Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Riddlers in Limerick (New Gay Bar)

• 07-05-2009 11:30AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Hi Guys,

Wondering what everyone thinks of Riddlers as the new gay bar in Limerick. So far I'm mixed on it, it's great to have a gay spot in Limerick but I find it gets a really mixed crowd in there. Was there on Saturday night and there was quite a rough crowd there making comments and laughing at some people. As me, my girlfriend and our friends were leaving some guy remarked 'They couldn't all be dykes could they'?
    I really wanted to go back but then you think what's the point of drawing that on you, talk about making some fools life by getting into an arguement with 4 lesbians :rolleyes:

I know that comments like that are a fact of life for a lot of us, and usually I wouldn't take offence, but when you're in a gay bar you usually let your guard down a little bit so it's really annoying when you have to listen to that when you out of a night.

What do ye think? I'd like to think the doormen would turn away anyone that they think is just going in to give abuse etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

sf147 wrote: »
    What do ye think? I'd like to think the doormen would turn away anyone that they think is just going in to give abuse etc...
    Did you say anthing to the door man or another member of staff ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

Some people are just so ignorant.
    When you are out having a few pints why would you be bothered by anybody else's life.
    Stupid, stupid, ignorant people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Cabbage Brained

Can't believe they called a gay bar "Riddlers", riddled immediately comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 sf147

Did you say anthing to the door man or another member of staff ???

No I didn't as we were halfway out the door when the comment was passed and I didn't feel like making an issue of it at the time.

These guys were clearly not in a gay bar to pull, they were there to take the piss and make other people feel uncomfortable! The bouncers should have copped this on their way in and advised them to head somewhere else for a drink.

I don't think it's unreasonable to expect to be able to have a quiet drink in a gay bar without that rubbish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Can't believe they called a gay bar "Riddlers", riddled immediately comes to mind.

haha or how about the fact the local joke is calling it "fiddlers" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭catchup

Who has decided that its a gay bar? Whoever it is needs to decide what clientele they let in and keep out. Otherwise it doesn't deserve to be supported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Ashen Light

The problem is that Riddlers isn't a new bar, but a bar that that closed down, eventually reopened and branded a "gay bar". So a lot of people who used to go there went back again (quite an "interesting" crowd..), probably originally not knowing it was a gay bar (apart from the flag, it's not that obvious).

Once they started going back, I think it's become a case of "well, this was our bar first". It's not something I can see being resolved easily, tbh. It doesn't help that nothing has changed since it was a "heavy" crowd pub. Not the name, not the decor. Nothing. (again, apart from the flag)

Basically, it seems like the management is trying to please both groups, but if something isn't sorted soon, neither will want to go there anyway.

Sorry, but you cannot please both groups if one group behaves like that.

The promoter of the pub as a gay venture is in this months GCN he should be contacted and informed of these issues (can't remember a name). But I really feel you can't decide to make a venue a gay venue, take money from the gay community and then leave them to be harassed at that very same gay night from former clientele.

Seriously, they would want to wise up to the fact that there is more to the promotion of gay nights than just throwing up a flag and taking in money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

It sounds like a half arsed set up to me.

Contact the managment and tell them that if they are truely a Gay Bar then they need to cater for their Gay customers as well as been Straight friendly and if there wasn't a marked improvment then vote with your feet!! The "Pink Pound" is a very strong argument!! Hanging a Rainbow Flag doesn't make it a Gay Bar! I'd even go further and contact the Gay Press and get an interview and OUT them as been a Fake Gay Bar if you really find them to be uncooperative.

"The Riddler" been refered to as "The Fiddler" is maybe NOT a good start! How 80's.... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭shoegirl

Its very common when a bar reopens and the old customers all come back assuming nothing has changed. Make sure to mention it to staff next time you are there and I am sure that gradually they will filter out troublemakers. If they genuinely want the pink business they will sooner or later make an effort to filter this out.

But I am glad to finally see something proper in Limerick, I go up a lot for matches and there has really been nothing. Nice to see that change.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,380 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

IMO Limerick, along with all its other problems, is a very homophobic place so I'm frankly not surprised by that sort of carry on in Ridlers.:(

Sure it's proving very difficult to even sustain a stable gay scene in the city.

Could we PLEASE have some reports of actual visits
    to this bar.
    Comments about it (without having been there) or comments about
    Limerick are beside the point.
    Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

Could we PLEASE have some reports of actual visits
    to this bar.
    Comments about it (without having been there) or comments about
    Limerick are beside the point.
    Thanks in advance.

Read the thread..... Thats how we started to discuss!!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Daisy D

Was in Riddlers a few times. It's a shame the person who started this thread got a remark like that. But, I am going to suggest almost every bar in any major city will have people in there who get past the doormen and gossip about the other people there. Unfortunately they weren't very discreet. Also, there's no reason why Riddlers should change the layout at all because it has opened up as a gay bar. The flag is a universal symbol, and that is more than enough for me. The Limerick scene is VERY big! You wouldn't think it but Confessions opened in Scotts few weeks ago and was jammers. I did a show in Riddlers also 2 weeks ago and place was brimming at the seams! As someone who has been there 3 times and live in Cork I think it's a nice fine big pub, Mike is the Manager and he's one of the nicest guys around, really working hard to make the place/gay scene work!

I totally understand your annoyance though, and you SHOULD have gone back and spoke to the manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭breanoh

Hi guys.
    I'm a regular in Riddlers, and have been since it opened as a gay venue. As with anywhere when a bar re-opens, there were some teething problems at the beginning. but the place is running like clockwork now, with a building gay clientel.
    The bar is Gay owned, and Gay run, and there are some great nights going on. I personally perform there regularly, either singing MCing or in drag.

