Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Open Water Races

• 14-05-2009 12:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭

I have come accross the Swim ireland Open water events and was wondering who on here competes in them. What are they like, what sort of standard can you give me an idea of times or can I look at results somewhere.
    What sort of numbers would the events around Dublin attract ?
    Would like to incorporate them into my half Iron man training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Killgore Trout

http://swimleinster.com/opensea.htm

Check out the calendar for the Leinster swims, you can also see previous year's times
    - most of the swims are around 1 to 1.5 k a few are 2 and there is one 5K. Most races get over 100 swimmers.

Generally competition is without wetsuits - some people have taken part with wetsuits - but i don't think they're eligible to be placed.

The races are handicapped - the slower swimmers are let off first. Don't mention IronMan to the guys when entering - they'll give you a brutal handicap.

You need to be a member of a swim Ireland affiliated club to compete.

They're good craic - very sociable

you need to do qualifiers for the Dun Laoghaire and Liffey Swims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

No wetsuits ??!!
    Jaysus not sure I am that hardy
    thanks for the info

If you get in for the next few weeks with more time each swim you'll harden to it. Was in on Sunday and the water is definitely warming up. If you really don't like the cold go for the swims in July and August - as the water will be much warmer then.

It is a matter of hardening up - before i took it up my wife used to slag me about being such a wuss getting into the sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Tritrier

Hi Kilgore Trout,

You say most of the races are 1-1.5km and some 2km and 5km. I have the Leinster Calendar here but none of them say distances. Would you know which ones are the longer races (ie. greater than 2km) so that I can eliminate them for this year as it's my first year attempting the open water races.

The Bull Wall swims are around a 1K - and I'd recommend them for a beginner as there's not much navigation.

NAC Mastards Dublin docklands is short enough - i'd say under a K

Tommy Dorgan is a 5K
    Dun Laoighaire harbour is around 2K
    The Island is tough (as long as it's not the shortened course)

If anyone would care to add their guesstimated distances to the list:

Liffey Fun Swim in aid of Cystic Fibrosis - Fun swim says it all - 300M tops - Cancelled
    Glenalbyn Masters
    Gibney Cups - could vary depending on where the buoys are laid out. 1000M-1500M
    Dublin Docklands - 800M
    Templeogue SC
    Garda SC Race* - 1100M
    Dublin SC
    Jim Kavanagh & Plunkett McAlister* - 1100M
    Newtown Smith Swim
    Campbell O'Connor Perpetual Trophy
    Corrib Prom Swim
    Dr Winckworth Races
    The Island
    Eastern Bay - could vary depending on where the buoys are laid out. 1000M-1500M
    Lee Swim
    Bob Bushell Race
    Eddie Heron
    Tommy Dorgan
    Cyril Duff Memorial
    Wicklow Open
    Caulfield / Lynch Cups
    Charity Race
    Kilmartin Cup
    Siobhan McKenna Cup
    Healy / O'Kane Vets
    Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race 2000M
    Arthur Dunne Memorial Cup
    Dublin City Council Liffey Swim

Wendy Herbst 3K
    Liffey Swim

Hi KT,

Thanks for the feedback. So the ones to avoid really would be the Tommy Dorgan and Windy Herbst and possible Dun Laoghaire.

Does anybody know the distances (approximate) of the Windsurfers Pier swims, the High Rock, Seapoint, Salthill, Wicklow Harbour swims are.

I would be comfortable with most around 2km I think ...

Seapoint is ~1.25KM http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=1690699

Windsurfers Pier is I think this route - http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=2863581

Not sure about the others - will ask someone who does if it get a chance.

If you can handle 2K (okay 2.2) I would have no hesitation in recommending Dun Laoghaire - it's one of my favourite races http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=1690717

I would really like to do the Dunlaoghaire Harbour Swim on 23rd August - would anybody know what 4 qualifying races will apply to compete in this or is it just every race in the Open Sea Calendar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

The Eddie heron swim from windsurfers pier is 2K (Windsurfers to blackrock baths) and is a tough swim. I also find any of the south wall swims hard as they are usually longish (1600M) and can be choppy.I would'nt get too hung up on distances apart from the long ones you have mentioned. The weather/tides on the day will have as much of an effect as the distance. For example the Wicklow 3k is probably one of the easiest races as it is always run with the tide and even an average swimmer will do it in about 35-40 minutes.

