Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TOI - Report

• 12-05-2009 4:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭

Apologies for the length. I'm tired and need a rest....

It all started horribly for us from Dublin. The bike loading was interesting stacking the bikes on a floor of luggage within in container and then the truck taking 2.5 hours longer to arrive than the bus we were on. This meant that we didn't make it to the hotel till about 9:30pm just in time to sleep before the 6am start.

Sorting the coals and the diamonds --- Lisburn to Derry - 168km - 28.5km/h - Avg HR 146

We hadn't really worked out our groups as this stge and it really is vital to find the correct group. It all started out well with a few rolling hills. Lunch, as it was to be all week, seemed to be the daily turning point. Not more than 15km after lunch the whole group was together when a white sheep attacked a guy wearing a black sheep gilet. Well he went down like a sack of spuds and looked like he had broken his arm. He was in the middle of the group there was a split immediately and then the group splintered into about 10 different groups on the road with riders everywhere. I was somewhere just in front of the crash paused to look and then did what was best... stayed away as I couldn't help anymore than the professionals there. I was stranded in no mans land for essentially the rest of the day. At one stage I saw a group of about 15 riders approaching and being that it was raining and there was a cold headwind I thought I would join the group. They had a good thing going but every minute or so I would hear what I though was a carbon rim squealing I thought nothing off it. Being that the group was a little slow I went to the front and did a pull to fast and rode off the front. At this stage I saw blorg (Ivan) and decided to ride with him. he had punctured so we rode away together until he crashed into a parked cyclist --- That was extremely funny to see. Another boards rider, smithslist I think it was, had punctured on the side of the road and someone was asking him if he was fine but has sowed up in the middle of the road. Ivan turned to see if he was alright and road into the man in front of him. I laughed saw everything was all rights and rode off... yes I though he was stronger than me and you catch up. Then the hills started, I kept going at it but it was tough alone in the wind and occasional rain I wasn't really enjoying it at all. After several small hills and many more false tops, I finally felt a decent and saw a sign for 20km to go.. Happy days. About 15km out I rode up to someone riding with one leg. It turns out he had a really bad cramp so I rode in with him partly for the company and because he looked like he was in a bad way. Now if you thought Lance Armstrongs fake bonk was god this guys performance was excellent.... 100 metres from the end he jumped up, called a sprint and sprinted off to the finish line... Apparently the cramp had gone. Honestly I felt shattered after day one the wind and rain were tough.... But I wasn't about to quit just yet.

Holy Roads ---- Derry to Sligo - 170.4km - 24.8km/h - Avg HR 138

Now me being me I though I would choose to ride with the second group today since I sat in front of group 3 the day before. This turned out to be a good move since most of the people I was with were at a similar level, although I think they all had more experience. It started out gradually because they like to keep the groups together out of the cities for the PSNI or GARDA. In the morning everyone was looking fairly tired and generally the weather wasn't lifting the spirits. Cold string winds, rain and occasional hail meant that the groups stayed together. Group 2 was a good pace but I was getting left behind on some of the bigger hills and chasing them back on the decents. There's certain times when being in a group is bad and one of them are long fast decents. At the lunch stop we were all really glad for some time in the warmth. We had criss-crossed the sperrin hills (in Ireland I am sure they are referred to as mountains) and there was alot of standing water so everyone else was pretty cold but I had my new goretex which in all honesty is absolutely brilliant. The hills stopped after lunch and we just kept a fairly steady pace to the need feed nothing really eventful except the continual shouting of 'HOLE'. At lunch we got a briefing from the Garda as we were entering the South. The Gards did an excellent job helping the motorbikes teams we had to stop traffic when we were crossing major intersections. I thanked one of them and quipped, that I was glad my taxes were used well. After lunch it all went mental. While I was happy in group 2 we joined up with group 1 started to ride with them since we were just cruising. Well let me tell you the difference between group 1 and 2 is small in the flats but huge on the hills... group 1 just fly up the hills at the same pace they go on the flats. Essentially at about 135km we entered a big hill and I was dropped oof the back. II kept thinking about the day after, 245km, so I decided to take it easy and just ride at my own pace. Needless to say I went a little to slow. At the top of said climb group 1 and 2 split and group 2 regrouped. As I was keeping it easy I didn't make it to the group before they left and was own my own almost till the very end..... TBH, at time I preferred that though. The wind and cold was awful for most of this stage.

Breaking the Back - Sligo to Galway - 233km - 27.3km/h - AVG HR 129

245km are you serious... Honestly I though was going to be a hard boring day in the saddle but to be honest this was actually my most enjoyable day of the trip. We all kept together really nicely as a group, unless someone punctured, and we rolled along the rolling hills nicely. There were no big hills today just a few short shard descents. The one pain in the butt was the headwind we had all day. For those of you who know the area you'll know that a lot of it is exposed and we had a mad cross wind for much of the day. However we also had some awesome scenery though and around Connemara. It really lifted our spirits as a group and as the pace was relaxed, a deliberate attempt on the organisers part to help us though the tour, and that the weather had started to turn. After connemara we had a food stop at a place called Maams Cross--- don't worry it you have never heard of it you aren't missing anything. From there on in, I guess about 60km, the pace started heating up until we turned with about 30km into Galway ---- then the pace went mad. I'd say for the last 30km we averaved about 35km/h with a slight tailwind and a slight downhill. The guys at the front of the group were hammering it and it was fun. We flew into the city and the lads lined up for a group sprint... I'm not sure how it went as I sat up and enjoyed the views of the bay with about 2km to go... I knew I wasn't going to win a sprint I am still cautious about Blorgs riding. What we all though was going to be a long slow day ended up really excellent.... Everyone was buzzing.

