Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tommy Walsh Kilkenny

• 04-05-2009 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭

It was great to see a tough and physical encounter between the two old rivals KK and Tipp yesterday and eventhough Tipp lost I'm sure Kilkenny people didnt expect Tipp to put up even a challenge. Both teams played great hurling and it was nice to see the game competitive and could have gone either way.

However, I was disgusted to see Tommy Walsh throwing his hurley at the Tipp player when he got past Walsh and all he got for that incident was a black card. I was never a big fan of Walsh's antics on the pitch. I dont know why he would do such incidents afterall this man has won nearly everything in hurling. For a small and light man im surprised he still in one piece.

Is he going to get away with that hurley incident or what? Because if he does he will do the same thing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

The ref was correct, under the rules throwing the hurley like that is a tick and black book. So thats the only option available for something like that. I'm not saying its right or wrong but thats the rule

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Lightsaber

The confusing regarding this is pathetic.

Tommy Walsh, under the experimental rules, received the correct punishment (black book) for throwing the hurley.

Under the old rules (which now come back into effect) he would have recieved a yellow card.

So Tommy Walsh was not lucky to stay on the field, he was perfectly entitled to stay on the field having received his correct punishment of being shown the black book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

Tommy Walsh is a filthy player, ever watch the old throw back the hurley routine he does out of defence?
    Remember the pull across his opponents legs and from what I hear in club games in Kilkenny he doesn't exactly spare it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

zenmonk wrote: »
    Tommy Walsh is a filthy player, ever watch the old throw back the hurley routine he does out of defence?
    Remember the pull across his opponents legs and from what I hear in club games in Kilkenny he doesn't exactly spare it either.

'The old throw back the hurley thing he does out of defence' Can you please elaborate on how many times you have seen him hit and/or injure someone with this?

I assume you are referring the pull across Diarmuid Lyngs legs in which Lyng didn't even break stride and went on to score a point? It was a stupid flailing swing below knee height but was blown out of all proportion because the hurl broke, yet some people think of this pull every time the think of Tommy Walsh

He threw the hurl on Sunday to hook the swing of the Tipp player, it was not intended to hurt the player. It was stupid though and has no place in hurling, especially from a player that is a hero to so many youngsters but he received the correct punishment according the rules

This Kilkenny team due to their success have had the most exposure of any hurling team in the last 10 years, and have probably been in the most televised matches of any team so your bound to see the highest profile players in one or two 'incidents', it's the nature of hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Was there any particular reason for this rule change reagarding the throwing of the hurley?

I don't like when players do it, but there good have been 3-4 sendings off (the likes of Kavanagh, Shefflin, Webster etc) with a half a dozen yellows on Sunday. Yes, it was that good of a hurling match. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

The only other time I've ever seen it happen was John Gardiner against us a few years ago, but I didn't think much of it at the time. If anything, it just makes you look incredibly stupid and desperate that you have to go to those lengths to stop a player. I don't think there's ever any malice in it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

Orizio wrote: »
    Was there any particular reason for this rule change reagarding the throwing of the hurley?

I don't like when players do it, but there good have been 3-4 sendings off (the likes of Kavanagh, Shefflin, Webster etc) with a half a dozen yellows on Sunday. Yes, it was that good of a hurling match. :p

It is strange that the rule was changed in this area, it's an offense that in my opinion looks particularly bad and it should be against the instinct of a hurler to ever let go of the hurl let alone throw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I was going for Tipp... just putting my bias out there, and I thought Tommy Should have walked. But earlier, in the lead up to a KK goal, a Tipp defender tossed the hurley (underhanded mind you, not flaked at the man as TW did). So that evened up.
    Eddie Brennan however should get a long suspension for his elbow to the Tipp defenders head. It looked awful at first, and the replays made it worse. Clear intent and a dangerous neck injury waiting to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Power-surge

His antics yesterday didnt surprise me at all. I always thought he was a dirty hurler!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

I've always rated him as one of the best hurlers in the game. He made a mistake on Sunday, but it wasn't the dirtiest of strokes.

His antics yesterday didnt surprise me at all. I always thought he was a dirty hurler!

