Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swords Race 4 ..........

• 06-05-2009 10:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭

So lads and lassies
    Who's riding tonight ? Looks like another tough nite of wind and rain ! :eek:

Biker Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

biker_joe wrote: »
    So lads and lassies
    Who's riding tonight ? Looks like another tough nite of wind and rain ! :eek:

Biker Joe

I'm in

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Marshalling :(

Just remember its changed from the Corduff to the Garristown circuit because of road works
    (3 laps instead of 2 as well)
    Sign on Garristown main street (same place as race 2)

RobFowl wrote: »
    Marshalling :(

Just remember its changed from the Corduff to the Garristown circuit because of road works
    (3 laps instead of 2 as well)
    Sign on Garristown main street (same place as race 2)

Is this the same circuit as the Garristown one we did a couple of weeks ago?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Raam wrote: »
    Is this the same circuit as the Garristown one we did a couple of weeks ago?
    Yes

Yes

So painful, so very very painful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

I'm at the boot Inn tonight (10 mileTT)... need to get along to a club race soon though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭biker_joe

So painful, so very very painful.

Except there is a extra lap of PAIN !!!

it will be 1st race back after illness plagued start to the season, so just hoping to get around.

Biker Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Theoretically I'm in too. My 1st race this year so look out for someone looking like this :eek: at the end of the race. If I get that far.

Hail Mary, full of grace, please let the rain hold off, Amen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Billy Whizz

I'll be heading out also, hopefully it stays dry!

Except there is a extra lap of PAIN !!!

it will be 1st race back after illness plagued start to the season, so just hoping to get around.

Biker Joe.

I thought it was 3 laps the first time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Cadex

Hi - em sorry, hope to get to do the Duathlon in the Park tonight, combining my two interests of running and cycling. (no good at either but 'enthusiastic' participant might cover it). This will be my first one since 2007, so time has dulled the pain and left me with golden memories of 'Chariots of fire' type moments - though on reflection, I might actually have been running in slow motion!
    The very best of luck with it, hope we all get nice weather and any wind that's there, follows us around the course. See you next week?

Looking at fixture list it was down for 2 .... plus the light factor makes sense that it was 2 ?

did it feel like 3 for ya ?????

Biker Joe

Looking at fixture list it was down for 2 .... plus the light factor makes sense that it was 2 ?

did it feel like 3 for ya ?????

Biker Joe

oh yeah, you're right, it was two. It felt a lot longer :o

I thought it was 3 laps the first time?

Was only 2 maybe thats why you found it so tough ;)

Either that or you pushed it so hard were hallucinating :D

@RAAM - that's not as bad as thinking there's another lap while in the race, thinking to myself "Jeeze this pace has really hotted up all of a sudden", only to find everying slowing down on crossing the line and me all set for another lap. How annoyed was I when I even had the legs for the gallop. Seriously I have no idea of what happens in a race. I just pedal as hard as I can and try not to p!ss anyone off! It's like I hear my name called and then an hour or so later I'm pedaling back to my car.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Hungrycol wrote: »
    @RAAM - that's not as bad as thinking there's another lap while in the race, thinking to myself "Jeeze this pace has really hotted up all of a sudden", only to find everying slowing down on crossing the line and me all set for another lap. How annoyed was I when I even had the legs for the gallop. Seriously I have no idea of what happens in a race. I just pedal as hard as I can and try not to p!ss anyone off! It's like I hear my name called and then an hour or so later I'm pedaling back to my car.

Lol, try sprinting towards a parked jeep with a guy in a high viz vest standing beside it, only to discover that its some random farmer and the finish is really another 200 metres down the road.

el tonto wrote: »
    Lol, try sprinting towards a parked jeep with a guy in a high viz vest standing beside it, only to discover that its some random farmer and the finish is really another 200 metres down the road.

Sounds like a great lead out for someone !!!

Still nice and breezy out there .... Winds SW at 26mph ..... will have to HIDE :eek: !

Sounds like a great lead out for someone !!!

Still nice and breezy out there .... Winds SW at 26mph ..... will have to HIDE :eek: !

There are quite alot of expert wheelsuckers in Swords so you can learn from the best :cool:

Someone please teach me this skill.

Hey Rob Fowl you calling me a wheel sucker !!!!

Would you rather I go to the front of the group and line it out for a couple a miles and line it OUT ! :D

Hey Rob Fowl you calling me a wheel sucker !!!!

Would you rather I go to the front of the group and line it out for a couple a miles and line it OUT ! :D
    If you are who I think you are then definitely not a wheelsucker :D

ah so who am i ? and who are you ??? :D ( PM if you wanna ! )

Biker Joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭bikergal

Hope the race went well.. Pity that rain did not hold off! Will make it to a race soon i hope!

Wheelsuckers.. I think ya need a woman in the middle of the group to sort yis out!!

What a night. The pace was frantic. I punctured out half way around the first of two laps. Back wheel slammed into a pot hole. i was out of the race after that but carried on on my tobler. That's was one tough course and the amount of pot holes is seen to be believed.

Hungrycol wrote: »
    What a night. The pace was frantic. I punctured out half way around the first of two laps. Back wheel slammed into a pot hole. i was out of the race after that but carried on on my tobler. That's was one tough course and the amount of pot holes is seen to be believed.

