Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Tommi78

I’m basically setting this up to hear any relevant information back regarding the few hundred people like myself waiting to hear back from Templemore, Most recent news has got to me that as of June 1st any one on this waiting list will be scrapped and recruitment numbers will be back to zero,(meaning all will have to start at Publicjobs again) If there is any one like myself or has heard any truth in this then “tell it like it is” and share!
    Thanks guys!

Im in the same boat waiting but anything i have heard has siad we would be kept in the system as it would be a waste of money having to put us back through recruitment... My source a local garda, it could be right and it could be wrong, if you dont mind me asking where was ure source of information kev.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

I’m basically setting this up to hear any relevant information back regarding the few hundred people like myself waiting to hear back from Templemore, Most recent news has got to me that as of June 1st any one on this waiting list will be scrapped and recruitment numbers will be back to zero,(meaning all will have to start at Publicjobs again) If there is any one like myself or has heard any truth in this then “tell it like it is” and share!
    Thanks guys!

Rumours are going around like crazy, wouldn't believe anything till we hear from the horses mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Thanks guys!

Very sensationalist post in my opinion.
    Maybe there is an argument for setting up a Rumours Thread, but if you're not going to post where you heard this then it has no basis and is therefore not 'relevant information'.

If you are in the process then you should realise the panic that a rumour like this can cause.

By all means, set up a rumours thread, but labelling it "Garda Recruitment 2009/ 2010" makes it look pretty official for people who just pop in here every now and again.

It's also worth bearing in mind that probably 90% of rumours about recruitment are either inaccurate or totally false.

I would personally suggest you either rename the thread or show some foundation to back up what you post.
    I don't mean to be rude, but this type of thing can cause alot of panic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 anydaynow

Thought we are supposed to remain calm and level headed in a situation and keep those around up calm too. You won't make much of a garda going around trying to cause panic and spreading nonsense just cause your a pesemist. Delete this thread before you have people believing your nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

He won't be the only one before this year is out to have started one like this & I say let the OP have his thread providing he supports what he writes with a link to that info or provides proof to validate it. It's the same rule for everyone & not just a few! Pix/Link or it didn't happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

There is no need for a rumour thread. Ye will make it worse for yourselves folks. Get on with things(i.e. your life), you will be notified officially if anything changes.. not on an internet forum! I know it's not easy for ye guys and I hope ye are all put through.. mainly so they can start recruiting again!:pac:

Unfortunately, there is nothing any one of you can do.. it is out of your hands. Local Gardai know nothing of recruitment.. they speculate(all ranks btw;)). Nobody in Templemore knows either.. only the higher management and Commisioner of An Garda Síochána will know what's going to happen, and at the moment I'm not sure even they know what way things are going to go.

So get on with it and busy yourself with things that will take your mind off the waiting. If you really want it.. you'll hang in there. At least your not waiting for a Recruiment Campaign in 2011, you are in the process.. some of you are just waiting for the call to go to Templemore!! Be grateful for that.. and stick with it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

As from the first quote by kevburgundy, i think you need too relax a bit, sorry im not meaning too be rude...Dont get so worked up about it, you'll hear from the guards at some stage, just like the rest of us you gotta have patience and wait... chin up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

eroo wrote: »
    There is no need for a rumour thread. Ye will make it worse for yourselves folks. Get on with things(i.e. your life), you will be notified officially if anything changes.. not on an internet forum! I know it's not easy for ye guys and I hope ye are all put through.. mainly so they can start recruiting again!:pac:

Unfortunately, there is nothing any one of you can do.. it is out of your hands. Local Gardai know nothing of recruitment.. they speculate(all ranks btw;)). Nobody in Templemore knows either.. only the higher management and Commisioner of An Garda Síochána will know what's going to happen, and at the moment I'm not sure even they know what way things are going to go.

So get on with it and busy yourself with things that will take your mind off the waiting. If you really want it.. you'll hang in there. At least your not waiting for a Recruiment Campaign in 2011, you are in the process.. some of you are just waiting for the call to go to Templemore!! Be grateful for that.. and stick with it! :)[/quote

Fair play too you with your reply, dead on the mark !!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 0x0121

Lads, listen at least most of ye will get a crack of the whip, as regards me, its looking bad.I came back from england last year hoping to join, was 33 then, now im 34.I will be 35 next april so its looking bad for me.Just have to get on with life.Most of ye will get a go at it.At least thats something.