Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a pair of shoes for a beginner

• 04-05-2009 12:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭

Hey,
    Ive been catching onto all this marathon lingo in the last few weeks and have decided to go out and start running.

Anyway i need to buy a pair of shoes. I'm just over 10 stone, have high arches (as determined by wet test) and im pretty sure im a neutral runner.

I like the look of vomero 4 and was going to buy these until i read alot of reviews about people thinking there too soft.
    So anyone any rec on what would be a good shoe for me?

Thanks alot.
    Nell
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭nellocon

anyone? Would love to put an order in today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭chatoon

Nellocon,

I've been wearing Mizuno's (Wave Inspire) for a good while now and find them fantastic - they are really light and I've clocked up a lot of miles on them and they are still perfect (and I'm normally really hard on footwear!). I know everyone has different tastes, but I've always found them great. Had Asics Gels before that - they too were grand but I found them a lot heavier...anyway, hope this helps you in some way...!

Thanks for the reply. I was actually also considering mizuno wave ultima also. I think they look pretty comfortable and for some reason im drawn to mizuno shoes.

Mizuno wave ultima are going for about 80euro on wiggle, which aint bad!

That's a great price alright - I paid well over the 100 euro for mine - but word of advice - you might need to try on a pair of Mizunos for size first before buying them online (you might've done this already) - I found them a bit small fitting - might just be me - but just to be sure! Anyway, best of luck with the running and enjoy every minute of it - and take inspiration from all the great runners on this site - it will really keep you motivated! Enjoy!:)

Thanks mate,
    Its a bit early to make any presumptions but Dublin marathon may be my first marathon if i really get into the running...

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Why do you think your a neutral runner if you have high arches?

You really need to get a gait analysis at a good running shop for your first pair of shoes. They'll probably be a bit more expensive than on the net but the way you have to look at it is your paying extra (10-20 quid) for an invaluable service that as a runner you really need done.

After that you can just buy the shoes over the net as you know what suits you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

You said in your original post that you're 'pretty sure' you're a neutral runner. With respect, being pretty sure isn't really the best, is it? My advice to you would be to go and get your gait analysed. Yes, buying in a shop will be more expensive than online, but isn't that better than getting injured if you buy the wrong pair of shoes?

Oh right...well thanks guys im not sure why exactly i though i was a neutral runner, so i think i will go and get a gait analysis done.
    Anyone know of a good place to get one done in cork?

Heard before that The Edge Sports Shop on North Main Street in Cork does gait analysis...hope this helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

chatoon wrote: »
    Heard before that The Edge Sports Shop on North Main Street in Cork does gait analysis...hope this helps!

And may I suggest that The Edge is the best shop in Cork to get your gait analysed? Go there - you won't be disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Bog Butter

I would like to get a gait analysis done. I did the Arch 10k run and my kness are still a bit sore so I reckon I should invest in a good pair of running shoes. Could someone recommend a place in Dublin/Meath please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

If Bray is not too far, I reccomend here
    http://www.amphibianking.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭gilmore

Would anyone know of a place in the Limerick area where you could get it done?

menoscemo wrote: »
    If Bray is not too far, I reccomend here
    http://www.amphibianking.ie/

Thanks for that menoscemo. What way does the pricing work? Do you pay a seperate charge for a gait analysis or do they do it for free when you buy a pair of running shoes?

Also how much should I expect to pay for a desent but good value pair?

Hey malman,

I have been to Amphibian King too and found them really good - they automatically start with your gait analysis before trying you out with a variety of suitable running shoes...and it seems to be free when you're getting your shoes; I was very impressed that they didn't rush me at all - gave me loads of pairs to try on, even did them up properly for me and were no more expensive than anywhere else I've been - word of advice, don't be in a rush if you go there - it takes time to find the right shoes, but the lads there were really, really helpful and very friendly!

Cheers chatoon. Thats great, I shall bear that in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

chatoon wrote: »
    Hey malman,

I have been to Amphibian King too and found them really good - they automatically start with your gait analysis before trying you out with a variety of suitable running shoes...and it seems to be free when you're getting your shoes; I was very impressed that they didn't rush me at all - gave me loads of pairs to try on, even did them up properly for me and were no more expensive than anywhere else I've been - word of advice, don't be in a rush if you go there - it takes time to find the right shoes, but the lads there were really, really helpful and very friendly!