Absolutely. He is considered a dirty player by alot of observers. Sure he's great because he's a little fella. What he did to Lyng should have got a 3 month ban last year.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HQ1FtJP_5M
    Another classic http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9qUrAXdFYY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭bricky10

Absolutely. He is considered a dirty player my alot of observers. Sure he's great because he's a little fella. What he did to Lyng should have got a 3 month ban last year.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HQ1FtJP_5M

2 perfect examples, especially the first one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

at what stage of the match did walsh throw the hurl?? trying to find it on the highlights vid on youtube...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Absolutely. He is considered a dirty player my alot of observers. Sure he's great because he's a little fella. What he did to Lyng should have got a 3 month ban last year.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HQ1FtJP_5M

The second one shows Eoin Kelly in a much worse light than Walsh (even though I absolutely wouldn't consider Kelly to be a malicious hurler). For Walsh's part, he's mostly only reacting, apart from when they get near the dugout. As for the first one, yeah, a stupid impetuous act, but it's sensationalised to the last by some of you guys; it's not the malicious leg-breaking strike that people love to believe.

Speaking as a complete neutral, I don't consider Walsh to be the dirty player that you all seem to believe he is. Maybe if he hadn't been destroying your wing-forwards for the last 5 years or so, you wouldn't have such contempt for him?

The second one shows Eoin Kelly in a much worse light than Walsh (even though I absolutely wouldn't consider Kelly to be a malicious hurler). For Walsh's part, he's mostly only reacting, apart from when they get near the dugout. As for the first one, yeah, a stupid impetuous act, but it's sensationalised to the last by some of you guys; it's not the malicious leg-breaking strike that people love to believe.

Speaking as a complete neutral, I don't consider Walsh to be the dirty player that you all seem to believe he is. Maybe if he hadn't been destroying your wing-forwards for the last 5 years or so, you wouldn't have such contempt for him?

Listen man , I could care less about him destroying players in a fair way - I have no bad feeling towards Kilkenny as a team. They do play on the edge but as a Clareman I can hardly complain but Walsh often hurls with malice and goes over the line frequently. The only reason the Lyng incident wasn't picked up on to my eyes was because in fairness Lyng played on and got on with it. Walsh didn't seem to be too worried if he broke his leg or not. Throwing the hurl on Sunday again showed what a <snip> Walsh is - do you think he rationalised it and said to himself " I can throw a hurl at this guy now with the new laws" No- it was instinct as was the pull on Lyng.
    And back to an earlier point I made - watch carefully as Walsh fields a ball and bursts out of defence in the next game - the hurl always gets whipped back - this is a foul and very dangerous but is never seized on because Tommy is a great little fella and he plays for Kilkenny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Alfie Boon

Will the lot of ye ever cop on to yourselves!!!!!
    7 or 8 years of intercounty hurling and 1 dirty stroke(Lyng),1 attempt to hit a hurl to knock the ball off it(Kelly) and 1 stupid act of throwing the hurl out of frustration which he did not hit the Tipp player.A 6 year old would actually throw it harder.

Lads....Take a look at the BS doing the rounds on forums at the moment.Complete and utter drivel born out of envy.
    You boys should take up snakes and ladders and attend the girl guides,because I sincerly doubt ye are men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Listen man , I could care less about him destroying players in a fair way - I have no bad feeling towards Kilkenny as a team. They do play on the edge but as a Clareman I can hardly complain but Walsh often hurls with malice and goes over the line frequently.

"Often hurls with malice" and "frequently goes over the line"? Ah come on now. He's an aggressive hurler who probably needs to control that aggression at times, but it's just selective memory to say that he's any worse or better than any other tough hurler.
    The only reason the Lyng incident wasn't picked up on to my eyes was because in fairness Lyng played on and got on with it. Walsh didn't seem to be too worried if he broke his leg or not.

I can't remember if he got a card for that or not, but it would have been a yellow at most. It's a wild pull, but that's all. But to say he doesn't worry if he breaks someone's leg is both baseless and unfair.
    Throwing the hurl on Sunday again showed what a pup Walsh is - do you think he rationalised it and said to himself " I can throw a hurl at this guy now with the new laws" No- it was instinct as was the pull on Lyng.

