Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to improve short game

• 27-04-2009 1:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭

Right, I'm practising my long game by spending a lot of time on the driving range and getting comfortable with my swing. I've seen drastic improvement off the tee in a short time.

But I don't really know what to do about improving my short game.
    In reading the golf is not a game of perfect it becomes obvious that the short game should be about 70% of your practice, but how do people go about doing this?
    I don't have a practice area at my course..... i.e. there is a putting green, but no chipping area.
    Is it just a case of practice by playing? Do ye guys go off and play rounds on your own.... playing a few balls?
    I could get a chipping net for the back garden, but that's very limiting. You don't get the variety of shots you need to learn. short pitches / chip and runs / bunker shots etc etc.

With regards putting, I seem to be getting lower back pain if I practice for anything over 10 minutes.... anyone any ideas if it could be my stance etc. Might ask my pro friend about that.

Sorry if these are dumb questions, new to the actual attempt of improving my golf rather than just casual playing :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

i'd read Pelz's "Short-Game Bible" - i found it fantastic. Not only explains what to do, but it also explains why the short game is so important. You can tell a lot of time and research went into the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

The short game is mainly about practice. But as you say how do you do it?

I generally go off in the evening with the intention of playing two balls to every green as I find that to be the best way to practice (however I know that I shouldn't be doing it).

I've seen short game practice areas on the web but the problem is that unless people are bombing off drives they feel they aren't getting their money's worth. Dublin (and elsewhere) needs a custom short-game range where people can get good lessons and can practice chipping and pitching. Some ranges do have practice areas for the short game (the one at the airport does but you have to be a member to use it).

If you get back pain when putting then you'll also get pain when chipping. To avoid this I'd vary the practice. Don't hit more than three balls in a row and then stand up and retrieve them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

jimbling wrote: »
    Is it just a case of practice by playing? Do ye guys go off and play rounds on your own.... playing a few balls?
    Our course has a practice green/bunker but the green would not be the same standard as the main greens. We also have some extra holes that are not specifically for practice but lots of people will hit an extra chip/putt etc on a sunday morning or weekeday evening for example.
    I could get a chipping net for the back garden, but that's very limiting. You don't get the variety of shots you need to learn. short pitches / chip and runs / bunker shots etc etc.
    you dont even need a net, my garden is no more than 20 feet long and I chip and run and pitch/flop towards an open, upside down unmbrella. It wont mean that you can walk onto the course and know the pace, but your technique will be much better and it wont take more than a few holes to get your pace in.
    With regards putting, I seem to be getting lower back pain if I practice for anything over 10 minutes.... anyone any ideas if it could be my stance etc. Might ask my pro friend about that.
    I had the same issue and recently read an article related to it. Its vital to warm up before practice putting, even spending 5 mins taking full swings and/or stretching will make a difference. If you practice putting cold you will get stiff and sore. Also alternating your practice (as said above) helps, or even just stand up every few putts and stretch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Greebo,

Not sure how you managed to get my name against those posts?
    I have not posted in this tread until now.

Anyway practice is the only way, and lots of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

i'd read Pelz's "Short-Game Bible" - i found it fantastic. Not only explains what to do, but it also explains why the short game is so important. You can tell a lot of time and research went into the book.

Cheers, I'll give that a go.
    I already purchased putting out of your mind. Haven't read it yet, but presume it's along the same lines as golf is not a game of perfect and predominantly about the mind when putting.

stockdam wrote: »
    The short game is mainly about practice. But as you say how do you do it?

I generally go off in the evening with the intention of playing two balls to every green as I find that to be the best way to practice (however I know that I shouldn't be doing it).

Are you actually not supposed to be doing it? i.e. it's frowned upon/against the rules?
    It's something I always did in my younger years as a pitch & putt player. Speaking of that, it's something that really gets to me. I used to be an excellent pitch & putt player.... you'd think I could bring that into the golf game. But I guess that was years ago, and it is a totally different game. :rolleyes:

GreeBo wrote: »
    you dont even need a net, my garden is no more than 20 feet long and I chip and run and pitch/flop towards an open, upside down unmbrella. It wont mean that you can walk onto the course and know the pace, but your technique will be much better and it wont take more than a few holes to get your pace in.
    My garden is in awful condition. It's lumpy... no run whatsoever. I spent a bit of time the other day practising flop shots all right which kind of helped.

GreeBo wrote: »
    I had the same issue and recently read an article related to it. Its vital to warm up before practice putting, even spending 5 mins taking full swings and/or stretching will make a difference. If you practice putting cold you will get stiff and sore. Also alternating your practice (as said above) helps, or even just stand up every few putts and stretch.

Cheers, will definitely try that. Yes, I am always start putting cold.
    thegen wrote: »
    Anyway practice is the only way, and lots of it.

Yes, fully aware of that... it's the practice methods that I'm wondering about. Purely on the course practice?

Another point.... the videos on videojug and the like have really helped me improve my long game... off the tee etc. But there doesn't seem to be the same amount of videos on short game shots. I found one on the chip and run... and a few on putting.... but nothing as good. Anyone good links to short game advice/tutorials?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Cheers, I'll give that a go.
    I already purchased putting out of your mind. Haven't read it yet, but presume it's along the same lines as golf is not a game of perfect and predominantly about the mind when putting.