Loving the Summer Sun -- Galway to Kilkenny - 207km - 27.8km/h - AVG HR 125

Did you notice that my HR was coming down everyday. Yes apparently it was getting easier but because of the pace the day before we all were in high spirits for the ride to Kilkenny until... 40kms. We had had a quiet start to the day all rolling along nicely when it was time to breaks up the groups. Now one thing about groups and people it that people always want to be above there group - that is the "I think I am better than I am" syndrome. This definitely applied to me. So to break up the groups a front bunch from group 2 started to fly up the hills, no problem there until about hill 4. They kept flying up them.... every decent I kept catching up and chasing them..... so it went for about 50 minutes but faster and faster every time. I kept thinking, what's wrong am I the only one here who is tired, i should have trained harder. Eventually we got a break and things eased up. Now able to talk for the first time for an hour I said to my fellow rider guy, "crickey, that was tough I nearly died. I'm pretty sure that the hardest most sustained ride I have ever done". He said it was stupidly fast as well. Everyone one else I spoke to that day said it was hard but awesome... I love that we all remember the tough times as the most fun. Anyway still being stuffed form the morning effort about 10kms before lunch I was dropped on a pimple of a hill..... so rode into lunch alone wounded but proud. In the afternoon the pace settled as did the terrain and eventually we had a pretty flat run into Kilkenny. The group started to get itchy at about 15km in with the local kilkenny guys trying to by a sprint victory, or break away victory. Needless to say that didn't work out but away they went got 10 metres in front and then fell back into line. Then one aussie guy made a dash for it... They let him go till about 5km out and then attacked. the pace kept getting faster and faster until I again sat up with about 2km to go having been warned that the kilkenny roads were narrow and dangerous. Well at the front an excellent sprint lit up and the guys were bubbling over when I crossed about a minute later. now this I can't understand.... We had almost ridden 800km at this stage and everyone was absolutely bussing. Straight for coffee after the days action and then to dinner and the bar. Although it was the last night no one really looked tired. It was T-24 so the beers started flowing.

Riding Home - Kilkenny to Dublin (ended near Blessington) - 169km - c. 21km - 128 HR AVG

The night before the ride I was commenting how it was great having had no punctures. People warned me that I was indeed tempting a fate that could break me. Some people had had a puncture a day but not me and I was proud of it... So the day tipped along nicely again the hills broke the groups but and by this stage a group 4 had started to appear so there were officially groups 1,2,3,4. Being smart I decided group 3 was a good pace considering all the climbs I had left to go... Slieve Mann, Shay Elliot, Wicklow Gap, around Blessington not to mention getting from Kilkenny to Carlow which involved 6 peaks but three big-ish ones. Its actually funny cause s we started ascending number 4 of these peaks I lost all power. There was nothing really left but a few people were around me... then as we descended I started to feel weird. My freewheel was sticking essentially meaning I had a fixed-geared bike i.e. when I stopped peddling the chain fell off. This essentially spelled disaster for me and from about 30km to 70km I was on my lonesome. Now if you could pick the worst possible time to be on your own it would be almost pan flat roads directly into a headwind and so it was. 30km as a slow pace and I knew I was losing ground all the time but in the back of my mind I knew the though climbs were to come. Thankfully with 10km to go I saw an Aussie girl as we talked which passed the time but also upped both our paces into the lunch stop. GRoup 3 was still there and I manged to get a new wheel from the van so I could descend again. I shoved down a few sambos and headed out again with group 3. My legs at this stage were still gone and I keep thinking about the climbs to come. I held onto the group until the climb just before the start of Slieve Mann but decided to let them go. I took some pics and tried to twitter but could as coveraged sucked. I started up the climbs happy that I knew where I was. I had spent the last 25km having no idea how far to go as my speed sensor was attached to the wheel I swapped out but happy days I climbed, descended, climbed, descended, climbed again and finally I was at the top of Wicklow Gap and feeling awesome. I did have one very horrible moment when I went pass the service van and saw the guys, out of the race from injuries, eating ice cream. Nice for some I thought. So I had caught group 3 again and descedned with them to the lake, around the lakes and to the finish. During the vovage around the lake I realised that my memory is very vague about hills sometimes cause the road around the lakes has a few nasty hills but al was well. When we got to the end there were no sprints just a group of happy lads.

