Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegas Baby.

• 27-04-2009 8:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭

Hi everyone. Just thought id ask ye guys for some advice. Ill be coming to las vegas in July, first time and i was looking at hotels, i came across New York New york casino and hotel, it looks to mark all the boxes for me, doesnt seem too posh and has a Irish pub and 3 other pubs which look great, also looks to have nice restraunts, my question is have any of ye guys stayed here before? would ye recomend it? Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Decent location aswell. Havent stayed there but most rooms in Vegas around that price range are going to be similarly good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

I stayed beside it in the monte carlo ! Its in a decent enough location like MGM over the road and i guess you could walk to caesars and the bellagio at night.

As for the irish pub its not really your typical irish bar, went there one night for a few and its not that great.

I think NYNY will be fine if your not expecting something spectacular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭LTL

MGM is similar in price and definitly a nicer hotel IMO. NewYorkNewYork seems to be really good for (cheap) food though! I stayed in The Mirage aswell and just thought the casino and hotel in the MGM was much better but the room was really nice in both hotels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭SouthKerry

So how strict is dress code when going to dinner in vegas? Wouls jeans black shoes and a shirt suffice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

Make sure an go on the roller coaster...D bomb imo :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

SouthKerry wrote: »
    So how strict is dress code when going to dinner in vegas? Wouls jeans black shoes and a shirt suffice?

Depends where you are going but only the poshest of the posh places would refuse you grub in that attire.

Dress code can be weird though, I got refused entry to a niteclub last week for wearing Timberland boots - boots weren't allowed, they asked me to change into white runners, sandals or any sort of flat soled tennis shoes.
    Bit different to Ireland dress code :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭dougee19

where did you find the rooms southkerry?
    i kinda forgot to books my rooms in the binions yet and they're booked out certain dates now, so i'm looking at other places. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Tony3004

why wud you stay in binions in the first place dougee, definately worth a look tho the hall of fame pics are cool enough, cardroom is small , place is very old school
    still, 90 yr old grannys by the dozen , and a good bit from rio and the strip (taxi or bus needed) treasure island is a good option , is cheap anyway, or the sahara aswell, both in ok locations on the strip ,

Theres alot cheaper than the NYNY amd MGM , for little difference in quality really, i stayed in the monte carlo, and was fine, after resarch for this yr i would stay in sahara or treasure island for the cheaper option , and MGM over NYNY for the more expensive option, better variety of poker in MGM aswell, not much offered pokerwise in the NYNY

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Hi everyone. Just thought id ask ye guys for some advice. Ill be coming to las vegas in July, first time and i was looking at hotels, i came across New York New york casino and hotel, it looks to mark all the boxes for me, doesnt seem too posh and has a Irish pub

They serve the shepards pie in a metal bucket................. just... like... home.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭POKERKING

loads of info here lads

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055491981

http://www.fatwallet.com/forums/travel-deals/704925

http://smartervegas.com/searchresult...th=9&year=2008

http://www.vegas-hotels-online.com/

http://hotels.travelzoo.com/las-vegas-hotels/

try the above especially the vegas-hotel one, i booked the monte carlo and mgm for june/july got a great price on it much cheaper than goin direct to to the hotel or through hotels.com or any of those, bohsman also got the mgm for a great price def worth checkin it out(some of the discount codes are out of date!)

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭Adrock-aka

Just got back this week. Stayed in the mgm, mirage and mandalay bay. MGM was ok. Mirage was amazing. Wouldnt recommend mandalay bay unless you just wanna chill on a fake beach! Mirage is on the better side of the strip for gambling etc imo and it was worth paying that bit more. You'll save on taxi fares if you stay there as it is very central strip. Location Location Location! Treasure Island would be a good place to stay if youre looking for good value, a great location and especially soft $1-3 cash games.

If you get a chance, go see the beatles love show its unreal. Have a good one

edit: also if youre going with the missuz a restaurant called serendipity's 3 just opened outside caesars. its only open two weeks and its savage. its a really exclusive new york restaurant that usually has 3hours + waiting time for a seat there but no one in vegas realises how good it is. No wait at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭elchanco

Adrock-aka wrote: »

If you get a chance, go see the beatles love show its unreal. Have a good one

I agree... unreal show! I stayed in the New York New York last august. It was only ok, spent most of my time in the mgm,bellagio,planet holly!

The Irish bar is brutal in the new york (if u like dodgy karaoke its ok)..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭dangerousdavid

Anyone wearing jeans and black shoes should be killed imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭smcb

there's a great steakhouse in nyny, beside the espn bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

fwiw I thought NYNY was great, it's connected to the MGM, which has a nice poker room. It's really cheap, nice food etc. The club there Rok Vegas just opened when I was there and was pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭SouthKerry

Thanks for the replys folks. Ive got a great rate for NY NY at $450 for 7 nights. I read the reviews of the restraunts and they all seem to be positive, plus its got a bar with craft beer that has got good reviews.
    It will be my first time in Vegas so im looking forward to it, lots of eating and drinking and some small time gambling:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Thanks for the replys folks. Ive got a great rate for NY NY at $450 for 7 nights. I read the reviews of the restraunts and they all seem to be positive, plus its got a bar with craft beer that has got good reviews.
    It will be my first time in Vegas so im looking forward to it, lots of eating and drinking and some small time gambling:D

what dates did yoiu get that for mate?thats an excellent price 450dols for a room for a week yeah?what site you got through?