There have been quite a few incidents of hurls being thrown in the last few years. Is everyone who does it a dirty player, or is it just someone who has a reputation like Walsh? It's a relatively harmless offence, hence the reason why the punishment is just a black book.
    And back to an earlier point I made - watch carefully as Walsh fields a ball and bursts out of defence in the next game - the hurl always gets whipped back - this is a foul and very dangerous

He's not the only player to do this, I recall a few players having this action when they come out of the crowd.
    but is never seized on because Tommy is a great little fella and he plays for Kilkenny.

... and, conversely, the reason that threads like this happen is because he is Tommy Walsh, one of the best young players in the game, who plays for the 3-in-a-row winners. It's selective memory tinged with a bit of jealousy.

Hitman
    I'm presenting the facts here backed up with evidence.
    Alfie you are a troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Alfie Boon wrote: »
    Will the lot of ye ever cop on to yourselves!!!!!
    7 or 8 years of intercounty hurling and 1 dirty stroke(Lyng),1 attempt to hit a hurl to knock the ball off it(Kelly) and 1 stupid act of throwing the hurl out of frustration which he did not hit the Tipp player.A 6 year old would actually throw it harder.

Lads....Take a look at the BS doing the rounds on forums at the moment.Complete and utter drivel born out of envy.
    You boys should take up snakes and ladders and attend the girl guides,because I sincerly doubt ye are men

Alfie while you may have a point please tone down some of your posts
    Hitman
    Alfie you are a troll.

zenmonk if you have a problem with a post attack the post not the poster, or if you feel it is in breach of the charter report the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Alfie Boon

Hitman
    Alfie you are a troll.
    Did you play camoige as a child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Alfie Boon wrote: »
    Did you play camoige as a child?

Okay fine, ignore the warning. You are trolling take a break from the forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Benhonan

Both Kelly and Walsh are hugely talented hurlers with nasty streaks. I've seen both pull dirty strokes in intercounty matches over the years. That said, that goes for an awful lot of hurlers who play at this level, and I do think that it is their talent which singles them out for this kind of treatment. I would place Dizzy Lyng in the same category as Walsh; tough, small hurler who makes up for lack of size with huge aggression which sometimes borders on dirty play.

Still hurling being the game that it is, I wouldn't waste my time paying so much attention to these fairly frequent occurences across the board and would prefer to focus on the massive talent which these players exhibit. For the record I'm another neutral Clareman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Is their an inter-county team that does not have a hard man or 2 playing? I doubt it very much.

Tommy Walsh gets highlighted by the Sunday game people who are begrudgers, they have different sets of rules. When I went to look at Youtube one of the clips I also saw was Sean Og hitting a Galway player in through the visor on his helmet. Not a lot made of that but sure look at the panelists....... Mr Mulcahy. And as for Cyril Farrell he would rubbish it by saying they are getting ready for summer battles as he did when Philly Larkin and Redser took lumps out of each other in Nowlan Park a few years ago in a league match. It all gowes back to the Referee. They need to be consistant and the fact is some are not.

Tommy plays right on the line but he no worse than quite a few others. Now if he was from Wexford, Laoise or Dublin!! He would have got red like Liam Dunne did a few times and this is why Conaill Keaney plays football instead of Hurling.
    It appears to me their is truth in what my late Mother used to say as she took another drag on a smoke, "The biggest cause of death in Ireland is begrudgery".
    Im off for a smoke now lads and girlguides.
    My prediction is Dublin will beat cats in Leinster and Antrim will hammer all before them and the moderators will want loads of overtime to cope. Good night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I suppose its not just possible Walsh, Brennan and Shefflin are dirty players and the current Kilkenny hurling team is dirty?

I mean it is a possibility...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 eastcat

Daysha wrote: »
    The only other time I've ever seen it happen was John Gardiner against us a few years ago, but I didn't think much of it at the time. If anything, it just makes you look incredibly stupid and desperate that you have to go to those lengths to stop a player. I don't think there's ever any malice in it though.

