Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

quick defense

• 04-05-2009 2:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

right now what's the closest thing that to you NOW that you could use to fight off a Z.
    mine is the neck of an old bass guitar, it's a tapered neck so it's heavier at one end so it makes a good club, as for risk of it breaking: the truss rod runs the lengh of the neck which makes it pretty strong. so for improvised weaponry it's not that bad for a 16 year-old
    post yours now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 irishmic

a lump of trusty 4x2 wood post should be grand as long as its not a swarm and just a single z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 themenniss

yeah we're talking single Z as a first encounter, so you really were not aware of their presence and therefore with no preparation you grab the closest thing that you used to defend yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭nVid

Xbox 360 is a brick so...

nVid wrote: »
    Xbox 360 is a brick so...
    aye but once you've thrown it that's it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭nVid

themenniss wrote: »
    aye but once you've thrown it that's it :(

No no, the power plug is attached so I'll wind it back and throw again lol

nVid wrote: »
    No no, the power plug is attached so I'll wind it back and throw again lol
    fair enough but you could always do with something better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

Well there is a power drill sitting in a box beside my foot so ... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I have a barbell which would at least keep it far away from me until I could swing for the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A computer!
    A printer.
    Various lumps of steel and aluminium.
    A server.
    Various lumps of old computer.
    a few actuators.
    An old man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

choice of machete or thai fighting sword :P
    otherwise.... a 4 year old :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

airsoft rifle. though prolly use it as a bat instead. umm. a hurl, or maybe a metal t-square. or even a [broken] bottle of jameson. tho i would have to drink the contents first, which may affect my brain. might come out lookin like a zombie anyway, shamblin around, covered in blood... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

*looks around*
    ok , if im at home- samurai sword, short sword, two long knifes, a hatchet (thats really cool and has a hammer/nail puller at the back), crossbow, random heavy statues to whomp with....

if im at work- all sorts of axes, mauls, sledge hammer handles, pointy things etc.

well i'm getting my a$$ kicked as far as quick defense goes

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Nerin wrote: »
    *looks around*
    ok , if im at home- samurai sword, short sword, two long knifes, a hatchet (thats really cool and has a hammer/nail puller at the back), crossbow, random heavy statues to whomp with....

if im at work- all sorts of axes, mauls, sledge hammer handles, pointy things etc.
    Are you like a serial killer, who works as a serial killer? :eek:

Kiith wrote: »
    Are you like a serial killer, who works as a serial killer? :eek:

>_>

<_<

a hunter....of sorts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭smegmar

>_>

<_<

a hunter....of sorts...

of Vampires??.....made of metal...?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

My pocket knife(4 inch blade), carpet sweeper, chair I'm sitting on, small table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭dara95

A ****ING MACHINE GUN!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Remington rifle, Steyr rifle, hatchet, golok, Kukri, Ka Bar, assorted white wax wood sticks (bo and jo), nylon tyre thumpers and Escrima sticks...

stuff like that unless I get to my shed!

Musashi wrote: »
    Remington rifle, Steyr rifle, hatchet, golok, Kukri, Ka Bar, assorted white wax wood sticks (bo and jo), nylon tyre thumpers and Escrima sticks...

stuff like that unless I get to my shed!
    all within reach of you now?

themenniss wrote: »
    all within reach of you now?
    Of course he does, some people have the dedication to take Rambo seriously.

I should really invest in some guns...

I might have to take a step like? :D

Gun locker is in the spare room with my PC and some of my knife collection.

A bunch of martial arts weapons are stored here and tools are out in the shed, I'd prefer my 24oz. hammer to a crowbar!

DSCF0656.jpg

DSCF0002.jpg

DSCF0501.jpg

DSCF0498.jpg

DSCF0490.jpg

Image057.jpg

Image058.jpg

DSCF1205.jpg

It's good to be prepared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

A bunch of martial arts weapons are stored here and tools are out in the shed, I'd prefer my 24oz. hammer to a crowbar!