Thanks Seaswimmer. This is really helpful particularly what you say about the distances etc.

I'm looking at the Open Sea Calendar here...

What are the "South Wall Swim" - are these the likes of Dun Laoghaire Harbour, Seapoint etc.

What you say about the Wicklow Race - there are two on the calendar run by Wicklow SC - one on the 2nd August and one of the 22nd August. Are both these races easy and good for a beginner sea swimmer. I would be very comfortable with 45mins swimming.

South wall swims are form the Half Moon clubhouse on the south wall

Rough idea of the route: http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=1690588

Thanks KGT,

You're a great man/woman for the GPS maps - is there a website where they are all mapped out?

OK so here's what I'm thinking.

Bull Wall Swims, Windsurfers Pier (but not the Eddie Hernon and Tommy Dorgan), Prom Swim in Galway (maybe?), Low Rock Malahide, High Rock Portmarnock, Seapoint, possibly Wicklow Harbour Swims if what Seaswimmer has said is true and finishing off with Dun Laoghaire.

I'll be lucky if I manage to do all those... but here's trying...

The wicklow swim i was talking about was the wendy Herbst 3k. Dont be put off by 3k. As i said before it is with the tide so very fast. I would say try all of them with the exception of Tommy Dorgan. What is your rough time for a mile (64 lengths) of pool?

Grand Sea Swimmer will put the Herbst in the diary for the end of the summer.

What about the other 2 Wicklow Harbour Swims? Are they easy/hard.... not asking the distance now...

My time for 64 lengths.... well it would depend on the length of the pool wouldn't it!!icon12.gif Seriously though, 64 lengths of a 25m pool (1600m) would take me about 40mins I'd say. Swim about 2.5 km in a 1-hour session.

From recollection the Wicklow August bank holiday swim was listed a couple of years ago as 1850 metres. The one on the 22nd aug is a veterans race around the harbour so unless you are a male over 40 or a female over 35 (I think) you cannot swim. If you can do a mile in 40 minutes you will be ok. You will struggle for the first few races as the handicapper will put you back with faster swimmers until he has a chance to see your form so dont get dispirited. i would recommend tomorrows swim as a start as it is always fairly short with plenty of 1st time entrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,035 ✭✭✭mad m

Sanycove is on tomorrow from 12pm for men and 12:45 for women. What are these like? This one is 1k distance. Do you have to be with a club to swim?

All swimmers must be registered with Swim Ireland (through a club) or I think a member of a triathlon club. i am not sure if you will be allowed swim if you just turn up.

AFIK you need to be in a swim Ireland affiliated clubs - don't think tri clubs generally get affiliated with swim ireland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ItsDave

Hi. I'm trying to figure out where the pier is ( for Sunday's swim ). Is it the West Pier looking onto Monkstown Martello tower or the East Pier looking on to Sandycove, can anyone tell me?

Ta.

Its out the back of the west pier right beside salthill dart station. It faces across from the martello tower in seapoint. Best advice is to park in salthill dart carpark and walk over the bridge if you are driving..

Back to the OP query, is there anywhere that the results of these open water sea swims are posted to get an idea of times, like Triathlon results are posted on various websites.

Thanks a million Seaswimmer, just what I am looking for to guage if I can take part in them or not.

Am thinking about the swim in Windsurfers this Wednesday and also considering the Prom Swim in Galway next weekend (as I'm from there and would love to do it). It seems a bit long (and daunting!) from Grattan to Blackrock but it's only 1.9km so I should be well able for it, depends on the tides/current.

Would I be crazy to start with these two races. Have been in the sea a good bit already this summer.

Well the one in windsurfers is probably only 1.3-1.4k if even. I'd say start with wednesdays, it will give you a guage at whats to come.

Its totally different than swimming in pool. I've 2 down so far and really enjoying it.

Thinking of going to Salthill myself, all the lads I swim with say its a nice swim. Dont forget Mullingar also on Sunday...

Also make sure before race you know which way you are going around bouys. Last time I was at windsurfers pier it was anti-clockwise, still though one person went clockwise during race. Make sure you look up and sight bouy and once your around second one the lads at end of race hold up an orange banner to let you know where to swim into.

