dying in a high speed chase."

Police are allowed to use force up to and including killing somebody. But it has to be justified and no more force than is necessary is to be used.

If the cop was standing in front of the suspects car and the suspect drove at him.

Do you think the cop has the right to shoot the suspect dead to try and protect himself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

All I'll say is "watch out truckdrivers!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

I agree. However, if this 'people' is driving at high speeds away from the police on the wrong side of the road having no regard for human life. Smashing into parked cars etc etc. Then I'd say a kick in the head is mild! If this guy had hit and killed a mother and her new born baby, I wonder would there be this 'outrage'. When are we ever going to learn that these guys do not deserve our sympathy! We can talk about the copper being excessive, or whatever. The fact is, the copper didn't decide to risk the lives of others, but in fact risks his own in dealing with these criminals. Yet, here we have high horses getting mounted about the 'dumb' copper. He should be taken aside, told that the kick may not have been necessary, and then given a hearty 'well done'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

As much as I've no sympathy for the scumbag involved, I've no sympathy for those dumb cops either. And they are dumb, what the hell did they expect to happen? They're meant to be police officers, they know the rules and they should damn well know that they shouldn't kick people in the head. Morons.

+1. Its not as if the cop didnt hear the chopper buzzing overhead.

Still, zero sympathy for the scumbag on the ground. Couple more smacks into the head might turn him off running from the police again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,729 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Certainly unprofessional conduct deserving of punitive action (though I might consider judicial action to be excessive). I have no sympathy for the kickee, however.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

A bit of roughing up here and there is all part of the game. People shouldn't be up in arms over this unless it happens to a civillian instead of a criminal.

Good to see so many posts supporting the cops...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

he was white, im shocked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

he was white, im shocked

could be hispanic. but why does it even matter??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

utick wrote: »
    could be hispanic. but why does it even matter??

Because some people love to portray all police as racist, and blacks and hispanics as victims.

I think comparing it to the Rodney King case is very fair. King was also arrested after a high speed chase, he was also on probation... what part of this is not comparable?>

Plus, as someone already said, the Civil Liberties people will be busting a nut to help represent this guy pro-bono, and he'll go on to make a fortune, he also went on to get more convictions, just as this punk will.

Police are allowed to use force up to and including killing somebody. But it has to be justified and no more force than is necessary is to be used.

If the cop was standing in front of the suspects car and the suspect drove at him.

Do you think the cop has the right to shoot the suspect dead to try and protect himself?

You're comparing apples with oranges there!!!!!

Fair enough if you think it's "neccessary" to kick a bloke on the head when he's on the ground and you're pointing a gun at him. There's no way to argue with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭the roo

Pigs! PIGS!![/quote]

what a mature coment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I have to ask though, what is Boards obsession with American news stories about? Are ours not interesting enough?

There are 3 or 4 Gang wars being waged here.
    Traveller Family Fueds are uncountable.
    Mammy's raping their son's.
    Teachers and students screwing.

Yet there is still at least 3 news articles about American crimes posted here daily.
    They're funny.

As for the kick; I've had worse and from Gardaí too (half my life ago).
    The cop wasn't running full speed. He stopped and then kicked the guy.
    Much ado about nothing isn't a patch on Henry IV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Jake1
    I think comparing it to the Rodney King case is very fair. King was also arrested after a high speed chase, he was also on probation... what part of this is not comparable?>

Because they repeatedly beat Rodney King with batons.
    In this case, one cop kicked him once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Some people posting here seem to be fierce stupid. They seem to actualy believe that the cops involved here did the correct thing and are above the law.

They kicked a surrendering guy in the head, and LAPD Wear some pretty heafty shoes. It was uncalled for and illegal, if I did that to someone in America it would be felony assault.

I am not against taking suspects down roughly, but what was done was not needed.