DSCF0656.jpg

DSCF0002.jpg

DSCF0501.jpg

DSCF0498.jpg

DSCF0490.jpg

Image057.jpg

Image058.jpg

DSCF1205.jpg

lol R2D2 in several of the picutres :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Kid V

My CD collection would come in handy. Of course there'd be much indecision at which discs to throw at zombies and they'd probably get me when i refuse to throw Beatles albums at them but i'd go down fighting. Zombie scum!

Ideally i'd shoot them with a frickin 12 gauge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭blog_blog_blog

aluminium bat quick and light. Thats some collection . Full bore and nice selection of knifes. Dont know bout you but i,d rather rifle, mach n kosh, than the 5 bags of plasters:D

DSCF0656.jpg

DSCF0002.jpg

DSCF0501.jpg

DSCF0498.jpg

DSCF0490.jpg

Image057.jpg

Image058.jpg

DSCF1205.jpg

lol Zombies/Russians/aliens your ready.

musashi, I like the way you have a bag of compost in the background of one of your pics :P
    never know when you'll have to make a home made bomb... good thinkin ;)

Just grabbed a pic of my newest baby!

DSCF1370.jpg

Remington 700 Sondero chambered for .220 Swift, flat shooter for ranged sniping type shots. The two right hand knives are from Cold Steel, on the right is a Buck General and bottom is an old Wakizashi a mate of my Father's was given by his auld lad.

Given how often I've almost set fire to myself with petrol when I was clearing a building site, I think improvised munitions are a no-go for me!

And i thought i had a well rounded inventory..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I'm afraid, very afraid. Not of the preveiling Zed horde but ye guys and yer guns and knifes :eek:

you don't have to worry about me i've just got a super stick!

haha, I have a brand spanking new Savage Arms mark II GL .22 rifle, no zed is getting near my cabin.

EDIT: EVERYONE TO MUSASHI'S HOUSE!

Valmont wrote: »
    haha, I have a brand spanking new Savage Arms mark II GL .22 rifle, no zed is getting near my cabin.
    Valmont wrote: »
    EDIT: EVERYONE TO MUSASHI'S HOUSE!

*Banjo music being played in the background*

Ah cheers mate, but I'll pass on the cabin :pac::pac::pac:

I've noticed one problem with your arsenal Musashi. While your well covered on the knife and bludgeoning weapons. One bullet just won't cut it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭pandemonium

Wrought iron lamp,not too heavy but has sharp corners, a curling tongs, a scissors, some mofo stilletoes, a paper weight. And a chefs knives set. Doesn't compare to some of ye're inventories but i think i could handle 1 Z in my room ha

depends, i would use the lamp as it gives the Z less of an opportunity to get within grabbin (=nomnomnom) distance. but how long is that lamp cause if it's small then it still ain't perfect.

About 4 feet high but light enough that i can lift it and its got a nice swing, so i think i'd be ok,well hope so
    Nomnomnom??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

About 4 feet high but light enough that i can lift it and its got a nice swing, so i think i'd be ok,well hope so
    Nomnomnom??

NomNomNom

Wont let me watch :'(

doggin again? :p :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 lydabryant

I thought this was about DEFENSE?
    You guys are so war freak! LOL! :D
    Lock up all your doors...
    Do some extra barricading....
    Find house with Big Gates and No windows... hmmmm.....
    Go to JAIL! LOL! :P

Sometimes the best defense is a good offense.
    ^_^

doggin again? :p :pac::pac::pac:

Haha god, i actually found out recently theres like 9 official dogging sites in clare, and 3 in my prospective college campus

lydabryant wrote: »
    I thought this was about DEFENSE?
    You guys are so war freak! LOL! :D
    Lock up all your doors...
    Do some extra barricading....
    Find house with Big Gates and No windows... hmmmm.....
    Go to JAIL! LOL! :P

Jail would suck! If there was an outbreak the guards would probably abandon, either release the prisoners or leave them locked in their cells,either starvation or an all out turf war over who's in charge probably resulting in casualties. Wouldn't fancy it. God i watch too many prison movies

head to a prison two months after? either all will be dead in cells... or we can give them a girl and we'll become gods among the organised chaos XD

So long as that girls not me!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

Sometimes the best defense is a good offense.
    ^_^
    Hey diddle, go straight up the middle with a heavy object in each hand. That's what I call defense.