Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TEFL Teaching abroad

Options
  • 07-05-2009 1:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭

Has anyone ever done this? I'm thinking of doing this for 3 months and then travelling for another 3. Not sure if I can do it for 3 months. Do I need the TEFL qualification? it costs about 500! I have a degree in software development, not English. Any help will be appreciated. thanks.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭anoisaris

There is no TEFL qualification costing 500 euro that is worth doing as far as I know! Any decent course is up around a grand (maybe 800 at a minimum) and has over 100 hours plus teaching practice any other not recognised by ACELS is really not worth the money.

Most schools outside Europe that would take anyone with the cheaper course would most likely take you on even if you had no TEFL training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 chipsbebo

Scarymoon,

I take it the 100 hour course is the i-to-i course? I did that weekend course, what you get from it is classroom confidence and a refresher course in grammar. Its worth doing but doesn't really hold any merit abroad from what i've been researching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭thesecretforme

I want to do a TEFL via a Distance Learning Organisation from Dublin. Does that hold any merit? If not, which one should I do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Praxis07