Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

planespotting in shannon and airport police

• 12-05-2009 9:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

I started shooting photos of plane a week ago in Shannon, and got thrown out of the 06 threshold by a fussy and probably zealous airport police officer. he said it is against the law to taking photos of airplane in Ireland, but I don't see any sign saying it on the fence.

I know there is quite a lot of spotters out here, can one of you tell me what to do, what to say, or whether I just have to ignore those warnings as the airport police is not an garda siochana and in consequence, they have no power outside the airport fence.

It's really frustrating, there's no harm, I'm just taking photos of plane, the officer told me the tower ATCs reported me and can see me, but I doubt it. I know a lot of ATCs, and aviation is also their passion, they obvioulsy know that spotters are aviation enthousiasts as well.

Kev'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Did you ask him what law you broke ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭ch252

saudek wrote: »
    I know a lot of ATCs, and aviation is also their passion, they obvioulsy know that spotters are aviation enthousiasts as well.

You'd be suprised! But tbh I'd say that officer was just on a power trip, when I was in the tower the controller pointed out to me the spotting area and never said anything about it being illegal. But on the same token, the airport police are well within their rights to remove you, even if you didn't break a law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

darragh-k wrote: »
    You'd be suprised! But tbh I'd say that officer was just on a power trip, when I was in the tower the controller pointed out to me the spotting area and never said anything about it being illegal. But on the same token, the airport police are well within their rights to remove you, even if you didn't break a law.

True it's not illegal to take any pics thats what the viewing area is for, you can snap away as much as you like but i dont think Airport Police have any powers outside the Airport, best to ask in the Emergency Services Forum as members of the Gardai over there will tell you in better and precise detail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 saudek

You'd be suprised!

Yeah I know some of them are doing a well paid job, not too hard, not too tiring, but let's pretend they're all into aviation :P (I would pay to be where they are lol)

Thanks lads for your answers.
    My point here is not to argue whether they are entitled to remove me from the airport (let's remember I said I was OUTISDE the fence so I think only a Garda can do something about it, for that matter).

I wanted to know if you, spotter, have had any problem like that. As far as I know, In france, for instance, in Paris Charles de Gaulle, the army systematically remove people taking photos except those who have an authorisation from the governenent.
    I've never heard of such a practice in Ireland, and I have'nt a clue about your laws on that point. That's why I ask here.

I'll go back tomorrow morning to shoot on dawn and see. I'll be more careful about what he tells me. Last time I left straight away, I was a bit taken by surprise. I was almost finished anyway, but it's still unpleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Airport Police are tasked with protecting the airport permiter - it's safe to assume they have the authority to remove people from just outside it also, in case it's NOT a spotter. I've even seen them parked up outside the fence at the threshold end of the 10 fence in Dublin.

I raised this on the ES forum a while back, although I think I was seen as the one answering rather than musing the above :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

hey guys to answer the question above you are entitle to spot and take photos from viewing area's but airport police have the authority to remove you from these area's if they have reason to believe that you may be a threat to the security of an aircraft. if however you are thru airport search area and taking photos airside it is illegal and if caught you can be fined and possibly have legal action taken against you. i'll dig up the policy and post it here for you in the next day or so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

andy_g wrote: »
    hey guys to answer the question above you are entitle to spot and take photos from viewing area's but airport police have the authority to remove you from these area's if they have reason to believe that you may be a threat to the security of an aircraft. if however you are thru airport search area and taking photos airside it is illegal and if caught you can be fined and possibly have legal action taken against you. i'll dig up the policy and post it here for you in the next day or so

How do you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I quite often see people being told to move from the end of 27R at heathrow. Obviously ireland will differ, but i think if you are in or around an Airport your civil liberties basically go out of the window in the name of security.

Lets face it, if you wanted to shoot down an airplane what better place is there to stand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

they have no power outside the airport fence.
    If an area outside of the fence is actually part of the property, you are in effect on their property. A safe bet is to stand on a public road. Incidentally they have very little power inside the fence either. They are simply security guards, like yourself I note, and have no authority other than that of an ordinary citizen. Just because they are called police doesn't make them police. They have no statutory powers. There is only one police force in Ireland. When I worked at Dublin airport my company had a break in at a landside premises. The Gardai were there and when airport police turned up they were abruptly thrown out and told to mind their own business.