On the subject of Limerick being Homophobic..... Limerick is actually a pretty open and welcoming city, with a vibrant nightlife. I have never encountered homophobic abuse here, and I have gone out clubbing in drag... to Straight clubs, with other Drag acts.

RE the name: I have never once heard of the bar being referred to as Fiddlers.

And how many of you have actually been in there....??

@OP. I'm very sorry you had that experience. Let me assure you that kind of thing is *NOT* tolerated in the slightest, and had you said it to the bouncers the people in Question would have been ejected and barred on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭louloumc89

I have to agree with Limerick being a pretty open city. I walk down the street hand in hand with my girlfriend and we don't get any hassle. I feel very safe in the city and in Riddlers. If anybody had of made a comment like that to me in Riddlers (which nobody has ever done), I would have simply told the manager or doorman and they would've sorted it out. They are very good in there like that.

I'm involved in starting a regular ladies night in there at the moment and there will defo be a good crowd because the scene is pretty decent. Any events in there get a good crowd in!

Riddlers is a great bar... agreat venue and its very cosy in there! nice bit of banter. BUT!! that original post... i could almost point out the person who would of said that!...

I dont know his name but he is constantly referring to lesbians and slaggin them off!! screaming shouting and screeching

Im a gay man and i still think its too much... but alas he seems to be there all the time therefor thinks it is acceptable and probably does it for the shock value...

Its a pity becuase its the only downfall of the venue that is otherwise lovely and full of atmosphere :D

sf147 wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

Wondering what everyone thinks of Riddlers as the new gay bar in Limerick. So far I'm mixed on it, it's great to have a gay spot in Limerick but I find it gets a really mixed crowd in there. Was there on Saturday night and there was quite a rough crowd there making comments and laughing at some people. As me, my girlfriend and our friends were leaving some guy remarked 'They couldn't all be dykes could they'?
    I really wanted to go back but then you think what's the point of drawing that on you, talk about making some fools life by getting into an arguement with 4 lesbians :rolleyes:

I know that comments like that are a fact of life for a lot of us, and usually I wouldn't take offence, but when you're in a gay bar you usually let your guard down a little bit so it's really annoying when you have to listen to that when you out of a night.

Riddlers is a great bar... agreat venue and its very cosy in there! nice bit of banter. BUT!! that original post... i could almost point out the person who would of said that!...

I dont know his name but he is constantly referring to lesbians and slaggin them off!! screaming shouting and screeching

Im a gay man and i still think its too much... but alas he seems to be there all the time therefor thinks it is acceptable and probably does it for the shock value...

Its a pity becuase its the only downfall of the venue that is otherwise lovely and full of atmosphere :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 purplepeach

that lesbian comment is unacceptable....

you could probably guess by walking in there any night who says it aswell!! unfortunate that a small thing can affect a bar but hopefully this person has matured and will stop slagging lesbians!!

Im sure he or she would not like being refered to in the same fashion"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 spume

Jaysus i was in there last week. Genuinely didnt know it was a queer pub. I knew it was a bit off tbh but it didnt dawn on me. Good luck with it anyway lads and lassies... but its safe to say i wont return;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

spume wrote: »
    Jaysus i was in there last week. Genuinely didnt know it was a queer pub. I knew it was a bit off tbh but it didnt dawn on me. Good luck with it anyway lads and lassies... but its safe to say i wont return;)

If only you felt the same way about posting on gay forums a you do about drinking in gay bars...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Terrymac

spume wrote: »

Was In there last wk it's called foleys now but was talkin to the barman and it's being changed back to riddlers in feb not a gay bar this time but good to see riddlers coming back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Musicman10000

great music last nite. who was th band?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Aurongroove

If only you felt the same way about posting on gay forums a(s) you do about drinking in gay bars...

what's that supposed to mean? the guy wrote an honest post, he din't know it was a gay bar and describing something as being 'a bit off' is hardly offensive.

Any-hoo with reguards the OP and the venue in general, I (obviously) havn't been. But I feel it's worth saying it's not always fair to immediately assume bouncers are invincible in everything they do, especially in new venues.
    If the OP didn't register their discontent with the bouncers for example and no one before them complained either then how are the bouncers supposed to know?
    If no one says "sorry, those group of guys there are causing trouble/insulted me and my friends" then how is anyone supposed to know?

it's like anything, poor food in a restaurant or a spill in Isle 5; if you don't let people know they'll probably never realize you're unhappy. there's actually nothing business hate more then losing customers, having a bad name or having a bad story about them doing the rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Caiseoipe19

what's that supposed to mean? the guy wrote an honest post, he din't know it was a gay bar and describing something as being 'a bit off' is hardly offensive.

Any-hoo with reguards the OP and the venue in general, I (obviously) havn't been. But I feel it's worth saying it's not always fair to immediately assume bouncers are invincible in everything they do, especially in new venues.
    If the OP didn't register their discontent with the bouncers for example and no one before them complained either then how are the bouncers supposed to know?
    If no one says "sorry, those group of guys there are causing trouble/insulted me and my friends" then how is anyone supposed to know?

it's like anything, poor food in a restaurant or a spill in Isle 5; if you don't let people know they'll probably never realize you're unhappy. there's actually nothing business hate more then losing customers, having a bad name or having a bad story about them doing the rounds.

Considering that was posted over two years ago I think you'll be waiting a while for an answer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Bit of a zombie thread going on. Locking this to stop confusion. :)