Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW E46 Spoiler Stolen

• 27-04-2009 1:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭

Hi Guys,

The lip spoiler off my E46 coupe was stolen at the weekend while parked in a public car park!

Does anybody know where I could buy a reasonably priced one? I tried Joe Duffy Motors and they are looking to charge me €200 ex vat for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Ouch! Cheeky B&^t*&D$ !!

How are the secured? Is it Glued on?

Much body damage? You may try traynors up north or kilcock car dismantlers. Tough to come by spoilers, but you might be lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭babel

These spoilers seem to be just stuck with some adhesive so no bodywork damage. I say I was only away from the car for about 15 minutes. Whoever did it knew what they were doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

You can get them on ebay for a reasonable price.

Well that's the only bonus. I've seen the damage from screwdrivers from scummy Badge collectors. Best of luck with your search.

Im after a passenger wing mirror for mine. Drunken reveller at a house party fell against the car snapped it off.

Needless to say none too impressed but he's paying for it. **** happens not going to hernia over it.

Elessar wrote: »
    You can get them on ebay for a reasonable price.

Yeah I saw some of them on ebay, seem to be posting from Taiwan. Just wondering what the quality of them would be like.

They come primed and unfinished though so factor in the cost of colour matching locally.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,349 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

the reason they are only held on with 3M tape is because of the above. i would rather come out and find my lip spoiler perfectly removed with no scrapes or dints then have it destroyed with dints etc etc

you can pick up exact replicas on ebay for less than a 100e, some even come painted already.

how they get them off is either a hairdryer to heat the tape or a credit card type thing to remove it!

babel wrote: »
    Yeah I saw some of them on ebay, seem to be posting from Taiwan. Just wondering what the quality of them would be like.

no difference in the one i got for my cousin about 18months ago, he had it painted and is stil on the car today!

i recently bout one for my E90, should be here this week so will update when it arrives. bought from ebay, primed and painted to match my car including delivery was 121e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

Thats crazy , i never heard of someone just stealing a rear spoiler . People will take anything these days .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Dub6Kevin

I can't help with the particular problem but just on the subject of bits being robbed...

Mrs Dub6Kevin came out one morning to find that the steering wheel of our 3 series had been stolen along with the radio. THE STEERING WHEEL!

When she rang the aforementioned Joe Duffy service department she was invited to drive it around - not the sharpest tools in the box!

Cost a bleedin' fortune (about €1k) and the guards said it will have been stolen to order. Replacing the airbags is one of the most expensive parts of crash repairs so they find the right type of car, follow it to the owner's house and come back during the night to help themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

The spoiler on the boot of my E46 is both bolted on and bonded. Steer clear of the cheaper glass fibre aftermarket spoilers as they aren't a patch on the materials used in the factory item.

Nforce wrote: »
    The spolier on the boot of my E46 is both bolted on and bonded. Steer clear of the cheaper glass fibre aftermarket spoilers as they aren't a patch on the materials used in the factory item.

the oem lip spolier is stuck down with 3 M tape, assuming this is the one which was stolen from the OP

E4620TL202.jpg

if your spoiler is bolted down, then it is one of the raised spoilers, not the lip spoiler as in the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Yep...mine is similar to this one...

BMW%20E46%20trunk%20spoiler%20coupe.jpg

Nforce wrote: »
    Yep...mine is similar to this one...

aghh yes, they are bolted down alright! less chance of been stolen but if the feckers try, they'll do damage :mad:

Dub6Kevin wrote: »
    I can't help with the particular problem but just on the subject of bits being robbed...

Mrs Dub6Kevin came out one morning to find that the steering wheel of our 3 series had been stolen along with the radio. THE STEERING WHEEL!

When she rang the aforementioned Joe Duffy service department she was invited to drive it around - not the sharpest tools in the box!

Cost a bleedin' fortune (about €1k) and the guards said it will have been stolen to order. Replacing the airbags is one of the most expensive parts of crash repairs so they find the right type of car, follow it to the owner's house and come back during the night to help themselves.

Steering Wheel!! Thats crazy.. Must have been some effort to disconnect that.

kceire wrote: »
    the oem lip spolier is stuck down with 3 M tape, assuming this is the one which was stolen from the OP

E4620TL202.jpg

if your spoiler is bolted down, then it is one of the raised spoilers, not the lip spoiler as in the OP.

yep, thats the one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Geoff845

babel wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

The lip spoiler off my E46 coupe was stolen at the weekend while parked in a public car park!

Does anybody know where I could buy a reasonably priced one? I tried Joe Duffy Motors and they are looking to charge me €200 ex vat for one.

Who were you talking to in Duffy's? I'll try and get you a deal on one. PM me if you want

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Barr wrote: »
    Thats crazy , i never heard of someone just stealing a rear spoiler . People will take anything these days .
    I believe that its relatively common for them to be taken off E46s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I was actually thinking of getting one of these on ebay for my own e46 coupe. Not so sure now. :confused:

Elessar wrote: »
    I was actually thinking of getting one of these on ebay for my own e46 coupe. Not so sure now. :confused:

go for it, if you live your live in fear of it being stole you'll never get anything!

dint be beaten by the scum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Bear in mind that painted items may still not be a proper match and may require repainting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

i got mine on ebay, perfect size and colour match! €50, just give them your paint code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Idbatterim wrote: »
    i got mine on ebay, perfect size and colour match! €50, just give them your paint code.

do you remember who it was on ebay?

jon1981 wrote: »

purely for show, technically speaking i would say they increase downforce by 0.0001%, but they do look very very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Dub6Kevin wrote: »
    Panic over, it turns out she accidentally sat in the back seat.

Thanks for the replies guys.

I am waiting to hear back from a guy working with BMW, if he cant get a good deal for me I will go with Ebay.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I got mine off eBay too, prepainted and a perfect match. The first one arrived in the post in a 5-6ft carboard box, with one end completely bent. I opened it up and sure enough it was damaged. I sent the seller this picture and he gladly sent out another one, fair play to him.

Spoiler.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jlips

Just bought a 2004 E46 m sport coupe from england 2 months ago and some cheeky little F***er stole it. it was peeled off.. no damage to the bodywork fortunatly. Just bought a new one on ebay for 32e, delivery included from taiwan. heres a link http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320374625160&viewitem=&sspagename=ADME%3AB%3AEOIBSA%3AIE%3A1123

should get it in the nexy week or so, so will update with qauilty.