Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Treatment for depression

• 01-05-2009 1:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, unreg for this.
    I spoke here before about problems I was having with my b/f college etc etc, and a number of people suggested it might be depression. Thing is, i've had a bereavement recently, and i've been seeing a counsellor (college) and I mentioned it to her, and she just brushed it off. I was genuinely asking her was there a chance i could be depressed, but got nothing from her. (Depression is on going, not just from bereavement)So the thing is i am a bit bothered about bringing it up again, or going to see a doctor, because of her lack of help, and generally because of the way doctors are, (rushing to get you out the door). It was a hard thing for me to say in the first place and to have it just brushed off like that i thought was really unprofessional.

I wanted to talk to my doctor about the possibility of my pill causing the depression (if thats what it is) but it just seems like such a chore. But if I was going to, what would I say??

I think I'm depressed. It just sounds so .... dramatic or something. plus I don't want him asking why. cos it'd be me saying a few people on a forum said it could be...hardly good reason in a doctors eyes. i want him to explain to me what depression is, and to ask me do those symptoms sound familiar. what should i do? what should I say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭bluecell99

Not all doctor's will brush you out the door.Depression has several key symptoms and a number of which - 3 or 4 - could indicate clinical depression.It wont become clear unless you discuss with a doctor.There are things like sleeping difficulties;inability to get out of bed;crying for no apparent reason;wieght-loss and some more.

There is a distinct difference between depression and general feelings of the blues occasionally - caused by the day to day pressures of life;money;commuting;relationships etc.This is considered normal and beyond making a few adjustments like taking time for yourself;change of scenery;more contact with friends;hobbies and interests;plenty of fresh air and sticking to a natural diet with no over use of alcohol then usually no treatment is required.

In clinical depression,while serious,there may be different treatments available.It is an illness,like any other.The outlook can be fantastic.

Please see a professional to guide you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Hi, unreg for this.
    I spoke here before about problems I was having with my b/f college etc etc, and a number of people suggested it might be depression. Thing is, i've had a bereavement recently, and i've been seeing a counsellor (college) and I mentioned it to her, and she just brushed it off. I was genuinely asking her was there a chance i could be depressed, but got nothing from her. (Depression is on going, not just from bereavement)So the thing is i am a bit bothered about bringing it up again, or going to see a doctor, because of her lack of help, and generally because of the way doctors are, (rushing to get you out the door). It was a hard thing for me to say in the first place and to have it just brushed off like that i thought was really unprofessional.

I wanted to talk to my doctor about the possibility of my pill causing the depression (if thats what it is) but it just seems like such a chore. But if I was going to, what would I say??

I think I'm depressed. It just sounds so .... dramatic or something. plus I don't want him asking why. cos it'd be me saying a few people on a forum said it could be...hardly good reason in a doctors eyes. i want him to explain to me what depression is, and to ask me do those symptoms sound familiar. what should i do? what should I say?

Unfortunately pet, if you go to the doctor, he IS going to ask you why you think you're depressed. He can't just go suggesting symptoms to you and have you agree or disagree, because that would mean all sorts of chancers would be going in pretending to be depressed in order to get medication or doctor's notes.

It can be very, very hard to get the words out, I know... but you must have some idea of what your symptoms are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

hey op what i would do is.

explain to him you've been having trouble with the things youve described to us if s/he is any good they'le do one of to things they'le offer tablets or in the other case a councilor, personally its up to you. you could be just be haveing a tough time and the tablets might help if youd prefer to talk your problems out then buy all means do and fair play to you if you decide that course fo action...

If you feel your gp doesn't take you seriously which can happen go to another, dont waste your time with one who thinks he knows best when its so easy for him to say ah book up ule be grand in a day two :eek::rolleyes:....

I hope that helps' when i did it i was a bit nervous but i felt good about my self after fdoing it like id made my first steps its really not that bad i promise you, its like accepting things arnt good but at the same time knowing that your going to get them fixed :)

good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks for your replies.

I realise now expecting the doctor to list out stuff is silly, didn't think about people trying to scam.

I don't know exactly what it is. I have never been happy. I'm always in a bad mood, feeling really low, feeling sh*t about myself, I've never had any friends, do nothing but find fault with my relationships, and everyone, have no confidence. etc etc. I'm sick of arguing, feeling guilty, feeling sorry for other people. I just want to feel normal. Happy even, if that's even possible. I just don't want to go to someone and have them basically say 'everyone has bad days'. It's not a bad period. It's my life.