In fact he was lying to you as you obviously realised. All he could actually do was call the Gardai. Who would have moved you on. To be fair this isn't an issue of aviation enthusiasts making. It's down to the usual gang of protestors who have in the past cut through the fence and damaged aircraft. They also have been known to hang out near spotters. These people of course 'know their rights' and try to maximise the hassle factor for the Gardai.

All you can do in that situation is to move on, while politely pointing out that the man is lying to you. But come back another day. There are several spotting places in Shannon. Even I've been there on occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Alpha Papa

If an area outside of the fence is actually part of the property, you are in effect on their property. A safe bet is to stand on a public road. Incidentally they have very little power inside the fence either. They are simply security guards, like yourself I note, and have no authority other than that of an ordinary citizen. Just because they are called police doesn't make them police. They have no statutory powers. There is only one police force in Ireland. When I worked at Dublin airport my company had a break in at a landside premises. The Gardai were there and when airport police turned up they were abruptly thrown out and told to mind their own business.

In fact he was lying to you as you obviously realised. All he could actually do was call the Gardai. Who would have moved you on. To be fair this isn't an issue of aviation enthusiasts making. It's down to the usual gang of protestors who have in the past cut through the fence and damaged aircraft. They also have been known to hang out near spotters. These people of course 'know their rights' and try to maximise the hassle factor for the Gardai.

All you can do in that situation is to move on, while politely pointing out that the man is lying to you. But come back another day. There are several spotting places in Shannon. Even I've been there on occasion.

Hi diverdriver

The APFS are authourised officer, there powers given to them and authourised by Minister of Transport and there powers come from section 33 of the ANG act 1980. They our responsible for for providing local law enforcement in the states three airports they work/train and co-operate with the AGS/Customs and DF and other state and foreign polce agencies reguarly. They will investigate crimes within airport but primary organisation for that in this state is obviously the AGS whom they co-operate with.

Im afraid the stero-type of Security Guards is in correct and an ill educated one. Just to state i am not an APO, but a person with an active interest in this area.

The Airport Police area of responsibilty are retricted to the aerodrome and its perimeter and to lands belonging to the Minister for Transport but they may persue suspects out of the airport if a crime has been committed which occurs reguraly in Dublin.

What you class as public roadway is most likely actually property of the Minister of Transport and maintained by the SAA and not the local authority so in fact is goverened by the the ABL's and thus does not mean you can stand not be moved on.

In my opinion if you our given a lawful direction by an APO to move on any law obiding citizen should follow it once the reasons have been explained which one should expect of any APO/Garda etc..

What you class as public roadway is most likely actually property of the Minister of Transport and maintained by the SAA and not the local authority so in fact is goverened by the the ABL's and thus does not mean you can stand not be moved on.
    Then in effect it's not a public road. As I said just because it's outside the perimeter fence doesn't mean you are off the property. That includes areas like entrance roads and car parks. If it's a public road or someone else's private property you cannot be asked to move on except by the Garda and it remains perfectly legal to take photos.

Specialised security guards they are, but security guards they remain. No disrespect to them.

I don't want to sound like a ranting agitator but we have certain rights in this country which should not be trampled on, simply by the word of a man in uniform. It's one thing to be law abiding it's quite another to be sheeplike while our rights are eroded however trivial the circumstances.

Yep, I'm not there to cause any problem, I don't want to argue either, so I just moved somewhere else.
    I did the same today, the airport police told me he would prefer I move to the actual viewing area (thr 24) as I was at the threshold 06, which is not arranged for that purpose. Yet there were a few other vehicles watching aircrafts...

This time the security officer didn't tell me I broke a law, he just said he doesn't like when people are parked where I was. (besides I was not parked just in front of the gate)

Fair enough Driver where each entitled to our opinions and in my opinion i dont see a problem with plane spotters operating safely outside the perimeter in the dedicated areas.

