Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who do you Support?

• 27-04-2009 8:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭

All Provinces aside who is your local team? For me it's Corinthians RFC in Galway City, recently promoted to AIB DIV2 also, and well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Steyr wrote: »
    All Provinces aside who is your local team? For me it's Corinthians RFC in Galway City, recently promoted to AIB DIV2 also, and well deserved.
    For me its Wicklow in the Leinster League, played youths rugby there an still go to the odd game when im home.

In the AIL its clontarf, played junior rugby there while i was in college and got hooked on goin to AIL games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,973 ✭✭✭✭phog

Generally, I'd follow Shannon though I haven't been to any of their games this year :(. Hopefully, I will get to see them beat Tarf in Thomond Park on 9th May in the AIL final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Midleton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Played for Greystones for 10 years so would have been them but to be honest I haven't even been out there in 5 years, checking up on their results every now and then would be the closest I come to supporting any club these days!

Has to be Wexford!

Haven't been to a game in ages but follow the results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Old Belvedere, closely followed by Monkstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Young munster. But the local club is Tralee RFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Clontarf FC, always has been, always will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭bonnieprince

Young Munster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭conorlechance

Toulouse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

EMERALD :pac: WARRIORS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Garryowen. Gutted at the recent loss :(

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Nenagh Ormond RFC. Played from under 12 right up along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

sickpuppy wrote: »
    EMERALD :pac: WARRIORS

Why's that a joke?

If you're gay grand, if you're making an excuse at the expense of gay people that's fairly pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭puntosporting

Young Munster not doing so well these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Nenagh Ormond/ Dewsbury Rams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Have to go with my first team

Sunday's Well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

phog wrote: »
    Generally, I'd follow Shannon though I haven't been to any of their games this year :(. Hopefully, I will get to see them beat Tarf in Thomond Park on 9th May in the AIL final.

Clontarf, possibly the only team to have won twice in Thomond park in the same season beating Shannon and UL Bohs there a few seasons ago!!!

Why's that a joke?

If you're gay grand, if you're making an excuse at the expense of gay people that's fairly pathetic.

I'll be quite interested to see his response to that if he makes one, as I coach and play for them so wouldn't be entirely surprised if it was blatent homophobia alive and well in Irish rugby!

stephen_n wrote: »
    surprised if it was blatent homophobia alive and well in Irish rugby!

Blatant homophobia in Irish rugby...surely you jest! A tolerant and gay-friendly society like Ireland..I won't believe it....:rolleyes:

I doubt the poster will have the balls (no pun intended) if he's taking the mickey (again, no pun intended) to respond...

Although perhaps he's merely expresing a latent desire through his post...I've come across (you've guessed it, no pun here either, move along now) his type many times before....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

UL Bohs, played there for a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Would have to be Con, grew up around the corner and played underage and J3, till the old knee's went.

I'd have to admit I'm not following the AIL as closely as I should. Was passing Temple Hill last Saturday and should have gone in really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Gijoe

Navan RFC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Has to be Wexford!

Haven't been to a game in ages but follow the results.

New Ross!:P Where I was taught the game, fantastic club with really dedicated coaching staff.

toomevara wrote: »
    Blatant homophobia in Irish rugby...surely you jest! A tolerant and gay-friendly society like Ireland..I won't believe it....:rolleyes:

I doubt the poster will have the balls (no pun intended) if he's taking the mickey (again, no pun intended) to respond...

Although perhaps he's merely expresing a latent desire through his post...I've come across (you've guessed it, no pun here either, move along now) his type many times before....

Not going to threadjack here, but you'd be surprised at how accepting alot of the teams/players that play against the warriors are. In fairness rugby and rugby players in Ireland have come along way even from when I started playing and although you still get idiots and no club wants to get beaten by the poofs I'd have to say I have been quite impressed with the attitudes of most teams we have played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Pontyclun and Bridgend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Hey, just wondering what the ticket situation is for this. Is it just show up and pay on the gate or do you have to pick up tickets somewhere beforehand. Wouldn't mind going to this one to keep the blood going after going to Croker to watch Munster beat Leinster (hopefully) the week before. Cheers.
    phog wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

stephen_n wrote: »
    Not going to threadjack here, but you'd be surprised at how accepting alot of the teams/players that play against the warriors are. In fairness rugby and rugby players in Ireland have come along way even from when I started playing and although you still get idiots and no club wants to get beaten by the poofs I'd have to say I have been quite impressed with the attitudes of most teams we have played.