I think I learnt alot more about what a cyclist is this week. There was such a varied group of riders. The group 1 guys are far and away an awesome fast group of riders... smithlist was part of that group most of the week and they just raced every stage. The difference between different riders is amazing... it seems to be that ascending hills, even small ones, is a massive part of racing. The difference between the groups generally is in the ascending of hills and this is your power to weight ratio.

All in all, as I mentioned on the other thread, I'm surprised that I made it felling as good as I did. Now to see how I recover.

More power less weight -- I know I need to work on that for next year :).

Now to set this years next goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Nice report, Scott :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭warrfla

Nice Report
    you've sown the seeds for me to atempt this next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭tomc

I'm tired just reading that......fair play to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

warrfla wrote: »
    Nice Report
    you've sown the seeds for me to atempt this next year

12 months ago I wasn't cycling at all so the fact that your reading this forum you have a good start as your already cycling.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Crashing into a sheep has to be one of the most embarrassing accidents you can have. And the guy broke his arm and all?

el tonto wrote: »
    Crashing into a sheep has to be one of the most embarrassing accidents you can have. And the guy broke his arm and all?

Ah yes, sorry I forgot to finish that story. So the guy hits the sheep, breaks his arm not sure which bone maybe collarbone BUT gets up and finishes the stage than goes to the hospital.... He wasn't able to finish the tour which sucks.

TBH, it was horrible to see so many crashes except blorgs that was funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Nice report Scott, I'm not looking forward to the next time I am out on the road trying to keep up with you :)

Well done to all the lads, that is one monumental achievement.

Some good twittering also, beats Lance any day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

Well rather than start another TOI report thread I thought I'd just add in a few of my experiences of the tour - just to add another dimension to Scotts report, so here goes:

To my eyes, about 2/3rds of the 130 or so riders looked like real pros - you know the type, skinny, guant, with shaved, veiny legs and a carefree look on their faces as if they were about to cycle to the shops to get a pint of milk, not a hilly 170km! So on the 1st morning I was wondering if it was really a charity cycle or a Rás in disguise - by the end I was certain it was closer to the latter. Still can't understand why a non-competitive cyclist would shave their legs, so I was a bit perplexed to see so many on what was effectively a charity cycle - answers on a postcard!

It was quite awkward being the odd-one-out, all 15 stone of me, but as the days progressed I noticed more and more "big-boned" chaps and felt less out of place, even better was passing a lot of skinny chaps on a number of climbs and watching them hurt as you tore into a headwind - so came my 1st realisation of the tour - there's a place for everyone in cycling as long as you're willing to hurt, a lot, and big fellas can more than hold their own if they ride smart and dig in.

Day one was 172km for me, 6 hours, av 28.6kph, very lumpy with the big climbs towards the end. To my horror they didnt bother with groups the 1st morning, and as the egos and the shaved legs kicked into full swing, we tore along at around 35kph for the 1st 50 miles, this wasn't what I signed up for, but I got stuck in and even chatted to a good few of the other riders, seemed there were loadsa english, scots and welsh, and seemed a nice friendly bunch of people.

After lunch the roads were pretty brutal, steep ascents and descents, strong head and sidewinds and erratic rain showers, I decided, not by much choice, that the pace was just plain silly for the 1st day of a 5-day event, and started to pace myself, particularly up some of the tougher climbs, its amazing how deep you can dig on a big hill and then just shake it off over the top, ready to tear it up!

With about 65 miles gone on the 1st day I caught a group led by one of the designated leaders, and whistle in mouth, he whipped the group of 8 into a very slick working group, each person taking their turn we flew along, and picked up some stragglers - at some point we noticed what now seems to be blorg and scott yoyo-ing just off the front of our group, and whenever we did catch them they didnt seem to want to cooperate, riding at the wrong pace, and just awkward in the group, this happened on day 3 too and left a lot of shaking heads in the group, which to our eyes just seemed ridiculous and became the talking point of our group for the rest of the tour - that is, why on earth would you sit out on your own, hammering into the wind, 100m in front of a big group for 10, 20, 30 miles?? We couldnt believe our eyes when blorg then rammed himself into a perfectly visible cyclist, to be honest, and I'm sorry to say it or offend anyone, but that 1st day left me with a bad impression of a few boards riders and I know for a fact that a lot of the other riders were very unimpressed too. I really don't mean to offend - but it really was a strange thing to see, perhaps its simply a lack of experience of group riding and etiquette?

In general for the whole tour there seemed to be far too many egos at work with too many riders far too proud to admit that the 3rd group suited them better than the 2nd, which seemed all the more ridiculous on the 3rd day when we actually caught the super-dooper 2nd group and they wanted to merge the groups!!

A lot of us were wondering why such hard elite cyclists got their jollies from "winning" a charity cycle, and as everyone awed at Jamie Burrows the superhero of sportives, we carried on truckin and having a laugh at the "back of the race", where it was very sociable and we helped each other out, taking extra turns where necessary, the route was challenge enough, and we ticked along at around 30kph, picking up more and more cyclists and by day 3 we'd a very slick working machine, great stuff!! If anyones interested in doing the tour next year I highly recommend this group, very sociable, gives it a good lash, and then supports you when you're struggling.

