Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well done Leinster

• 03-05-2009 4:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭

Before I get into this, I'm a Munster fan. I have been to every one of their Heineken cup games, and the majority of their Magners League games too. We were out battled and Leinster deserved their victory. I'm going to the Heineken Cup final and was hoping I would be wearing my Munster jersey, but I have to wear my Ireland jersey now -- and that's no problem whatsoever. :)

When it comes down to it, I want the cup to stay in Ireland regardless of who wins it. I obviously would have preferred if Munster won, but they did not deserve it on the day. They were out battled and out played. Their handling was very poor and they just never got going, because Leinster didn't give them an opportunity to do so. That is how you beat any team, no matter how good they are. If you prevent them from getting into a rhythm then they can't play, as was seen today.

This is some year for Irish Rugby, which unfortunately has it's down sides. Rugby fans have always had respect for each other but when your country does really well at a very competitive International level 'plastic supporters' start following. I don't want Rugby fans to turn into soccer fans. I saw loads of Leinster fans slagging off Munster fans tonight and I don't mean banter.... It was far beyond banter and it was shocking to see, but I know they aren't real supporters because Rugby fans are not like this.
    I really hope these 'supporters' are not planning on traveling to Edinburgh. When we won the Heineken cup final in Cardiff last year we sat and drank with the French. We didn't shout anything derogatory at them. Instead, we drank with them and had the craic, and lots of Welsh joined in too.

So well done again lads, and be respectful of whoever you are playing in the final. See you in Edinburgh. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Whilst I agree with the majority of your post I think its unfair to finish it with a comment like 'be respectful to your opponents'' as Leinster supporters have a fantastic reputation around Europe. I was in bar in Sydney this morning watching the game and a lot of the Munster lads were throwing D4 type slags at the Leinster lads and like your inciddent not in a banterful way. Did I make a thread on it however? No because I know it a minority of fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭yogidc26

I think slagging should be part of the crack a matchs from everone

My self and a frirend were on the hill yesterday were with a mix of fans. We slaged the munster team they slaged leinster and we slaged each other. Half time came we shared sweet drink and smokes ( I know your not ment to smoke in croker) then the match started again we went back to the slaging end of the game we shock hands and said thanks to each other and the muster fans said well done and we all went on our way

Is this not what going to games is all about????

I know that the a few on both side that take it to far but they are only a few so please people on both side get down of you high hourse stop eating prawn sandwiches and enjoy the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭paulusdu

Big games always get lots of blow in supporters. Very few rugby supporters would behave this way. Of course there are a few but a very small minority. I've never seen bad blood off the pitch at any rugby game.
    I was in a bar in dublin for the Ireland England match in croker ( the first one) and when the anthems came on a load of lads stood up and made a point of turning their backs to the screen when the English national anthem was being played. Thats not on, its sport and you respect your opponant.
    Myself and my mates were pretty peeved that they did that, so at the the anthem we stood up and cheered the anthem. The boys weren't impressed, but we were bigger than them so they shut up.
    Big games get this, they get "supporters" coming out of the woodwork just because of the hype.
    Rugby supporters don;t get into that situation, blow ins do. 99% of croker was silent yesterday when a kicker was sexton, dr phil or Rog were taking kicks.
    Im a leinster supporter and i was in limerick 3 years ago for the big game cheering on Munster, and i got a rack of texts from Munster rugby fans saying they will be cheering on Leinster in murryfield.
    Ignore the blowins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Dont go thinking its only Leinster who have had this element creep in.I was called a wanker and given the wanker gesture by a group of Munster fans as I walked up to my spot in the hill before the match. I hadnt even opened my mouth or looked at them. Whose fans jeered during the first penalty in the match? Get a grip mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

[-0-] wrote: »
    Before I get into this, I'm a Munster fan. I have been to every one of their Heineken cup games, and the majority of their Magners League games too. We were out battled and Leinster deserved their victory. I'm going to the Heineken Cup final and was hoping I would be wearing my Munster jersey, but I have to wear my Ireland jersey now -- and that's no problem whatsoever. :)

When it comes down to it, I want the cup to stay in Ireland regardless of who wins it. I obviously would have preferred if Munster won, but they did not deserve it on the day. They were out battled and out played. Their handling was very poor and they just never got going, because Leinster didn't give them an opportunity to do so. That is how you beat any team, no matter how good they are. If you prevent them from getting into a rhythm then they can't play, as was seen today.

This is some year for Irish Rugby, which unfortunately has it's down sides. Rugby fans have always had respect for each other but when your country does really well at a very competitive International level 'plastic supporters' start following. I don't want Rugby fans to turn into soccer fans. I saw loads of Leinster fans slagging off Munster fans tonight and I don't mean banter.... It was far beyond banter and it was shocking to see, but I know they aren't real supporters because Rugby fans are not like this.
    I really hope these 'supporters' are not planning on traveling to Edinburgh. When we won the Heineken cup final in Cardiff last year we sat and drank with the French. We didn't shout anything derogatory at them. Instead, we drank with them and had the craic, and lots of Welsh joined in too.

So well done again lads, and be respectful of whoever you are playing in the final. See you in Edinburgh. :)

Climdb down of the high horse there. I had to listen to the "are ye going back to D4" gags in the Hogan Stand pub afterwars from the majority of the Munster Fans and I took it as the craic, as it should be take.

On a different note though the cat calls from a minority of Munster Fans when Dr Phil was taking his 1st kick at goal were out of order. One guy behind me shouted miss it on his run up. No place for that.

Anyway I had a great night with the munster fans and no one got shirty about a bit of slagging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Even in the pub in wexford, full of munster fans for whatever reason, taking the p1ss out of contempomi whenever he misses a kick, really loud. (during the last time we played munster, stayed at home this time)

Had to change pubs. Ridiculous.. but it's both sides. So just something you have to accept with the sport and suck it up!

The actions on the pitch yesterday should shut them up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

probably don't need this type of thread for the 100th time.