Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Langster Vs Sirrus ... advice needed

• 11-05-2009 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭

Hi
    Thanks to some scumfcuk who stole my bike I’m looking for a repalcemtn
    I had a specialized hardrock for over 4 years and I rode it to work pretty much everyday and found it to be pretty reliable.
    I had also just spent over 150 yos getting all the gear bits (I’m not too techie when it comes to bikes) replaced on it. Nice timing for the robbing scumbags….
    But every cloud has a silver lining as they say and the place I work in just announced that they were taking part in the bicycle tax saver thingymabob so I thought that this is as opportune a time to buy a new bike as I was ever going to get…
    I reckon I’ve a budget of around 450 max for the bike . I’m looking for some thing that’ll do my 5 mile daily commute, it’s mostly flat but it goes through town (Dublin)
    I enjoy my daily cycle but outside of that I don’t really do a lot of recreational cycling
    Anyhoes I did a bit of looking around in the auld interweb in the name of research and I found myself drawn to the specialized langster, I like the idea of its simplicity and the fact that there’s not too much to go wrong on it (remember the 150 yo I mentioned earlier). Why do I need 24 gears for a daily commute????
    so I went in to Cycle Ways on Saturday for a look around. They didn’t have a Langster in the shop so I couldn’t get a look at one but I did check out a Sirrus Sport and thought that looked like a viable option too…
    my concern with the langster is that the tyres are way skinnier than I’m used too so I’m worried about spills, buckles and flats. Would an old fart like me be better off sticking to the sturdier Sirrus or should I join the fixie revolution???
    Another plus for the Langster is that you can go for the freewheel option but are they really able to hack a daily city commute, kerbs and all????
    My heart is saying Langster but my head is saying Sirrus….
    Worra ya reckon????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭stabu

they're too different to bear comparing. Better off buying both. Prob get the Sirrus first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Follow your heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭fillup

but what about those skinny assed tyres???
    can they handle the odd kerb and what are they like for grip????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭parko202

I have the 09 langster and use it for commuting every day. It would be handy having the flip flop if you aren't sure if you would like fixed ( you will! ). In relation to the skinny tyres, I was moving from a spesh HR and it took about a day to get used to. You also tend to pay more attention along the cycle rather than blitzing through every pothole so not a huge issue with potholes. I would recommend the langster for a flattish cycle but have not ridden the sirrus so can't really give a good comparison.

Also, it weighs absolutely nothing and very fast. Hope this was helpful

cheers Parko.. i think i'm leaning in the fixie directon.. simplicity has it's benefits...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

I got a Langster 07 and I really enjoyed riding it, although on my self-build I got used to the higher gear and then found the 42/16 on the Langster too low, couldnt really get as much speed out of it. I think I'll probably bump up the chainring when I get back. Or else maybe sell it on, the Masi and the self-build will be enough, I doubt I need three fixies.

So if you can wait four months, I might have a second hand Langster for sale

can't wait that long flickerx.. the bus is killing me....

does any one know what the deal is with mudguards on the langster...

am i going to have to put some of those mountainbikey crud catchers on it??? from what i've read there's not enough clearence to put on a regular set of guards

i guess that would be sacralious to ye bike purists but i'm just a regular commuter who need to keep his ass dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

first off, I have such the same distance and singlespeed is more then enough. You might be able to fit a set of blade type mudguards. they should be able to tell you in the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Go for the langster. I abused the hell out of mine for about 2 years hard commuting and it stood up to it. It eventually got totalled by a car (luckily, I wasn't on it at the time) and I still miss it a bit. sniff.

SKS raceblades are the best mudguards for bikes without a whole lot of clearance.

If langsters still come with those specialized mondo tyres I'd replace them straight away. They were puncturetastic to me. You can put 25mm tyre on, maybe bigger. Gatorskins are my commuter of choice and a slightly bigger tyre will ease out some of the road buzz if you're coming from a cushy mtb.

Yep, thats one problem with the Specializeds... their stock tyres are rubbish. You'd need to factor in the cost of getting some decent tyres. I always go for the Specialized Armadillos myself, shame the scabs dont actually just include them when you buy a new bike (might be worth haggling for if you go to a bike shop)

cheers lads....

i'll be deffo checking out the langster... thanks for the tyre advice too niceone and flick...

how are the wheels on that bad boy?? are they up to the job or do they need replacing too???

well i finally got the langster today...

after a tentative start outside of cycle ways (there was a fair bit of wobbling before i got used to the skinny tyres - i went for the 25 armadilos in the end - and the lower crouching position) i arrived home in one piece tho and then went for a spin out to dollier...

man is that one smooth bike to ride??... light as a feather and fast as fcuk too...

thanks for all the advice lads...

it's so simplistic its almost zen... i'm riding it in the free-wheely stylie at the mo but i think i'll try the fixie when i get more comfie with the handling of the bike.. you really get spoiled on a mtb

here's to the bikes maiden commute tomorrow!!! Haazzar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

Best of luck with the bike. You'll love it, I have a Langster and it's probably my favourite bike and cheapest.

You'll get used to the skinny tyres in no time at all and when you go fixed you'll love it also.

I was apprehensive about going fixed, not because I was afraid, I just didn't see the point of it. For the first few cycles I didn't see the big deal either but now I wouldn't change back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭estariol

I went fixed for my langster straight off, after a few k's of concentrating get used to and love it! stock pedals are a bit crappy though. In fact I've found the fixie has greatly improved my road cycling form over the last year or so.
    Hope you budgeted for a decent lock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

Fair play fillup, hope you are enjoying the new bike. For what it's worth I think you made the right choice.

I ride the Langster 07 as my commute / daily hack / vehicle to deliver me from the multitudes in transports of ecstacy etc etc...

Regarding your question about the wheels, the stock alex rims on mine have not had a spoke so much as squeak in nearly 3 years of hard living. Potholes, manholes, kerbs and allsorts have been thrown at it (including a max rider weight of 15st 4.5lbs:eek:).

I have a cheap plastic mudguard on the back that clips on to the seatpost, but others advice on the SKS race blades are sound, and they would look much better IMHO.

Glad to hear you ditched the mondo tyres, absolute rubbish. You'd be better off with tyres made of lace paper and angel hair. Somewhere there is a chunk of landfill filled with destroyed inner tubes thanks to those ridiculous mondo slicks.

Flip over to fixed and enjoy the ride. It's a great bike.

I think you'll really enjoy the fixed motion/action too once you've gotten used to riding with the narrower tyres. I'd definitely recommend changing it over to the fixed sprocket within a week.

I've got 700x23 armadillos on my bikes, NEVER had any problem with them. Some people on here prefer the gatorskins but I think the slight extra weight on the dillo's is worth it for the reliability of not getting a puncture.

I'm thinking I'll change the drop bars over to a flat bar when I get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

I got rid of the track bars on my Langster Monaco as I found them too uncomfortable. I changed to riser handlebars and just cut them down to sixe. I much prefer it that way.