Scott was right with the acclimatization you feel for the few days, my average heart rate constantly fell each day as you feel less stressed by the effort, that was pretty cool, and altho your legs are just screaming all day you begin to feel almost invincible as you tick climb after climb off, it was great stuff, great routes, very tough, too tough, but very rewarding! I think the event is a bit too extreme and doesnt strike the correct balance between profiles and distances, but I guess I'm just too soft and was looking for an enjoyable challenge rather than a gentlemen's Rás!

Day 2 was more of the same, 172km, 7hours, av 24.5kph, some very tough climbs and simply ridiculous headwinds but we managed well, pacing well up the climbs and regrouping over the top, lotta rain and hailstones that day and that good old fashioned feeling of burying yourself into a headwind and only going 10mph!

Day 3 was the big one, 240km in 8hr 40mins, av 27.8kph. The roads were lethal on this one, grass in the centre of the lane at times, very hilly, I had the ominous shame of a mechanical problem 1km after the start, mick lawless was fantastic in the broom wagon and paced us back to the 3rd group in about 5 miles or so, still fresh and ready to go! Some big climbs surprised us on what was supposed to be the flat day!! But our group did well, everyone pacing, we had most of the 2nd group reeled in by half way at maams cross, but then our luck ran out - my mate had a puncture and pulled up, no support vehicles in sight, they were apparently all supporting a small group of lazy gits who'd taken the main, short route to Galway - didn't seem fair!?! We'd a messy change that took 15 mins so we paced ourselves for the last 40 miles to Galway, fantastic tailwind along Galway Bay - hammered it along at 48kph and were fierce proud crossing the finish line! Interesting sidenote was that I burnt over 24,000 calories over the 1st 4 days, constantly hungry!

Day 4 was my last on the tour, I was in a state for the first 60 miles, and spent mile after mile deciding where I would get into the broom wagon! It was brutally hilly and on some of the worst country lanes I've ever seen, cow sh1t and potholes all over the place, I was really struggling on and off the back, and by the feed stop I was looking for the broom wagon - no sign of it! But I stretched and refreshed as best I could and as we headed up a climb with the ominous name of "Leinster of the gravemen" near Nenagh, I actually started to feel good, and was climbing comfortably, the roads at this stage were pathetic, extremely bad, climbs were very steep, descents were lethal, but after clearing two sharp descents and one wild horse that bolted in front of us I crested what turned out to be the last major climb finally feeling like I was gonna finish it...

10 seconds later, all hell broke loose, I was descending a rough stretch of road at about 55kph, working my way through the group, when the bike went from under me, I went to the side and to the front of my bike - thumped down onto the ground, smacked my head, then skidded along the road, smacked my head again, and came to a stop, dazed and confused, at first I thought I was dreaming or something, but then the pain kicked in. My bike was about 20 feet further down the hill, I immediately saw that my saddle and half my carbon seatpost was back up the hill, which was odd...

One of the cyclists in our group happened to be a doctor and he was great, as were many of the other guys, they calmed me down and checked me over, needless to say I was in a bit of a mess, torn clothing with patches of blood seaping through, my modesty was barely protected aswell! My hands were fcuked, so I got a garda escort to Nenagh Hospital and 2 days later the result is a whole load of road rash on most of my body, some chipped teeth and a broken thumb and badly cut fingers, but I actually just feel lucky - my helmet is destroyed, and I'm 100% convinced it saved my life coz I even have a bump where my helmet hit my head! 1st crash in 12 years, and it was a biggy! Very angry about the seatpost failing, won't be getting another, but its left me quite wary of all things carbon as my entire bike is made up of the stuff! Front Zipp seems to be fcuked too. Some exit!!

Anyway all-in-all it was a crazy few days, I was very disappointed with the organisers as there was no ambulance following any of the riders or even a designated doctor, which amazed me in an event like this. There was one ambulance on the 1st day alright but not for the rest of it, then to add insult to injury, the support crew that dropped me and my friend to the hospital came up to me as I was dripping blood and said they'd see us in Kilkenny later, and that we should just get a taxi....I was disgusted, two of us with no phone or wallet only our cycling gear, left to our own devices. My mate also told me that when I crashed the front of the group heard the shouts and stopped about 100m after the crash and that the leader couldn't be arsed coming back to check out what happened or help out, this was particularly cutting as I'd chatted to him a fair bit over the previous 4 days, so he knew me, yet didn't give a sh1t even in his capacity as the designated leader.

So needless to say I have mixed feelings about the TOI, the crash experience looms largest, and would keep me from ever going near it again. Even the smallest sportives I've done have had medical back-up.

The profile and distances are probably reasonable but very extreme, but the pace at which they allowed the event to progress was just insane, they seem to want to organise a race not a charity cycle, so they need to clarify what exactly it is, there's nothing that enjoyable about the event itself as it evokes a racing atmosphere, heads down and no time to enjoy the scenery, I know this disappointed a good few cyclists, and I just think if cyclists want to race then they should go and do so, not some kinda halfway house between a sociable charity spin and a full on 5-day race.