aye, shows how respectful and noble our sport is. You'd NEVER see this in football. Take Nigel Owens for example, when he came out, nothing was made of it.. could you imagine an openly gay referee reffing a premier league game? There would be outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭puntosporting

chupacabra wrote: »
    aye, shows how respectful and noble our sport is. You'd NEVER see this in football. Take Nigel Owens for example, when he came out, nothing was made of it.. could you imagine an openly gay referee reffing a premier league game? There would be outrage.
    In this day and age i doubt that!

chupacabra wrote: »

Yet there are no OPENLY gay professional players, but yeah rugby has made huge strides to accept it unlike soccer and that is a testament to the game and it's supporters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Young Munster!!!!!!

dan719 wrote: »
    New Ross!:P Where I was taught the game, fantastic club with really dedicated coaching staff.

Feckin' scobies! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Play for & support Stillorgan RFC
    Local AIL club is Greystones and I go to the odd match as time permits
    Province is Leinster
    GP club would be London Irish, but I like Wasps too
    In Top 14, Paris Stade Francais.

If we are truly a liberal and tolerant society then we wont get upset at a little
    comment in a forum.
    Not homophobic if i was playing a match against those guys id not be afraid to take a shower relax.

If we are truly a liberal and tolerant society then we wont get upset at a little
    comment in a forum.

Fair point, I may not agree with what you say but I defend your right to say it!
    But, that doesn't make you immune from criticism or debate...so back to the substantive issue; are you a member/supporter of the Emerald Warriors? If not why post it?

I dunno why i posted it not a member of them id support Balliansloe home town and Stillorgan where i train.
    I once threw a pint bottle of cider at a garda car when asked i couldnt answer why sometimes people do say stupid things without thinking such as my post apologies to all offended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Play for & support Stillorgan RFC
    Province is Leinster

The same here ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭ManoCornuta

Connacht *dances*

But aside from Connacht...Tuam women's, Loughrea, DCU

I dunno why i posted it not a member of them id support Balliansloe home town and Stillorgan where i train.
    I once threw a pint bottle of cider at a garda car when asked i couldnt answer why sometimes people do say stupid things without thinking such as my post apologies to all offended.

Fair play to you. An eloquent apology, well made. Good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 happypuppy

Tuam Ladies followed by Tuam Men of course!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭ManoCornuta

happypuppy wrote: »
    Tuam Ladies followed by Tuam Men of course!:)

Can't comment! Only seen Tuam men play once, before I moved out that way, and it was against Loughrea, so I was rooting for them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

In this day and age i doubt that!

I have to agree, lets not be patting ourselves on the back. Didn't Justin Fashanu come out in the 80's in English 1st Div football?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Shannon RFC-Me Da playedwith them for a good few years so i was brought up to support them and Munster.. I liv in Leinster but was born in Munster and left when i was 3 and a lot of my family are from Munster so before any calls me a 'glory hunter'.. there are some reasons why i support those teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Barnhall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

thegen wrote: »
    I have to agree, lets not be patting ourselves on the back. Didn't Justin Fashanu come out in the 80's in English 1st Div football?

And was shunned by his brother and treated appallingly. His career suffered immeasurably and he committed suicide.

So no I don't think football treats gay people as well as they deserve, ie, as people.

TBH M8 the comment wasn't offensive but I would definitely construe it as being homophobic even though as you say it was just a random joke with no malice behind it. I can assure you the lads on the team would take the piss out of themselves far more. I was curious as to why you made the comment as I would assume that 90% of the people on here wouldn't even know who the warriors were. As a member of the team I wouldn't be offended by the joke and since I'm not actually gay I can't get offended at the inference lol but fair play to you for replying because if you had left it at that then it would have been offensive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Going off topic guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

indeed back on topic people.

Greystones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Feckin' scobies! ;)

How any wexford man could call a rossonian a scobe is beyond me. How is your 45 degree slope of a pitch?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

London Irish..

Clane R.F.C..