A hurl was thrown in last years AI final as Larkin scored the third goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 eastcat

I suppose its not just possible Walsh, Brennan and Shefflin are dirty players and the current Kilkenny hurling team is dirty?

Here is a fine example of an incident which was virtually unmentioned in the media. Digs his opponent in the face with the butt of the hurley, through the face guard.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_0Pv4YIIJo&feature=related

But when Tommy Walsh throws the hurley we have to write pages...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Even as a Tippman I wouldnt particularly say he is a dirty hurler I think he is one of the most naturally gifed versatile hurlers of this and any generation who has a tremendous will to win and that he is very petulant when things are going against him but not overly dirty as for Eddie Brennan now thats a different kettle of fish altogether ;)

Brennan being a <snip> is another story but the OP brought up Walsh so that is who I was debating. This begrudgery label is just a lazy response. What exactly am I begrudging?
    Walsh has fantastic ability, no question but tbh this thread is not concerned with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Yeah. Very possible.
    But like incidents in my county and yours (and most others) The media are doing a dis service to players with some of the trash they write. Sensational headlines, give a lad a tag and some little hitler will nail him. This to me is a growing trend and I just wonder what the odds are on Tommy Walsh, Sean Og getting a red card this summer. And when you look at it the only thing that can help Tommy Wals and Sean Og is the I think the referees in Hurling are generally more consistant than football. Have to agree with premierstone description of Tommy Walsh, Petulant.
    Its easy for us to sit back and pick out the bits and pieces we want and sure we would have 12 a side games but I dont believe Walsh threw his Hurl to hurt anyone and I think over the last 10 years he has been good for Hurling.
    Little Jockey big whip, Not the size of the dog in the fight but the size of the fight in the dog...... Is there anyone here would not pick him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Walsh should have walked on Saturday, the ref bottled it big time.

The ref booked all the usual Kilkenny suspects early in the game so they had to hurl as we all know they can, I'd say that Cody gave them some doing about their discipline at half time.

Good to see a ref take these guys on and not lie down because of who they are (edit) but he ultimately let himself down by not sending off Walsh.

R Murray certainly deserved the line for his ridiculous and dangerous stroke , he just turned his back on the ball and let fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭portumna

buck65 wrote: »
    Walsh should have walked on Saturday, the ref bottled it big time.

The ref booked all the usual Kilkenny suspects early in the game so they had to hurl as we all know they can, I'd say that Cody gave them some doing about their discipline at half time.

Good to see a ref take these guys on and not lie down because of who they are.

R Murray certainly deserved the line for his ridiculous and dangerous stroke , he just turned his back on the ball and let fly.

That's a total contradiction. Did he bottle it or did he stand up and take them on?

Barry Kelly imo is not up to this level of hurling. I've never been a fan of his and would like to see him replaced as an inter county ref. Dickie Murphy who imo was a very good ref and would even still if he had the legs to keep up with play and James McGrath (another Westmeath man) who i think will be one of the top refs in a couple of years could have done a better job.

Just to clarify, the ref looked like he was going to police the game well by booking the Kilkenny hurlers who were fouling the man consistently but he ultiamtely bottled the sending off of Walsh so he isn't a good ref. I will adjust my post accordingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭aoa321

Walsh is the dirtiest and nastiest player I've ever seen playing the game. Is he going to end up maiming somebody before we get some comment from our RTE panellists? He will actually end up breaking every bone in a fellow amateur's hand and wrist and possibly costing them a living.

How many yellow cards did KK get? I thought Cody pulled Kavanagh and Brennan off for fear they would get themselves got sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

I was actually going to post about Walsh myself but decided against it as other posters would say it's 'cause I'm from Cork.
    I had great time for this guy when he first broke on to the KK team but now I have turned completley against him.
    I've seen him do that "throwing the hurl back after clearing the ball" routine a lot and assumed it was just accidental but now I realise it's done with malicious intent.
    Something else he does which I think is much more serious is tackling his opponent high up around the neck/head area. He did it again on Saturday and was only booked for it. This is an extremely dangerous "tackle" and warrants a direct red card (unless you play for Kilkenny of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Tommy 'helicopter' Walsh.......
    ie. swings the hurley like the blades of a helicopter !! :pac:

aoa321 wrote: »
    How many yellow cards did KK get? I thought Cody pulled Kavanagh and Brennan off for fear they would get themselves got sent off.