In about 99% of cases if would the spotters themselves that would ring the Gardai/Airport Police to inform of incursions or persons acting in a dangerous manner near an aerodrome. Lasers etc..

Some relationships are worth while and contribute positively to an airport and its community. I dont mean to sound negative towards yous aerosexuals.

Good disscussions anyways lads.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Specialised security guards they are, but security guards they remain. No disrespect to them.
    I have to back up this statement. The Airport Police are in my experience professional and courteous but they are still a specialised security force. If one of our flights need a pax detained after landing the captain will always ask for the Gardai to meet the flight reather than the Airport Police.

However as mentioned above the AP can ask you to move if they consider you a possible threat to the airfield/aircraft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Its not illegal. However I know the area you are on about at the 06 threshold and I have been moved away from there myself, the tower is right next to it so you can appriciate why/how you were seen

The rwy24 end is a better choice, unlikely to be moved on.

Indeed there are a few members of security who's...."power has gone to their head" which is unfortunate, but I'll say no more...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Lets face it, if you wanted to shoot down an airplane what better place is there to stand?
    Somewhere concealed from view and where you won't get falsely accused of being a photographer of plane spotter by any passing rent-a-cops maybe? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Tower Ranger

Its not illegal. However I know the area you are on about at the 06 threshold and I have been moved away from there myself, the tower is right next to it so you can appriciate why/how you were seen

The runway 06 Threshold is about 1100m from the Tower. If someone was at the area at the 06 Threshold, i would doubt if they would be seen - even from the elevated position of the tower. It is difficult to see a JCB at that position - even with a beacon on.

i think the place in question here is beside the SAA maintenace area close to the Tower, this is defo on SAA land (either side of the fence) and you would be both seen, and normally reported to the APFS by the Tower ATCOs
    With respect to the status of the APOs. Within the designated Airport Grounds they have the power of arrest/detention etc, just like the Gardai. Some of them used to take this a little too far by having a speed trap near the Park Inn - he's gone now.

The runway 06 Threshold is about 1100m from the Tower. If someone was at the area at the 06 Threshold, i would doubt if they would be seen - even from the elevated position of the tower. It is difficult to see a JCB at that position - even with a beacon on.

i think the place in question here is beside the SAA maintenace area close to the Tower, this is defo on SAA land (either side of the fence) and you would be both seen, and normally reported to the APFS by the Tower ATCOs
    With respect to the status of the APOs. Within the designated Airport Grounds they have the power of arrest/detention etc, just like the Gardai. Some of them used to take this a little too far by having a speed trap near the Park Inn - he's gone now.

They have the same powers as a Gardai under the Air and Navigation Act 1980 (I am not saying they have same powers as a Garda generally but in reference to the ANG act and ABL's they have the same powers something a security specialised or not would never have) They must deliver any arrested person to the AGS as soon practible though.

In Dublin airport the APS reguarly conduct speed checks on approaches roads to airport for example roads entering/leaving the airport from spike island ( not the prison ;)) where persons can cautioned for driving above the aerodromes speed limits and also fixed penalty notices can be issued. Airport Cautions can also be issued if person breaks the speed limit airside etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭McCrack

Quite simply you are incorrect. See this thread for the correct legal position concerning the powers of Airport Police:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055563267

The second post sets out the exact legal position as laid down in statute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

He said it is against the law to taking photos of airplane in Ireland, but I don't see any sign saying it on the fence.

Irrespective of the "Status" of the Airport Police this is the quote which caught my eye......:eek:

It appears to be a wild sweeping generalization and one I suspect without foundation.....??

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Irrespective of the "Status" of the Airport Police this is the quote which caught my eye......:eek:

It appears to be a wild sweeping generalization and one I suspect without foundation.....??

I'm not sure I got it. What do you mean? (don't forget I'm not French I might not understand every single expression... Sorry 'bout that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Saudek what AlekSmart was saying is the APO said it was against the law to take photos of aeroplanes , and this caught his eye. ( it caught mine too , I was biding my time waiting to see if anyone quoted the statute that says that )

Unless there is some law that is ignored 99.999999% of the time , ( I am no lawyer ) then this is total and utter BS. This to me brings the officer concerned into disrepute, if someone said that to me I would have laughed in their face
    ( I am open to correction ).

