Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

driving test fuk up

• 29-04-2009 8:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭

I had my driving test today.Everything was going perfect a nice day ,the area quite and i know the query questions inside and out.i meet the tester he seems like a nice guy.he rattles of a few theory questions and i answer them perfectly. Great i feel like im on a roll next we go out to my car and he asked me to lift the bonnet and again no problems.He then tells me start the engine.while he goes checks the lights and tyres.The lights are perfect and im thinking the tyres are perfect as there only a month old Wrong.the tester tells me to step out of the car ,im thinking o **** wats wrong.He points to one of the tyres and tells me there is a small bulge on it im gobsmacked i know whats coming next."DUE TO HEATH AND SAFETY REASONS I AM UNABLE TO LET YOU DO THE TEST AS URCAR ISNOT ROAD WORTHY.im ****ing raging nowas the tyre is only a month old.I going up to the tyre dealer who gave me this ball of **** and give him a piece of my mind.and iwant new tyre for free aswell ****ing cowboy.sorry for the long rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

tell him you want a new tyre and the cost of retaking the test.

(theres also a chance that you may have caused the lump....so be prepared for a huge F*CK 0FF.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Did you check the tyres before actually heading out to the test centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

PCPhoto wrote: »
    tell him you want a new tyre and the cost of retaking the test.

(theres also a chance that you may have caused the lump....so be prepared for a huge F*CK 0FF.)

the cost of a retest??

He'll laugh in your face and he will tell you to F&ck off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

If there is one thing I hate in this world it is driving testers.

What kind of a w***er of a tester was he. Fecks sake he could have pointed it out and let it slide. Really some people are in need of a serious kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

What kind of a w***er of a tester was he. Fecks sake he could have pointed it out and let it slide. Really some people are in need of a serious kick.
    Wake up, FFS. A bulge in a tyre is caused by damage to the inner reinforcement, the tyre should never be driven on. The OP should have made sure the car was roadworthy before presenting for the test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 blometjie

there is a chance that if you have already had the tyres for a month that unfortunately you could have caused the bulge yourself... its easily done by hitting a pothole or even driving too close to the kerb... you are unfortunatley unlikely to have any luck with the garage where you got them... its unfortunate tho that the tester saw it and prevented you from doing your test.... i know how stressful the build up to that bloody test is!! best of luck next time im sure youll fly it;)

Anan1 wrote: »
    Wake up, FFS. A bulge in a tyre is caused by damage to the inner reinforcement, the tyre should never be driven on. The OP should have made sure the car was roadworthy before presenting for the test.

I agree that it is dangerous but he is driving around a town at 50km/h not down a motorway at 140km/h he could have done the test and told him to get it sorted straight away after or let him quickly put on the spare. He drove to the tyre centre anyway so don't see what the tester gained by not doing the test as he didnt stop the car being driven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

could you not just have said give me 5 mins and changed the tyre witht he spare..... problem sorted...

I agree that it is dangerous but he is driving around a town at 50km/h not down a motorway at 140km/h he could have done the test and told him to get it sorted straight away after or let him quickly put on the spare. He drove to the tyre centre anyway so don't see what the tester gained by not doing the test as he didnt stop the car being driven.
    So you think the tester should have to conduct the test in a dangerous car, even though the rules clearly state (for fairly obvious reasons)that the car must be roadworthy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

blometjie wrote: »
    there is a chance that if you have already had the tyres for a month that unfortunately you could have caused the bulge yourself... its easily done by hitting a pothole or even driving too close to the kerb... you are unfortunately unlikely to have any luck with the garage where you got them... its unfortunate tho that the tester saw it and prevented you from doing your test.... i know how stressful the build up to that bloody test is!! best of luck next time im sure youll fly it;)

Exactly, if it was a couple of hours after you bought the tyre's op then you'd have some argument, but a month after??....
    The tyre people will not entertain you at all.

Granted the tester could have given you a stern "get it sorted" but he was only doing his job at the end of the day, and they are subject to testing and scrutiny too.
    Had he let it slide and was found out, he could have lost his job.

