Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bora tdi turbo failure?

• 05-05-2009 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys,
    driving a 2002 tdi (red-td i think) and trhe power just went in it today. Following on from this it just wouldnt kick on past 120k. Im fairly ignorant about motors tbh but what do people sugest? does it sound like the turbo is 'gone' and will have to be replaced? is this even possible or a big job if so? im hitting 90k miles on it at the moment but would easily clear 6/700 kms a week. It still drives but its has lost all kick...
    any suggestions would be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭scudster

If there is a grinding noise when you rev the engine then most likely you turbo is knackered. But my guess is your airflow sensor on the air intake is either unplugged or needs replacing. Your car will just drive like a normally aspirated diesel if it is the latter. I'd advise getting it checked out by a mechanic. Its possible to sieze your engine if you drive it with a knackered turbo as it will send all your oil out your exhaust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Should definitely be a nasty mechanical noise if the turbo was gone, along with lots of smoke out of the exhaust. 90k miles on a TDI Bora is barely broken in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Hi Guys,
    driving a 2002 tdi (red-td i think) and trhe power just went in it today. Following on from this it just wouldnt kick on past 120k. Im fairly ignorant about motors tbh but what do people sugest? does it sound like the turbo is 'gone' and will have to be replaced? is this even possible or a big job if so? im hitting 90k miles on it at the moment but would easily clear 6/700 kms a week. It still drives but its has lost all kick...

Is there excessive smoke out of the exhasut when you rev it now? if so what colour is it? black and smokey or white/blue-ish?

What were the circumstances in which it happened,it could be a turbo failure or it could be as simple as the plastic pancake pipe from the intercooler popping off,this is a quite common occurrance and the symptons would be as described.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Row

Sounds like the turbo.....:mad:....as a friend of mine had the same Symptoms
    on his 1.9 Tdi skoda octavia ...a few months ago.
    as above it needs to be checked out....:(
    If its pluged into a diagnoistic equiptment you may get a fault code ...e.g
    m.a.p. (manifold absolute pressure) may be reading below it's set values...no turbo pressure.......:rolleyes:
    best of luck...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Ferris

Hi Guys,

If the turbo is gone your oil feed line to the turbo will eventually suck all the oil out of the sump and sieze your engine. Like the lads said the exhaust smoke will be blue, unless its your air intake/MAF in which case the exhaust smoke is likely to be blue. Either way its time to bring the car to a good mechanic for a diagnosis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭positivenote

hi guys, drove it another 90 miles this morning to work and its the same as yesterday... no kick at all. There is no colour disfiguration in the exhauste smoke as far as i can see... will it get me home tonite or will i be able to keep driving it untill my mechanic is availble to have a look at it ?
    THanks for the advice

hi guys, drove it another 90 miles this morning to work and its the same as yesterday... no kick at all. There is no colour disfiguration in the exhauste smoke as far as i can see... will it get me home tonite or will i be able to keep driving it untill my mechanic is availble to have a look at it ?
    THanks for the advice

Keep a close eye on the oil level so, literally check it before every trip in case its the turbo. I have to say it sounds like its something else however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭macrubicon

If it's driving fairly normal but just does not kick on like it used to it may well just be the MAF.

Happens a good bit and easy if not totally cheap to fix....

about to leave work guys, do yis reckon it'll be alright to get me the 90km home to my mechanic... last thing i want is to be stuck by the side of the road onto the AA :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

It sounds like the intercooler rubber piping has slid off/burst. I'd the same issue with a Bora a few years ago.

guys thanks for the responses. got it home and to my mechanic, he unplugged that MOF yoke and the kick was back. Its getting replaced on friday... cost of 80euro.
    as a side issue having replaced a clutch at 50k miles, inserted a new timing kit at 67k miles its know at 89k miles do you reckon it'll keep me going for a while yet or should i be thinking about a replacement soon? keeping in mind that id cover 700ish km a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

its'll be grand no need to sell it

not really concerned with selling tbh, more trying to skope expected milage from the engine (TDi red D i)... and sussing out how long more i could expect to keep it on the road.
    Thanks for advice so far

not really concerned with selling tbh, more trying to skope expected milage from the engine (TDi red D i)... and sussing out how long more i could expect to keep it on the road.
    Thanks for advice so far

Depends on oil really with the engine and turbo, 1.9tdi's need the correct grade of VAG approved oil not any semi synthetic 10W40 sh1te that your mechanic has, and it needs it every 10k on the button. Use a VW oil filter also. I replaced a turbo at 100k in my Golf(600quid). The hydraulic tappets needed doing too(400quid). Apart from that if your DMF and clutch are still ok then they're likely to last also. I never did the injectors.

Really that all that can go wrong mechanically with them and once bits are fixed on time then the skys the limit mileage wise. TAking it easy while cold and not turning the engine off straight away after a hard run helps any engine.

More likely to go are interior electrics, central locking and rear calipers but find a good scrappy and your expence will be limited big time. They're cheap cars to run.