However saying that in some countries there are laws against such things , in a lot of countries taking photos of trains is also against the law.

I imagine from reading subsiquent postings that they were more upset where the OP was parked.

You also have to remember SNN has had problems with people trying to break aeroplanes and cause mayhem with axes etc.

My advice to the OP , if they don't like you stopping there , don't . Go where everyone goes , if you are taking photo's then I imagine you are there for a while it's not like ' pure spotting ' where you stop for a few secs to read a reg.

I was a spotter for 20 odd years ( before 9-11 ), we used to get all sorts of hassle, 99% of the time it was because you were stopped somewhere you shouldn't have been. I was pulled a few times driving around the peri track in LHR , usually at night , purely because I had gone into Cargo to check for biz , there was nothing they could do , but it was uncomfortable.

I also had a similar conversation with a ' MOD Plod ' outside a remote RAF base in North Norfolk ( where there was a visiting USAF Sq ) . We were the far side of the base from the gate , he started spouting how it was illegal to spot etc and he was going to arrest us. There was a 15ft chainlink fence between us and the nearest gate was about 3 miles away. I basically laughed at him and told him to cop on ( pardon the pun ) his partner started to look embarressed and they went away with their tails between their legs.

Fred , I think I know where you mean on 27R, people used to gather there esp in the old days when they were landing on the ' cross runway '. This is airport land and there used to be landing lights etc there hense the edginess.

thanks very much.
    That's what I did, I just moved on and came back the day afterwards.

Quite simply you are incorrect. See this thread for the correct legal position concerning the powers of Airport Police:

Am I? the legislation clearly states
    require any person on an aerodrome to
    That's 'on an aerodrome'. Not near an aerodrome or in the vicinity of an aerodrome. It's quite clear. I also made it clear that just because a place is outside the perimeter fence, doesn't mean it's not part of the property. So you can be moved on or searched or whatever as long as you are 'on an aerodrome' whether inside or outside the fence. But the airport security guard has no powers beyond the actual limits of the airport property. It's an important distinction.

On the point of taking photos, it is in fact illegal to take photos while on the airport property. But that's probably one of the most ignored rules in the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Killinator

Where exactly did this happen, was it the threshold of 06 on the Shannon Aerospace side of the field or the terminal/tower side of the field?

I always go to the threshold of 06 on the aerospcae side where the stone wall and small stone shed is, I was there last night and the airport police were doing a perimiter check and just passed by ignoring me, and this has happened plenty of times never with a problem,

and the gardai were driving along the road one time(the aerospace road) and pulled up next to my brother who was on a ditch taking overhead photos/footage of 24, as soon as they saw the camera they said "grand, your only taking photos"

threshold of 06 on the Shannon Aerospace side of the field

Precisely yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Killinator wrote: »

I always go to the threshold of 06 on the aerospcae side where the stone wall and small stone shed is, I was there last night and the airport police were doing a perimiter check and just passed by ignoring me, and this has happened plenty of times never with a problem,

"

This is the location I speak of just to clarify....it surely must be visible from the tower as you can see into the tower from there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

This is the location I speak of just to clarify....it surely must be visible from the tower as you can see into the tower from there....

I would of thought so anyway.

Am I? the legislation clearly states That's 'on an aerodrome'. Not near an aerodrome or in the vicinity of an aerodrome. It's quite clear. I also made it clear that just because a place is outside the perimeter fence, doesn't mean it's not part of the property. So you can be moved on or searched or whatever as long as you are 'on an aerodrome' whether inside or outside the fence. But the airport security guard has no powers beyond the actual limits of the airport property. It's an important distinction.

On the point of taking photos, it is in fact illegal to take photos while on the airport property. But that's probably one of the most ignored rules in the book.

Yes you are incorrect. You stated previously that Airport Police officers have very little powers on DAA property (whether inside the fence or just a little bit outside), you stated they have no statutory powers.

I referred you to a link that another poster has correctly laid out the legislative powers APO have. The legislation quoted is statutory and it is certainly more than a private security guard has in any capacity or indeed any person who is not a peace officer.

