Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amateur mismatch

• 25-04-2009 8:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭

A bit of background info. The shorter fella is from Clonmel boxing club and supposedly had a few fights before this, but what were the trainers thinking of he couldn't possible be fit enough to box.

Both fighters 75KG

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmVu9z8Kwis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

! thought that was a wind-up! Thats a bit of a disgrace. Its obvious that guy didnt stand a chance. How could he have passed a medical??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭c1979

that is the most ****ed up thing i,ve ever seen, the little is abot 10 and he has the belly of a 50 year old beer lover.

From my experince I've seen some decent fighters come out of this clonmel club but to put a kid in with a belly this size is disrepecting the sport. If you wanna fight you have to be fit.

In relation to passing a medical all you need is two balls, two kidneys, two lungs and two eyes in good working order.

On the plus side for Michael Reilly, you are a brave little guy I'll give you that, I seriouly think you can get down to 48kf, at this weight you could be very strong, cut out the batter burgers!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Clonmel need to look at themselves and ask what they where thinking?
    they certainly did the kid no favours in a boxing sense or a confidence sense, tell the kid to cut out the sweets and lose the weight or forget about competing again, he looked like he could box a bit too if he was the right weight!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I'm in tears laughing at that; but at the same time, annoyed. The little head on that guy, hilarious, and the other guy in fairness, did take it easy.
    That's one hell of a clip, priceless, and you could never picture such a discrepancy unless you watched it!

The belly on your man and yes, he looked about 10 years old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Fair play to Clonmel boxing club for giving me the best laugh in months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Guys, whatever about the worng this was, all credit to that little fella to get in there and have a go. That takes serious balls and he should be highly
    priased. What a brave little dude he was.

The funny parts for me were the into and the caption reading, " Mike Reilly looking confident."

Also, when the ref counted, Mike's gloves went straight up as if to say, "Hey ref, what's the problem, I'm grand and ready to fight on."

Priceless humor and serious guts from little Mike Reilly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

What a disgrace, that club should be hang their heads in shame.

Fair play to the guy in red for not hurting the little fella.

walshb wrote: »
    Priceless humor and serious guts from little Mike Reilly!

Thats harsh Bren.
    we've already discussed the gut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

funniest clip ive ever seen. I amost felt sorriest for the taller guy having to hit the little barrel like that. He was in a no win situation.
    Please tell me it wasnt the semi final and that part at least was a wind up. The small fat lad couldnt possibly have made it to the semi finals.

Rob113 wrote: »
    funniest clip ive ever seen. I amost felt sorriest for the taller guy having to hit the little barrel like that. He was in a no win situation.
    Please tell me it wasnt the semi final and that part at least was a wind up. The small fat lad couldnt possibly have made it to the semi finals.

could of been 4 lads in the weight, starting in the semi's is common at strange weights, big and small..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Like watching a midget fight a basketball player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Ah, felt sorry for the lad.. I think the other boxer didn't want to go hard on him either.. But - if he's boxing, then it will get him in shape. Fair play to him for giving it an effort. Not everyone has the balls to (myself included!)