Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Facebook dating

• 06-05-2009 7:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey all,
    I was wondering if I could get a bit of advice. I installed this app. on facebook (Are You Interested?) and I recently got a wink message from a girl in Dublin. She's quite good looking and I think I might as well give it a shot. Does anyone else have any experience with this? Thanks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭tolteq

I went to a foreign country to meet a girl. She was a muslim. only went for 4 days and i was with her for 2. best two days of my life. and i met the girl on facebook!

go for it!

i met another girl actually on the same site. been talkin to her for a year. i cant wait to go see her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

From a girls point of view,I'm on Facebook and use that app too. It's a good way to get chatting people you won't meet down the local pub! While most of it is just chat for me, i swapped numbers with one guy, we talk and text, have met and i do like him. Tho we're not boyfriend and girlfriend...yet!...i think it could be something :)

The only thing is i wouldnt fly off anywhere to meet someone, so fair play to those that do!!

So go for it, u have nothing to lose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I've never tried this. I used to have that thing on my Facebook page but I got rid of it when I deleted my profile. I have a new Facebook page now so I might set it up again. I guess you have to have a picture on your profile for it to be worthwhile?

I could put a picture up but I'm trying to avoid someone so I don't want them to see I have a profile again.

I met my boyfriend using Are You Interested on FB! A number of other people I know have met partners on that application as well. FB is a great way to get to vet someone and see what they're like, who their friends are, etc. etc. before actually meeting them.

Definitely go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Don't emotionally invest yourself in it at all until it gets to a further stage and there has been some chatting back and forth with a good chance of meeting up in 'real life'. But yeah, go for it :)

I got talking to a girl on AYI and ended up sending messages back and forth for a couple of weeks when I decided to ask her if she wanted to meet up...

That was 4 months ago, we're now a couple and she the most beautiful girl in the world :-) Best thing I ever did, Go for it! :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

Might give it a go, I've just moved to a new city and only know a handful of people here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭merlie

I didn't know Facebook was a dating site! But if you want to get to know the girl more than you should chat with her before making any decisions, as what's on the outside isn't necessarily what's on the the inside.

Good luck

Merlie :)

I have that on my FB profile. I've received a grand total of 0 winks :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Hman09

I have that on my FB profile. I've received a grand total of 0 winks :(

aww, ill wink at ya ;)

Hman09 wrote: »
    aww, ill wink at ya ;)

Thanks for the offer, pity you aren't female :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Send me your link - I'll wink at you (I'm a she). You might be sorry though :D

I guess like everything else, it's worth a gamble. There's no harm in emailing her back and see what happens. Maybe she's messing, maybe not. You'll never know unless you try and find out.

Does anyone have any advice on how to actually go about approaching her though? Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭demon83

Just send a message introducing yourself, its how I met my current GF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Doesn't anyone just meet in real life anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

prinz, please remember that off topic and unhelpful posting on this forum will get you banned from it.

Ta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

I went on a date through an application I found on Facebook. Met up over the weekend, nice guy and we got on well. Got a text today saying he'd fun but can we just be mates. So nice way of saying I don't fancy you, go away. sighs....this dating malarkey is tough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Xiney wrote: »
    prinz, please remember that off topic and unhelpful posting on this forum will get you banned from it.

Ta.

Apologies. Given that this a non-Relationship "Issue" anyway I presumed all replies were welcome.

OP I suggest you prod, or superpoke or whatever it is facebookers do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Photojoe

prinz wrote: »
    Doesn't anyone just meet in real life anymore?
    Everything is real life Pinzy. Chatting online is just another outlet for some people. Generally the uglier kind but it takes all sorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Photojoe wrote: »
    Generally the uglier kind but it takes all sorts.

The OP has described the original girl as "quite good looking" so clearly, this doesn't hold.

I went on a date through an application I found on Facebook. Met up over the weekend, nice guy and we got on well. Got a text today saying he'd fun but can we just be mates. So nice way of saying I don't fancy you, go away. sighs....this dating malarkey is tough!

Welcome to the world of men. We get this all the time.

I have that Are You Interested thing on my Facebook but about 0.01% of the girls it displays are in Ireland and the rest are millions of miles away. Maybe it's an omen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

I have that Are You Interested thing on my Facebook but about 0.01% of the girls it displays are in Ireland and the rest are millions of miles away.

You know you can change it to 'my country' and that narrows the search down! ;)

To the OP just find something in her picture/description and use that as an opener. Or get a line no one else uses for the people who have no description. Once people start talking on it it's easy.

Well, what happened in my situation with this Application was

1. he clicked yes on me(i'm a girl by the way)
    2. i clicked yes on him, so we were a match
    3. he sent me a wink
    4. i replied with a message
    5. we exchanged a few messages over the following days
    6. we then added each other as friends on facebook(this is a good way of seeing more about their life, friends,personality etc)
    7. we then swapped phone numbers
    8. text and called for a few weeks
    9. arranged to meet up
    10. had a great first date with date no.2 lined up!

So my advice is to just send the girl a message to say hi. Obviously if she has already clicked on you, u know that she is already interested. Be upfront and confident about it, as i don't think i would have met my date only he took the initiative in moving things along. And i'm very glad he did!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭GigaByte

Well, what happened in my situation with this Application was

1. he clicked yes on me(i'm a girl by the way)
    2. i clicked yes on him, so we were a match
    3. he sent me a wink
    4. i replied with a message
    5. we exchanged a few messages over the following days
    6. we then added each other as friends on facebook(this is a good way of seeing more about their life, friends,personality etc)
    7. we then swapped phone numbers
    8. text and called for a few weeks
    9. arranged to meet up
    10. had a great first date with date no.2 lined up!

So my advice is to just send the girl a message to say hi. Obviously if she has already clicked on you, u know that she is already interested. Be upfront and confident about it, as i don't think i would have met my date only he took the initiative in moving things along. And i'm very glad he did!

Thats exactly what I did!! :D

I have a friend who met his OH through an app like this on Facebook, and 14 months later they're still going strong. Best of luck OP!

Cheers guys!! Unfortunately I'm not getting a reply so I might leave it. Ta anyway!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

Too bad you need to install a special "application" on facebook for this

most of the people on facebook are all fridgets, and get all paranoid when they get a message from someone they dont know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭snowy2008

ah dont be like that, give her time!!!! c'mon, think positive!

Ah yeah. Kinda no other choice when you think about it. Thanks lads!

Well, I just got a gift off her this morning. Last message I sent she replied in a similar manner. Would it be time to give up?

Hi, I'm joining this a bit late but what app on facebook is the one you are all one about? I searched AYI and several came up, anyone in particular better than another??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Hi, I'm joining this a bit late but what app on facebook is the one you are all one about? I searched AYI and several came up, anyone in particular better than another??

The first one that comes up in the search. Whichever one has the most members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 dublinpd

That's a good thing to try... Nothing to lose. By the way many thanks