Was there saturday afternoon and there wa this "burd" wearing a mini skirt getting gait analysis done because her b/f was buying a pair of running shoes. I'd say those shoes will no more see the light of the day...:D

Elverys also do a gait test - I was in there last week, did the treadmill test which determined a neutral style and I picked up a pair of Mizuno wave ultima for 80 euro (on offer down from 100). no charge for the test. I also tried on some asics shoes but the mizuno just fit me better. no substitute for actually trying on the shoes. once you find a good pair you can buy them wherever the next time.

hmmm, there is a Elverys in Navan. I wonder do they do it? That would be handy for me. I will enquire. Thanks glasso!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

glasso wrote: »
    Elverys also do a gait test - I was in there last week, did the treadmill test which determined a neutral style and I picked up a pair of Mizuno wave ultima for 80 euro (on offer down from 100). no charge for the test. I also tried on some asics shoes but the mizuno just fit me better. no substitute for actually trying on the shoes. once you find a good pair you can buy them wherever the next time.

Glasso, which Elverys did you get the gait test done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

Elverys do Gait analysis in Suffolx street(bottom of grafton street)
    Simon is the guy to ask for there,he is a runner himself and been doing it since it started in elverys.
    Blanchardstown and also Dundrum centre(ask for Kevin or Niall)
    Galway retail park is the latest addition.
    Elverys use software called Dartfish and most stores are equiquipped with two Treadmills.Dundrum;2963601
    Brands stocked are Asics(biggest range in Ireland)
    Adidas,Mizuno,Nike and new Balance ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭griffin100

Need to get new runners and am looking for some suggestions. I currently use Nike Pegasus which are designed for a neutral gait afaik and I have never had a problem with them. Last December however I went to a reputable running shop and had gait analysis done and following a 'diagnosis' of slight pronation I purchased and started to wear Mizzuno (not sure of model - 'wave' something?) instead of the Nike. Few weeks later when I started to up my mileage for connemare began to get severe pains in my right knee (my right leg was the one with the pronation). After visits to physio and lots of rest problem reoccured immediately upon running again. Then I switched back to my old Nike and hey presto pain ceased immediately. So despite being diagnosed as a pronator neutral runners seem to actually work best for me and I've been back using my old Nike for a few months now. I now need new runners and before I purchase another pair of Nike Pegasus just thought I'd ask if anyone has any suggestions for a nice neutral gait runner, or given my history should I not tempt faith and just go with the Nike again. Cheers.

ps anyone want to buy a pair of hardly worn Mizzuno size 8:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭RJC

I use New Balance 1063s neutral and plenty of cushioning. I would say that if the pegasus work for you then why change them?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Yeah, stick with what works if you've had problems. Asics Nimbus are thought to be the best neutral runners but it depends on the person. I recently took the plunge and purchased wave creation and brooks ghost(womens shoes not sure if there are male versions) and they've both been great. Wouldn't say they are any better or worse than the nimbus but they're cheaper so. :pac:

The good folks on wiggle are happy to give out good advice if you email them and they are quick to get back to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

asics 2000 series always do me grand... Nike have an image of being fashion shoes (and I find they have a narrow fit) but if they suit you, why not stick with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Just bought my second pair of Pegasus yesterday, find them perfect for my feet! Used to wear Asics (cant remember the model) but they gave me serious pain in my shins, barely last a month in them.

Like one of the previous posters said...it's not broke leave it alone. Lifestyle Sports have the white/blue Pegasus for just €70 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

Elverys have the current pegasus for 59.99
    also jjb had them for 52euro so worth shopping around.
    Have you ever tried the nike vomero?
    also i disagree with what silverside said about nike being narrow.
    Mizuno and nike have nice bit of room in the toe box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭griffin100

Thanks to you all for the advice. I'm happy to stick with the Nike (especially of I get them for less than €60), it's just like silverside said, I just had that niggling feeling that were are more a fashion statement than a running shoe, but obviously not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I had a Gait and was diagnosed as neutral. They let me try on 4 pairs of traniers; Asics, NB, Mizuno and fianally nike pegasus. I personally found the Nike by far the most comfortable. I guess everyone is different but stick to what is most comfortable for you.