Definitely Brennan was taken off for this reason, the commentator even felt he was gone for mouthing at the ref. I felt Kavanagh was taken off because he was struggling with Healy.
    In fairness Walsh's behaviour was pointed out by Ml Duignan (i think) when he said that Tommy over the last 2 seasons is more interested in playing the man than the ball.

lukin wrote: »
    I was actually going to post about Walsh myself but decided against it as other posters would say it's 'cause I'm from Cork.
    I had great time for this guy when he first broke on to the KK team but now I have turned completley against him.
    I've seen him do that "throwing the hurl back after clearing the ball" routine a lot and assumed it was just accidental but now I realise it's done with malicious intent.
    Something else he does which I think is much more serious is tackling his opponent high up around the neck/head area. He did it again on Saturday and was only booked for it. This is an extremely dangerous "tackle" and warrants a direct red card (unless you play for Kilkenny of course).

He was booked for the pull across D Hayes' hand about 2 seconds after Hayes had caught the ball. Remarkably like the pull across Eoin Kelly's hand on page 1 of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Definitely Brennan was taken off for this reason, the commentator even felt he was gone for mouthing at the ref. I felt Kavanagh was taken off because he was struggling with Healy.
    In fairness Walsh's behaviour was pointed out by Ml Duignan (i think) when he said that Tommy over the last 2 seasons is more interested in playing the man than the ball.

Kavanaghs substitution was a combination of both, but Healy was hardly having a great game by anyones standards.

Brennan was definitely taken off because of fear he'd be sent off.

How Walsh didn't walk for his contributions is still beyond me. For the foul that should have given him the second yellow, he clearly had eyes on the man and not on the ball. Would have made it a different game altogether.

Murrays red-card was bread and butter stuff though.

I wasn't aware of that - I can't believe how Walsh's "tactics" are not getting more attention from the press. But there is a precedent, when Loughnane dared to go there last year he was landed on from a height and he ended of beating a fast retreat.

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Murrays red-card was bread and butter stuff though.

No dispute there - but that just adds to people's frustration to see such inconsistency in the refereeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

aoa321 wrote: »
    No dispute there - but that just adds to people's frustration to see such inconsistency in the refereeing.

And it has to be said, I was at the Dublin-Galway league match in February, and Galway have a shocking discipline problem themselves. Two ridiculous red cards that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Even as a Tippman I wouldnt particularly say he is a dirty hurler I think he is one of the most naturally gifed versatile hurlers of this and any generation who has a tremendous will to win and that he is very petulant when things are going against him but not overly dirty as for Eddie Brennan now thats a different kettle of fish altogether ;)

Looks like I might have been given little Tommy too much credit Im beginning to think the OP was right - but at least I was right on Brennan :D

This article was e-mailed around our office, I can't find the link.

He complains that there is a media witch hunt to put referees under pressure to send poor innocent little Tommy off. This complaint is made in the course of an article published in a national paper in which the author is implicitly trying to put pressure on referees to not send him off, or even to not hand out a yellow card for pulling straight across another players hand.

kettle, pot, black !!
    Crusade against top cat Walsh is a real outrage
    Tom Ryan, Daily Mail, 25th June 2009

Why is Tommy Walsh the focus of a media witch hunt? There were more calls on RTE's Saturday Game for the Kilkenny wing-back to be sent off before half-time. It was just the latest swipe at Walsh, because there seems to be a body of opinion out there among the media that appears to be so widespread that you can only conclude it is orchestrated, which is specifically aimed at clipping Walsh's wings.

It is couched in all kinds of pretty language, about how he is a player who likes to play in the game's dark margins, or how he is a mirror image of his team in that he is constantly playing 'on the edge'. But the not so subtle message they are trying to put out there is that the great Tullaroan man does not play our game in the spirit that it is intended.