I just don't want to be told something stupid like that. I feel lonely and sh*t enough without another person belittling my feelings.

What way should I phrase it? It's not clinical depression anyway, if that's what it can be described as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Things to think on before you see your doctor.

What way is your mood?
    Are you sleeping?
    Are you engaging in social activities?
    What is your current outlook on life?
    How do you feel within yourself?
    Is your mind dominated by certain thoughts?
    Also metion your recent breavement and current relationship difficulties. Rge above information should facilitate your doctor in relation to diagnosis.

You don't have to metion depression, just tell him your worried about your mood and let him do the work from there. Hope that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Clinical depression has many symptoms, but from what you have described OP I would perhaps surmise that some major lifestyle changes would do you the power of good and would probably lift your mood entirely. If you have no friends and no confidence and generally feel bad about yourself well of course you're not going to be happy - that's a given.

Personally I would be a firm believer in exploring all options before going down the medical route. First of all, sort your diet out, make sure you are getting plenty of exercise, cut out alcohol and any recreational drugs and make sure that you are getting enough sleep. Next thing would be to make a list of all the practical things in your life that you want to change for the better. If certain things are making you directly unhappy then put the wheels in motion to change them.

It is great that you are already seeing a counsellor, but bear in mind that she is not going to be able to diagnose depression - that is not her job and she is not qualified to do that. Make a list of all the things that you are feeling and that you want to work on in your sessions and give it to her - it might be easier than listing them all out loud. That hour is yours to make the most out of.

It might be wise to see your GP anyway, because what is very clear from your post is that you do need proper counselling and the doctor might be able to refer you to a better one if you really feel the one in college is no use. Before you see the GP, make a list of all of your symptoms because you are going to be asked to describe in detail how you're feeling. They will ask how long you have felt this way and whether there is anything major going on in your life that would be contributing to this. They will ask you about sleep, eating and exercise.

The one thing that is obvious from your post though is that you really do need to be seeing a good counsellor as you have a lot of stuff to work through. If you don't feel that the college one is doing you any good then a doctor will be able to refer you to someone else.

Thanks for the help. I think making a list of the things I feel is a good way to go, to bring it to the doctor, cos I know I wont remember everything while i'm there.

I don't get enough exercise, haven't had enough time over the past year or two. but how's that seriously meant to help? I know people say it, but maybe for people who just feel a little down. I don't think it's going to really do anything. but i will have more time now that i'm finishing up college, and it's unlikely i'll get a job.

I have a bad diet because I've IBS and it's so hard to keep trying to think of things to eat. Again, didn't have much time to put the effort in the past year or so....

Thing is though I can't afford to see a counsellor / psychologist. even if i got a job there's no guarantee of it, so i definitely couldn't justify spending that kinda money on that. I just wouldn't have it.

I will talk to the doctor about it, I actually think there's a chance my pill is contributing, but my next dilemma is to go to the college doctor, or to a normal gp. Could really do with that 60euros to myself, but i do feel the normal gp would give me more time and attention. What do ye think?

Again, thanks for the advice.... really!

I need to talk to someone. I have no one. It's sad when the only people you have to talk to are a bunch of strangers. Last night was the first time I genuinely thought about dying. I don't want to feel like this anymore. I just want some people to care about me. And no one does.

I have a counsellors appointment tomorrow, and I know i can't say anything like this to her. I don't want to talk to someone about this and just have them freak out because i mention the s word (suicide). All I want is for someone to see the way I feel. And try to help me not feel like this anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭tantipie

tell the councellor again,,and dont let her fob you off,,just make her listen,,you really need to talk to someone,,best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭ellie1

counsellors are generally trained professionals. They are used to listening to people who are in a lot of pain.

i suggest you write down your feelings in a letter and if you feel tomorrow that you cannot speak to her/him, give them the letter. Its very important that you express how you are feeling to the counsellor whether verbally or written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭candy19

It's not that long ago since I had to make the same decision as yours OP. I went for the college doctor and I have to say it was the best decision i have ever made. He sat down with me and talked through stuff with me and explained stuff as well. He also referred me to a councellor in the college and gave me anti-depressants which I am reluctant to take, I will be honest it's not easy....Some days like today I just wish the ground to swallow me up...I also found it difficult to talk in general, thank god they both pushed me but even yet there's so many things I can't come to say about my past, which is having a detrimental effect on my college performance...I'm due back next week to see the college doc for a repeat script.
    I guess what I'm trying to say is that a good doctor will spend the time with the patient, I know from my GP at home she dismissed everything I had to say and I also had confidentiality issues with her...
    Best of luck OP, mail me if I can help in any way....