The most enjoyable thing was the feeling of accomplishment against your own goals, to climb mountains I never thought I could and to complete distances I never thought possible, and to meet some very nice cyclists, coming from a background of racing, I thought many of the cyclists missed the point of the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Sorry to hear about your fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Yeah sounds really nasty. What make was the seatpost if you don't mind me asking? Had you had any spills or knocks on it before?

- at some point we noticed what now seems to be blorg and scott yoyo-ing just off the front of our group, and whenever we did catch them they didnt seem to want to cooperate

My bad there. I totally know I rode of the front of that group and it wasn't until that night that I realised what I had done. I was sitting within that group and didn't know the whistle thing was happening as before the groups formed, at the black sheep accident we were all one group. Needless to say I was, and still am, ashamed after getting the explanation from some dinner mates and my room mate. I was only in the group a few minutes before I yoyo-ed off.

I'm really sorry to hear of your crash and I hope you;ll be okay. You should definitely try to find out why your bike broke, perhaps the manufacturer can help, especially on that decent which was actually the nicest road were we on for most of that day.

My bad there. I totally know I rode of the front of that group and it wasn't until that night that I realised what I had done. I was sitting within that group and didn't know the whistle thing was happening as before the groups formed, at the black sheep accident we were all one group. Needless to say I was, and still am, ashamed after getting the explanation from some dinner mates and my room mate. I was only in the group a few minutes before I yoyo-ed off.

I'm really sorry to hear of your crash and I hope you;ll be okay. You should definitely try to find out why your bike broke, perhaps the manufacturer can help, especially on that decent which was actually the nicest road were we on for most of that day.

Fair play Scott, if anything I just couldn't understand how you were strong enough to ride off like that!

Whistle thing was new to a lotta guys, surprisingly effective tho!

Thanks for your comments - sweet painkillers are easing the pain no end

The seatpost is Most, think they're made by Pinarello, obviously I hadn't seen any cracks or anything but I guess if ever there was a time for your equipment to fail it was gonna be after 600 odd km of sh1tty roads!!

I'll throw up a few pics of the damage done as a warning too all!

In fairness, the rest of the bike held up impressively well considering the impact it had - only a few scraps on the bars, still, what a piece of sh1t saddle!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Excellent thread!

Tackleberry, that sounds like a terrible fall - it should be a message for those who don't bother with helmets (much more common than you think - I see many people do it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I had heard of your crash Tackleberry, sorry to hear it was you, sounded like a really nasty one. Glad to hear you are generally OK and posting on the internets.

To be honest I think there was something in the ride for everyone, and I sampled most of the variety. The riding the third group did was very good and certainly very efficient but it was not the only thing the event offered. To be honest for me much of the "challenge" came from the pace rather than the distance; over 30km/h average on the third 235km day, I have done 235km before but not at that sort of speed!

I was in all three groups over the five days although spent most of my time in group 2. The first day I had been straining to stay with group 1 and then trying to organise a chase with some guys who fell off the back when it hit the hills. I can assure you I am all about cooperation, after I was dropped I caught up with a guy David (who I ended up sharing with) and we worked together to get up to another two guys, and then another pair, etc. Eventually we had a group of around 10-12 together and there were a few of us in it who tried to get something productive going (I apologise if I was a bit group Nazi about it.) It was a bit of a mess as there were a fair few not so used to the idea and we couldn't get a constant rotation going, there were people who were "too tired" to do a pull at the front but then miraculously minutes later were able to attempt a breakaway :rolleyes: It was also pretty hilly along with the wind which as another lurker boardsie pointed out at the feedstop did make it more difficult.

After the second food stop I was also thinking "this is crazy, there are 5 days of this" and as we set off was just in two minds as to whether I wanted to stay with the group heading out from that stop and dropped off the back of it; I didn't quite have the energy or motivation to catch them and was a bit tired of all the hijinks but in fairness you guys behind were not exactly catching me either, ye were a few hundred metres down the road... Scott rode off the front of ye as he saw me and was feeling the pace was a bit slow I think.

Anyway the crash was stupid I grant you, smithslist had punctured and as I know him I was enquiring as to whether he needed anything as I passed (we had helped each other with punctures before in the Cycleways cup.) I didn't realise that the guy I was riding with (actually make that drafting behind) had slowed, in fact, he had stopped, to do the same and took my eye off him for a moment. Note there were only two of us on the road at this point, I would have not been looking behind me like that in a group... I know you guys got a good view of it but I was not exactly anywhere near you and despite cracking myself off the tarmac had time and made sure that I got myself up out of your way as a priority before you came past. Both bikes were OK after I disentangled my bars from his rear wheel. Caught and rode back with another guy who had been finding it tough and we supplied mutual moral support. I have never been so happy to see a sign reading "Londonderry." :)