Are you actually not supposed to be doing it? i.e. it's frowned upon/against the rules?
    It's something I always did in my younger years as a pitch & putt player. Speaking of that, it's something that really gets to me. I used to be an excellent pitch & putt player.... you'd think I could bring that into the golf game. But I guess that was years ago, and it is a totally different game. :rolleyes:

My garden is in awful condition. It's lumpy... no run whatsoever. I spent a bit of time the other day practising flop shots all right which kind of helped.

Cheers, will definitely try that. Yes, I am always start putting cold.

Yes, fully aware of that... it's the practice methods that I'm wondering about. Purely on the course practice?

Another point.... the videos on videojug and the like have really helped me improve my long game... off the tee etc. But there doesn't seem to be the same amount of videos on short game shots. I found one on the chip and run... and a few on putting.... but nothing as good. Anyone good links to short game advice/tutorials?

Well when I'm practising its up in the club. On the chipping green, or at the range. Sorry i was not trying to pee you off there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

try to be creative with your pitching and chipping try high-low shots low runners and try shots where you can check/spin the ball.

Try tro use your imagination and you will become a far better player from 100 yards in..

For putting you can play many games try make it exciting for yourself try putts from say 10 feet with lots break and try hit firm putts with less break and practise where you use maximium break this helps feel on your putts.

putting is the key a good putter and your half way there to good player already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

I'd recommend getting 2 or 3 lessons before practice. There are a few things a pro can tell you and demonstrate and give feedback on which are hard to get from videos or books, like
    • weight distribution
    • swing
    • ball striking
    Then go and practice anywhere - in your hallway, back garden, range, course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

My own garden is more Savanna than Sawgrass but what I try to do is pick a spot that I want the chip/run to land on. If I can hit that in my back garden then I can hit it anywhere, once you can do this you can figure out where you need to land it on the course based on the speed of the greens etc.

There are quite a lot of videos on Youtube.

Try this link - I haven't viewed any yet.

http://www.golfshake.com/video/view/3/Tips_Chipping/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 tyrrelk

stockdam wrote: »
    There are quite a lot of videos on Youtube.

Try this link - I haven't viewed any yet.

http://www.golfshake.com/video/view/3/Tips_Chipping/
    good website

Here are two videos that are very simple but they have helped me both with my long game and with my pitching (they won't help with chipping or putting).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6kLRjh1RRxc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzx0tLOckiY&feature=related

I've included them as they may help with your full pitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

would suggest maybe getting out and playing Pitch & Putt again?

I went and had a couple of lessons on short game (chipping, and bunkers) and have to say its shown a great improvement.

Heard a bit of abuse about Celbridge Driving Range, but if you're anywhere near it, they've a seperate section netted off to the side with a green and a couple of bunkers you can use for practicing?

A basic green-side bunker shot is fairly easy to play.

It helps if you have a proper sand wedge but a lob wedge will also do.

Stand open (feet, shoulders and hips pointing left of the target).

Open the clubface and take your grip (don't turn your hands to open the face).

Keep the ball fairly forward in your stance (between left heel and midway).

Focus on a spot about 3 inches behind the ball.......this is where you need to strike the sand.

Take a fairly full smooth swing and follow through. Take a "divot" of sand about 6 inches long and let this push the ball out (you aren't trying to hit the ball but rather you are trying to let the club slide under the ball).

Don't hit down too steeply but make sure you hit the sand before the ball and hit hard enough that the club will take a nice divot.

If the sand is hard or wet then don't open the clubface as much and also make sure you get right down and through (don't quit).

The main faults are trying to hit the ball first (a must though for fairway bunker shots), trying to scoop the ball out, quitting on the swing, trying to chip the ball out (this can work but I'm talking here about the basic shot). On hard sand the club can bounce off the surface and you'll thin the ball unless you really hit down hard and through.

The swing is like a cut-up lob shot but instead of hitting the ball you want to take a divot before and through under the ball.

Sorry I don't mean to hijack this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Slightly off topic, but the only extra info I'd offer is: remember to keep your hands soft around and on the greens. It will give you far more feel, whatever shot you play and it's something you need to practice so it starts to come naturally.

I played with a mate in Macreddin a week ago and he was throttling his pitching wedge so tightly he obviously thought it was Brian Lenihan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

Try these http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=scott+cranfield&page=1

Cheers for all that info lads. Great stuff. I haven't had a minute over the last few days, but I'll start looking through those vids etc tonight.

Just to say, I watched a few of the short pitches videos the last two days. Went for a short, 8 hole, round yesterday evening. My short pitching was much improved already.
    Now to learn how to use a bloody putter. 3 put 4 times in 8 holes is just shocking :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Hi ,

I bought Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (only 13.95 bookdepository.com) and found it great . Its a large Hardback book and I find if you place it in the garden at various distances and try to pitch/chip to it it will improve your short game no end. :D

(In seriousness , I did actually buy it last week but havent gotten around to reading it yet , will post when I do.)

Cheers,

MS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

IMO the may fault with peoples chipping is their setup.

Never mind swinging the club but they set up all wrong.

Some set up like they are going to hit a iron off the fairway with a tighter stance.

Most players should forget about playing flop shots like Big Phil and concentrate on pitch and chip and runs.

as confidence increases and ability then increase their array of shots.