Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Froch v Taylor fight-afterfight discussion

• 26-04-2009 9:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/boxing/default.stm

Just watched the Fight on you tube this morning , Taylor must be sick as a dog this morning in letting this fight slip away

I expected big things from Carl Froch , you cant doubt his courage and passion , or even his big right hands , but anyone watching the fight will no doubt be surprised how actually shocking his performance and defense was

round after round he left himself open , and was trailing on points up until the end , credit to carl froch for taking it to Taylor in the last round

All taylor had to do was hold him and he would have probably got the victory , Taylor he generally always runs out of gas near the end of every big fight had nothing in the last two rounds to offer but in my view completely dominated the fight

I would have to say looking at Froch last night , If he was fighting , Kessler , Hopkins , Pavlik , or Even Joe Calazaghe I would seriously doubt him victorious , think these fighters would figure his style out quickly and outbox him or even knock him down

to be fair I know it was his first fight in the USA but as said he boxed liked a typical european boxer with a european style and any of the above mentioned would have won comfortable

Well at least Carl Won , and it was a great stoppage but its the case of serious improvements if he wants to become a player in the WBC stateside market

sarah:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Sarah i wanted to watch the fight and now know the result and an not going to bother, please dont put results up on your heading in future and put a spoiler warning in the title if your telling people who won..:mad:

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Aaron M

I would have to say looking at Froch last night , If he was fighting , Kessler , Hopkins , Pavlik , or Even Joe Calazaghe I would seriously doubt him victorious , think these fighters would figure his style out quickly and outbox him or even knock him down

I wouldn't put money on Pavlik beating Froch. I think Froch beats him and possibly stops him as well.

Froch should stay away from Kessler (at least for the moment, until he improves his non-existent defense somewhat!). Hopkins wouldn't bother having anything to with Froch at this stage of his career, and he would handle Froch fairly comfortably anyway.

Calzaghe beats Froch on points.

Froch has good heart, good determination, good power and a good chin and if he improves his defense he would be a handful for most of the guys at 168. You can't deny he's an exciting fighter to watch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

no need for the spoiler!

this isnt on TV until later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

a re-run of the first pavlik fight, Taylor puts his man down then runs out of gas later on. Froch showed how limited he is last night. Taylor had the superior handspeed and footwork. He outclassed Froch for the bulk of the fight but once again his lack of stamina and heart proved to be his undoing.
    Credit to Froch as he has great resolve, and a good chin too, but these attributes won't be enough against the likes of Kessler, Pavlik, Hopkins, Abraham who would have a field day with his porous defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,375 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Froch did well to eek out the win; but I think it says more about Taylor
    than Froch really. Taylor was ahead on two cards by 4 points.
    Carl is very limited and would be exposed by Cal and Kesler I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

even if you know the result this fight is worth watching. dont miss it if u didnt see it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Sugerraysarah

Sorry Cowzerp

It completely slipped my mind i thought everybody would have known the result , I will be a good girl next time , sorry again guys

sarah :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Batesy

Is there a re-run on anytime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

Batesy wrote: »
    Is there a re-run on anytime?

tonight on ITV4 around 8pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Sorry Cowzerp

It completely slipped my mind i thought everybody would have known the result , I will be a good girl next time , sorry again guys

sarah :(

It's against the rules of the forum aswell, and even though I know it was a mistake, don't let it happen again because it will result in a weeks ban.

Paul probably wasn't the only person who had the result spoiled on his by the heading, and know when he watches it tonight, he knows what's going to happen rather than having that shock and excitement the rest of us got.
    Personally watching fights where you know the result is a bit ****.

Kessler, Hopkins and Calzaghe would destroy Froch.
    I don't think Pavlik would however, I'd see that going the other way and Abraham I'm not so sure about.

Big Ears wrote: »
    It's against the rules of the forum aswell, and even though I know it was a mistake, don't let it happen again because it will result in a weeks ban.

Paul probably wasn't the only person who had the result spoiled on his by the heading, and know when he watches it tonight, he knows what's going to happen rather than having that shock and excitement the rest of us got.

I don't think Pavlik would however, I'd see that going the other way and Abraham I'm not so sure about.

well, you maybe right about Pavlik, as he is is one- dimensional and therefore Froch would not be hitting thin air for most of the night as he was against Taylor. It's a question of would Pavlik be able take Froch's best shot. I think the answer to that is no. I don't think Pavlik has the best chin in the world so i can see Froch stopping him.

There were times when Carl looked like a complete novice and street brawler.
    He looked so awkward. But, sometimes looking from the outside can be deceiving. He's big, awkward and very strong and though it appears that a Kessler and Calzaghe would expose him, it may not pan out like that.
    I would bet on those guys doing the business, but you never
    know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Aaron M

Yeah I just watched the highlights of the fight there on UTV to see it again. Carl looked very sloppy at times and really his workrate was far too low in many of the early rounds. He lost most of the early rounds against Pascal too - he looked a little nervous in both fights but he needs to come out of the blocks much faster in the future.

The positive thing for Carl is that at least he put on a top showing in the championship rounds. The bottom line is he got the job done in highlight reel fashion there at the end (with Taylor slumped over) but he can't rely on his power getting him out of situations like that everytime!