I too was unsure of how the whole thing was going to go (I had a bar bag the first day FFS) but in fairness you could ride the thing as hard or as easy as you liked. I enjoyed my time in group 3 but I also enjoyed my time in group 2 where there was certainly more variety, painful though it was at times- Joe Barr shook it up on a regular basis and it was a challenge to stay on, but then would calm down a bit. I'd say I enjoyed my time in group 1 but that would be lying, that was just painful for the most part :)

The group 2 sprint into Kilkenny was mad and a miracle noone crashed given that many of the group were not familiar with group riding never mind racing before this event, I was in two minds myself whether to throw myself into that but ended up going for it. Did too much chasing down of breakaways- I chased down the Kilkenny lads to suggest they were going too early (15km out!) if they really wanted a chance, and then was on the wheel of that Australian guy when he went but frankly he was too strong for me to work with him and the bunch caught us. Ended up at the back of the pack coming into the end but having a clear final corner managed to maintain momentum and sprint up the final straight to around sixth that day- there was a white van with its nose sticking out at the side that I remember being in two minds as to whether I would get around before the rider beside me- I decided I would and thankfully did but it was close.

On the third day I started in group 1, front punctured, fixed it although broke pump in process and needed assistance, caught on to group 2 as they passed... After lunch back punctured and my pump wasn't working- got a tube from David and then as the threes went past yelled for a pump- just throw it at the side of the road. Someone did but it went into the hedge and I couldn't find it, I now thought I was out the back entirely and completely fecked. (Talked to guy who threw me the pump later and thanked him, he was very good about it.) I was very thankful to see the service van come around and pump me up with the track pump and gave me a lift up to the threes.

So this was my first time with the threes, that group of shame that no true self-respecting ego would be seen in. Well if you saw me that day with them, you would know I was happily doing my turn in the pace line and thought it was very well organised indeed by Alastair. I only rode off the front on the hills where it broke up anyway and I gathered this was acceptable. I think the 3s were going faster than the 2s (my average did not seem to drop) and certainly with less effort, as they were certainly more organised- I believe you were doing the whistle thing from the start which was a great idea for people not used to how a pace line works.

On the last day I was planning on pacing myself so let the 2s go nuts on the hills in Carlow (1s were out of the question) and did those with the 3s at the back, went off the front of them on that final hill to chase down the 2s which we managed with some people dropping off the 2s and 1s just before lunch, it was great fun and we got an extremely good three-man chase going- again with that strong Australian guy and I think a Danish guy. 30-45 seconds on the front and then drop to the back.

Great event, I would certainly do it again, the organisation for the most part was excellently executed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Tackle glad you recovering, came upon you just after you sat up as I was tailed off the group.Quentin whowas directly behind you said you were very lucky.Blorg i reckon I can find the pump it was also Q who threw it for you.He's the guy who i posted the tracker link for.I had a ball over the 5 days trying to hang on to G3 or just forming a chasers pace line.Did enjoy the Sat. Scotty Maam cross was once the home of Connemaras hottest nite spot.Anyone who wants to ride some of the route again can come over for the Westernlakes Polka Dot on July 19th.Have to say the speed was upped at the lower level from 08 there was a G5 last year.
    Saturdays short cuts were due to a request from the Gardai as the times given for the finish were a bit off and the road closure in salthill had been set up along time.Really enjoyed the run into KK even it was for places 75 up:D.
    Anyone reading and thinking about 2010 start now.I only cycling since 2007 and now I 've done 2. A great personal experience and you get out what you put into it.But no matter what miles and climbing you do, do not forget learning the ropes of group riding as these skills will make the whole thing easier but not easy:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

Respect guys. well done.

Esroh wrote: »
    Anyone reading and thinking about 2010 start now.I only cycling since 2007 and now I 've done 2. A great personal experience and you get out what you put into it.But no matter what miles and climbing you do, do not forget learning the ropes of group riding as these skills will make the whole thing easier but not easy:D

+1 on the training. I startwed cycling only 8 / 10 (I had 2 months off to look after new baby and wife) months ago. All in all the training served me very well and it was just a gradual build up from 2 hour rides to 100 mile rides. It wasn't until this year i did my first century of 160.9 kms.

The group riding thing is imperative to be comfortable with. Apart from the aforementioned not getting the whistle thing the group riding was the best part -- its lonely riding for days on end with no one too talk to. To learn how to group ride just join a club and go on their weekly spins --- its really that simple. The group structure for the TOI saved me alot and the groups were well paced. On the last day I was in no mans land for about 50km which was horrible -- cycling on flats in a headwond should only be done in a group...

I'm going to be back next year I think unless I can dream up another challenge but first I need to win a swords cc wednesday race :)

but first I need to win a swords cc wednesday race :)

Get in line buddy.

Raam wrote: »
    Get in line buddy.

I've read your reports... you need to target finishing in a group first :).

I finished with the scratch group last week. It may not have been the group I started out with, but hey, we're all friends here right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

I startwed cycling only 8 / 10 (I had 2 months off to look after new baby and wife) months ago. ...

a gradual build up from 2 hour rides to 100 mile rides. It wasn't until this year i did my first century of 160.9 kms.

