Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kickboxing / Muay Thai in Dublin

• 04-05-2009 11:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭

I'm looking to get into some form of Kickboxing, mainly because I've heard it's very good to get up your fitness and that would be the main reason I'm doing it, but also having some form of self-defense would be a bonus.

I did a bit of Karate when I was a teenager but apart from that have no experience in any martial arts. I'm fairly unfit and slightly overweight and a woman. Can anyone recommend a school in & around Dublin 1, 2, 7 or 8 that wouldn't be too indimidating to join as a beginner.

I've come accross Muay Thai while searching for info on this but not exactly sure what is involved in the training for this. Would it be similar to kickboxing? Is it possible to do this and not spar?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Pop into bridgestone (Muay Thai). There's a link in my sig. It's near smithfield. Beginners classes are on Monday - Thursday at 7pm-8.15pm.

Best to turn up about 20 minutes early for your first class. Bring shorts and a t-shirt. There are other women in the class so don't worry about that end of things. Don't worry about your fitness or being overweight. More or less everyone who walks in the door for the first time is unfit.

I wont say it's similar to kickboxing because I'd get bashed. :) But it involves kicking and boxing for the most part. Great workout. Much more enjoyable than a normal gym.

Just go down and give it a lash! I guarantee you'll be glad you did.

edit: If you're a bit nervous about heading down the first time on your own, drop me a PM and I'll say hello when you walk in and give you a run down on what's what (changing rooms, getting gear, holding pads, etc.). It's a friendly place though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭white apples

Thanks Khannie. Sounds really good. Working tonight but might pop down on Wednesday evening. Can't wait actually!!

Fair play to ye. :) Interested to hear how you get on. I'll be down Wednesday too (but for the fighters class, which is on after beginners). Wednesday's probably a good day to go for your first class as it's one of the quieter days.

Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

cant recommend Muay Thai enough,you will be fit as a fiddle in no time.

Once you get yopur fitness up,you will probaly end up sparring aswell:)Dont be worried you will be padded up with 16oz boxing gloves on ye(imagine getting 3 toilet rolls and taping them to your hands)

hope you enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 up_the_dubs

I've been thinking about starting muay thai as well. my mate told me about bridgestone, so i looked into it. I'm a bit unsure about it tho, I've never done any kind of martial art before, and I haven't worked out properly in years so needless to say I'm pretty weak and unfit. is bridgestone a friendly enviroment for female beginners that are completely unfit and new to martial arts? I've pictured it to be full of well trained guys laughin at every newbie walking in :D
    Would wednesdays be the best day to go the first time then? Is it still fairly quiet on wednesdays? Do you get some extra help from the instructor the first time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've been thinking about starting muay thai as well. my mate told me about bridgestone, so i looked into it. I'm a bit unsure about it tho, I've never done any kind of martial art before, and I haven't worked out properly in years so needless to say I'm pretty weak and unfit. is bridgestone a friendly enviroment for female beginners that are completely unfit and new to martial arts? I've pictured it to be full of well trained guys laughin at every newbie walking in :D
    Would wednesdays be the best day to go the first time then? Is it still fairly quiet on wednesdays? Do you get some extra help from the instructor the first time?

HA HA - look at the Newbie's first post :D

is bridgestone a friendly enviroment for female beginners that are completely unfit and new to martial arts?

It is yeah.
    I've pictured it to be full of well trained guys laughin at every newbie walking in :D

Not in the slightest.
    Would wednesdays be the best day to go the first time then? Is it still fairly quiet on wednesdays?

Niall Molloy does the Wednesday class. He's a sound lad and a good instructor. Wednesdays are still quiet enough, but getting busier I think.
    Do you get some extra help from the instructor the first time?

You'll be shown where stuff is at a minimum. Depending on the number of first timers you may be shown the basics (stance, guard, etc.) by one of the lads from the fighters class while the instructor goes ahead.

I'd say just give it a lash....nothing bad will happen to you. Honest. :)

thanks for the answers. i bet you've answered the same questions loads of times already, so sorry for that :)
    i think i'll give a go fairly soon then. i think i will really enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭white apples

I only ended up going to one class and haven't been back since cos of other stuff that's been going on but it was great and I'm hoping to go back next week and keep it up. Everyone was sound and it wasn't too packed.

What day you thinking of going along to? I'm gonna try do Tuesdays starting from next week.

Yeah I hope it's as good as it sounds. I'm not sure which day I'll go, I'll probably go down tuesday or wednesday next week, depending on when I have the time. sounds like wednesday might be the best day to go the first time anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭legend365

Good gym!

It will have ye fit in no-time

thanks for the answers. i bet you've answered the same questions loads of times already, so sorry for that :)

Haha. No problem at all. :) I was in your position before. I started in Bridgestone because of a thread on here.