Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

515 PRESENTS CARL COX THIS FRIDAY @ TRIPOD

• 27-04-2009 1:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭

POD CONCERTS PRESENT
    CARL COX

Support

LRB

01st May 2009 @ TRIPOD/ Doors 11pm
    Advance Tickets from usual outlets. Phone/internet bookings subject to extra service charges.
    www.ticketmaster.ie /24hr Hotline 0818 719300
    Advance tickets €25.05 including booking fee.
    For more info www.pod.ie

July 2008 saw the epic return to Ireland of Carl Cox, deservedly one of the worlds’ most recognized DJ’s. The sheer bloody mastery that ensued meant a quick return to Dublin was inevitable and PoD is proud to present just that. A musical ambassador since he was in short trousers, a professional DJ since his early teens, a veteran of acid house and a champion of techno; Carl Cox emits a love of his work that is dangerously infectious. Check him when he's behind the turntables and you can't mistake his ecstatic visage, dripping with sweat as his head bobs up and down to the beat, his hands pumping the air whenever they're not manipulating the turntables, his body swaying back and forth, frequently taking to the mike to share word on the latest underground tune he's about to break. You name it, Carl's been there and done it, but he's never lost sight of the point of it: playing music, breaking tunes, spreading love, celebrating life.

In 1977, aged 15, Carl got a set of turntables and began working as a mobile DJ. Disco was the first music that captivated him but by the early 80s Cox had moved on to playing the same music as other young London DJs - rare groove, New York hip-hop and electro. He was perfectly placed to hear Chicago house music in its earliest forms, and when the epic 'Acid Trax' by Phuture (a.k.a. DJ Pierre) came out in early '87, "I was just 'This is it.' I would do my parties, and I'd play old rare groove and hip hop and soul and I would say 'Right you've got to hear this Phuture track and people would just stop. It's funny because all the people who thought I had freaked out then are the people who are making the music now."

As a founder of the sound, Carl rode the exploding British rave scene. He played the opening night of Danny Rampling's legendary Shoom, co-promoted The Project with Paul Oakenfold, held a residency at the Zap Club in Brighton and at the Sunrise rave in 1988, hooked up a third turntable for his dawn-breaking set, got 15,000 kids back on their feet, and established a personal rep for three-deck wizardry.

After forming Intec Records in 1999, the label went on to score a series of underground hits. Continuing his mission to conquer the entire world, seeing as Carl Cox Global radio show’s audience figures have reached 2 million per weekend, it’s little wonder Kiss 100 FM head-hunted Carl as a figurehead for their re-launch. Global’s world syndication has dominated airwaves in the prime-time slots of some of the world’s premier radio stations for nearly 3 years, running weekly across twenty countries, including America, Argentina, Turkey, Romania and Lebanon. Carl made a triumphant return to Kiss with a show entirely dedicated to new music. Guests include Sven Vath, Jaques Lu Cont and Josh Wink with label profiles on Buzzin’ Fly, International Deejay Gigolos and Soma amongst others.

Carl’s dedication to giving the fans something more than a man and three turntables is clearly one reason he was given top billing at the massive Coachella festival in California, alongside Madonna, Massive Attack and Franz Ferdinand. In August 2006 Carl returned to his native London as the host and official patron of the SW4 festival, where 20,000 happy ravers lost it to Carl’s headline set.

His upcoming Tripod appearance, part of his Ireland & U.K. tour 2009, coincides with the release of his forthcoming DVD, Carl Cox 24/7, due for release in spring 2009 worldwide, and promises to deliver more of why he’s continually voted the worlds’ best live DJ. It’s an exclusive documentary covering the everyday life of Carl. Never before has anyone been granted this kind of access into his life outside of DJing. As Carl tells us; “I’ve never documented aspects of my life like this, so it’s been a great experience. It really shows what I’m about and how I’ve got where I am today. Prepare yourself for a night that will go down in 2009’s list of gigs you should not have missed!