When i passed my test in '00, i had to have a major operation on my left eye 3 weeks before hand.
    As i had waited the best part of 6 months for my test i decided not to cancell.
    I showed up at the test centre with limited sight in my left eye and wearing shades.
    I told the tester that i had a minor accident playing hurling the night before and it looked worse than it was.

I sailed through the test :D

When i got home that evening i only realised that my reverse lights weren't working either...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Would you get into a car with someone you never met before, who does not have a full licence, who didn't check his tyres before doing his test?

If I was the tester I would be thinking how long was this guy driving around with a dodgy tyre and what else might be wrong with the car.

Not a hope I'd sit into it with him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Looks like the consensus is on the side of the tester. He was right not to let the OP continue. A slow puncture is one thing, but a bulge might've caused the tire to pop.

Fair play to the tester on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

I hate them but you get delight in knowing they have one of the most boring jobs in the country. I would get sick of the same thing every day.

Guess who had problems passing the test?:D

I took my test in tallaght on a wet and stormy day. I drove absolutly perfectly though and he fialed me due to driving too slow on the straight. I was maybe 2 or 3 km below the limit due to traffic and woeful conditions. he gave me 5 x's for that alone just enough to fail me.

few months later i passed it and i didnt even drive as well as i did in tallaght! I just think they are the lowest of the low that lot..fail some people for the sake of it even when they've shown good ability.

I took my test in tallaght on a wet and stormy day. I drove absolutly perfectly though and he fialed me due to driving too slow on the straight. I was maybe 2 or 3 km below the limit due to traffic and woeful conditions. he gave me 5 x's for that alone just enough to fail me.

few months later i passed it and i didnt even drive as well as i did in tallaght! I just think they are the lowest of the low that lot..fail some people for the sake of it even when they've shown good ability.
    You guys make me laugh sometimes. It's a simple test, all you need to do is turn up in a roadworthy car and drive competently and you'll pass. There is no conspiracy, other than the ones in your heads.

I would have agreed with you only I know what happened to me was bollox. No conspiracy just some people don't do their job right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 blometjie

You guys make me laugh sometimes. It's a simple test, all you need to do is turn up in a roadworthy car and drive competently and you'll pass. There is no conspiracy, other than the ones in your heads.

not entirely true im afraid... you can drive the same way in two different tests and pass in one and fail the other... it all depends on the tester... naturally i agree that good driving ability and a roadworthy car are essential...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭turnsoutIwas

I completely agree with you there. I worked as an instructor for 6 years and I pretty much always knew if somebody was going to pass or not based on their driving and nothing else. The amount of people who think that the testers are out to get them or have some amount of fails that they have to hand out is really ridiculous.

Sorry to repeat but: All you need to do is turn up in a roadworthy car and drive competently and you'll pass....

not entirely true im afraid... you can drive the same way in two different tests and pass in one and fail the other... it all depends on the tester... naturally i agree that good driving ability and a roadworthy car are essential...
    Maybe so if your ability is marginal. It's a fairly scientific test though, if you don't do any of the things that they mark you down on then you'll pass. A bad driver might get lucky and pass, but a competent driver won't fail.

I agree that the tester can make a difference. My sister passed her test a few months ago, now she is a good driver and passed no bother but it was raining when she did her test so out comes her female tester took one look at the rain and hopped straight into the car, skipping all the inspections of the car and the part of getting my sister to point out the dip stick, washer fluid etc( The car was perfect by the way, she would have found nothing if she had done the inspection).

This happened while another tester right beside them was out in the rain doing all the checks on the car of the lad he was about to test. If the OP was in my sisters situation he would not have failed on the tyre, so testers can make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Mrs JackDaniels

With you on this one. I passed my test first time round. The testers aren't there to trip you up!! If anything they want another person off their list

If anything they want another person off their list

Why would they want that? If there is no one left to do the tests or re-tests what are the testers going to do.
    If anything, its in there interest to have more people on the waiting list.