APO have search powers (persons and vehicles), power of arrest without warrant, and enjoy 'reasonable suspicion' powers as well as obstruction powers which a private security person (or any other private person for that matter) does not have. This again is contrary to you previous assertions that APO have the same powers as private security guards.

Regarding inside/outside the fence you mention, I wasnt referring to that when I quoted you but basically everything else you said after that.

:rolleyes:OK point of order, your honour or whatever. Yes they do have some statutory powers on airport property. I demur to your expertise and acknowledge my error. I realise now that what I said would never stand up in court. However their powers are limited and doesn't even come close to that of the Gardai, I can think of several instances where they exceeded their authority. The example I gave of when the investigating Garda threw them out of the building that was burgled, being one. Another was checking tax discs and insurance on vehicles airside.

What they don't have is any power to detain anyone off the property or the right to ask someone to move on other than is usual for any citizen.. They can suggest it, politely. Even the Garda need to justify their request to move someone on.

Off the airport they are just like the rest of us. On the airport property they have certain but limited powers. Which is my real point.

No bother, and you should call me Judge, Your Honour is an Americanism.

OK point of order, your honour or whatever. Yes they do have some statutory powers on airport property. I demur to your expertise and acknowledge my error. I realise now that what I said would never stand up in court. However their powers are limited and doesn't even come close to that of the Gardai, I can think of several instances where they exceeded their authority. The example I gave of when the investigating Garda threw them out of the building that was burgled, being one. Another was checking tax discs and insurance on vehicles airside.

What they don't have is any power to detain anyone off the property or the right to ask someone to move on other than is usual for any citizen.. They can suggest it, politely. Even the Garda need to justify their request to move someone on.

Off the airport they are just like the rest of us. On the airport property they have certain but limited powers. Which is my real point.

Hi their..

Just to respond to some of issues you raised in your previous post. I will simply start off by saying the Airport Police are a aviation police service and provide local law enforcement service within a set area (being the three state aerodrome and on all the Minister Of Transports lands) The Airport Police was established in 1932 and members became authorised officers for the minister for transport in 1950 (section 15 of the 1950 air navigation and transport act)

APOs have the same powers as a Gardai under the Air and Navigation act (ANG act), Airport Bye Laws (ABLs) and the state airport act 2004 etc.. they also outside of the area of responsibility (aerodrome lands) like any citizen of Ireland can arrest persons for arrestable offences which they have reasonable suspicion under section 4 of Criminal Law Act 1997.

You are correct they are not Gardai and do not pretend to be, so with that you must realise the specific job do. They provide the state airports with its own specilised policing service which is similiar to community policing in many ways.

The APS enforce the ABLs and there daily operations can consist of roads policing duties, dealing with theft, assault, missing persons, evacuations, anti terrorist operations, mental health issues(persons), stray animals, medical emergencys, public order offences, security alerts on flights, aircraft in distress, close protection, vehicle escorts, public office duties (dealing with fines relating to FPN issued, prisoners detained,lost property, general queries), command & control centre duties, assisting state agencies, plain clothes work... the list goes on but it all makes for a busy job in probably one the busiest location in the state. Its alot to fit in on a 12 hour shift!

Complexe investigations are carried out by the national police service An Garda Siochaina and assistance is provided by the APS, The Airport Police is more akin/similar to the British Transport Police in the UK.

In regards to the APS acting outside of its powers that you mentioned. Companys/Person working within an a state aerodrome are required to have sufficent insureance indemnitfying themselves and the DAA and all its assets. This is stated in the
    S.I 425/1994 Airport Byelaws.

"Obligation on contractors to be insured.

14. Any person (not being an officer or an employee of Aer Rianta or any Minister of the Government) shall not carry out any contract of work or service at an airport unless there is in force a policy of insurance under which that person is insured against any sum which he or his personal representative may become liable to pay by way of compensation, damages or costs in respect of injury, loss or damage to any person caused or arising out of the contract of work or service at an airport."