I think Bute would be a decent fight for him. He's well known and he was there at ringside last night. It would be a unification bout for the IBF and WBC titles and eminently more winnable than a fight with Kessler would be in my opinion. People keep mentioning Pavlik but he's not a super middle and honestly I don't think it would be in his interest to step up and take on Froch - I think Froch would be naturally too strong at the weight and would take Pavlik out.

Pavlik-Froch is one fight that I would love to see, of all the possible
    fights. It's a fight I think Froch would win. Pavlik is too methodical and
    predictable and when his power doesn't take Carl out, I see Carl breaking Kelly in
    the late rds. It would be a real hum dinger while it lasted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Johnduddy

walshb wrote: »
    Pavlik-Froch is one fight that I would love to see, of all the possible
    fights. It's a fight I think Froch would win. Pavlik is too methodical and
    predictable and when his power doesn't take Carl out, I see Carl breaking Kelly in
    the late rds. It would be a real hum dinger while it lasted

I think Pavlik would handle Froch no bother - I'd love to see it.

Froch's defense was terrible, he looked sloppy and amateurish throughout and even when he had Talyor going in the 12th it looked like it was more from exhaustion than clean shots that Taylor was stopped.

Joe should come back and take him to school !

There were times when Carl looked like a complete novice and street brawler.
    He looked so awkward. But, sometimes looking from the outside can be deceiving. He's big, awkward and very strong and though it appears that a Kessler and Calzaghe would expose him, it may not pan out like that.
    I would bet on those guys doing the business, but you never
    know

i think Calzaghe and Kessler will be too slick for him and they won't gas as Taylor does against a pressure fighter. I don't think Froch's power was the undoing of Taylor in the last round, it was simply due to Taylor being spent.
    I really think the manner of his defeat to Froch could signal the end of Taylor. Now we know why Taylor was able to beat Hopkins because Hopkins isn't a pressure fighter and so didn't test his stamina. Froch should target Pavlik but i think Pavlik's team will keep him away from Froch unless they were to fight at a catchweight. If he can't get Pavlik he should fight bute. Who he was supposed to fight a couple of years ago. These fights are winnable for him. Against the others mentioned he'll be given a boxing lesson and i really doubt there will be a late ko to save the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Not surprised by the result. Taylor is one step above a journey man. He some how managed two W's against a legend.

Froch is looking pretty good but the division is hardly stacked. Pavlik beats him as does Kessler. I think Bute and Green are now on the radar for Karl.

Congrats to him on an excellent win.

Who's this Karl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭mikethemouth

Big Ears wrote: »

jaysus give the girl a break ... she has already apologised ...no need to be so anal mentioning bans ...ridiculous

Mike, rules are rules and Big is very tolerant anyway!

Sarah made an honest mistake!

Who's this Karl?

Some scrub, you don't know him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭mikethemouth

Mike, rules are rules and Big is very tolerant anyway!

Sarah made an honest mistake!

agreed fella .. it was a genuine mistake with a genuine apology ... just felt banning threat was unnecessary... we 'll beg to differ on it ...all good :)

Here is a little advice, If you do not want to know the result, stay away from the "boxing" forum.

While I agree it was a mistake by the only person preventing this place turning into a complete sausage factory - experienced posters should know better if your online the result always seeks you out.

I agree, but in a title thread it is important to maybe HIDE the result.

Paul saw the title thread and couldn't but see the result. Anyway, let's draw
    a line under this. Sarah made a mistake many would and could make, me included.
    At least now, we are all on our toes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Tbh I wouldn't be completely happy about using the majority of this fight as a gauge of Carl's overall ability.

I don't think he looked himself at all, fair enough you might say that's cos Taylor bossed him, but I just think he had a bad night at the office.

I think maybe the whole occasion got to him, with him looking less than sharp for large periods. I think he only really put the surroundings out of his head in the last round where he more or less knew it was shít or bust.

Froch to his credit did take it to Taylor, and, unlike others might have, did not crumble, but the only reason he started catching Taylor towards the end of the fight was because Taylor was fading badly. I don't think it's correct to put it down to nerves/ being overawed by the occasion. Taylor is a skillful boxer who quite clearly had the superior handspeed of the two and as a result made Froch miss the bulk of time while picking him off with his jab.
    Anyway, as i said earlier Froch's best chance of further success are against the likes of Bute, who like Taylor has questionable stamina, and Pavlik who won't be an elusive target. Also, if it's at sm i think Pavlik will struggle to cope against the bigger and stronger Froch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

I cant say im surprised with the end result but I have to say I was expecting bigger and better things from Froch. Taylor had him there for the taking but just couldnt see it out, I too had Froch needing a stoppage going into the last. I just couldnt believe how poor he was. If big joe comes back I think he would eat him up.

