Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sharon Ni Bheolain changes her hair/makeup/clothes/jewelery every night ! Who pays ?

• 07-05-2009 2:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭

it must cost a fortune

who pays for this ?

i hope it's not the taxpayer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

kill her off before ANN DOYLE-27, then, we'll pay half of it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Linku

Jaysus, the R word is making people analyse absolutely everything!

I'm pretty sure the clothes are all rented, and re-used now and the between presenters at not a huge expense. I certainly wouldn't want to see the news readers wearing the same stuff all the time. If their outfits were being reused often I'm sure there'd be a thread giving out about that!

Speaking of newsreaders clothes, someone in RTÉ must have a thing for horrid pink jackets - Sharon, Anne Doyle and someone else were all sporting different ones one week recently!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Who cares ? She looks great and that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Every night? Farckin hell. And here's me only changing my clothes and having a shower once a week. The posh bitch.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

If you carefully read the last number of Finance Bills after budget day, you'll find that there is a National Newsreading Treasure Upkeep Fund of approximately €4m per annum. This is taken from the central exchequer and is used to pay for structural upkeep of Ann Doyle, retention works on David Davin Power's scalp and the restoration of the Bryan Dobson facade (which went out to tender and I believe the winning consortium was a Spanish-Dutch bidder).

It also allocates 53% of it's funding towards Sharon's myriad hairstyles, clothes and jewellery so that eagle eyed and rational viewers like the OP can appreciate the true beauty of news.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Personally, I don't mind the hair and jewelery but she shouldn't be allowed to wear clothes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

who pays for this ?

People in the third world do, with their lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

kbannon wrote: »
    Personally, I don't mind the hair and jewelery but she shouldn't be allowed to wear clothes!

indeed, I'd prefer if she went naked too.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

it must cost a fortune

who pays for this ?

i hope it's not the taxpayer

Is this serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

What difference does it make to you?
    When you buy a pint do you wonder what proportion of the cost goes to paying the staff or cleaning?
    Nope cause its built into the cost price.
    You pay your licence fee and they get their revenue from advertising, plus whatever from the state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,590 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

How do you know she changes every night, stalker? Are you keeping notes?

"Hmmm... she is wearing a pink top today. Thats new." scribble scribble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

O'Coonassa wrote: »
    People in the third world do, with their lives.

Man, this is deep.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

If I'm not mistaken I remember reading an article in the Irish mail on sunday (or the equivalent paper at the time) about Sharon Ni Bheolain and how she wore the same thing 3 days in a row or something; this at the height of the Celtic tiger and people giving out about it! She's just making up for lost time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭betonit

wtf...OP have what are u on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

What a breath of fresh air > Una O'Hagan is presenting the Six-One :)

Una has been on for several Six-One's now, (and she is a natural), no crazed eye liner, or zany hair styles, no Victorial frillies, no husky voice, no affectation > just a natural news delivery with a smile.

Lets hope they keep Una on the Six-One, coz I for one think she is far superior to Sharon Ni Eyeliner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I'd bang her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ohanloj3

She was my irish teacher in school and I'll tell you she looked awful then, didn't put in alot of effort at all- she wore outfits that looked like your granny's old curtains and she wore make-up that was too dark for her face and had streaky lines-awful!but she brought us to rte once and basically they do her hair and make up and put her in a nice top but underneath the table she could be wearing scruffy old jeans or trackie bottoms!!

Which one, Una or Sharon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Sure they're probably naked under the table, they at least deserve a nice jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,027 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

facepalmcompilation.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

Camelot wrote: »
    What a breath of fresh Una O'Hagan is presenting the Six-One :)

Una has been on for several Six-One's now, (and she is a natural), no crazed eye liner, or zany hair styles, no Victorial frillies, no husky voice, no affectation > just a natural news delivery with a smile.

Lets hope they keep Una on the Six-One, coz I for one think she is far superior to Sharon Ni Eyeliner.

sharon is so false , dont rate her myself at all , personality of a manequin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

moe_sizlak wrote: »

sharon is so false , dont rate her myself at all , personality of a manequin

Who cares if she has a personality or not it's the news we're talking about here, we don't want to be going down the same road as Sky News or American news broadcasts with their all singing all dancing readers and reporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

This train wreck is still open I see.

double-facepalm.jpg

LOL@ThisThread

Who cares if she has a personality or not it's the news we're talking about here, we don't want to be going down the same road as Sky News or American news broadcasts with their all singing all dancing readers and reporters.

I tend to agree, i'm not interested in seeing "big personalities" reading the news, though that English CNN reporter is hillarious.....the dude who was caught with drugs in Central Park.

Una O'Hagan, a "big personality"? I wouldn't say that, but she is a bloody good newsreader.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Maintenance from her ex-husband?

Jesus wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Linku

phasers wrote: »
    Sure they're probably naked under the table, they at least deserve a nice jacket

I was wondering if they only started kitting Brian Dobson out with trousers when they got the new studio and he had to stand up at the beginning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

Come on now OP. If you came across Sharon Ni Bheolain buying third world child labour knickers in Penneys you'd be disappointed. And couldn't wait to tell the neighbours. One expects a certain amount of class from our national broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

She might get upset if I came across her but if she was buying knickers.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

OK, let's try this again. Sharon Ni Bheolain comes on the Six-One wearing a tracksuit, hoop earings and 10 Argos Elizabeth Duke rings on her fingers. Would you not think, at this point, that something had gone very wrong with this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

She's worth it but I'm more of a Siún Nic Gearailt man myself.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Come on now OP. If you came across Sharon Ni Bheolain buying third world child labour knickers in Penneys you'd be disappointed. And couldn't wait to tell the neighbours. One expects a certain amount of class from our national broadcaster.
    Derek Davis with a basket, in a pound shop, buying deodorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

fabbydabby wrote: »
    She might get upset if I came across her but if she was buying knickers.....
    She'd be more upset if you came on her in fairness.

You didn't catch his pun did you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭starryeye

Sharon Ni Bheolain is beautiful but I think she wears too much mascara.

starryeye wrote: »
    Sharon Ni Bheolain is beautiful but I think she wears too much mascara.

ZOMBIE ALERT! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

She can't wear PJ's like the knackers do around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

sgb wrote: »
    She can't wear PJ's like the knackers do around here

Meaningless Zombie Thread Reply alert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

kbannon wrote: »

Thats by far the best thing she could wear( or not I mean)
    I'd bang her!

Who Una?
    OK, let's try this again. Sharon Ni Bheolain comes on the Six-One wearing a tracksuit, hoop earings and 10 Argos Elizabeth Duke rings on her fingers. Would you not think, at this point, that something had gone very wrong with this country?

Yeah and a ring in her nose and also chewing gum:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

ZOMBIE ALERT! :mad:

/Runs to fetch shotgun