All im trying to say here that like all jobs some people just dont do it right. there are some testers that will fail you before you turn the key in your ignition for no reason. Most im sure are passing and failing the right people, some just don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Mrs JackDaniels

All im trying to say here that like all jobs some people just dont do it right. there are some testers that will fail you before you turn the key in your ignition for no reason. Most im sure are passing and failing the right people, some just don't.[/quote]

Guessing you were one of the people that failed as soon as you put the key in the ignition!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I did my test on a horrible wet day too. Tester did the basic checks in the rain (lights, signals, etc), but didn't do the under hood/tyre checks. He wouldn't have found a fault anyway.

From talking to driving instructors, a wet day is best, since they don't want to be standing out in the rain and getting soaked. I don't blame them either.

I passed first time. I had one mistake, which was noted. I'm not a perfect driver (is anyone????) but I am a competent driver who knows what he's at.

The tester I had was said to be the strictest at that test centre (by instructors who teach in that district).

As others have said, if your car is roadworthy and you drive competently, you shouldn't have a problem.

I don't believe the conspiracy theorists who say that instructors intentionally fail people. The waiting lists are long enough to keep them employed for years to come anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

Why does failing someone for a bullsh1t reason have to be a conspiracy? It's only a conspiracy if they discuss it with other testers - and why would they do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

firefly08 wrote: »
    Why does failing someone for a bullsh1t reason have to be a conspiracy?

Can't say I've ever known someone to fail for that. I've only heard of people failing because of something they did/didn't do correctly.

Driving a car that's not roadworthy is certainly a valid reason to fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

kbell wrote: »
    When i got home that evening i only realised that my reverse lights weren't working either...
    There is no legal requirement to have reverse lights so whether they were working or not was irrelevant. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

DecTipp wrote: »
    I had my driving test today.Everything was going perfect a nice day ,the area quite and i know the query questions inside and out.i meet the tester he seems like a nice guy.he rattles of a few theory questions and i answer them perfectly. Great i feel like im on a roll next we go out to my car and he asked me to lift the bonnet and again no problems.He then tells me start the engine.while he goes checks the lights and tyres.The lights are perfect and im thinking the tyres are perfect as there only a month old Wrong.the tester tells me to step out of the car ,im thinking o **** wats wrong.He points to one of the tyres and tells me there is a small bulge on it im gobsmacked i know whats coming next."DUE TO HEATH AND SAFETY REASONS I AM UNABLE TO LET YOU DO THE TEST AS URCAR ISNOT ROAD WORTHY.im ****ing raging nowas the tyre is only a month old.I going up to the tyre dealer who gave me this ball of **** and give him a piece of my mind.and iwant new tyre for free aswell ****ing cowboy.sorry for the long rant

Bum deal there Dec. But I don't think the defect was caused by who sold you the tyre. This is usually caused when the tyre gets nicked on a kerb or can be caused by driving over debris on the road or going into a small pothole...

Here's what could be the explanation now with that type of carry on... I've a good mate who works as a car salesman and he was going down to his local tax office last week to tax 5 cars and when he got to the counter, your wan behind the desk says, "Sorry, can only process 3 of these for you, you'll have to take another ticket and queue again to get the other 2 done"...

There would seem to be a kind of informal "work to rule, f*ck you Jack and your pension levy", emerging now in certain parts of the public sector.

My mate rared up on your wan and told her that just 'cos she was getting hit for a pension levy, she needn't bother taking it out on him, he was just trying to do his job and she was just making up petty rules as a form of protest.

I think just because you can do something doesn't always mean you should do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

Can't say I've ever known someone to fail for that

In fairness, neither had I until today:
    was maybe 2 or 3 km below the limit due to traffic and woeful conditions. he gave me 5 x's for that alone just enough to fail me

...but there you go - no conspiracy.

I failed my test first time after around 1 minute into the test after I brought the tester down a one way street by mistake (I wasn't familar with the area), and your man wanted to get of the car!

I've used to work with a lad who was doing his test in Naas and apparently there is an ignorant c*nt of a tester down there somewhere! Anyway this lad I worked with kept hearing your man tutting at him after telling him to turn or whatever, your man did it a few times and this lad I worked with pulled in and kicked your man out of the car for being ignorant to him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭FredH3as

Great so see that the "Ah sure it'll be grand..." days have gone. Tough sh!t OP.