That is an outrage. Walsh is the embodiment of all that has made our game great. Because of that, even though he is only in his mid 20s, he has already achieved greatness himself. He is one of the greatest players that I have ever seen and he is, in my eyes, the finest half-back to ever play our game. In a supreme team, he stands out. For the last six years, he has made the hurling team of the year every time, often in different positions. This is a talent we should celebrate; this is a player who we should stuff down the throats of old hurling snobs who don't believe that a ball has ever been hurled since that day the Rings, Mackeys, Rackards and Doyles packed up.
    But instead of celebrating him, there are some there who want to stop him playing, who want him consumed by the ordinariness that surrounds him.

Last Saturday, he picked up a harsh yellow card and within minutes, because he had put in a tackle and failed to get the ball, there were calls for him to sent off. The inevitable outcome of this witchhunt is that referees will bow to pressure. The public are quick to catch up on the vibe and suddenly Walsh will be seen as a 'hard man' by opposing fans and when he is involved in an incident all hell will break loose in the stands. The pressure is being cranked up on referees to 'deal' with Walsh and some day soon, one will oblige, not because of the rules but because of reputation.

Why is this? Perhaps the media have just grown tired of Kilkenny's domination; although how anyone could grow weary of watching a team as great as this is beyond me. Although it should be noted that in recent games, questions marks have been raised about their defence - with the exception of Walsh - and that was evident last Saturday when they coughed up three goals. In particular, their obsession with one-handed hurling rather than taking control of the ball makes them vulnerable, while the quality of their clearances was poor.

These days, and this is most unlike Brian Cody, they seem to think that they can just outscore teams to win games, which is a very dangerous philosophy.

That said, I remain convinced that they will win the All Ireland and I remain steadfast in my opinion that their high skill levels and their physicality are the best things that have happened to the modern game.

But perhaps that is what is behind this witch-hunt on Walsh. The experimental rules were rejected by Congress in the Spring, but the culture which those rules sought to establish lingers on. And this culture seeks to turn our game into a non-contact sport, where the very idea of a player taking or making a hit will be frowned upon. There are people out there who believe that hurling should be played using slide rules and protractors, who want to invent a new game, a bastardised version of hockey and lacrosse. They have no feel for what made our game great, no vision as to how our game can ever become great again. They believe that the value of a game can be measured in free counts, game time and scoring levels. They are accountants, not hurling people.

They are the same ones who sit in judgement on Tommy Walsh, the ones who mutter, 'Yeah, good player, but a bit too physical, isn't he?'. The fact that they can't see what makes hurling great, what makes Tommy Walsh great, is what really frightens me.
    If there is a need for a witch-hunt - and it is not a practice I have much time for - then it might be better utilised in hunting these people out of our game and back into the ballet schools from whence they emerged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

lukin wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Paleface

Whilst I admire Tommy Walsh as an extremely talented hurler he does have an undeniably dirty element to his game and it is only going to be highlighted more and more from now on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NgUSiI8yAQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

That Daily Mail article was the biggest load of rubbish I ever read. It must have been written by Tommy's mammy. Still, Daily Mail so what d'ya expect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭wee bey

The Daily Mail, a bastion of the GAA! Only thing its useful for is drying out the boots after a training session in the wet. Walsh is brilliant for a small man and undoubtedly plays on the edge, but his antics are more macho than nasty. But **** sticks and he is gonna be under the spotlight more than most this summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

That article is utter tripe. Walsh has had that nastiness creeping into his game for the last couple of years now. I've seen him live in every championship game hes ever played pretty much and i rate him as already one of the greatest players the game has ever seen, but he nees to cut out the cynicism or it will tarnish his reputation forever.

Fair play to Tommy for a little fella he sure knows how to break a hurl across an opponents legs - when is someone going to send this guy off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Fair play to Tommy for a little fella he sure knows how to break a hurl across an opponents legs - when is someone going to send this guy off?

If you want to talk about specific incidents from yesterday, please do so in the match thread while abiding by the forum charter.

This train wreck is now closed.