Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

recent tabloid headlines..

• 30-04-2009 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭

Anyone been keeping up to date with the tabloids of late, and noticed a recurring female ex officer? What effect has it had on you, if any? Has it tainted your opinions of women in the army? Or of women in command appointments even? Or do you think this was a once off case of unsuitability?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Just show's us that officer's sh*t stinks too.

ladies and gentlemen, I give you: The Off-Topic thread
    Regarding Miss Mcbarron, all i can do is slap my forehead, grimace and groan. She just put a bullet-sized hole in her foot. I mean, the Sun? If she cared one iota, she would have at least gone to the Star. But no, the british owned Sun, who in the same breath mentioned the rights of the Gurkas to british citizenship. Oh Colette, what have you done?

Just to add to that, she's slurred the entire DF in one foul swoop. Absolutely moronic. I remember reading she wanted to be a lawyer. If she did, she had a golden chance to stand up for other DF members and stand up for their rights. No chance of that now.

As for my personal attitude, the airhead image she just projected is more than cancelled out by my own experience of knowing some female officers from way back. Some of the most ordinary, sound, screwed-on heads I've ever seen, and ones whose orders I'd trust more than many blokes I've been in uniform around (RDF).

I'm tempted to run for the cadets myself just to prove that dozy bint wrong! (although by the time this &^%ing recruitment ban gets lifted, I'll probably be over-age.) *grumble*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

She's simply a media whore. Slurred lads who did what she asked and took a big steaming sh1t on the name of the Defence Forces. All because she didn't get her way for probably one of the first times in her life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

Apparently she burned her uniform, hopefully she'll get stuck with fine and called up up for improper use and destruction of military equipment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭In my opinion

Craigsy wrote: »
    Apparently she burned her uniform, hopefully she'll get stuck with fine and called up up for improper use and destruction of military equipment

Unlikely you will find she bought it as an officer.

She is such a little child an absolute fool who has really let herself down, Co. Donegal and its proud military tradition and also making allegations against a fellow officer who then had to stand down from an overseas mission while the case was investigated. No case to answer was the verdict. Imagine the problems caused at home for that fella.

Ian O Doherty summed her up in The Indo over Easter. And then what she did to poor old Kenny Egan a real bitch. And then to lock up the bap (sic) and f."off on the town.

Some much for having sympathy for her she showed her true colours. Shame on HR and the Cadet school. She was back classed I believe she should have got the road then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Unlikely you will find she bought it as an officer.

Presuming it's her SD1, as her working dress was provided by the state, she got an allowance to purchase the SD1, and got an annual allowance to maintain it.

Her mess dress, on the other hand, was provided by herself, with no input from the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

An Officer:

Is never lost, he/she is merely geographically disorientated.
    Is never drunk, he/she is socially confused.
    Never comes, he/she arrives.
    never disgraces the uniform, he/she is a total **** (I'd love to..but)

Obviously not mine, I borrowed this but thought it rather apt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

My question is this: How did she get a cadetship? How did she get through training? That's the real question. It's glaringly obvious she wasn't suitable material as an officer. It's not as if cadetships are easy to get. Ireland is not like many other countries who need as many officers as they can get. We have a small army. So we can be choosy. What went wrong that she ended up in uniform and some other poor sod was excluded. Was she connected?

Now she has disgraced herself and the army. I actually don't think she's aware of the consequences or her actions.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Collette_McBarron

True, false who knows.....won her Cadetship, not unheard of but as you say there might have been a more deserving candidate. Shame it all came to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Disgrace tbh.Have been speaking to a few PDF personnell,nothing but absoulute disgust for this women.Asminidazzler said,shes a media whore,she dident get her way and b!tches about it.

BTW,not all Donegal people are like her!;):pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭pmg58

Because of her, how much harder is it going to make life for females in the DF? I felt sorry for her for a while, but now it just seems that shes a spoilt bitch who's determined to drag the army through the muck to launch a "career" as a socialite for herself. I really hope it backfires on her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭greenarrow

It will backfire on her. She should be charged for burning that uniform though.

All in all, I am sure that in a month's time her past will come back to haunt her. And she is not that good looking either.

As to whether it has changed my opinion of female soldiers in the army, it hasn't. I was brought up to judge a person on merit and ability to do the job at hand. I am not changing that.

That is my contribution to this debate because this woman is beneath me and not even worthy of being considered an Irish citizen in my eyes.

greenarrow wrote: »
    It will backfire on her. She should be charged for burning that uniform though.

All in all, I am sure that in a month's time her past will come back to haunt her. And she is not that good looking either.

As to whether it has changed my opinion of female soldiers in the army, it hasn't. I was brought up to judge a person on merit and ability to do the job at hand. I am not changing that.

That is my contribution to this debate because this woman is beneath me and not even worthy of being considered an Irish citizen in my eyes.

There is no evidence she did that though. She said it to some Rag. But still screw her, she had one of the most sought after and best job in Ireland and she decided to throw it away by being a twat. I do suspect however that her resignation was suggested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Her sex is irrelevant. She is just one bad apple and brings shame on herself, not the fine men and women of our army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

she probably shagged the interview panel or something to get cadetship!!!!! she deserves a good slap to be honest thick bitch!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

Think it was more a case of it was good pr for women to have a miss Ireland in the ranks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Drawing more trouble on herself than what it's worth tbh-besides working as a public bicycle she has seriously tainted any other future career prospects

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bean-bags

FFS, she is writing a "tell all" book now according to all accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

bean-bags wrote: »

*Shakes head in disgust*

Great!If its a "tell-all" book, it will tell us how much of a tw@t she is:D

Craigsy wrote: »
    Think it was more a case of it was good pr for women to have a miss Ireland in the ranks

She is not, nor has never been Miss Ireland.