I think some people have been very harsh on Sarah, sure rules are rules BUT I wouldnt go anywhere near a forum if there was a fight I had earmarked to watch, she did apologise so cmon lads give her a break, its nice to have a bit of balance around here and shes a gr8 contributor to the forum (Sarah - mines a tea, milk no sugar haha....KIDDING)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

alanceltic wrote: »
    I think some people have been very harsh on Sarah, sure rules are rules BUT I wouldnt go anywhere near a forum if there was a fight I had earmarked to watch, she did apologise so cmon lads give her a break, its nice to have a bit of balance around here and shes a gr8 contributor to the forum (Sarah - mines a tea, milk no sugar haha....KIDDING)

She's a good contributor to the forum and I certainly don't want to ban anyone who isn't acting the muppet.
    However the rules and there for a reason and even though I'd agree you shouldn't go on a forum like this if you don't want to find out the result, rules must be adhered.

Some might see what I said harsh, however if Sarah doesn't post a result in the thread title again, then nothing happens to her and we all continue happily posting, and I'm sure she won't make the mistake again, which was an honest one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

Every fight forum I visit has these rules and mirror what big ears has said.
    Anyway froch didn't impress me one bit and he only started fighting in round 10...He got lucky thats all I can say. His defense is terrible and saying he was outboxed would be an understatment. But the man has heart and got very, very lucky.Taylors stamina lost him the fight, froch didn't win nothing...

Every fight forum I visit has these rules and mirror what big ears has said.
    Anyway froch didn't impress me one bit and he only started fighting in round 10...He got lucky thats all I can say. His defense is terrible and saying he was outboxed would be an understatment. But the man has heart and got very, very lucky.Taylors stamina lost him the fight, froch didn't win nothing...

BS - It's not Frochs problem if Taylor cannot box for 12 rounds. Froch did what he always does. He sure as hell isnt the best boxer in the world but he has heart determination and he's as tough as old boots.

Froch wins fights by out muscling guys, to date this has worked but he will run into a wall that is Kessler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

Being my home town boy I was of course routing for the cobra! .. I also think that he was out boxed for most of the match, but it was a step up in class for him and he came through at the end, and hopefully will learn from this fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,371 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Clearly out fought, down early on but when the opponent ran out of steam he stepped up to the plate and finished in style. Well Dunne Carl.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Clearly out fought, down early on but when the opponent ran out of steam he stepped up to the plate and finished in style. Well Dunne Carl.:)

Genius:D

Nice one Daroxtar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Froch looked terrible the whole fight. I was watching it with a very casual boxing fan (watched the likes of ali, tyson, eubank, benn and now the odd hatton or kahn fight. whatever is mainstream) and they were not impressed at all. Sometimes its good to get an opinion from an outside view, especially when these guys were meant to be the top 2 in the division. Froch looked out of his league ans should have stopped Taylor earlier... much earlier. Even when he had him on the hook he took ages.

http://www.boxingscene.com/?m=show&id=19687

Good article. It's a waste of time for Hopkins to fight Froch. As the writer says Pavlik and Froch are easy fodder for Hopkins. If Hopkins wants to prove he still has it and challenge himself, then fight Dawson.

Now I'm no fan of B-Hop but the guy has nothing to prove.

T-K-O wrote: »
    Now I'm no fan of B-Hop but the guy has nothing to prove.

Well, maybe he has nothing to prove but what's the point of him fighting Froch. If he is true to his word he only fights to challenge himself then Dawson is the only option out there. Boxing Froch's head off for 12 rounds is surely not a challenge.

B-Hop is entitled to stay at SM and wipe the floor with those guys. If Froch is claiming to be the best at SM, I'm sure B-Hop would only be to happy to prove him wrong.

well that the problem with boxing these days
    People are entitled to take the easy route rather than face a fighter who would present a real challenge.
    Mayweather is also entitled to fight JMM.

The difference being, Money may claims to be the best Welter in the world without ever actually fighting anyone at the weight.

B-Hop defending his crown at SM is not taking the easy route, he aint calling out the smaller guys at light middle..

Hopkins has tested himself more in the past than Mayweather, but Hopkins is now following Mayweather's example by taking the easy route in fighting a slow and cumbersome Froch who he can easily outbox instead of fighting Dawson. Who he knows is a real threat. He is entitled to fight Froch and speak out of both sides of his mouth but just don't expect people to fall for that he is fighting on because he wants to be challenged. He has ducked Dawson so it's clear he isn't motivated by a challenge rather an easy payday.

So the WBC champion Carl Froch is not a challenge. Dont be ridiculous of he is a challenge.
    Anything B-Hop achieves at LHW is a bonus.

B-Hop and Mayweather are two completely different animals.

T-K-O wrote: »
    So the WBC champion Carl Froch is not a challenge. Dont be ridiculous of he is a challenge.
    Anything B-Hop achieves at LHW is a bonus.

B-Hop and Mayweather are two completely different animals.

Not a real challenge compared to fighting Dawson, no. I think a fight with Froch would be similar to what happened when Hopkins fought Pavlik. I agree with you about Hopkins and Mayweather. Hopkins has backed up his words by testing himself against the best in the past unlike Mayweather who has made a career out of proclaiming himself to be the best without fighting the top guys in his weight class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭tinner777

lads apart from the fight, i thought the commentators where great, not the usual pro english, irish bollocks despite usa usa in the background.

good work