I thought about writing it all down, but i have to be in the place where it just comes into my head all at once to pinpoint what is getting to me. i have to meet her in an hour, so i don't have time now. but if i can't explain it to her today maybe i should ask for another appointment...? just, college is kinda finished, and i think that would be considered a college service. they're probably all finishing up for the year soon. But i suppose i could talk to the doctor next week maybe if i need to. I'm not sure anymore if it is depression, i don't know what it is, i just know i can't keep going like this.

Its just so hard when you really feel no one cares. Especially since she's already fobbed me off. it just looks like i'm looking for something to be wrong with me.

Thanks for the help everyone. Candy19 i might pm you later...if thats ok....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭wicklowgal

Just read this thread there and my heart goes out to you.I was diagnosed with depression nearly 3 years ago, I was given anti depressants straight away and unfortunately have been on them ever since.Only after 2 and a half years did I go to see a counsellor, I didn't really believe that talking to someone could solve the problem but so far, I've found it really helpful.I know that my depression set in when I left school.I think that transitional periods in your life often have a contribution to your depression - definately.

I would highly recommend counselling.At first I thought it would be judgemental, me sitting in a room moaning and crying with someone telling me to cop onto myself and get over it but it's been really good.If you're not happy with ur current counsellor, find a new one.I recently saw an ad offering free counselling and another offering it for 15euros an hour so it doesn't neccessarily cost a lot of money.There are people out there who are willing to help.Try the Samaritans mayb - I've found them helpful also and very sympathetic.They may help u identify wats making u down so u can deal with it yourself.I don't mean that to sound belittling of your problem,as youre clearly very distressed but u mention ur not sure if it is depression,and mayb it isn't.Do give the counselling time though.Everyone needs help at some stage.

Hope this is some help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭candy19

Yea mail me by all means..
    Today I will be honest I didn't even leave the duvet covers..having one of those days I guess, but anything I can do to help I'm more than happy too.
    All the best..

Hi Ob,

I'm a 32 year old guy who suffers from, but is cureently beating depression. I have suffered on and off for a number of years.

I have moved location a number of times so I have had a few different GP's. I can not stress how important it is to have the right professional. By this I mean, somebody who will listen to you and that you can have confidence in. There are doctors who want to get to you in and get you out and are happy to either just refill perscriptions or dismiss you. I guess what I'm trying to say is that if you are not happy with who ever you are seing, then seek someone else.

NOt sure if are in Dublin or not but I was attending an excelent female GP in the Charlement Clinic off Baggott St.

Whilest it is probably inappropriate for forum users to diagnose etc, it is clear that you have issues that need adrdessing. You might well find that if you see the right person you will be able to talk about the issues much more easily.

I know what it is like to be where you are. It is an awful place. However, there is great help available.

I hope everything works out for you

Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Miss_Moneypenny

Hi OP
    Sorry to hear you are feeling low. For what its worth, I think that the student counselling services in most universities run over the summer months - maybe you could check that out. I know for a fact that they did where I did my degree. Perhaps you could phone the secretary / administrator for the counselling services and enquire? Its worth a shot. Also, from what I am reading you feel that your counsellor is brushing off your concerns and not really listening / taking you seriously. Maybe that is something you could say to them. It might help if they understand a bit more where you are coming from. I have a close friend who was depressed and from what she told me some GPs just do not understand. Even if they do, GPs generally do not have the time / resources that they want to really listen to people who are having mental health issues. I remember in college how crazy and overstretched it was in the college health centre. If you need emotional support, counselling / psychotherapy allows more time. I don't know where you are based, but I do know that some counselling centres offer lower cost counselling for people that do not have the means to pay the full rate- like a sliding scale of fees. I also have heard of trainee counsellors (supervised by fully trained counsellors) providing counselling at a reduced rate. I'd say your college counsellor would be a good source of information re that.