She entered the Miss Ireland competition last year, having served 4 years in the Defence Forces already.

As to how she was awarded a cadetship, she wasn't a "media whore" as someone above put it until after the Miss Ireland business. She was unheard of nationally before that.

She also represented Ireland at athletics before she was a cadet, so that would help in the awarding of said cadetship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

she probably shagged the interview panel or something to get cadetship!!!!! she deserves a good slap to be honest thick bitch!!!

No woman deserves a slap.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but please tell me there some clause stating that you cannot publish details into the public domain of prior employment or details with the DF without their prior consent and approval? And if there isn't, there bloody well should be.

Like most things here in Ireland theres always some bastid trying to make a buck off of somebody or some Body! This is all you need now, some woman who moved from the RDF to PDF went for a Commision, now theres aspirations of grandour!! got it, a bit of a looker (not my opinion) Went for a beauty contest, alls good and pro-active for the DF, things take a turn, she gets a twig about herself, throws her scrunchy out of the guardhouse, (thats criminal is it not? deserting ones post) she gets a slap on the wrist, long boring story short she bails the DF. And now this.

Somebody needs to grow some and take this person to task. And when the papers and people say "its not PC" bollicks....there are guys and girls over seas giving it, doing their job, as best they can, and this little ****e reckons shes gonna write a book..........

iceage wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but please tell me there some clause stating that you cannot publish details into the public domain of prior employment or details with the DF without their prior consent and approval? And if there isn't, there bloody well should be.

There is, but it's only required if you serve in certain appointments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

iceage wrote: »

Like most things here in Ireland theres always some bastid trying to make a buck off of somebody or some Body! This is all you need now, some woman who moved from the RDF to PDF went for a Commision, now theres aspirations of grandour!! got it, a bit of a looker (not my opinion) Went for a beauty contest, alls good and pro-active for the DF, things take a turn, she gets a twig about herself, throws her scrunchy out of the guardhouse, (thats criminal is it not? deserting ones post) she gets a slap on the wrist, long boring story short she bails the DF. And now this.

Somebody needs to grow some and take this person to task. And when the papers and people say "its not PC" bollicks....there are guys and girls over seas giving it, doing their job, as best they can, and this little ****e reckons shes gonna write a book..........

Great post, especially the scrunchy bit :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bean-bags

Well NO-ONE should buy the book if and when it appears on our shelves.. We will get our hands on one copy, photocopy it, and hand any interesting bits around.. if the whole army start buying it it will be a feckin best seller!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Well NO-ONE should buy the book if and when it appears on our shelves.. We will get our hands on one copy, photocopy it, and hand any interesting bits around.. if the whole army start buying it it will be a feckin best seller!

I'd say it'll be summarised in the Oirish Mail, or at worst you can read it on a quiet day in Easons or Waterstones. Though Waterstones may be a little high brow...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭donaghs

As a "veteran" of many tours of Krystal on Harcourt St, she has suffered enough.;)

http://www.showbizireland.com/news/september08/01-sutherland-powerless-at-krystle.shtml

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 emigrant36

athletics???!!!

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/BLOE_NAT/99ALL4.HTM

maybe she won an egg&spoon race when she was 15 too:rolleyes:

Jeez emigrant, and I thought I had too much time on my hands....

anyways, seems that Collette hasn't just gotten the wrong side of the military....

Herald.ie: Army girl's modelling dreams are shot down

And from long before she ever quit....

Showbiz Ireland- McBarrons: We're No McMunters...l (the comments section is par-tic-ularly interesting....)

Burnt bridges with the military, shunned by the model agencies and z-list makers, Ohh Miss McBarron, how thou hast erred......

We encounter a new word to describe her: McMunter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

In fairness... Christina would get it.

Poccington wrote: »
    In fairness... Christina would get it.

None of them are really that fantastic looking. At least not to my tastes. the Middle sister is just plain old nasty, looks like a bit of a hussey too!!!:D

Possibly NSFW!!!

http://www.showbiz.ie/news/march09/23-irish-victories-celebrated-at-krystle.shtml

4th picture down. I may have nightmares tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 emigrant36

lol!! the mcbarron's replies are hilarious! they honestly think people are jealous of them.... such saddos.

pmg58 wrote: »
    Possibly NSFW!!!

http://www.showbiz.ie/news/march09/23-irish-victories-celebrated-at-krystle.shtml

Head on her like a melted welly!Jesus thats rough.

As Poc said,Christina would get it in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

ewwww yer wan has a head on her like a bucke of smashed crabs....seriously it annoyed me before that such a sham got publicity out of the DF but now her absolutely Fugly sisters are in on the act. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Possibly NSFW!!!

NSFW???!!!
    Not bloody safe for life more like it. I think I need to lie down and have a stiff whiskey.

concussion wrote: »
    I think I need to lie down as I have a stiffy

FYP:pac:

Damn, you beat me to it Local Womanizer!!!!!!

Opportunistic!

Its great being finished up for the summer,loads of time on my hands to do stuff like that:pac: