Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reddan to Leinster - Confirmed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

That's certainly an unconfirmed confirmation.

As a Munster fan, I'll definitely miss Two Steps, lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Wild speculation at the moment but would be a good move for Irish rugby should it happen, Leinster need depth at this position too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

Wild speculation?? Did you watch that video??

McGeechan in a speech to the fans at the end of wasps season says " i probably shouldnt be saying this... we are losing eoin reddan at the end of this season... he is moving to leinster"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Fishtits wrote: »
    Wild speculation at the moment but would be a good move for Irish rugby should it happen, Leinster need depth at this position too.

It was a very badly kept secret even before that video came out. Dunno how you think it's wild speculation anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Seems to have been a much loved personality in London Wasps. Good signing for leinster.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

danthefan wrote: »
    It was a very badly kept secret even before that video came out. Dunno how you think it's wild speculation anymore.

Similar rumours floated around last year as well though. Mind you, they've been somewhat more concrete this time round. Reddan and Ross seem to be more or less confirmed at this stage - seems a good round of recruiting to me. Could still do with a second row (and possibly a backrow if Rocky leaves). Hopefully POD is given a chance to battle it out with Reddan for the first choice 9.

Negotiations between Leinster and Reddan got to a fairly advanced stage last season, they weren't just baseless rumours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Reddan pulled out at the last minute last season.

Apperantly this is signed sealed and delivered. He is a Leinster player. I doubt McGeehan would be announcing it to the entire Wasps crowd if this wasn't a signed and done deal.

I think it's a very good signing and hopefully with the ever improving Leinster pack, Reddan can refind his form that had him as one of the best scrum halves in the continent up until just a season ago.

Fair play to the IRFU for getting so many Irish players home.

I'd say there will be at least one more big signing for Leinster before next season, more than likely a 10, but for me I'd like to see a world class lock come to Leinster - Matfield or someone!! :p Then the pack would be serious beef!!

Negotiations between Leinster and Reddan got to a fairly advanced stage last season, they weren't just baseless rumours.

Ah yeah, I never thought they were. But once bitten etc. I can't imagine its anything but a definite go ahead this time though.
    I'd say there will be at least one more big signing for Leinster before next season, more than likely a 10,

The rumour is Jackson. Would be a decent back-up to Sexton assuming Cheika actually lets him have a proper go at the 10 slot. A lock really wouldn't be a bad thing though. Cullen and Toner are good players, but Hogan is pretty average and its not exactly an area of strength. Would still like to see Toner get plenty of gametime if someone is brought in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭escobar

Great signing for Leinster. Onwards and upwards for the ML. It's incredible that Leinster and Munster have met each other twice in the last 4 years in the Heiniken semis. Can't wait for the match!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Sweet. Wittaker has been a ball and chain around the neck of this leinster team. How many times has he fluffed chances on the five meter line by taking about three fucking steps / knocking on / throwing a horrible pass. He's been dreadful, dreadful, dreadful. Good riddance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Spore wrote: »
    Sweet. Wittaker has been a ball and chain around the neck of this leinster team. How many times has he fluffed chances on the five meter line by taking about three fucking steps / knocking on / throwing a horrible pass. He's been dreadful, dreadful, dreadful. Good riddance.

I agree to an extent but I think Cheika has been as much of a liability for picking him. As well as playing players out of position constantly. He seems to be trying to mix it up way too much to the dretrement of Leinster's success. If it weren't for some good acquisitions (e.g. Le Roux, Elsom, etc) I'd have zero faith in the guy whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

NickNolte wrote: »
    I agree to an extent but I think Cheika has been as much of a liability for picking him. As well as playing players out of position constantly. He seems to be trying to mix it up way too much to the dretrement of Leinster's success. If it weren't for some good acquisitions (e.g. Le Roux, Elsom, etc) I'd have zero faith in the guy whatsoever.

Have to agree there, don't know what MC is doing with the backline this season but more worryingly either does he by the looks of things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Confirmed (by Leinster Rugby):

Leinster Rugby are delighted to announce the Ireland international scrum-half Eoin Reddan will join the province this summer on a 3-year deal...
    Reddan, who joined Wasps from Munster in 2005, edging past former Wasp Matt Dawson to become the first choice number 9, has enjoyed four seasons with the club taking with him Powergen Cup, Heineken Cup and Guinness Premiership winners medals.

Whilst with Wasps he made 106 appearances, scoring 16 tries, playing an integral role within the squad. His time with the Londoners also saw him pick up recognition on the international stage, making his debut for Ireland against France as part of the 2006 Six Nations squad.

Collecting a total of 14 caps including two appearances at the 2007 Rugby World Cup, Reddan is eager to build on his time with the national side heading back to Irish shores for the start of 2009/10.

Eoin Reddan said, “It is tough for me leaving Wasps, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my last four years and I can’t overstate how great a club it is. The fitness team, physio staff and back room team are top class and make it easy for you to be at your best week in week out in what is a long season. The coaches have helped me personally and supported me over the last four years and I would like to thank them for all their help and support, particularly in my decision to go home to look to further my international career.

“I am looking forward to representing Leinster next season, they are a top club who have proved that year in year out on the European stage and they may even go on to win the Heineken Cup come the end of the season.

“The biggest thing I will take away from Wasps is the experience of playing on the biggest day of the season, playing in the biggest games and performing consistently as a team - that is an experience that will stay with me forever. I would like to thank the players, coaches, staff and the supporters for making the last four years very special.”

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/3416.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Happy days - so long 3 Steps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 abregy

Great news for irish rugby and leinster. I can see him making himself first choice scrum half for ireland after this move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Great move, terrible secret. Let's hope he does well now next season!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

great to have another international back home. can seeing him doing well with Leinster.

doesn't he have an impressive medal tally?

Heineken Cup, EDF Energy Cup & Guinness Premiership.

If there was a medal to be won by an English club, he's won them all!

He scored a lovely try in the Heineken Cup final too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,973 ✭✭✭✭phog

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Heineken Cup, EDF Energy Cup & Guinness Premiership.

If there was a medal to be won by an English club, he's won them all!

He scored a lovely try in the Heineken Cup final too!

Right under my feet, I was so excited to see him make the break that I never took a photo of it :(.

He will be good for Leinster and Leinster should be good for him.

This one was just after the touchdown.

Nice pic!! That was the year Wasps beat Munster in Lansdowne in semi? Probably the best HEC game I've ever seen - the final was amazing too!!!

Here's Reddan try from that match:

Also - Reddan got ABSOLUTELY CREAMED in that match - wow whetts the appetite for Saturday - there's been some epic games in years gone by - let's hope we have another classic on our hands!

EDIT: Just copped on, this was GP final, not the same Heineken Cup final - there's been a fair few massive games between these 2 sides!! That's the beauty of 2 good European teams and play-offs in the league - hopefully Magners play-offs will produce the same quality of matches as the GP play-offs!! But now I've just dragged the whole thing wayyyyyyyy off topic - Sorry Ruggie :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Amen to that ^^^

Feels like we are living in rugby heaven at the moment. And theres still a tour to SA to look forward too...happy days :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Great news, and perfect timing given TOL's injury.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Nice pic!! That was the year Wasps beat Munster in Lansdowne in semi? Probably the best HEC game I've ever seen - the final was amazing too!!!

(

No that was the year we lost our record in Thomond Park and then we didn't show up against LLanelli in the QF :(

Agree, the SF against Wasps in LR was one of the best games in the H/C, I dont think Reddan was with Wasps at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Next season we'll have a half back pairing of Reddan / Sexton - not too shabby in my estimation. I really think its time Sexton was a proper first pick no 10. His impact off the bench has been noticable and brings that sense of control the firery argy struggles to muster on a regular basis.

With all the great things Dr. Phil has done for Leinster I can't say I'll miss him too much. He's just not reliable enough at ten and what the hell is up with his falling-to-pieces mentaility against Munster? Now that he's off to Toulon he's not interested any more. Pfft I wont be missing him. Bring on Sexton!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Another signing for Leinster maybe according to the Guardian?
    The Gloucester centre Olly Barkley yesterday re-signed for Bath a year after leaving the Recreation Ground. He admitted he struggled to settle at Kingsholm and his return will pave the way for the Bath back, Shaun Berne, to join Leinster, who yesterday recruited the Wasps and Ireland scrum-half, Eoin Reddan.

Edit: just seen the other thread! Sorry.

He's just not reliable enough at ten and what the hell is up with his falling-to-pieces mentaility against Munster? Now that he's off to Toulon he's not interested any more.

Whatever about his mental frailties the notion that he doesn't care is a load of crap. Contepomi is as committed to Leinster now as he ever was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Next season we'll have a half back pairing of Reddan / Sexton - not too shabby in my estimation. I really think its time Sexton was a proper first pick no 10. His impact off the bench has been noticable and brings that sense of control the firery argy struggles to muster on a regular basis.

With all the great things Dr. Phil has done for Leinster I can't say I'll miss him too much. He's just not reliable enough at ten and what the hell is up with his falling-to-pieces mentaility against Munster? Now that he's off to Toulon he's not interested any more. Pfft I wont be missing him. Bring on Sexton!

