Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Infatuated or in love

• 28-04-2009 11:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

She reads this site regularly so i'm going unreg for this

Been having this problem a lot recently. I know this girl. We hang out quite a bit. We do loads together, football, gigs, dinner, movies (the lads joke about the fact that we might as welll be married). She's absolutely amazing. Recently I've been thinking about her a lot and miss her when ever she's not around. I just wanna sit in together and hold her etc. I text her to say good night / good morning almost everyday (i don't stalk her, she's a mate, lol).

One of me mates reckons I'm in love with her. She's told me to say something to her. Another friend of knows about too and she reckons its just infatuation because we get on so well as mates.

What do you guys and girls think. Am I infatuated with this girl or in love with her??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭bluecell99

Sounds as if its a nice friendship and its perfectly natural to take it further if thats what ye both want.But how does she feel I wonder?Maybe she does not want anything more than friendship.I presume ye are both free and single so why not discuss a bit and give it a go?It doesnt sound like infatuation more like growing attraction which is understandable and normal.

Nothing to heavy like declaring your undying love but just try to move it on and sussing out the emotional bit on her part.You should know soon enough.

If she's not up for it then grand.But dont let it affect your continuing friendship in any case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I think love is something which lasts forever. For example, an ex of mine from a few years ago, I still love her, even though I know it is right we are not together anymore.

Infatuation, on the other hand, is temporary.

It is impossible to say which of the above you are feeling. What I will say though is that infatuation turns into love with time.

I think you should tell her how you feel.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sounds to me like you're in love with her. I've heard less emotion from people actually going together and you sound pretty compatible as people. Now you need to get the sex/romance bit going. That's where it can get all unstuck. You could say it too her, but I would say show her. Be more touchy feely, but in a more sexual way. I don't mean grope her!:) Just be more proactive. Ask her to dinner but make it more romantic.

Has she indicated anything on her side? Does she make jokes about "we should be hitched" and that sort of thing?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

Your lover / partner is supposed to be your best friend and in your case, thats a big positive to start a relationship on.. If you fancy her and there is no reason why you should not get into a relationship then tell her...

I doubt she will be surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

lonely lad wrote: »
    She reads this site regularly so i'm going unreg for this

Been having this problem a lot recently. I know this girl. We hang out quite a bit. We do loads together, football, gigs, dinner, movies (the lads joke about the fact that we might as welll be married). She's absolutely amazing. Recently I've been thinking about her a lot and miss her when ever she's not around. I just wanna sit in together and hold her etc. I text her to say good night / good morning almost everyday (i don't stalk her, she's a mate, lol).

One of me mates reckons I'm in love with her. She's told me to say something to her. Another friend of knows about too and she reckons its just infatuation because we get on so well as mates.

What do you guys and girls think. Am I infatuated with this girl or in love with her??
    Personally, i think that you're just infatuated with her.

Also, the fact that another one of your female mates knows how you feel about the girl in question....means more or less certainly that the girl in question now knows how you feel about her. Girls talk.

Also, you're risking embarassment by posting on here, with the possibility that this girl you like will suss your thread out.

As i say, you can bet that the girl you like now knows how you feel, because some of your mates now know...and if she's not sending out the signals the next time you're out together, you could be making a fool out of yourself, mate.