I hope that some of that information may be helpful. There are also support groups for people experiencing stress / mental health issues. They are free and maybe would be of some benefit.
    www.grow.ie (mental health issues)
    www.aware.ie (depression)

In the meantime I would suggest you consider the post by Odysseus and make some notes before you visit your doctor again (if you do). I would especially make sure to mention the thoughts about death as that in my opinion is a serious matter. You need support - another poster mentioned the samaritans. You can email them as well anonymously.

I really wish you the best - I know how difficult it can be. Take care:)

Well I've been in today. And i honestly don't know what happened. I was even crying when i got in there. and tried to explain how bad i feel, how alone i feel and that i've always felt like this, (which was really hard for me to do) and she just kept saying it's understandable, because of my bereavement. but i was trying to explain to her that that wasn't it. i said it twice. and she just still didn't get it. i think i have to go to a doctor instead. this is crazy. cos everyone says when you feel like that you should go to a counsellor etc etc but if this is what happens when you do why would anyone want to...what's the point? See because of everything, i'm deferring an exam, and my FYP so i've to spend the summer doing all that, as well as getting a job, looking like a part time job is all i'll be able to get, which would be great for my work, but i def won't be able to afford a counsellor then...

I've already tried samaritans, twice or three times. What i need is someone to talk to who's going to talk back. it's not a discussion with them. I need help, they just keep you talking.

Next question is ...college doctor...or regular doctor. . . .

Thanks so much to everyone for their answers. you've no idea how nice it is that people take the time to say something..... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Miss_Moneypenny

FINGAL COUNSELLING SERVICE
    Do you need support in dealing with Depression, Anxiety, Relationship
    difficulties or any life crisis?
    FINGAL COUNSELLING SERVICE is a voluntary community based service
    at Brackenstown Adult Scene of Education, Brackenstown Swords.
    For appointment please
    (8902596 (10.00am to 1.00pm) or leave a message
    anytime and your call will be returned

Hi OP
    I just included some info about what I think is a free counselling service (no, I don't work for them and sorry mods if this is inappropriate). I know you said that your counsellor wasnt getting it, but maybe it is just that counsellor. Anyway, just throwing out some options. For the sake of 60 euro I think that visiting a doctor external to college would be worth it. People get a second opinion on things all the time, and this is your mental health you are dealing with. The only bit of advice I would give you is to make some notes so that you are able to speak coherently to the doctor, as you may get upset in the surgery (like you did today with your counsellor) and walk out after the consultation feeling like you haven't expressed what is the problem. Maybe a short letter? I hope you don't feel I'm telling you what to do - just trying to let you know some options. Take care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Others have already gone down the recommending seeing a professional so im just going to +1 to that.

Although one thing i will note about counsellors is that some of them..well they are human and make mistakes. Dont chalk up a bad experience with one counsellor to mean they all are the same.

Something from my own personal experience dealing with depression thought might be worth throwing out for consideration.

One of the ways in which i try to tackle it when i feel like things are getting to much is to do some sort of exercise. Get the blood flowing and the adreline moving. At very least it gives something to focus on and temporarily distract you from whatever is going on and im sure someone can prodive the actual proof about exercise endorphins etc.

I also realise that doing any form of exercise can be the last thing you feel like doing but that is probably when it is needed most. Anything will do even if its just going out for a walk but cycling, running... anything that will break a sweat would be better but anything that keeps you moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Counselors are professionals, but they are Not Psychologists. The counselor on staff at the college is not trained qualified or authorized to diagnose or prescribe treatment for Depression.

If you think you have Depression, simply ask to be referred to a Psychologist. Go to the college doctor to get the referral - theres a chance a subsidized Psychologist is available to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Bettee

OP, I'm really sorry you're having a bad time of it, and exam time and all doesn't help I'm sure. I notice you mentioned FYP in one of your posts, so I'm wondering are you in college in Limerick. A friend of mine went through a tough time before coming to college and then suffered a bereavement in first year. Sh turned to the college counsellors for help and they made her worse, totally disregarded her feelings and made her feel like her appointments were an inconvenience. Its really important to talk to someone, and to talk to someone who you know will care, maybe a GP or someone closer to home may help. I hope things start to look up for you soon

How from me mentioning my FYP would you guess i'm in limerick...? I am, anyway,don't see why that makes a difference. you mean all the counsellors in the limerick area are the same...?? well like i said i probably can't afford a psychologist or anything, so i guess i'll have to go crazy til i can.