So the APO's you seen checking vehicles airside where well within there powers to do so. As far as i am aware vehicles operating airside are on private property and do not need motor tax so doubht they were checking that. They may also have been checking that vehicle also had a valid airside permit and that they where in a roadworthy condition subject to the condition laid down in the ABL's.

Hope you find the above to answer your queries.

AP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

so was he on airport property or not?

30ii97m.jpg

Yes he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭kravmaga

saudek wrote: »

I started shooting photos of plane a week ago in Shannon, and got thrown out of the 06 threshold by a fussy and probably zealous airport police officer. he said it is against the law to taking photos of airplane in Ireland, but I don't see any sign saying it on the fence.

I know there is quite a lot of spotters out here, can one of you tell me what to do, what to say, or whether I just have to ignore those warnings as the airport police is not an garda siochana and in consequence, they have no power outside the airport fence.

It's really frustrating, there's no harm, I'm just taking photos of plane, the officer told me the tower ATCs reported me and can see me, but I doubt it. I know a lot of ATCs, and aviation is also their passion, they obvioulsy know that spotters are aviation enthousiasts as well.

Kev'

check out Section 33. of The Air Navigation and Transport Act and the Shannon Airport Byelaws.

Airport Police have jurisdiction within the aerodrome area and that includes the perimeter fence dude.

If you were blocking a fence gate emergency exit to airfield or if your vehicle was parked in a dangerous position Airport have the right to ask you to move on.

The Airport Police do have very strong powers of arrest but they hand over to Garda Siochanna for charging before the courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 ronanos

Just looking at shannon airport arrivals now and I see a scandinavian flight arriving 5pm today from Gardermoen but as Scandinavian don't fly here how is this possible? Why is it listed? Is it carrying people whats the purpose of this flight?

Oslo (Gardermoen) Scandinavian Airlines SK9125 19/01 17:33

Thanks,
    Ronan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

These are usually 737s for repainting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭A320

ronanos wrote: »

Just looking at shannon airport arrivals now and I see a scandinavian flight arriving 5pm today from Gardermoen but as Scandinavian don't fly here how is this possible? Why is it listed? Is it carrying people whats the purpose of this flight?

Oslo (Gardermoen) Scandinavian Airlines SK9125 19/01 17:33

Thanks,
    Ronan

That aircraft was going to Shannon Aerospace for a C check, LN-RCZ,I'm suprised that showed up on arrivals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭television

i agree,once you are OUTSIDE the airport perimeter there is NOTHING the airport police can do as they are not gardai and even when on airport property they CANT even arrest you...they can detain you but NOT arrest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,648 ✭✭✭✭Victor

television wrote: »
    i agree,once you are OUTSIDE the airport perimeter there is NOTHING the airport police can do8
    Be careful - the boundary of their activities (airport land) may extend well beyond the airfield perimeter fence.

Victor wrote: »
    Be careful - the boundary of their activities (airport land) may extend well beyond the airfield perimeter fence.
    true,what i meant was off airport property / land:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭An Cigire

I think you're mistaken about the powers of the Airport Police. Gardai have the same powers as the APFS under various elements of the Air Navigation & Transport Acts on all airport owned lands & roads.

This includes their own statutory powers of arrest for numerous offences.

airport police cant arrest .they dont have that power.as i say they can detain you.i work in dublin airport and and know the ap lads and even they have said it themselves.also if its a case that they have the same powers why is it every time you hear of some one been done for drugs in dublin airport its the gardai from santry that arrest them and take them away,not the airport police who would do it themselves if they had the same powers.as others have said here the are only security guards

I'm afraid that's nonsense. Here's the powers of arrest for both the Airport Police & Gardai in relation to Airports.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1988/en/act/pub/0015/sec0033.html

A quick google search revealed the above. I understand the AP are not a investigative body that's the Gardai or Revenue Customs.

not been funny but i dont think so.you ask an airport police officer and he will tell you no....as a security officer myself in dublin airport who has worked along side them i know from personal exp that they cant despite what that document says

television wrote: »
    not been funny but i dont think so.you ask an airport police officer and he will tell you no....as a security officer myself in dublin airport who has worked along side them i know from personal exp that they cant despite what that document says

If MasterCard made boards comment then this ones is Priceless..