Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brown Envelope Experiences

• 08-05-2009 10:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭

With so much development and stuff seemingly impossible without some sort of bribery going on I was just wondering if anyone here has been bribed for something or attempted to bribe someone in anyway.
    And no gifts dont count even if they do lead to sex.....well maybe they do.Ah make your own minds up on that one.

I cant think of any times I have but ill report back if I think of anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I get bribed once per month to come into work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Eh, friend got pulled up on a drink driving charge. Was arranged with the garda before that he'd get away with a two year ban and a 500 donation to a local charity, par for the course since it was a first offense, no other trouble ever before etc.

Imagine his surprise on court day when the guard stood up and informed the judge of his generous offer to donate 250 euros to the courts chosen charity...

Not textbook bribery, and anecdotal of course but all the same. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    I get bribed once per month to come into work.

They just pay me. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

I bribed my OH with a trip to the pub to sort out the washing tomorrow morning does that count??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Yes, I get bribed with choclate every now and again by this woman in our work place. Big bags of Eclairs are my gets the job done quicker, Im corrupt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

With so much development and stuff seemingly impossible without some sort of bribery going on I was just wondering if anyone here has been bribed for something or attempted to bribe someone in anyway.
    And no gifts dont count even if they do lead to sex.....well maybe they do.Ah make your own minds up on that one.

I cant think of any times I have but ill report back if I think of anything

I've often had customers asking me to bribe their car through the NCT if necessary, with 50 quid sticking out of the tax disc holder! I've never done it though as the system is easy enough to get a car through and I've never known them to be open to bribes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I had expected this thread to be about some perversion or other...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Nodin wrote: »
    I had expected this thread to be about some perversion or other...
    Try harder :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I took €1000.00 from a client in cash under the table so to avoid him paying VAT and a reduced invoice..am an employee as well..cldnt lodge it into my bank accounts..have never told a soul but thankfully I was going to Amsterdam that weekend so much fun was had...:o

Try harder :pac:

And Em whats yours Mr Chin??? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

sorrywhat wrote: »
    And Em whats yours Mr Chin??? :D
    Im tryin to remember some :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Saw the police (then RUC) taking a backhander at the door of late drinking club in Belfast before.

Used to pay my little sister to iron my shirts too.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I remember when I was about 6, some old man wearing a black shirt and appeared to be a very small white scarf under his collar bribed me with sweets. He said he wanted to check my prostate :(

antodeco wrote: »
    I remember when I was about 6, some old man wearing a black shirt and appeared to be a very small white scarf under his collar bribed me with sweets. He said he wanted to check my prostate :(

Was if Fr Brendan Smith ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

antodeco wrote: »

I'd say that's all you remember.

Im tryin to remember some :(

You'll have to try harder then that!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep I've seen bribery and favours for favours, wink wink, nudge nudge in action. I've also heard and have seen the results of it on bigger scales. The brown envelope brigade are running strong here and tribunals have done nothing to stop it. Indeed all they've done is waste tax payers money for a decade proving(or not proving) what was known already. Now it's not like Italy, but it's pretty bad and all political parties are involved to some degree or other too. None of them are above it. That's all I'll say. Contrary to others experiences I never heard of it with the Guards TBH. Maybe getting off speeding tickets for mates way back in the day, but all in all the guards are ok that way.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Dinner, movie, and then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Hephaestus

A former client of mine randomly asked whether I would aid in a tax fraud scam which he had come up with. You probably wont be shocked to hear it was in relation to a construction project.

He knew I'd play no part in it when my jaw immediately dropped to the floor so it never reached the point of being offered something in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ddad

I was offered a very substantial sum to withdraw an objection to a development. I didn't take it, it was refused, developer called around hopping mad. I've no regrets though, it was a sh$%tty development and the money wouldn'y have made up for the fact that if I'd accepted it I'd have felt like a cnut the rest of my days.

Damn my moral compass!!!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Was with a buddy in Mexico when he got stopped by the cops for the "amber gamble".

$50 and 2 cigerettes and we were on our way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Used to deal with vendors back in the day. Big bucks were involved and you would get some complete tools doing the 'whatever it needs' to get the business. A bit of cop on has to apply but some of the sales tactics around the early noughties were mad.

A mate of mine in the Sales field got a call one day from one of his customers saying that him and the wife planned to go to New York for a few days. His reply was great enjoy it but the customer kept talking about it till eventually realising the penny was not dropping and told him he wanted his company to arrange first class flights or else! Needless to say my mate told the guy no way. I think they lost some business but his boss was cool with it.

Had one funny white envelope experience! I had helped out a Market Research group a couple of times over the phone and got a call one day asking could I meet them as they want to pass some advertising samples by me for feedback. I said no problem and they cam in the next day. All fine until they left and the younger guy held back and gave me an evelope with my details on it. Thought nothing of it till later on when I opened it to find a relatively small sum but strangely all in fivers! Sent it back the following day and told them to give it to charity if they wished. Very strange as it was handled in a funny manner....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Don't you just hate when you get bribed, and its nowhere near what you think you're worth?

It kinda cheapens it.

Not that I have been bribed. Solicited on a couple of occasions, but not bribed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I have seen it in the construction industry. Sub-contractors paying certain people to get work accepted and paying out to get certain contracts.
    At my level I passed on money to machine drivers for doing lifts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

I once ran out of toilet paper, so I used some old envelopes that were lying around. It was not a pleasant 'experience' at all - the resulting paper cuts were very painful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

I once ran out of toilet paper, so I used some old envelopes that were lying around. It was not a pleasant 'experience' at all - the resulting paper cuts were very painful.

You would be a bit browned off if you did that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭doubleglaze

I know two VEC teachers who canvassed all the councillors on their pending interview panel. They are both convinced that this is how they secured permanent contracts and B posts.

I'm a teacher myself and am not referring to myself or to my own local VEC.

I also know someone who claims he bribed the planners for planning permission for a one-off house in a very scenic area. This would have been around 10 years ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Johnnio13 wrote: »
    Was with a buddy in Mexico when he got stopped by the cops for the "amber gamble".

$50 and 2 cigerettes and we were on our way!!
    what does this mean? amber gamble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It was suggested to me that i pay a donation of €10,000 to help secure planning permission for a small extension to my workshop, told them to **** off, glad i did, because today it wold be hard to pay off any bank loans that would have been required to build at the time in the current economic climate.
    Names and all other info provided with a suitable cash donation to me.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭deco05ie

not stopping your car for an amber light, hoping it doesn't turn red by the time you get to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

I get paid in a brown envelope every time I drive a van for work...Good Buzz!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Light is changing from orange to red and you speed up to get through it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No comment. Not answering on the grounds that I might indite myself.
    ..and lord knows the gov' tax people are seeking payback everywhere. They are currently reading this thread. :eek: