Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving Licence

• 04-05-2009 8:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭

Lads

What is the story law wise regarding a UK driving licence. Basically other half worked in London about 15 years ago, got her driving lessons and passed her test while there and got her 50 year licence.

Obviously she uses it here but the other night a few of us were in conversation and one of our group claimed it was illegal for her to be driving using this licence.

Insurance Co have no issue as they have a copy on file, she was stopped at routine tax and insurance checkpoint and produced in local station with insurance and the guard had no issue with it. Has law changed?

After all its an EU licence and we drive on same side of the road etc. Whats the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Lads

What is the story law wise regarding a UK driving licence. Basically other half worked in London about 15 years ago, got her driving lessons and passed her test while there and got her 50 year licence.

Obviously she uses it here but the other night a few of us were in conversation and one of our group claimed it was illegal for her to be driving using this licence.

Insurance Co have no issue as they have a copy on file, she was stopped at routine tax and insurance checkpoint and produced in local station with insurance and the guard had no issue with it. Has law changed?

After all its an EU licence and we drive on same side of the road etc. Whats the story?

All EU licences are valid in the state, and so are a number of other countries licences.

She is driving perfectly legally:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Lads

Afaik it would be illegal to drive on it if resident in ireland. But someone else maybe able to clarify it.

Pop into your motor tax office and they'll change it to an irish one and all problems sorted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Afaik it would be illegal to drive on it if resident in ireland.
    Nope. That is a myth. It is valid here for as long as it is in date.

The main reason for not chabging seems to be so they can avoid the penalty points system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

+1 I've a UK licence myself and checked and double checked! You can drive on a UK licence in Ireland resident etc... indefintely...

As mentioned its only those outside the EU i.e. American licenses, they are allowed 12 months i believe, then they have to sit and pass an irish test to drive legally

As for changing them over, I prefer the UK licence mainly cause its a credit card! - much handier for ID on doors etc and general wear, than the fragment of parchment they give you for an Irish Licence! Take that thing out when your abroad and people just laugh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 UpstateEMS

the locust wrote: »
    American licenses, they are allowed 12 months i believe, then they have to sit and pass an irish test to drive legally

Yup, that's true. You have to sit the written, get a learner's permit, comply with the 6 month probationary period, then sit the behind the wheel. So, effectively, first stop once you get into the country should be Motor Tax so you can get the process rolling.

What no one can provide a straight answer to, however, is what would happen if you were stopped while unaccompanied with a valid non-EU license while holding your learner's permit waiting for the 6 month time period to be up.

The RSA and Motor Tax need to come up with a better system for individuals applying for Irish licenses who have held previous non-EU licenses.

What no one can provide a straight answer to, however, is what would happen if you were stopped while unaccompanied with a valid non-EU license while holding your learner's permit waiting for the 6 month time period to be up.
    Nothing afaik. How would they know you even have a IRL permit if you produced your US licence?

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Nothing afaik. How would they know you even have a IRL permit if you produced your US licence?

I would expect that at minimum the Garda would take down your details, inclusive of your Irish address. Wouldn't that then be put into the computer which would then show a match for a provisional license?

Nope. I doubt that would be done.

In any event you are driving in accordance of the conditions of the US licence.

Nope. I doubt that would be done.

In any event you are driving in accordance of the conditions of the US licence.

I've got my full Irish license now, so I'm sorted and don't really worry about it anymore.

That being said, in my mind it would make sense to waive the 6 month probationary period for individuals who hold a non-EU license, but maintain the road test.

The only thing I was thinking was would the application for a learners permit void your driving privileges under the US licence?

No, as far as I know. There is nothing I can specifically find in my home state legislation and they allow you to maintain your foreign license if you apply for an in-state license.

Ultimately, what was frustrating about the whole experience was that the RSA and local Motor Tax office said that I could not drive unaccompanied while waiting for the probationary period to be up in spite of holding a valid non-EU license. I called into the local Garda station, which weren't sure but phoned the Traffic Corps who said it was grand. My insurance company didn't care either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Anyone with a full licence from any EU state can drive in Ireland on it indefinably, as has been said here by others. To be able to apply for a full Irish one you only need to have held an EU one up to twelve years before the date of application. In other words, if you had a UK licence that expired in 2000, then you have until 2012 to apply for an Irish one. The problem is that you are supposed to notify the UK DVLC if you change residence to Ireland, at which point you are expected to forfiet your UK licence. It's possible to get round that by having an accommodation address in the UK, and the DVLC don't care if you do.

The problem comes for those who reach the age of 70, because then the UK and Irish licences have to be renewed annually on presentation of a doctor's approval, and that's had to get if you don't live in the UK.