LRB

LRB. is one of Ireland's best known dance DJs and resident DJ @ 515 Tripod sharing the decks with everyone from Sasha to Carl Cox, Danny Howells to Booka Shade. After a lightening career promoting what would become some of Dublin's most infamous underground clubs it was time for the boy to go over ground. He soon had his own show on Dublin's Nova 947 and it wasn't long before LRB caught the attentions of POD promoter Robbie Butler and was booked for his first Red Box gig supporting Sandy Rivera. A Red Box residency was in the bag and sets alongside Tim Deluxe, Seb Fontaine, Groove Armada, James Zabiela, Tiefschwarz, Darren Emerson + many more followed. LRB went on to appear at the Witness, Oxygen, Garden Party & Electric Picnic festivals. He is also a member of new dance act Totally Random DJs who are signed to John Aquavivas definitive recordings and have had a number 1 record with the Potbellez in Australia.

UPCOMING @ 515 TRIPOD

Booka Shade 24th April
    Carl Cox 1st May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭markious

Was going to head to this.

But after what happened at Booka Shade I doubt Ill go.

Bouncers were on a bloody power trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

markious wrote: »

Do explain....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

markious wrote: »
    Was going to head to this.

But after what happened at Booka Shade I doubt Ill go.

That's a strange one as ive always found the bouncers in Tripod to be sound enough compared to the steriod fuelled coked up buffons who used to do the door @ The Red Box and POD (that's not to say the Tripod bouncers weren't out of order) what happened?

Basically I was refused without any real consideration or excuse.

So I hung around, as you do, trying to woo my way in.

When another potential customer approached the door and was told

"Jesus mate sorry your well too soaked, not tonight"

To which the man erupted, understandably and of course then they had another reason. Now friday night was an TERRIBLE night, the raid was bucketing down

Another person, who had a Ticket - Was told now as they didn't believe it was him on the passport - He also produced a medical card in his name with no joy.

Just seemed like they were trying to control the big crowd

And made an arse of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

I've heard a lot of bad stuff about Tripod recently. Heard it's like going through customs trying to get into the place - you have to take your shoes off, get searched head to toe, then get some token and queue again to get ID'd. Friend of mine went to Sven Vath and was told he's too young for the gig despite being 18 and having a ticket. Then another mate was in the smoking area at Booka Shade and accidentally dropped his pint and he got thrown out for it, he said the bouncer had his arm twisted around his back and his wrist was in bits afterwards. And these lads aren't scumbags or weren't completely out of it so I really don't see why they were thrown out.

Bouncers on a power trip annoy me :mad:

Take your shoes off going into some club :eek: what the fcuk do they think it is walking through departures in an airport or something that's insane, if someone asked me to take off my shoes going into a club id tell them where to go and walk away, id seriously complain to Tripod over this if i were you mate that is outrageous behaviour by the bouncers, the e-mail address is info@pod.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Yeah, emailing them is a good idea. In the current atmosphere they'll want all the good business they can get. Let the management come down on the bouncers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Yeah will pass the email address on, cheers. Was pretty outrageous alright!

Jello wrote: »
    I've heard a lot of bad stuff about Tripod recently. Heard it's like going through customs trying to get into the place - you have to take your shoes off, get searched head to toe, then get some token and queue again to get ID'd.

Never had to take my shoes off or get a token. Dont know how true that is

But definitely had to re que to be ID'd after a search.

It is ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Griff77

Yea I went to see Sven Vath and you had to queue up and got one serious search! They got you to empty your pockets into a little tray where they looked into your wallet, then they also patted you down and checked your hood etc... Seriously it was a bigger search than I usually get in the airport! Tripod's loosing it if you ask me.

Has something happened to warrant this?

Jaysus this is not good, i guess i must be lucky as ive never been searched in that manner going into Tripod, this reminds me of what it was like at times in the old Red Box,the biouncers were absolute cun*s at that time, TBH id sooner walk away than having to go through all that cr*p,ive had enough of that cr*p over the years going into Raves an Clubs, as i said it people who feel aggrieved should send an e-mail explaining what happened.

It's a new policy, everyone's searched, big fúcking deal like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭nVid

Lads, are tickets available on the door?

Had deadmau5 tickets and people could still pay on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Griff77 wrote: »

Has something happened to warrant this?

That club complex has had a fairly tumultuous relationship with the gardai (remember one of the biggest garda stations is across the road), and so every so often they gotta make sure there is no excuse to shut the place down.

Given the little spot of tax bother the owner of the club has been in lately, I'd say they're just being more 'safe than sorry'.
    Perfectly understandable imo.

If you don't like being searched, I suggest you go somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Dolphie

Anyone know if it's a sell-out or can you pay on door? If so, what time would you need to be there at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Well how did it go? Did he do the 3 hour set that was promised? What was the crowd like?