Mad M,

Great, I'm very excited about what you say about the Sea Swims. My plan was to try Windsurfers on Wednesday and then see how I feel about the Prom in Galway on Saturday.

Are you swimming with NAC by any chance?

No, I'm with Templeogue.....Yeah it gets the heart racing. See you there wednesday...Oh btw its €10 to enter race..

Are you on your own or will you know someone there?

Mad M,

Yes will probably know someone from the club there (even though do not go to the club very often).

I have worked out where Windsurfers Pier is too so I should have no problem finding it.

Really want to do Galway too as I'm from there and never did it when I was younger. So fingers crossed on that.

Thanks for all the info.

Tt

Mad M,

The race tonight starts at 6.45pm (men) and 7.30pm (women). As I will be in the women's race what time do you have to be there for registration?

I'll be aiming to be there 30 at least minutes before the men's start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

Fair play to you all, I'd love to swim in the sea, but not that good of a swimmer.
    How did ye do today?

Not bad, got in just to the left of finish and its a job in itself to get your name in to get your time and place. It was a lovely evening and perfect conditions. Roll on Salthill....

Hi Mad M, well I really enjoyed the experience. Had a lovely race but didn't even come near the middle, was right at the back (but not last!;)). I didn't care at all though as it's about finishing them for me! Got a handicap so maybe that will change over the next few. What an evening though and what a lovely atmosphere. Went to the BBQ afterwards and all. I'm definitely doing Galway this weekend as I'm hooked.

Fair play Tritrier, but you will get more competitive at trying to get up the list..hehe...

Mad M,

Would you think doing 29mins or so for the swim in Windsurfers the other night would mean I could finish the Galway one? Everyone was saying the Galway swim is lovely and I'm sure I can manage it - just appears long....:D

What did you go on the other evening?

Windsurfers seemed around 1500meters+ to me so an extra 400meters would be nothing. So I'm sure you will be ok. Salthill is along the coast so if you get in trouble swim for beach..

Hi Mad M,

Went in on 1 minute. Yes 400m should be no problem, you're right. Just need to have the confidence in myself!! I suppose the more of these races you do the better. Looking forward to it though.

Could of done better myself other day got in at 26 mins. One side of goggles filled up with sea water 5 mins into race,then after going aound last bouy, I started to head for first bouy because got mixed up with finish banner and the bouy...haha....Bloody goggles......:D

Anyway goodluck Sat....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 robshocks

Hey swimming the SC prom tomor does anyone know what time the mens race is at and if there is an entrance fee and where is the meetup. Cheers

robshocks wrote: »
    Hey swimming the SC prom tomor does anyone know what time the mens race is at and if there is an entrance fee and where is the meetup. Cheers

Click on link....Link goto page 10

Scroll down and its starts at 4pm...

Thanks Mad that's great 4:00pm kick off at the corner of Gratten Beach, looking out the window it's not too choppy hopefully the wind stays down

Congrats to everyone who took part in the Prom Swim my first one and great crack looking forward to more

Water was lovely at start, it was like the med, lovely and warm. Was choppy enough after the turn at rocks, hard to see bouys. But loved every min. Where did you end up Robshocks? Tritrier?

Mad M,
    Yes it was lovely but quite a bit choppier than I am used to. Mind you I don't mind the waves. Got a tough enough handicap (2.20) with a lot of better swimmers going off before me but apparently that happens as you said before, until the handicapper gets to know you. I believe conditions were tougher for the women's race than men's!! Came in at about 50mins. Delighted I finished. People were saying it was 2.2km - I'd believe it. Loved it though - am definitely hooked. Great race run by Corrib SC & good craic afterwards in the Salthill Hotel. Fair play Galway!

Hi, does anybody know why the results for the Prom Swim in Galway are not yet up on the Swim Leinster website - it's been a good few days since the race and I'd imagine they should be posted. Also, am keen to see how I did!!:D

Ah its just one of those things....Corrib Sc will have to forward on the results...You should of got your place when finishing. I'm wondering what time I finished at also....

Planning to do the race in Low Rock Portmarnock tomorrow night - it's the one that was cancelled on the 7th of June and rescheduled.

Anybody know how to get to Low Rock - follow the coast road??

Presumably its the same distance as all the others - approx 1.5km.