Contepomi's done a lot of damange to Munster over the years too. And too Munster players (and their Leinster colleagues) in an Argentinian jersey.

He's no more mentally weak than the Munster number 10. Both have played well in high pressure games both have played badly.

Contepomi's been a dedicated servant to Leinster rugby, and a fantastic exponent of rugby as a game. He's someone I'll miss, and I wish him all the best in Toulon, but questioning his commitment is madness. He's given Leinster so much over the years.

I'd love to see one last glimpse of the magician that he's been on Saturday for us. He's one of the best players Ireland's ever seen I reckon (certainly of the professional era.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Exciting signing - great for the national team too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Danakin

Although this is a great signing for Leinster, I can see its timing becoming very ironic come Saturday evening. I have a feeling that Contepomi might produce a big performance for Leinster on Saturday and shake off this supposed Munster hoodoo he has but the game could still be lost at scrum-half.

I honestly think that Whitaker vs. Stringer and their speed of service could be what separates the teams whereas Reddan would seriously level things out if he were the Leinster 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Zico

Great finally the solution at 9, though I thought that when Whitaker arrived. We could have recent problems reversed next season with great service going to a shaky outhalf, if Nacewa or Sexton are playing 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

... hopefully a solution to a pretty gaping hole in the Leinster squad ... Whittaker is not working out ...

But with Contepomi leaving ... we have bigger problems to solve ... he's given us good service and he'll be sadly missed ... though you could argue it is probably good to give Sexton a pop ... he is young ... and lets face it ... Ireland needs dept at out half ... we need to find a second for ROG somewhere!!!

Worse ... there are rumours that Elsom is in talks with an Australian club side ... now that would be a very big hole in the team!! ...

Though if I'm being honest ... enticing Warwick from Munster to play in his natural position would be a better solution at out half for Leinster ...

Elsom is (all but officially) gone, he's going back to the Queensland Reds.

I thought he back tracked on his promise to return to Aussieland? Bad news for Leinster if he is leaving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Why dont they just let sexton let rip next season He needs game time to give him that confidence boost !

Say it aint so please!!! ... he's a revelation ... got to be one of the best flankers in the world at the moment ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Sean O Brien is making waves i can see him doing well ''if'' Rocky goes!

gcgirl wrote: »
    Sean O Brien is making waves i can see him doing well ''if'' Rocky goes!

I'd like to see O'Brien and Sexton get more pitch time ... especially in the big games ... not least because we need someone to replace ROG in the Ireland set up...

I can take the loss of Felipe ... But not Rocky ... he is one of the best things about Leinster at the moment ...

Though if I'm being honest ... enticing Warwick from Munster to play in his natural position would be a better solution at out half for Leinster ...

Or just play Sexton there. Seriously, he's a good outhalf, he'll be grand next year. Even better if he doesn't have to play outside Whitaker (though I would hope Reddan has to fight it out with POD, as the latter has the better pass).

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Or just play Sexton there. Seriously, he's a good outhalf, he'll be grand next year. Even better if he doesn't have to play outside Whitaker (though I would hope Reddan has to fight it out with POD, as the latter has the better pass).

Good point ... and lets face it ... we need to bring players into this position ... Sexton makes me nervous some times ... but then again I remember saying the same about Darcy when he was a nipper ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Sexton makes you nervous!?!? I'm ****ing myself because of yer man who's at 10 tomorrow! :D

True ... but he has been a generally good servent ... except v Munster ... so we can't complain ... anyways we're getting shot of him next season ...

oh and ... me too ... I'm kind of banking on Conti giving us all the biggest surprise in history ...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

I'd like to see O'Brien and Sexton get more pitch time ... especially in the big games ... not least because we need someone to replace ROG in the Ireland set up...

I can take the loss of Felipe ... But not Rocky ... he is one of the best things about Leinster at the moment ...

Doesn't seem at all cut and dry at the moment. As a Munster fan I hope he fecks off back to where he comes from. ;)

Just kidding, I think he is a great player and he seems like a top bloke as well. I hope he sticks around for another year at least.

I can see perhaps a deal allowing him to play for Auz next year while continuing on for Leinster. The year after, with the world cup looming he will probably return to the Reds.

Omly source I could find suggesting he is returning home is the Australian newspaper.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25410910-2722,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

phog wrote: »
    I thought he back tracked on his promise to return to Aussieland? Bad news for Leinster if he is leaving?

Not necessarily going.

He's in negotiations with the ARU, and wants to go to the Reds above all else. That's where it's at.

But rumours are that if teh ARU allows a foreign based player to play for the team (i.e. Rocky) he'll stay the extra season.