For the benefit of other new dads, do explain the negotiation process involved in only taking two months off, and fitting in regular imperial centuries.

Do you run courses in this type of thing?

lukester wrote: »
    For the benefit of other new dads, do explain the negotiation process involved in only taking two months off, and fitting in regular imperial centuries.

Do you run courses in this type of thing?

(what this imperial stuff your taking about.. there is only one century).

I didn't mention the following. Riding away from my wife and crying child on the first week of February a total feeling of guilt hit me and I turned back after 30 minutes to go home and tell me wife that I wasn't going to do the TOI since I didn't think it was fair. By the monday I had convinced my self that it was only 3 months to go and even if i did it next year, 2010, i would still need the same amount of training so I should continue on.

Here's my tips....
    1. Tell the wife/partner you love them and will sarifice your training to be with her. There's benefit on both sides. You get fitter and healthier and you'll have more energy.
    2. Get a plan for your training. I got a coach who new exactly what I had to do. Stick to that plan. Share the plan with the wife so you can make plans based on your schedule. My coach knew my plans, when I was not able to train at weekends because of other commitments etc, and she planned around them. My wife also knew when I would be home on time and when I would be late 7:30pm ish.
    3. Leave one day per weekend totally free for the family. Your family is more important than anything else.
    4. Turbo sessions at home help as well... That means your at home and training :). not all training session are long centuries
    5. Train early on the other day. I would leave home for a 6 hour ride (100 miles) before 9am.
    6. Don't take breaks when riding. You don't realy need to.
    7. Ride alone cause its your training your doing not someone elses. You can occasionally ride in a group but they will all be at different levels
    8. Try to negotiate with, or get the support from your place of work. I am contracting but when I was negoiating my contract I requested Wednesday afternoons off which was agreed. When training for the TOI I did one long ride then and stayed out till it got dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Great reports chaps, very interested in doing this next year.

Scott, I got the impression from your posts earlier in the year that you had a fairly detailed program devised for you by a trainer. I know it wouldn't be appropriate to pass that on but I was wondering if you could give a basic outline of when you started and what you built up to? Did you feel like it was enough to get you through or would you be inclined to do more next time (if there is a next time?)

@ Scott

Heh, good stuff. I was really asking how you managed to negotiate that volume of training in the first place. :pac:

I like the idea of sharing the schedule, I have had a schedule but it's been mostly on my computer and in my head, and announced casually at opportune moments.

Which coach did you use?

rottenhat wrote: »
    I know it wouldn't be appropriate to pass that on but I was wondering if you could give a basic outline of when you started and what you built up to?

Basically like this....

Oct / Nov - Start of one weekly 4 hours ride. Lots of short intervals
    Dec / Jan - Had baby rode 4 times although I had planned alot of work
    Feb - Mixture of 2 weekly long rides 4 hous max with shorter intervals
    March - Long rides going from 4/6 hours. Getting from 100 kms to 100 miles
    April - 2 long rides per week of 4/6 hours and an additional 100 miles on 2 Sundays to replicate back to back riding.
    May -- Rest
    lukester wrote: »
    announced casually at opportune moments.

no no no... this is my friends theory (several of them in fact). I believe being up front always works better. That way you set the expectation rather than announce a suprise. There's another forum mentioned coaching but I used rutheyles.co.uk but she's booked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

@Scott ... When exactly did you pick up the pace to be able to do 160kms in 6 hours ... I hear you are not a big fan of the pitstop either .... I can barely manage 24kmph on a spin through Wicklow ... and that is with stops ..

Were you born this way ... or did you have to pick up the pace through the 6 months training.

Lads .This years TOI did lose money and alot re 2010 depends on the backing of sponsors etc.One thing that may help would be people contacting the organisers with expressions of interest or even those of us who rode it contacting Kellogs and the City councils and thanking them.We now know that personal circumstances did lead to lack of info from early on re the organisers but under the circumstances although there were somethings that could be improved it was well run considering the mammoth task it is.This is an amazing event we should be very proud of in Ireland.A Etape de Tour is special day but A Tour of Ireland is a special 5 Days and its ours

Its a great event without a doubt but I'm still quite angry at the way the support crew dumped us in the hospital, and the lack of medical back-up for an event this size is unforgivable.

There's no mystery to the training, depending what fitness you have when you start I'd say 6 months max is all you need, building up distances each month to 100 miles flat, then hilly, then mountains, you'll be sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Its a great event without a doubt but I'm still quite angry at the way the support crew dumped us in the hospital, and the lack of medical back-up for an event this size is unforgivable.

I came across an injured rider on Monday, just before Slieve Maan on the TOI route, who was being attended to by a paramedic on a motorbike. He looked like he was in the TOI, had a number on his bike...

Tackle I totally understand how you feel.And I do know we had a first aid crew with us all the way in 08.No 1 day ride goes without a med/backup.
    The Paramedic on the MB was Mick one of the marshals but it was impossible for him to cover the spread of riders on the road on his own and that should have been obvious from the first stage once we broke up.

