Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A foreigner who wants to teach in Ireland...?

Options
  • 02-05-2009 10:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭

Hi there,

I have a master's degree in Spanish teaching & translating and, as I LOVE teaching, I would really like to be able to start doing what I enjoy... The trick is that I don't really know HOW to start, or even IF I would be able to do so...

Can anyone help?

Btw, I am Polish...

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

You MIGHT be able to get a little part time work although like every other area work is very becoming scarce .I hardly need tell you tha t there are a lot of Polish children in Irish schools,maybe you could use your ability to communicate with them in their native language to your advantage at job interviews... There cant be too many Polish Spanish teachers here!For a permanent job you must have a teaching qualification -1 year duration usually.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,171 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

(I'm not following you emka, I promise...:))

We had a woman from Slovakia working with us the other year and we always have a few Italians about, so it's certainly possible to get work as a teacher. You will inevitably come up against some parochial attitudes, but that's Ireland. It seems to me to be such a waste to have so many highly qualified and experienced people from other countries buttering bread in sandwich shops and waiting on tables.