Was marshalling but remember it well from a few weeks ago. that pot hole between turns 3 and 4 takes up half the road !!!!

Last night was fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Report please :pac:

lukester wrote: »
    Report please :pac:

It's in the post

Hey Raam
    Good stuff, looks like you got around fine last night ! well done ... .with the winner coming from your group... did you get a place ?

biker Joe

Hey Raam
    Good stuff, looks like you got around fine last night ! well done ... .with the winner coming from your group... did you get a place ?

biker Joe

I made a rookie mistake earlier on, so lost the bunch.
    How did you get on?

Lungs closed up ! GAME OVER !

Biker Joe

Lungs closed up ! GAME OVER !

Biker Joe

you looked like you were going well at the start. I like those castelli overshoes you have :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Rookie mistake - explain ?

Junior wrote: »
    Rookie mistake - explain ?

Just waiting for the report to go up. I'll stick a link in here when it does. It was nothing dramatic, just me not paying attention :o

I think you need more racing lad, I think you've got the fitness from what I'm reading but you've not reading races right yet ?

I'll happily admit that I haven't a clue about racing. I've seen a million on the telly, but when in the midst of one it's a different story. All the races so far have been a learning experience.

How long are you racing now ? If you can understand what's going down on the races on the telly you'll not go far wrong, it's just a matter of picking out who and where to watch what happens on the road...

2 TTs (1 was the Kippure) and 5 road races. I know what's happening on the telly thanks to Sean and Harmon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

How do you know which bunch to chase and which to leave go? I presume this comes from knowing the riders in a given race. For example, if a breakaway occurs, and the fastest guys hang back, it's a fair guess that they plan to reel in the break at some point, and hopefully you can hang on to their wheel when they do. And outsprint them to the line, of course.

But if you have no idea of riders' level, it's hard to strategise. I imagine :)

Edit: I have never raced, but am inspired by those who are giving it a try.

lukester wrote: »
    How do you know which bunch to chase and which to leave go? I presume this comes from knowing the riders in a given race. For example, if a breakaway occurs, and the fastest guys hang back, it's a fair guess that they plan to reel in the break at some point, and hopefully you can hang on to their wheel when they do. And outsprint them to the line, of course.

But if you have no idea of riders' level, it's hard to strategise. I imagine :)

Well if your riding in the same group in a league race you should know who's who, you'll probably have one lad who takes off early doors, one guy who attacks around a hill etc.

It's a matter of just riding to your own strengths, sitting on when you can, and riding when you have to.

I know one lad down this neck of the woods who used always to race with a small allen key set, coming towards the end of a race you'd look around for him to come thru and he'd be adjusting the saddle with the allen keys, ahh no lads, saddle is ****ed, I can't ride, and he'd whoosh passed you in the last few metres..

you looked like you were going well at the start. I like those castelli overshoes you have :)

yea that's been the problem ! grand for 20mins or so .... and then bang ...
    not my usual self this year, in the midst of getting it sorted !

As for riding the league, the main for any group is to try and get everyone working well together ( not always easy and hard in a group of mixed abilities !) once all groups are caught then the free for all should occur !
    If messing occurs early on, then if you are in front group 1,2 3 etc you will be caught early !! and if you are in a rear group 4,5,6 etc you will not catch the front groups ... either way you will have no chance of placing !

Biker Joe ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Billy Whizz

As far as club league races go, I just try to do lots of work and get as good a training benefit as possible. In my opinion you're better off riding up-and-overs with stronger riders or heading off up the road on a crazy attack. If you run out of gas, so be it. Some guys who've been sitting in will come past you at the end, but sure it's only a league race and you'll be stronger for it. Save the clever racing for the weekends.

Surely thats crazy talk Billy !!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

I made a rookie mistake earlier on, so lost the bunch.
    How did you get on?
    Great to see you are getting stuck in and racing at last Raam :). By the way, you say that
    "I took a pair of sunglasses, but not the dark ones, instead I brought those nice blue lens ones that brighten up a dull day"
    Next time pick the rose tinted ones and you will never lose sight of the main bunch;).
    Looking forward to hearing you beat B
    biker joe in a sprint finish some evening soon. ( Before he gets his breathing problems sorted out!)

@ biker joe maybe old age is catching up on you :P

On a serious note I hope you get that sorted soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Cadex

Raam, sounds like you're getting better and better, fair play. Good report. This is what I got up to on the same night (Duathlon) -

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055554237&page=3

Race 4: May 6th Garristown CP
    1st Adam Lawler (Swords)
    2nd Keith Sharkey (Swords)
    3rd Derek Humphries (Swords)
    4th Joe Moyne (Swords)
    5th Mick Daly (Swords)
    6th Mick Rock (Swords)
    7th Jason Kelly (Swords)
    8th Paddy Callaly (Swords)
    Conditions: Wet & Windy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

Race 4: May 6th Garristown CP
    1st Adam Lawler (Swords)
    2nd Keith Sharkey (Swords)
    3rd Derek Humphries (Swords) my brother :)
    4th Joe Moyne (Swords)
    5th Mick Daly (Swords)
    6th Mick Rock (Swords)
    7th Jason Kelly (Swords)
    8th Paddy Callaly (Swords)
    Conditions: Wet & Windy

well done Derek