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Here's what could be the explanation now with that type of carry on... I've a good mate who works as a car salesman and he was going down to his local tax office last week to tax 5 cars and when he got to the counter, your wan behind the desk says, "Sorry, can only process 3 of these for you, you'll have to take another ticket and queue again to get the other 2 done"...
    To be fair, there have been signs up in tax offices making people aware of this for the past ten years at least. I think it was introduced when firms first set up offering to take the documentation and queue for customers for a fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

Anan1 is right, all you have to do it turn up on time with a roadworthy car, but these things happen.

I'm amazed nobody here has even mentioned your spare wheel though. Did it even cross your mind to ask the tester if he could wait 5 minutes while you changed your wheel? If you were nice about it, I can't see why there'd be a problem - You did say the tester seemed sound enough, didn't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 theocn

it was raining when she did her test so out comes her female tester took one look at the rain and hopped straight into the car, skipping all the inspections of the car and the part of getting my sister to point out the dip stick, washer fluid etc( The car was perfect by the way, she would have found nothing if she had done the inspection).

I think if it's raining they're supposed to ask questions inside the car, that's what my instructor told me & that's what happened on my test. Before he got me to point out the secondary controls, he asked how I'd check my brake lights, how would I know if my tyres were roadworthy and i think he asked something about the handbrake.

he was going down to his local tax office last week to tax 5 cars and when he got to the counter, your wan behind the desk says, "Sorry, can only process 3 of these for you, you'll have to take another ticket and queue again to get the other 2 done"...

There would seem to be a kind of informal "work to rule, f*ck you Jack and your pension levy", emerging now in certain parts of the public sector.

My mate rared up on your wan and told her that just 'cos she was getting hit for a pension levy, she needn't bother taking it out on him, he was just trying to do his job
    .......and perhaps she was just trying to do her job and be fair to other customers.

If your friend was in his local supermarket, I don't think he would be impressed if the customer in front had 5 trolleys and insisted on paying for each one seperately.

IMO, he should have had to queue 5 seperate times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

On a slightly related note, is it possible to do a driving test with a spare wheel on the car?

.......and perhaps she was just trying to do her job and be fair to other customers.

If your friend was in his local supermarket, I don't think he would be impressed if the customer in front had 5 trolleys and insisted on paying for each one seperately.

IMO, he should have had to queue 5 seperate times.

Funny how it wasn't a problem until now, and now all of a sudden all these petty rules are appearing out of the woodwork. Regardless of whether he takes 1 ticket and someone processes 5 applications, he takes 2 tickets and two people process 5 applications or he takes 5 tickets and 5 people process one application each, the fact is that the 5 applications will be processed, the only difference I can see here is the length of time he has to spend in a queue for this to be done.

At the end of the day, a tax office deals with commercial as well as private customers and asking someone to queue several times for what in all seriousness is a genuine and legitimate series of transactions in the context of him working for a car dealership, I think is rediculous.

Funny how it wasn't a problem until now, and now all of a sudden all these petty rules are appearing out of the woodwork.
    Like I said, there have been signs up in the motor tax offices for the past ten years.:confused:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

steve06 wrote: »
    On a slightly related note, is it possible to do a driving test with a spare wheel on the car?
    if it one of those spacesaver penny pinching tyres they are only meant to get you to the garage.

Here in Ireland enough people use them on the motorway that the tester can't be certain that you haven't been driving on it beyond it's speed or distance limits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Like I said, there have been signs up in the motor tax offices for the past ten years.:confused:

It's been like that in the City Centre tax office for a good while too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭babel2

i dont remember my tester checking the tyres when i took the test.lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭brian076

steve06 wrote: »

You won't be taken out on test if you have a space saver wheel. All wheels on the car must be the same size

brian076 wrote: »
    All wheels on the car must be the same size
    Presumably, if different size wheels are fitted as standard, they'd have to be acceptable. (Some cars have wider rear wheels). ;)