@Tackleberry: any idea why the bike went from under you? Did the post crack before or after the crash?

Raam wrote: »
    @Tackleberry: any idea why the bike went from under you? Did the post crack before or after the crash?

It snapped before and threw me off balance and into the tarmac

Scary. Lucky you weren't more badly injured.

Esroh wrote: »
    Lads .This years TOI did lose money and alot re 2010 depends on the backing of sponsors etc.One thing that may help would be people contacting the organisers with expressions of interest or even those of us who rode it contacting Kellogs and the City councils and thanking them.We now know that personal circumstances did lead to lack of info from early on re the organisers but under the circumstances although there were somethings that could be improved it was well run considering the mammoth task it is.This is an amazing event we should be very proud of in Ireland.A Etape de Tour is special day but A Tour of Ireland is a special 5 Days and its ours

+1 -- I'm personally going to thank the Garda for their support. And the local councils and sponsors. I know there was a few little problems, logistical and otherwise, but it was awesome. The support we got for road closures etc was brilliant.

I appreciate the problem with alot of injuries but by and large most people recieved some emergency medical treatment on the road and were ferried to hospitals. I was just having lunch with an guy from th UK who rode and fell off. He said it was a great event and better than alot he had done. He said that we needed to respect the balance between value for money and the need for services. I thought I heard one of the organisers say that there was a 20,000 euro charge if they needed a ambulance this year when it was free last year.

The PNSI, and indeed all police services across the UK, are charging now for event support killing alot of UK events and sportives. I sincerely thank the Garda for their effort -- it was top class.

Here's a few pics just to give you guys some food for thought!

This picture really really scares me...

Ditto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

+1 -- I'm personally going to thank the Garda for their support. And the local councils and sponsors. I know there was a few little problems, logistical and otherwise, but it was awesome. The support we got for road closures etc was brilliant.

I appreciate the problem with alot of injuries but by and large most people recieved some emergency medical treatment on the road and were ferried to hospitals. I was just having lunch with an guy from th UK who rode and fell off. He said it was a great event and better than alot he had done. He said that we needed to respect the balance between value for money and the need for services. I thought I heard one of the organisers say that there was a 20,000 euro charge if they needed a ambulance this year when it was free last year.

The PNSI, and indeed all police services across the UK, are charging now for event support killing alot of UK events and sportives. I sincerely thank the Garda for their effort -- it was top class.

I would find it tough to argue on not having ambulances if it was me lying by the side of the road with my head bashed in ... I would rather pay an extra 100 quid that end up without medical support.

Rest I agree with .... I saw in a magazine over the weekend that quite a few cycling events over the summer were getting scrapped due to garda charging for their services .. and the town councils for creating a traffic free zone for a few hours.

Here's a few pics just to give you guys some food for thought!

This scares me --

79772.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

@Tackle: Sorry man, they look very bad. You may not realise it, but you are very luck that, bad and all as they look, that it is not worse.

That pic of the saddle post is scary as hell.

I would find it tough to argue on not having ambulances if it was me lying by the side of the road with my head bashed in ... I would rather pay an extra 100 quid that end up without medical support.

I don't doubt it but we are probably talking 200 EURO extrafor every rider. There were local ambulances on call and a paramedic on a bike. Every injured rider was assessed and no doubt a proper call made.

Lets not get into a debate whether or not they are required all the time. Not all sportives have them but all sportvies need to have an action plan for injuries. I'll mention this to the TOI organisers in an email.

Have a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭smithslist

another good report and interesting info for all.

http://www.pedalbiker.blogspot.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

(what this imperial stuff your taking about.. there is only one century).

I didn't mention the following. Riding away from my wife and crying child on the first week of February a total feeling of guilt hit me and I turned back after 30 minutes to go home and tell me wife that I wasn't going to do the TOI since I didn't think it was fair. By the monday I had convinced my self that it was only 3 months to go and even if i did it next year, 2010, i would still need the same amount of training so I should continue on.

Here's my tips....
    1. Tell the wife/partner you love them and will sarifice your training to be with her. There's benefit on both sides. You get fitter and healthier and you'll have more energy.
    2. Get a plan for your training. I got a coach who new exactly what I had to do. Stick to that plan. Share the plan with the wife so you can make plans based on your schedule. My coach knew my plans, when I was not able to train at weekends because of other commitments etc, and she planned around them. My wife also knew when I would be home on time and when I would be late 7:30pm ish.
    3. Leave one day per weekend totally free for the family. Your family is more important than anything else.
    4. Turbo sessions at home help as well... That means your at home and training :). not all training session are long centuries
    5. Train early on the other day. I would leave home for a 6 hour ride (100 miles) before 9am.
    6. Don't take breaks when riding. You don't realy need to.
    7. Ride alone cause its your training your doing not someone elses. You can occasionally ride in a group but they will all be at different levels
    8. Try to negotiate with, or get the support from your place of work. I am contracting but when I was negoiating my contract I requested Wednesday afternoons off which was agreed. When training for the TOI I did one long ride then and stayed out till it got dark.

Fair play Scott - good advice there